Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ladies Day at Galway Races

• 27-06-2013 11:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30

Hi All

Looking for a little bit of advise re Ladies Day at Galway Races. In a moment of madness I arranged for 7 ladies to go to the LD in Galway. The feedback was 100%, plans for dresses, taxi, food, drink etc. Now I am being told about "ALL" the negatives for this particular day. Keeping in mind none of these ladies have ever gone to the LD in Galway before some of them are now listening to what others are saying about it and are beginning to think it's not a good idea. For me, a day out, dressed up having a laugh is what really matters but they are being told it's a disaster. 4 deep at the bar, drink very expensive (which we knew), not able to get food, nowhere to sit and it could be raining. At this stage I want to cancel the whole lot and have made a note to myself to never, ever organise anything like this again. Anyway, can somebody, WHO GOES TO THE LD IN GALWAY and knows what they are talking about please let me know what to expect. Surely, if it's that bad word would have got out and less and less ladies would go. I have always wanted to try it, I don't bet on horses and in fact have no interest in the races at all. All I'm interested in is a good laugh with the girls and a lovely day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Yep, ladies day is just like you described there. The bars are packed, its hard to get grub and it could rain leaving puddles and streams runningof fake tan. But still, ladies day is brilliant. The place is packed but everyone is on great form. The women are dressed to the nines and even most lads make an effort. Get a few drinks into you and you'll forget about the crowd and queues. The highlight is the night out in the city after, which despite being crowded again is still a night out in Galway during summer, I.e great fun. You'll have a ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Stick with me, I'll show you the ropes. x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭Overthelast

Hulk Hands is spot on.

The weather is outside your control so forget about that. It attracts the biggest crowd of the week precisely for the reasons you want to attend. Just a little extra advice: it is very busy getting too/from the track that day so allow plenty of time. Hope you and the 6 others have a great time.

What age group if you don't mind me asking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Yep, ladies day is pretty much as you described - packed out (but then again, most days at any festival meeting are like that). However, it is still a lot of fun and you can have a great laugh. Yes, drink is expensive, but not really any more so than in clubs/late bars (in Dublin anyway), and it is actually possible to get food. There's always loads of places selling food.

Weather in Ireland is always unseasonable, so you should always dress for the weather. Believe it or not, it is possible to dress fashionably and appropriately. Have a light mack/coat/jacket that matches your outfit, and an umbrella, too, so you're prepared for all weather. Shawls and cardis are not that great at keeping you warm!

Good footwear will be your best friend. If you want to wear a nice pair of heels, make sure you have a pair of flats in your bag (a cheap pair from Pennys are always handy, but you can splash out on the pairs that are designed to roll up in your bag). They're dead handy when walking in and out of the enclosure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 the spoofer

Go to the races and have a ball ,it's no worse than any busy pub or night club on a Saturday night ! It's good fun and the Jazz band at the back of the main stand are second to none ......Go for it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 jwalsh1980

My advice is too avoid at all costs. Queues for food, drink and long queues for tote. In the last few years it has been full up of teenagers who are well boozed up going out. If you are going make sure to leave before the second last race. If you leave it any later you will be waiting a while to get a bus home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Guys, can we tone down the style of posting a bit .... We don't want to scare away all the female posters....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

My advice would be to plan to arrive at the racecourse about 2.5 hours before the first race. That way you can get a feel of the place, have a good walk around, have lunch and get a base in one of the bars. You could leave a few races before the finish for a bit of comfort also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I wouldn't go back to LD in Galway for all the tea in China. Nightmare to get around the course, bars packed. If it rains it's a disaster area.

Always found the evening meetings (Mon, Tues, Fri) to be far better at Galway.

Then again some people love the whole fashion thing. You won't know if you'll like it til you try it OP, it's just my preference not to go on LD anymore. There's a crowd of ye going, I'm sure ye'll enjoy it

As I said, just be there real early and secure a corner in one of the bars.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

I am a Monday man myself. Too mental the end of the week, but I hope it rains for works sake. Yurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Does anyone know what form Dermot Weld's horses are in lately?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

Not sure but I know he was in for a rinse there last Thursday.

Weld often uses Galway as a rite of passage for his good horses, whatever it is, they just go and go around ballybrit. Then again, one swallow doesn't make a summer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Jaysus I can't believe all the negativity earlier in this thread.

If Ladies Day is such a disaster, how come it is becoming more and more popular year after year?

Ignore the narky feckers OP and go and enjoy yourselves just like thousands of others do every year.

As Finbarrk says above, get there ahead of the crowd and get a feel for the place. There is lots to do well before the first race and the bars and restaurants will be open.

Pick a place to meet after each race in case you get seperated and go off for a wander. Better chance of being spotted by one of the judges in the best dressed lady competition, and do some celeb spotting !

Have a drink in the Champagne Tent and a bet on the Tote. Even if you know nothing about racing it adds to the sense of occasion. If you all have a €2 bet in each race on a different horse or two, someone is bound to have a winner during the day.

Obviously the weather will have an impact on the day for better or for worse just as it does on every other walk of Irish life but there is nothing anyone can do about that. However you will have an idea of what its going to be like the day before so you can plan accordingly. If you know its going to be fine you can arrange to bring a picnic with your own wine to have in the Mayor's Garden.

Traffic arrangements have improved drastically in recent years and taxis and buses now zip it into town even after the last race so there is no need to rush out of the enclosures before then. However you will get into town ahead of the crowds if you do and set yourselves up nicely for the night ahead. The Radisson and Quay St are the liveliest areas. The beer garden at O'Connell's Bar in Eyre Square is also a great spot especially if the weather is nice.

Yes, Ladies Day can be crowded in places (especially around the main betting ring), but so are all other major events, sporting or otherwise. They get the crowds year after year because people return. They wouldn't do so if they didn't enjoy it.

The Galway Races are a unique occasion and the highlight of the Irish social calandar. If you go there with the intention of having a good time, you will. Do a little planning in advance and get there nice and early. Some tips here for first time race goers.

Enjoy your day and hope you have a couple of winners !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Versaci76

The Galway Races is one of the highlights of my year - it's an amazing week. Take it from somebody that knows - Friday evening is the best and Ladies Day is the worst.....and the reason being is people like yourself!! Ladies Day is a pain in the ass because it's full of people who know nothing about horses (nor have they any interest) but they pile into Ballybrit and clog the place up by standing around posing. Don't get me wrong, I love my clobber as well and where would we be without the glamourous ladies but it's the sheer concentration of these type of people that wrecks my head. I'm there all week and you can hardly move around the site on Ladies Day compared to all the other days. Plus it's full of teenagers in suits who can't hold their drink! Hate it! :cool:

Versaci76 wrote: »
    The Galway Races is one of the highlights of my year - it's an amazing week. Take it from somebody that knows - Friday evening is the best and Ladies Day is the worst.....and the reason being is people like yourself!! Ladies Day is a pain in the ass because it's full of people who know nothing about horses (nor have they any interest) but they pile into Ballybrit and clog the place up by standing around posing. Don't get me wrong, I love my clobber as well and where would we be without the glamourous ladies but it's the sheer concentration of these type of people that wrecks my head. I'm there all week and you can hardly move around the site on Ladies Day compared to all the other days. Plus it's full of teenagers in suits who can't hold their drink! Hate it! :cool:

If you're going to the races for the racing alone, then why are you in Galway that week and not in Goodwood? Because the Racing in Galway is rather poor fare, and even the vast majority of those who go mostly to watch the racing and gamble have no idea who 95% of the horses are. They're the ones shouting 'go on smullen/ruby' at the end of every race.

I love my racing as much as anyone, but the Galway races isn't about the racing, never has been. I'll have an interest certainly in the few decent races, and will be keeping my eyes peeled in attempt to get in ahead of the inevitable gambles. But the week is mostly just for going on the piss and having fun. I can't complain about those who go in solely for that. There's little difference between the women who go solely to drink and look pretty on the Thursday and the majority of males who are there mostly to gamble the other days. Ask them who they backed when leaving and most won't remember the name. Neither have much clue about racing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Its poor racing for good prize money

I think they should cancel Ladies Day along with all the poor races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 salientsix

I normally go Tues & Weds. Ladies Day gets too chaotic but for an extra few quid, contact the racecourse & investigate taking a table for the day up in the Killanin or in the Pavilion. You get a four course meal, easy access to tote & bars & can go down to the course & "pose" whenever you like. If you're going to the expense of spending for ladies day, go that little bit extra, it's actually well worth it as the bars stay open upstairs until the crowd clears & you can experience the whole thing in comfort....worth considering as it's nowhere near as expensive as in years gone by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Citycap

A friend of mine related how he found Ladies Day one year. " Arrah there was a lot of mutton dressed as lamb there but then again there was also a lot of lamb dressed as lamb so t'was worth seeing"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Citycap

salientsix wrote: »
    I normally go Tues & Weds. Ladies Day gets too chaotic but for an extra few quid, contact the racecourse & investigate taking a table for the day up in the Killanin or in the Pavilion. You get a four course meal, easy access to tote & bars & can go down to the course & "pose" whenever you like. If you're going to the expense of spending for ladies day, go that little bit extra, it's actually well worth it as the bars stay open upstairs until the crowd clears & you can experience the whole thing in comfort....worth considering as it's nowhere near as expensive as in years gone by

For a group that's a great day out. A lot of the courses are offering those packages now, Mallow ( I will never call it Cork!!!! or Tipperary instead of the Junction either) Ballinrobe etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Race Week is basically Rag Week for adults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

If the Galway Races were on in my back garden, I wouldn't open the curtains to watch it.

Race week is the best week of the year imo. Been going since I was a young kid and been a 7 day man for the last 10 or 12 years. Some people like the evenings and some like the big days whereas I like both. The monday and tuesday evening are nice and relaxed and a nice warm up, with the aim to try make a few bob before the big days. I normally head straight home after the races.

Then Wednesday and Thursday the atmosphere is electric, like nowhere else both at the course and in town. Everyone dresses up to the last, the big races are on, pints at the course (the hangover from Wednesday is the worst thing about ladies day ;)).

Then Friday another nice relaxing evening when you often bump into a few locals, you have a bit more recovery time from Thursday too with the evening start and straight back into town of course after racing.

Saturday and Sunday then things start to wind down, hopefully not too much money has been lost and Saturday is always a nice night around town as you get a new mix of people who haven't had the week off so the atmosphere gets a second boost.

the following monday is a tough day though, 7 days of racing and 5 days and nights of drinking takes it toll :D.

For anyone who has never been, I have a few friends who work with me from Italy I brought them to the races 3 years ago, they had never been to a race meeting before or experienced Galway city at night during the races and they haven't missed a year since they absolutely love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Ms.Sunshine

I can't wait for Ladies Day. I can't see why you wouldn't want to go! Can some body tell me how you go about reserving a seat or two in a tent? or can you? Also how much is it?

It's €20 extra for a reserved seat for the Thursday. You can buy them on galwayraces.com.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭miss.piggy

Hi there - just wondering can someone tell me what men generally wear to the Galway Races, in particular Ladies Day? Would they want to be wearing a suit? Or at least a shirt and tie? Would they look completely out of place in jeans and a shirt? Thanks

miss.piggy wrote: »
    Hi there - just wondering can someone tell me what men generally wear to the Galway Races, in particular Ladies Day? Would they want to be wearing a suit? Or at least a shirt and tie? Would they look completely out of place in jeans and a shirt? Thanks

The kids will be all wearing suits for their big day out but for anyone remotely adult there if you wear something like anything in the link below its dressy and relaxed and you'll stand out from the bog standard suit and purple/pink shirt tie combos. Combine it with binoculars with a hape of racecourse tags to look the business even more. :pac:

https://www.google.com/search?site=&tbm=isch&source=hp&biw=1366&bih=667&q=navy+blazer&oq=navy+blazer&gs_l=img.3..0l10.527.2432.0.2847.11.9.0.2.2.0.200.906.4j4j1.9.0....0.0..1ac.1.20.img.5PdSPnIAewU#tbm=isch&sa=1&q=navy+blazer+chinos&oq=navy+blazer+chino&gs_l=img.3.0.0.14561.15455.0.17388.6.6.0.0.0.0.160.436.3j3.6.0....0.0..1c.1.20.img.CM3BBemBSys&bav=on.2,or.r_qf.&bvm=bv.49784469%2Cd.bGE%2Cpv.xjs.s.en_US.MpiVkF51mpA.O&fp=9ab14e78e7e1a629&biw=1366&bih=667&imgdii=_

Most men will wear a suit on the Thursday or at least a shirt and tie. There is no rule saying you can't go casual. When I used to go on the Thur I would always wear a suit. It's the biggest day of the week and its nice to look the part.

jwalsh1980 wrote: »
    It's €20 extra for a reserved seat for the Thursday. You can buy them on galwayraces.com.

Oh ok, thank you for the reply! Would it be worth paying that bit extra for do you think?

Personally I think you have a better time by just wandering around the track. I would only buy a reserved seat for the day if the weather forecast is bad.

I'd say you are right Jwalsh1980, it might be nicer to soak up the atmosphere. I wonder could anybody let me know if they know if there is a cloak room or anything at the races? There used to be years ago but I can't seem to find any information on it now !

Hi Ms.Sunshine

There is a cloakroom in the new Kilannin stand. It's just inside on the right. Hope you have an enjoyable day at the races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭starWave

Can someone explain what is this mass attraction to ladies day?

I've done the full 7 days in Galway once or twice, and usually at least 3 or 4 days over the week, and ladies day has always been the least enjoyable, due to the massive crowds.

Ok, its "ladies day", but there are ladies and nice fashion there on the Wednesday and Friday too, and probably all week. Why does everyone fall for the hype of the Thursday?

If you want a few drinks and put on a few bets, you spend the whole bloody day queuing. Then if you actually win any bets, you have to queue again to collect.

Seems a lot of the crowd there on the Thursday have zero interest in the actual races, and are only there for the craic, admiring other peoples clothes and to be part of the giant crowd. I don't know much about horses, but when you show up at a race track you could at least put a bet on and watch the odd race.

Then after the races you queue for the bus/taxi, head into town, and there's more queues for the bar and toilets.

Maybe it's more enjoyable if you get out there early, and leave early, but I've never managed this so far.

I also agree with the point that you need to setup a 'basecamp' to meet up with everyone as you inevitably get lost in all the queues.

Personally I think you have a better time by just wandering around the track. I would only buy a reserved seat for the day if the weather forecast is bad.

Depends if you're wearing stiletto heels, and how high they are. The ones without the reserved seats seem to be always in bad shape by the end of the day.

The attraction on Ladies day is simple. The winner of the best dressed lady walks away with a total prize of €20,000 made up of cash, shopping vouchers and a diamond ring. A lot of the ladies go for the social day out and not to back horses. I used to do all my bets in the bookies before I went out as its too difficult to get a bet on the track.

So some ladies dress up to win the prize, the other ladies dress up to go on the piss and look at the other ladies, and the lads dress up in suits to meet all the ladies and go on the piss. They should just give the horses the day off. They'd still get the crowd.

Anyone remember the races during the celtic tiger era? Ballybrit was like a scene out of 'Apocalypse Now' for the week.

In fairness, the buses were well organised last year, compared to the madness in the previous years.

starWave wrote: »
    Can someone explain what is this mass attraction to ladies day?

I've done the full 7 days in Galway once or twice, and usually at least 3 or 4 days over the week, and ladies day has always been the least enjoyable, due to the massive crowds.

Ok, its "ladies day", but there are ladies and nice fashion there on the Wednesday and Friday too, and probably all week. Why does everyone fall for the hype of the Thursday?

If you want a few drinks and put on a few bets, you spend the whole bloody day queuing. Then if you actually win any bets, you have to queue again to collect.

Seems a lot of the crowd there on the Thursday have zero interest in the actual races, and are only there for the craic, admiring other peoples clothes and to be part of the giant crowd. I don't know much about horses, but when you show up at a race track you could at least put a bet on and watch the odd race.

Then after the races you queue for the bus/taxi, head into town, and there's more queues for the bar and toilets.

Maybe it's more enjoyable if you get out there early, and leave early, but I've never managed this so far.

I also agree with the point that you need to setup a 'basecamp' to meet up with everyone as you inevitably get lost in all the queues.

It's not as bad as it used to be. The Helicopter index will tell you that. I remember going in 2008 which was probably peak boom time as things were only properly slowing down by the end of that summer. It was insane, crazy, as you describe - queues everywhere. The amount of money being gambled and spent was sick.

Went last year and its grand; just plan it right and you're laughing. Get out there early, chill out with a few pints, pick your meeting spots and do most of your bets in town if you don't like the hustle and bustle of the ring. I personally love the hustle and bustle of the ring, I'm a serious value hunter so once I know who I'm backing I've no problem bumping around the place to get the best price. Hang around at the end of the day; a lot leave before the last race and the bars stay serving an hour afterwards, so that's til 7.10pm. Catch a taxi into town then and you'll be straight in as the bulk of the crowd/traffic will be gone, go grab something to eat, freshen up wherever you're staying and back out for 9pm for the night.

Long story short, if you don't like events that draw huge crowds then this isn't for you. I've been to Cheltenham, Aintree, Punchestown, Fairyhouse, Killarney festivals and nothing matches Galway for the craic factor imo.

Great craic and an atmosphere like no other. Especially if you're winning. ;)

I too used to love the hustle and bustle of the ring until I copped that even the best price I found in the ring was likely to be shorter than betfair, and the e/w terms were always crap. Overrounds are ridiculously higher than full market early prices too.

Anyone worrying about queues for the betting ring would be much better off going to the local bookies and putting their bets on prior. At best your likely to be on at a bigger price. At worst you'll get the board price if it ends up being bigger.

There's something so laughable about Irish betting rings at big meetings. Full of men being macho, the ones who wouldn't be seen dead at the tote, running around looking at boards like their pros and oblivious to the fact that the horse was probably 4 points bigger with a firm that morning. Granted some can't get on with firms due to closures or bet sizes, but its a tiny minority

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    I too used to love the hustle and bustle of the ring until I copped that even the best price I found in the ring was likely to be shorter than betfair, and the e/w terms were always crap. Overrounds are ridiculously higher than full market early prices too.

Anyone worrying about queues for the betting ring would be much better off going to the local bookies and putting their bets on prior. At best your likely to be on at a bigger price. At worst you'll get the board price if it ends up being bigger.

There's something so laughable about Irish betting rings at big meetings. Full of men being macho, the ones who wouldn't be seen dead at the tote, running around looking at boards like their pros and oblivious to the fact that the horse was probably 4 points bigger with a firm that morning. Granted some can't get on with firms due to closures or bet sizes, but its a tiny minority

For me there's an atmosphere that goes with it that you can't replicate on The Machine.

Fair enough for those who're backing in Galway to make money but Ladies Day for me is always a day I bring a sum of money to bet with that won't trouble me if I lose it; I'm just there to enjoy myself really and that's what a day out at the races is for me. Obviously its nicer when you're winning. :)

Weather forecast not good for tomorrow. That makes it a lot worse. Bars packed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Oldira

Ladies day is a brillant day but only if you are single. I met my wife on Ladies Day 2003 so I should know. Its a great day for a gang to go together but not so much for couples unless with a group of couples. Friday evening is the most enjoyable day at the races. It is now the second busiest day (overtaking the Plate Day) but still not too crowded and has a lovely relaxed feel about it. I have been to about a dozen Galway ladies day and my advice is
    1/ Get there early as in at least 90 mins before the start.
    2/ Keep away from Champagne Tent!
    3/ Bars in Killanin stands the best or upstairs in the Millenium
    4/ Unless a serious punter (ie betting more than a pony a race) use the tote
    5/ Either leave straight after the Guiness Hurdle or better still wait until an hour after the last race. The crowd will be gone then and traffic will have eased. Better chance of 'pulling then too. (I should know)
    6/ Eat a good EARLY lunch...will line you stomach and stop you queueing for crap food at racecourse. My bet hate is a pretty and well dressed girl tearing into a massive beef roll!
    7/Ladies should bring a coat tomorrow. If it turns out fine you can leave it in cloakroom in Killanin stand..its open for an hour after racing
    8/ If you can afford it paying for the reserved seating is well worth it

I do remember with fondness the excesses of the mid noughties. The helicopters,the massive amount of champaign swilled at €85 a bottle,the silly amounts gambled by clueless punters (myself included) etc. Things have tamed a tad since and drunk teens are a nuisance.

Hulk Hands wrote: »

Half the fun of going is being in the betting ring watching the prices, see where the money is going and the mad rush to get a price before it changes etc.

I do an odd bet on paddy power on the phone at the track but most of my bets are done on the bookies. For most races the time between races is spent picking a horse for the next and I usually decide on my bet the last minute so the betting in the morning would completely change my usual day at the races. I also don't know who I'm going to back on even the first race yet. I'll decide back there.

You are losing out on an awful lot of the experience of being at the races if you do your bets before going imo.

Half the fun of going is being in the betting ring watching the prices, see where the money is going and the mad rush to get a price before it changes etc.

I do an odd bet on paddy power on the phone at the track but most of my bets are done on the bookies. For most races the time between races is spent picking a horse for the next and I usually decide on my bet the last minute so the betting in the morning would completely change my usual day at the races. I also don't know who I'm going to back on even the first race yet. I'll decide back there.

I can understand this completely, as ive said I used to be the same back in my teens. Now I back solely for profit as opposed to recreational. I can understand the appeal to some, but the buzz and novelty of price moves in the ring completely wears off if gambling is part of your daily life. I assumed since this is the racing forum, the majority of people would know who they're backing prior to racing as opposed to picking a horse off a racecard between races.

You are losing out on an awful lot of the experience of being at the races if you do your bets before going imo.

Similar to above, it's a novelty for newcomers. Having to back a 5/1 shot in the ring that was 8/1 that morning would seep into and depress a cynical fker like me worse than any torrential rain could!

Oldira wrote: »
    Ladies day is a brillant day but only if you are single. I met my wife on Ladies Day 2003 so I should know. Its a great day for a gang to go together but not so much for couples unless with a group of couples. Friday evening is the most enjoyable day at the races. It is now the second busiest day (overtaking the Plate Day) but still not too crowded and has a lovely relaxed feel about it. I have been to about a dozen Galway ladies day and my advice is
    1/ Get there early as in at least 90 mins before the start.
    2/ Keep away from Champagne Tent!
    3/ Bars in Killanin stands the best or upstairs in the Millenium
    4/ Unless a serious punter (ie betting more than a pony a race) use the tote
    5/ Either leave straight after the Guiness Hurdle or better still wait until an hour after the last race. The crowd will be gone then and traffic will have eased. Better chance of 'pulling then too. (I should know)
    6/ Eat a good EARLY lunch...will line you stomach and stop you queueing for crap food at racecourse. My bet hate is a pretty and well dressed girl tearing into a massive beef roll!
    7/Ladies should bring a coat tomorrow. If it turns out fine you can leave it in cloakroom in Killanin stand..its open for an hour after racing
    8/ If you can afford it paying for the reserved seating is well worth it

I do remember with fondness the excesses of the mid noughties. The helicopters,the massive amount of champaign swilled at €85 a bottle,the silly amounts gambled by clueless punters (myself included) etc. Things have tamed a tad since and drunk teens are a nuisance.

Sound advice there. It's all about avoiding the herd. Either doing stuff before the crowd or after the crowd. People seem to herd into the bars in the tents at the back, and forget about the bars in the stands.

What's wrong with the champagne tent? No pullin in there? whiff of the celtic tiger off it still?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Oldira

starWave wrote: »
    Sound advice there. It's all about avoiding the herd. Either doing stuff before the crowd or after the crowd. People seem to herd into the bars in the tents at the back, and forget about the bars in the stands.

What's wrong with the champagne tent? No pullin in there? whiff of the celtic tiger off it still?

Very hard to 'pull' in champagne tent but my main reason is that tomorrow its where the best dressed competitions are held and it will be thronged. Plus there is the chance that with drink consumed a lad is liable to 'act the big shot' and fork out for a couple of bottles that will seriously dent his wallet.