Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lads/Girls Holiday Stories

• 27-06-2013 1:00am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21

I'm heading to Santa Ponsa with a group of friends in July and I'm wondering if anyone has any funny stories about their experiences or stories they have heard?

Also any advice on how to survive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Also any advice on how to survive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Your excited now. Later in life you will be either too embarrassed to tell anyone you visited Santa Ponsa or it will be the best week of your life.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Santa Ponsa years ago was savage craic for us, met some beautiful girls from Kerry there.............ah, memories.

One word of advice, don't fùck with Guarda Civil as we were told ourselves when we arrived.

One night out at the bars, a complete random guy (think he was Russian) appeared out of nowhere and joined us on a drinking session, never uttering a word, suddenly got completely naked, stood proudly outside the bar staring at people until Guarda Civil arrested him where we saw him the next morning hobbling down the street with 2 black eyes and an arm in a cast :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Bring a life jacket with ya and a packet of jims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Santa Ponsa years ago was savage craic for us, met some beautiful girls from Kerry there.............ah, memories.

One word of advice, don't fùck with Guarda Civil as we were told ourselves when we arrived.

One night out at the bars, a complete random guy (think he was Russian) appeared out of nowhere and joined us on a drinking session, never uttering a word, suddenly got completely naked, stood proudly outside the bar staring at people until Guarda Civil arrested him where we saw him the next morning hobbling down the street with 2 black eyes and an arm in a cast :pac:

Santa Ponsa,where there's more crabs in the nightclubs than on the beach :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,902 ✭✭✭✭ted1

There's nothing funny about STIs unless its a friend who gets one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭NoHarm1994

There are 10 of us heading over to Santa Ponsa in 2 weeks! 9 days of mayhem awaits hopefully :D

Same group of lads went to Salou last year after the LC and we had a seriously good time. First day we arrived nice and early (7am flight) but it felt much later so we hit the shnozz hard and by about 3pm we were well on our way! One of the lads ko'd on a lilow in the pool and we may have taken water polo too seriously in the pool. Looking forward to the same sort of craic this year in Mallorca!

Disco Inferno and BCM better get ready :)

And with regards to surviving.....make sure to eat , dont spend all the dollas on beer. You wont be able to drink anything except cocktails after about 3 days anyway. A night off (if you are soft) would help you out. Make sure to get down to the beach that where all of the young crowd will be and most f all just make sure you have a great time! Never mind the hangovers! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

NoHarm1994 wrote: »
    There are 10 of us heading over to Santa Ponsa in 2 weeks! 9 days of mayhem awaits hopefully :D

Same group of lads went to Salou last year after the LC and we had a seriously good time. First day we arrived nice and early (7am flight) but it felt much later so we hit the shnozz hard and by about 3pm we were well on our way! One of the lads ko'd on a lilow in the pool and we may have taken water polo too seriously in the pool. Looking forward to the same sort of craic this year in Mallorca!

Jesus...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Shnozz??

I feel so old....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

mfceiling wrote: »
    Jesus...

Nah, Jesus wouldn't have needed a lilo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

It's all shnozz, water polo and lilo's with you kids nowadays!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

Don't go skinny dipping and leave your wallet etc on the beach. It will be robbed. We learned that the hard way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

I feel fecking ancient reading this post and I'm only in my early 20s :(

LizT wrote: »
    I feel fecking ancient reading this post and I'm only in my early 20s :(

Sorry my bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Sorry my bad!

NoHarm

Sorry my bad!

Ah well, I'm only 4 years older than you, it's not that bad :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

.... First day we arrived nice and early (7am flight) but it felt much later so we hit the shnozz hard and by about 3pm we were well on our way!

Good idea - a little nap after an early flight really helps me recharge the batteries :)
    One of the lads ko'd on a lilow in the pool...

Does this mean he fell asleep?- I hope he didn't get a bad burn :(
    and we may have taken water polo too seriously in the pool.

I'm guessing this is one of those designer drugs the kids are all taking these days. God, when I think back to my day, all we had was cake and we thought ourselves damned lucky to get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

This is the only part of the entire post I find stupid, ye will do nothing that other people haven't done there before, ye will be tame in comparison to a lot of people.

I'm excited for my holiday, shoot me ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 203 ✭✭Black Leather

Just vomit and puke your way around where ever, or better still why not just drink yourself to death and get it over with!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Quite true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

I went to Santa ponsa with my friends on our first holiday, ah what a time we had :) think that was about 10 years ago now, just back from a totally different family holiday in salou :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Went to Santa Ponsa 4 or 5 times with the family when I was younger.

Went to Santa Ponsa 3 weeks ago with the woman and hated the place. It has become such a run down (Club 30 type holiday compared to a family resort 15/20 years ago) dump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Went to Santa Ponsa 4 or 5 times with the family when I was younger.

Went to Santa Ponsa 3 weeks ago with the woman and hated the place. It has become such a run down (Club 30 type holiday compared to a family resort 15/20 years ago) dump.

Was in Santa Ponsa a few years back and have to say it really has become seriously run down, suffering badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Used to be known as Ballyponsa there was so many Dubs there never been though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭matTNT

This comes directly from one of my Facebook friend's recent statuses:

You know your surrounded by perverts when you ask a man for the time in a nightclub, he shows you on his phone and his wallpaper is a picture of you dancing from the previous night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

matTNT wrote: »
    This comes directly from one of my Facebook friend's recent statuses:

You know your surrounded by perverts when you ask a man for the time in a nightclub, he shows you on his phone and his wallpaper is a picture of you dancing from the previous night.

I doubt thats true, your friend is an attention seeker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Bang as many chung wans as you can or until your flute falls off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

Ohhh I used to love those holidays, can't believe the grumpy people on this thread - surely you weren't born old!

Anyway -

Bumper pack of condoms, painkillers bought before you leave
    Write down name and address of accommodation when you arrive or ask at reception for card with details; nothing worse than arriving goung straight on all day lash, lose your friends, phone is dead and you realise you have noooooo idea where you live
    Drag your ass to the beach during the day, better craic than pool usually (or you can always crash pool bar at a more upmarket resort) and no matter how hungover you are get sunscreen on before you fall asleep - buy at airport as a group so you have all the numbers. Calamine lotion if you get burnt.
    Don't get into fights, do NOT get arrested, our p
    Stock up your place with giant water bottles and get some food in at beginnin of holiday before you run out of money
    Take it easy on the booze one or two nights
    Set rules on pulling ie. who gets bedroom or whatever

I'm sure there are loads of lads-only rules but they worked for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭fatbatman

Katgurl wrote: »
    Ohhh I used to love those holidays, can't believe the grumpy people on this thread - surely you weren't born old!

Anyway -

Bumper pack of condoms, painkillers bought before you leave
    Write down name and address of accommodation when you arrive or ask at reception for card with details; nothing worse than arriving goung straight on all day lash, lose your friends, phone is dead and you realise you have noooooo idea where you live
    Drag your ass to the beach during the day, better craic than pool usually (or you can always crash pool bar at a more upmarket resort) and no matter how hungover you are get sunscreen on before you fall asleep - buy at airport as a group so you have all the numbers. Calamine lotion if you get burnt.
    Don't get into fights, do NOT get arrested, our p
    Stock up your place with giant water bottles and get some food in at beginnin of holiday before you run out of money
    Take it easy on the booze one or two nights
    Set rules on pulling ie. who gets bedroom or whatever

I'm sure there are loads of lads-only rules but they worked for me.

*cough* slut *cough*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

fatbatman wrote: »
    *cough* slut *cough*

Aren't you lovely?

Sorry I should have said 'promiscuous'. These days it's practically a compliment..

Mod
    You've already been infracted for one comment, do yourself a favour and don't post on this thread again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

The Man That Couldn't? :confused:

Couldn't what?

The Man That Couldn't? :confused:

Couldn't what?

Walk backwards probably.

I'm desperate to know the ending to that sentence. It is beginning to consume my existence.

Write another ballad, be grand.

I would, but I'm far too busy trying to decode the OP's username.

It's the man they couldn't get to go your own way.

Glad to know you still listen to the 'Mac. ;)

*cough* slut *cough*

Could you explain how you drew that conclusion please?

Bumper pack of condoms.....

.....Set rules on pulling ie. who gets bedroom or whatever

These remark indicate that in the past you made specific preparations for engaging in illicit sex with strangers. This indicates that you are a promiscuous individual. Your username indicates you are female. A derogatory term for a promiscuous female is 'slut'. The reason a male does not get called a derogatory name for being promiscuous is that it does not lower his marriageability in the eyes of his opposite gender, whereas with a female member of the human species situated within society it does.

I hope this clears it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

These remark indicate that in the past you made specific preparations for engaging in illicit sex with strangers. This indicates that you are a promiscuous individual. Your username indicates you are female. A derogatory term for a promiscuous female is 'slut'. The reason a male does not get called a derogatory name for being promiscuous is that it does not lower his marriageability in the eyes of his opposite gender, whereas with a female member of the human species situated within society it does.

Never mind its too sad

It does thanks except I never said the condoms or pulling arrangements were for me. Perhaps I just associate with sluts and a) want them to remain STI free and b) do not want them disturbed while enjoying carnal pleasures.

B0jangles wrote: »
    Never mind its too sad

What's sad about it? It's something that was conjured for the protection and betterment of female humans.

It does thanks except I never said the condoms or pulling arrangements were for me. Perhaps I just associate with sluts and a) want them to remain STI free and b) do not want them disturbed while enjoying carnal pleasures.

Well then that's good. You're a rare specimen in today's age, that's for sure..

Not really, I never said they weren't either, I was just curious as to what your line of reasoning was.

So you agree that this kind of behaviour is highly deplorable?

An even more baffling conclusion... Where did I say that?