Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More fun and games on the LUAS Red Line (with added racism)

• 26-06-2013 11:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭

http://www.thejournal.ie/luas-red-line-racist-altercation-966037-Jun2013/

How come all the trouble seems to come from this line. I was on it last week in the middle of the day and I saw 2 junkies shooting up while sitting in front of 3 kids - the Viola security stormtroopers got on but did nothing about it. I've seen people pissing in it, innumerable drug dealing going on. Bunch of young lads threatening tourists was the one that almost annoyed me the most to be honest - at a time when we really need to be selling Ireland as a tourist destination, these little scrotebags start mouthing off at an elderly Asian couple because they wouldn't give them money/didn't have the english to understand what they were asking for.

Why can't Viola or the Gardai get a handle on this situation with the red-line?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,352 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Call Joe.....................ah, jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,184 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Used it since it opened, seen 1 incident of trouble where a guard chased a small kid up though the luas after trying to steal a moped.

Used the Greenline for 2 years seen 1 incident where a load of drunk tools got on at dundrum and started swinging out of the place.

What do i have to add to this ?

In my experience either line you can see incidents...

that is all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I blame Love/Hate.

That Nidge Weasel is starting to get a fair few copycats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

I love living along the Green Line. No junkies or scumbags. Red Line is full of animals.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I use both lines regularly.

I've seen more incidents on the red than green but also see alot more of the stormtroppers on the green than red. I think they have given up on the Red line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

listermint wrote: »
    Used it since it opened, seen 1 incident of trouble where a guard chased a small kid up though the luas after trying to steal a moped.

Used the Greenline for 2 years seen 1 incident where a load of drunk tools got on at dundrum and started swinging out of the place.

that is all

Don't know where you get on and off but that's not my experience at all, and I use both. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying the Green Line is without problems either - there can be a lot of, as you say, drunk eejits causing hassel. But genuinely, that's as far as it tends to go on that line, at least in my experience.

The level of anti-social behaviour on the red-line always seems to be a lot worse. And I'm not particularly biased in favour of the green-line - I live in next to the Rialto stop on the Red one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

For a memorable experience - jump on the last LUAS from town on the red line.

You'll be greeted to the full menu of Dublins junkies, drunks, scumbags and low lifes.

Don't forget to buy your ticket. Someone has to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Radiosonde

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    How come all the trouble seems to come from this line.

Do you really need an answer to why the line that serves the crappier areas has more trouble? Use red more than green myself these days, never really seen anything on it but full of knackery types. As someone else says, they need more security on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I used to see incidents like that on the Red Line on a regular basis. A lot of what the OP describes; junkies disturbing the peace, intimidating other passengers, urinating in empty cans, etc. Veolia only seem to be interested in enforcing fare-dodgers during the daylight hours, and I've seen them completely ignore the anti-social behaviour noted above. They're wasting their time going after a lot of them, they'll give false addresses/names, and won't have identification to produce in order to be prosecuted for non-payment of fare.

Anyway, despite the Luas being extremely handy for me, I stopped using it a while back. Certain bus routes have their pitfalls too, but on the whole I'm much more comfortable and feel safer on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I used to get this luas to work for over a year and to be honest I found there was more "normal" people on it than anything else, yeah there was a few scummers but Jesus like, you'll have that everywhere won't you?

That said I once got the luas from abbey st one night, about 11 I guess and there were two tourists standing next to me, (later found out one was from Mexico and the other from Venezuela) there was these two young ones waiting and you had the guy come around with his cup begging. The girls told him to eff off, and then called him back on the pretence they were giving him money, and when he came back they knocked the cup out of his hands. These two girls walked down to the tourists next to me and laced into them "have you a problem with my friend you keep staring at her" and started with the threats. The luas came and the girl tourist was getting on the luas alone, but because the girls got on, she was afraid to get on.

Another time a drunk guy sat next to me and told me how the system failed him he'd just been released from prison and he hasn't a shirt to go on his back and nobody gave a fuk. Lol, all this with a bag of cans at his feet and him drinking from a cider bottle. The luas stopped at Jervis and security tapped on the glass and yer man goes "ah jaaaysus not again wha" got his bags and got off lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I get the red line twice a day city centre all the way to Tallaght and although I have seen a fair few scrotes on it I have rarely seen anything you would call trouble. It isn't as nice a line as the green but it is not that bad either.

It is indicative of the areas it passes through so you will find some loud, rambunctious rapscalions but they are for the most part entirely harmless and I've never seen any serious incidents.

Jaxxy wrote: »
    They're wasting their time going after a lot of them, they'll give false addresses/names, and won't have identification to produce in order to be prosecuted for non-payment of fare.

Ah, they'll take people off and have words with them if they see trouble. They get to know who the troublemakers are.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I live on the red line. Never had a problem. No better or worse than the green one in my experience.

A junkie once fell back onto a buggy with a child in it, actually. The child got a fright obviously but the roars out of it. Then the mother started "ye frightened me child ye hurt me child" she never even tried calm the child, she was going to get the father of the child to kill this "junkie bastard" lol

Another time a drunk guy sat next to me and told me how the system failed him he'd just been released from prison and he hasn't a shirt to go on his back and nobody gave a fuk. Lol, all this with a bag of cans at his feet and him drinking from a cider bottle.

Well if he had booze his life must be grand so. It's not like the country's awash with cheapo brands of alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

no racism in ireland apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Radiosonde wrote: »
    Well if he had booze his life must be grand so. It's not like the country's awash with cheapo brands of alcohol.

Think it's a question of priorities - if you haven't the shirt on your back and "nobody gives a fuk", then why are cans the priority?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Another time a drunk guy sat next to me and told me how the system failed him he'd just been released from prison and he hasn't a shirt to go on his back and nobody gave a fuk. Lol, all this with a bag of cans at his feet and him drinking from a cider bottle. The luas stopped at Jervis and security tapped on the glass and yer man goes "ah jaaaysus not again wha" got his bags and got off lol

Ah, the aul drunken Dub life story on public transportation! Many a time I have been there Lexie, usually harmless and amusing once you get over the initial discomfort of someone invading your personal space with their alcohol fumes. :D

I get this on Luas as well as the bus, my Nanny always used to say I have a friendly face, which is why all the mad bastards sit down next to me and chat. You must be the same. :pac:
    Radiosonde wrote: »
    Ah, they'll take people off and have words with them if they see trouble. They get to know who the troublemakers are.

To be fair I've seen them do that a couple of times, usually with groups of young boys though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Iano_128

The red line serves a lot more disadvantaged areas and areas known to be where there's a fair bit of trouble (Tallaght, Clondalkin, Rialto, James' hospital area) I'm from Clondalkin myself, but I think it's fairly obvious by just looking at where the lines go why there's more trouble on one than the other?

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Think it's a question of priorities - if you haven't the shirt on your back and "nobody gives a fuk", then why are cans the priority?

That's it like. He had a brand new pair of runners on him too, that he said a farmer had given him for free... He'd give those snippets and then tell you, they'd fuk you out on your ear when your sentence is finished and they don't give a shyte where you go, or if you have nothing, the system lets ya down when ya get out. I would talk to the wall though so it was grand

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Disadvantaged areas lead to discontented and disenfranchised people. Not to excuse any of the behaviour mentioned but this is not just confined to Dublin. Happens in cities all over the world.

Nothing is done about it because keeping the proles fighting amongst themselves, keeping them marginalised and so on is better for the powers that be than to address the problem. Imagine the horror involved for the Govt if the masses got organised and turned their anger into something concrete against the politicians. We couldn't have a Brazil type situation, could we? Far better to keep the trampled down underfoot and faced off against each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Don't think it's fair to say the trouble is only on the Red Line, and it also pisses me off when people stereotype people from certain areas.

I'm really tiring of it; I'm from Tallaght, I consider myself to be an intelligent woman who is nice to everyone, helpful, polite and law-abiding.
    I don't see how where I live has any impact on me as a person.

It's not the areas that are the problem; it's not *where* you live, it's *how* you live, so could you all stop slating certain areas all the time?

Yes, there's trouble on the LUAS, there's also trouble on Dublin Bus, trouble on trains, trouble in traffic-it happens, regardless of which route you take!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭jackal

Red line just ferries a larger number of scumbags than the green line. Friend of mine minding his own business with his wife was punched in the face by a young teenager in an unprovoked attack, there were a bunch of teenagers with him ready to swarm in if he retaliated, so he just sucked it up.

I was reading a paper and a junkie just grabbed it out of my hand and sat down and started reading it, then proceeded to roll up his trousers and apply creams to a bunch of sores on his leg.

The red line is a magnet for scum, they just get on and off it and see what the craic is, look for a bit of trouble while they are on it. Lots of decent people have to use it to get around but the amount of scumbags is phenomenal.

The thing about it is, on the green line you would feel like you could stand up to anti social behaviour and you would have a reasonable chance of being backed up by other like minded passengers, but on the red line you would probably either be outnumbered by knackers or the like minded passengers would be too wary of getting involved to back you up.

There is an air of menace on the red line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭jackal

fussyonion wrote: »
    Don't think it's fair to say the trouble is only on the Red Line, and it also pisses me off when people stereotype people from certain areas.

I'm really tiring of it; I'm from Tallaght, I consider myself to be an intelligent woman who is nice to everyone, helpful, polite and law-abiding.

It's not the areas that are the problem; it's not *where* you live, it's *how* you live, so could you all stop slating certain areas all the time?

Yes, there's trouble on the LUAS, there's also trouble on Dublin Bus, trouble on trains, trouble in traffic-it happens, regardless of which route you take!

Ah come off it. People from certain area's are stereotyped for a very good reason, those areas where poverty and unemployment are the norm produce the vast majority of troublemakers. The facts speak for themselves, that's why you will find the Guards asleep behind the counter in the station in Blackrock, but in Tallaght or Blanchardstown there will be a hive of activity.

Of course there are ordinary decent people in even the worst area's, and likewise there are pockets of anti-social behaviour right next to some of the best area's. I don't judge a person by where they come from, I judge them by their behaviour, and a scumbag is easily identifiable as a scumbag, regardless of the actual area they come from.

Troublemakers generally take the path of least resistance - i.e. hanging around their own little area, causing localised problems. The red line now gives them an easy way to get around and cause trouble in the area's that the can easily get to.

jackal wrote: »
    Red line just ferries a larger number of scumbags than the green line. Friend of mine minding his own business with his wife was punched in the face by a young teenager in an unprovoked attack, there were a bunch of teenagers with him ready to swarm in if he retaliated, so he just sucked it up.

I was reading a paper and a junkie just grabbed it out of my hand and sat down and started reading it, then proceeded to roll up his trousers and apply creams to a bunch of sores on his leg.

The red line is a magnet for scum, they just get on and off it and see what the craic is, look for a bit of trouble while they are on it. Lots of decent people have to use it to get around but the amount of scumbags is phenomenal.

The thing about it is, on the green line you would feel like you could stand up to anti social behaviour and you would have a reasonable chance of being backed up by other like minded passengers, but on the red line you would probably either be outnumbered by knackers or the like minded passengers would be too wary of getting involved to back you up.

There is an air of menace on the red line.

So you don't see scumbags on the Green Line?
    Is there some sort of deterrent for them on this particular line?

old hippy wrote: »
    Far better to keep the trampled down underfoot and faced off against each other.

OK, but it's not just each other that they antagonise. Everyone is at threat from these proles/scumbags/knackers/undesirables/whatever you're having.

So you don't see scumbags on the Green Line?
    Is there some sort of deterrent for them on this particular line?

That's right, 99% of the time you don't see scumbags on the green line. And the reasons have already been well articulated in this thread.

You're living in your own little world my friend. Scumbags can be found in every part of the country, not JUST in certain areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

It was in the papers a while back that Veolia's own stats had 75% of anti-social incidents occurring on the Red Line.

I get the Red Line into work most mornings about 8 and it's fine - because the trouble makers are still in bed. The few times I have to get it out in the evenings (usually get a lift out), I've seen a fair bit more aggro because these idiots are up and about at that stage.

Ah come off it. People from certain area's are stereotyped for a very good reason, those areas where poverty and unemployment are the norm produce the vast majority of troublemakers. The facts speak for themselves, that's why you will find the Guards asleep behind the counter in the station in Blackrock, but in Tallaght or Blanchardstown there will be a hive of activity.

Of course there are ordinary decent people in even the worst area's, and likewise there are pockets of anti-social behaviour right next to some of the best area's. I don't judge a person by where they come from, I judge them by their behaviour, and a scumbag is easily identifiable as a scumbag, regardless of the actual area they come from.

Troublemakers generally take the path of least resistance - i.e. hanging around their own little area, causing localised problems. The red line now gives them an easy way to get around and cause trouble in the area's that the can easily get to.

I can see your point but for me, I would actually feel more comfortable living somewhere where the Garda were always around, visible and on patrol, etc.

I used to live in a village where the Garda station closed every night for a few hours and it was in this village where crime was hitting an all time high.

Cars being vandalised, houses being burgled-and all because the criminals knew the Garda station wasn't manned at certain times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Dean0088 wrote: »
    For a memorable experience - jump on the last LUAS from town on the red line.

You'll be greeted to the full menu of Dublins junkies,.

Rarely junkies on it very late from what I can see. They appear to keep more afternoon-evening hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

Blanchardstown has a population of over 100,000 people or over 1/10 of the population of Dublin and Tallaght's population is 71,000 ... I wonder does that have anything to do with the "hive of activity" compared to Blackrock with a population of just 28,000 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

listermint wrote: »

that is all

incidents is one thing, the amount of scumbags is another and being honest, for every 1 scumbag on the green line, theres 20 on the red line.

i know which line i feel safer on anyway.

You're living in your own little world my friend. Scumbags can be found in every part of the country, not JUST in certain areas.

Of course, that's why I said 99%, not 100%.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

dickwod1 wrote: »
    Blanchardstown has a population of over 100,000 people or over 1/10 of the population of Dublin and Tallaght's population is 71,000 ... I wonder does that have anything to do with the "hive of activity" compared to Blackrock with a population of just 28,000 ?

Ah now, let's not allow facts to get in the way of a good rant.

I am taking everyone's opinions on board.

I guess, for me, it's just the stereotyping that offends me the most.

I'm not naive-I know there are scumbags everywhere, they travel on the LUAS, on the bus, they walk around town, they loiter around shopping centres etc, but my point was that I didn't think it fair to say that a certain LUAS line has scumbags and the other one doesn't.

That's like saying "Everyone who lives in such-and-such a place is a scumbag". You can't tarnish everyone with the same brush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

There is more anti-social behavior on the Red Line. I get it every day. I don't think there is enough for me to consider driving or getting the bus but it's there even if most of it is annoyance rather than outright menace.

It's always going to be worse than a bus as it's essentially free travel for junkies and goes through a higher number of disadvantaged areas than the green line. (That's not snobbery. I was brought up in West Tallaght).

That said, I understand totally where you're coming from as you would think it was Afghanistan listening to some of the widespread pants-pissing on these type of threads.

That's like saying "Everyone who lives in such-and-such a place is a scumbag". You can't tarnish everyone with the same brush.

I don't believe anyone is saying that. You seem a bit obsessed with peoples perceptions of you and of Tallaght.

The point of this thread is that there are far more anti-social incidents on the red line than on the green line, and that is a fact, in my experience.

I don't believe anyone is saying that. You seem a bit obsessed with peoples perceptions of you and of Tallaght.

The point of this thread is that there are far more anti-social incidents on the red line than on the green line, and that is a fact, in my experience.

I'm obsessed? Erm, no not a bit.

I'm just not a snob who bandies about percentages left right and centre.
    And the above bit, in bold, is an oxymoron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The Red Line is 'The Junkie Express'.....isn't there a methadone clinic there on Abbey St? They just use it as their vehicle of choice from Heuston to Abbey St hopping on and off as they like.

Full of scum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

when we say "disadvantaged area" what do we mean?

i would hazard a guess that there is a far higher percentage of people living along the red line who are in receipt of social welfare, rent allowance, medical card etc

while along the green line there would be a far higher percentage of people who's taxes are used to pay the benefits that those on the red line receive...

which area is disadvantaged again, i forgot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

nobody is saying that.
    you're either putting words in people's mouths or having difficulty reading.
    people are saying that some areas are worse than others. that's hard to deny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭conorhal

kfallon wrote: »
    The Red Line is 'The Junkie Express'.....isn't there a methadone clinic there on Abbey St? They just use it as their vehicle of choice from Heuston to Abbey St hopping on and off as they like.

Full of scum!

You can mark the sudden and steep decline of Dublin city center from the moment the red line started running. It's essentally a free transport system into town for every loitering junkie falling about Abbey St. It got worse as soon as the Saggart spur came on line and every traveller in, Cheeverstown, Fettercairn and Jobstown started to ride for free and abuse people for their general entertainment.
    I use the red line daily and have nearly come to blows on more then one occasion with the anti-social element on it that just can't seem to leave their fellow passengers alone to mind their own business.

nobody is saying that.
    you're either putting words in people's mouths or having difficulty reading.
    people are saying that some areas are worse than others. that's hard to deny.

I have no problem reading. I also have no problem using capital letters at the beginning of each sentence.

I'm obsessed? Erm, no not a bit.

I'm just not a snob who bandies about percentages left right and centre.
    And the above bit, in bold, is an oxymoron.

i don think that's an oxymoron. contradiction in terms perhaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

anncoates wrote: »
    There is more anti-social behavior on the Red Line. I get it every day. I don't think there is enough for me to consider driving or getting the bus but it's there even if most of it is annoyance rather than outright menace.

It's always going to be worse than a bus as it's essentially free travel for junkies and goes through a higher number of disadvantaged areas than the green line. (That's not snobbery. I was brought up in West Tallaght).

That said, I understand totally where you're coming from as you would think it was Afghanistan listening to some of the widespread pants-pissing on these type of threads.

If you took the terrorist aspect out of the equation, I would say a 30 minute bus in Kabul is much safer than the Red Line Luas for a male. It may smell and be a more uncomfortable journey but one thing for sure is that they won't tolerate anti-social or unethical behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

If you took the terrorist aspect out of the equation, I would say a 30 minute bus in Kabul is much safer than the Red Line Luas for a male.

this should be up there for post of the year....kudos lad, kudos.

I have no problem reading. I also have no problem using capital letters at the beginning of each sentence.

nor do i but i'm typing on my posh phone during lunch break. caps are a bit of a pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Wait until the two lines are linked up, then you Green Line hob knobs better get the armoured suit on and put the lattes in steal containers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

i dont think that's an oxymoron. contradiction in terms perhaps.

I do hope you were joking ... An oxymoron (plural oxymora or oxymorons) (from Greek ὀξύμωρον, "sharp dull") is a figure of speech that combines contradictory terms :D