Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did the celtic tiger kill ireland

• 25-06-2013 3:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭

Was driving around rural ireland and its not what i remember growing up. All these rural pubs closed down and nots a punter insight. Been round a few towns and ive seen full streets where all the shops are empty and calling to old friends houses to be told that they are in the other part of the world and wont be returning anytime soon.

I remember a time where you could go to the pub, have a pint or 2 and drive home, now any pub i find and enter, they are all empty. Not like i used to remember them in the last recession. Trying to find a pub where you can sit down, have a few pints, a cig and listen to a few boys playing away at our own traditional music is near impossible.

Most people i see on a daily basis are all unhappy and are popping anti-depressents like theyre sweeties thinking their problems are all going to disappear. Homes boarded up, empty ghost estates all over the country, houses people cant afford and the suicide side rate is through the roof.

WHAT THE FCUK HAPPENED TO THE IRELAND I USED TO LOVE!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

No.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Ireland's not dead. Ireland was never a person. The people enclosed in this country are fine though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

I agree with the OP. Even in the recession in the 80's, we were happy and had the craic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

yoloc wrote: »
    Was driving around rural ireland and its not what i remember growing up. All these rural pubs closed down and nots a punter insight. Been round a few towns and ive seen full streets where all the shops are empty and calling to old friends houses to be told that they are in the other part of the world and wont be returning anytime soon.

I remember a time where you could go to the pub, have a pint or 2 and drive home, now any pub i find and enter, they are all empty. Not like i used to remember them in the last recession. Trying to find a pub where you can sit down, have a few pints, a cig and listen to a few boys playing away at our own traditional music is near impossible.

Most people i see on a daily basis are all unhappy and are popping anti-depressents like theyre sweeties thinking their problems are all going to disappear. Homes boarded up, empty ghost estates all over the country, houses people cant afford and the suicide side rate is through the roof.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭yoloc

Ireland's not dead. Ireland was never a person. The people enclosed in this country are fine though.

Well it feels's as if someone has died!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭Cork24

Their was Never a Tiger.

Just Bankers giving out X amount of money that the Bank never had in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

People stopped drinking at 11 in the morning?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭daddyorchips

You ruined it with your driving and talking and what not

leonidas83 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Cork24 wrote: »
    Their was Never a Tiger.

Just Bankers giving out X amount of money that the Bank never had in the first place.

That's not true at all.

The Tiger died on 2001/2002. That's when the housing market ponzi scheme started to take off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

bertie & cowen sold it to germany

kenny and gilmore gift wrapped it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Na, the country's not dead, everything just has to be readjusted to a more sustainable level.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Is that you Peig?

Nothing wrong with having a pint or 2 and driving. Its when silly people take it to far and end up with far to much in them, thats when the real problems occur. I remember reading the stats a few years back and most the accidents in drink driving where all caused by people well over the legal limit. not from people who were just over. I could even drink 5 pints and still manage to drive home normal but its something i would do now because its against the law and id lose my license.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

Boombastic wrote: »

Nothing wrong with having a pint or 2 and driving. Its when silly people take it to far and end up with far to much in them, thats when the real problems occur. I remember reading the stats a few years back and most the accidents in drink driving where all caused by people well over the legal limit. not from people who were just over. I could even drink 5 pints and still manage to drive home normal but its something i would do now because its against the law and id lose my license.

Congratulations, your initially dull thread will now mushroom to 40 pages.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

The Celtic Tiger was a myth of legendary proportions, much like our stories of Tir Na Nog. It didn't kill Ireland. A story or a sales pitch isn't able to do that. What you've indicated in your OP is a reflection of multiple issues, but not with one cause, such as the Celtic Tiger.

Put down your few pints and take a proper reflection of what you are talking about, focusing it on 1 intangible entity is not the answer. And you won't find one until you do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I agree with the OP. Even in the recession in the 80's, we were happy and had the craic.

I'm happy and having the craic now. Being misreable doesn't solve anything.

bertie & cowen sold it to germany

kenny and gilmore gift wrapped it

:pac::pac::pac::D

I'm happy and having the craic now. Being misreable doesn't solve anything.

Yes but what about the pub scene that ireland was always well fond off. Ive had many a craic in the pub but now when you enter, theres no one there and as for our music, well that has disappeared with the people aswell :(.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

And the heroin epidemic in the inner cities, the unemployment levels, people leaving the country every week, crap and corrupt politicians and the sectarian violence in the north.

The 80s. Brrr. Who'd ever want that kind of thing again?

Yes but what about the pub scene that ireland was always well fond off. Ive had many a craic in the pub but now when you enter, theres no one there and as for our music, well that has disappeared with the people aswell :(.

Do you only visit the one pub, so? If anything, I was under the impression that the continuing revival of traditional ( I presume that's what you mean by "our") music has blossomed at home and is more global than ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭April O Neill

Pubs were a lot cheaper back in the 80s and 90s - this is probably the biggest factor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

I learnt a new word there recently: Negaholic. I think Ireland has gone from a country of problem drinkers to a nation of negaholics. They really should have switched over to ecstasy. Way more fun…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭risteard7

Yes it opened the floodgates for immigration which in my opinion has ruined Irish culture. That's my opinion and i don't care what anyone says.

Right i'm ready for the racist accusations and the swan jokes......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

The 80's were sh1te in Ireland, went to Germany in early 1989 and it was like different planet. far more job and education opportunities here these days, far more people have disposable income, and at least these days half the women aren't all mad out to keep their virginity till their wedding night! :)

Pubs were a lot cheaper back in the 80s and 90s - this is probably the biggest factor.

Relative to what people earned back then they were roughly the same price as they are today.

risteard7 wrote: »
    Yes it opened the floodgates for immigration which in my opinion has ruined Irish culture. That's my opinion and i don't care what anyone says.

Can you bullet point it for me how the immigrants are killing Irish culture because as far as I can see it's alive and well in all its aran-jumpered splendour.

Red Kev wrote: »
    The 80's were sh1te in Ireland

Yeah, I don't get why people think the 80's in Ireland was some oasis of gaiety and good living. It were proper rubbish with added sh¡t clothes and hairstyles.

How has Irish culture been ruined by newcomers, exactly?

Did we ruin other cultures by promoting "our" music abroad? :confused:

Irish culture has been ruined by immigration. Fancy that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Why did the swan cross the road?

The get away from you Herr Hitler!

Can you bullet point it for me how the immigrants are killing Irish culture because as far as I can see it's alive and well in all its aran-jumpered splendour.

It must be that damned immigrant music. Polluting the airwaves and driving musicians to the very brink. Not Oasis or any other foreign malarkey, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,869 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

What happens in this world is people make untrue statements in the paper at the time and later on that becomes the historical record but it still not true.

The reason shops and pubs are closed is due to cost. For years small retailers in towns charged a fortune and had little stock. The world changed and nobody has to rely on these ratty little shops. Pubs closed due to smoking and drink driving laws. Nothing to do with increased money in the country and subsequent decrease. Pubs also increased their prices and reduced service.

The improvements to peoples' health may actually be seen as a positive as they drink and smoke less.

Having lived through the 80s things are nowhere near as depressing as then.

old hippy wrote: »
    And the heroin epidemic in the inner cities, the unemployment levels, people leaving the country every week, crap and corrupt politicians and the sectarian violence in the north.

The 80s. Brrr. Who'd ever want that kind of thing again?

Sure we had no roads to get to those places, so they might have aswell have been on another planet ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭apollo8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I grew up in the 80s and nobody can tell me things are better then than they are now. Perhaps people were living in blissful ignorance but we had feck all other than a drinking culture.

Our town has gone from something like 16 pubs servicing a town of 900 people to 8 but instead of those few pubs we've got two sports grounds, a playground that's not just a hole with building sand and broken glass bottles in it. A supermarket, two cafes and a golf course.

Peoples priorities have changed. Children aren't bet into submission like they were in my day, the church doesn't get to dictate what we do. Things are better, even in a recession people have more now than they did in the 80s.

apollo8 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Laneyh

Yeah, I don't get why people think the 80's in Ireland was some oasis of gaiety and good living. It were proper rubbish with added sh¡t clothes and hairstyles.

And bad teeth, we all have lovely teeth now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

5 pints and drive home....I hope to god you never ever do this again on any road anywhere.

You might think you're grand after 2 pints, but you aren't. You would be irresponsible, over the limit and driving with impaired reactions. The fact that all you can talk about is having a fag and a few pints says fck all really about Ireland. Is that what we should aspire to? A fckin fag and a few pints.

Fck sake cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Accusations? I don't think we need accuse you of anything, you've made it perfectly clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

I am pie wrote: »
    5 pints and drive home....I hope to god you never ever do this again on any road anywhere.

You might think you're grand after 2 pints, but you aren't. You would be irresponsible, over the limit and driving with impaired reactions. The fact that all you can talk about is having a fag and a few pints says fck all really about Ireland. Is that what we should aspire to? A fckin fag and a few pints.

Fck sake cop on.

ease up , he is talking about something that was the norm 30 years ago,
    and as he pointed out he would not do it now.

lest we forget , 30 years ago , if you got stopped by a cop , the question would not be "have you been drinking?" - it was " how many have you had "

anything from 5 and under was seen as ok by any garda that stopped me
    looking back it was madness , but thats how it was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,517 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Yeah, I don't get why people think the 80's in Ireland was some oasis of gaiety and good living.
    I blame Roddy Doyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

If the "old Ireland" you're nostalgic for is just a nation of pubs packed to the rafters with daytime drinkers, then Im glad we have moved on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

You make your own happiness in this life OP. Friends all emigrated? Make some new ones. You can still find plenty of pubs playing trad music and there's nothing stopping you having a pint and a smoke in the beer garden.

The quality of life in modern day Ireland is far superior to that in the eighties and I doubt there's many who would really want to go back. I certainly wouldn't.

It's regrettable that some rural communities aren't as active as they once were but Ireland is changing, people aren't happy to cloister themselves in the countryside anymore, you could take the positives from this and see that it will leave less people isolated in future.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Ringa ring a roseeeeey

ah sure everything was better in Dublin in the rare old times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

calling to old friends houses to be told that they are in the other part of the world and wont be returning anytime soon.
    Before the Celtic Tiger, you'd go to another part of the world to work as well. Only back then, you wouldn't ever come back, as flights were insanely expensive.
    I remember a time where you could go to the pub, have a pint or 2 and drive home, now any pub i find and enter, they are all empty. Not like i used to remember them in the last recession.
    I remember when pints were about £2.50, and you could get 4 pints of Guinness, a bag of Tayto, and get change from a tenner. Blame the publicans who want all of your money.
    Most people i see on a daily basis are all unhappy and are popping anti-depressents like theyre sweeties thinking their problems are all going to disappear.
    As opposed to what? Drinking their problems away in the pub and tossing themselves off bridges?
    the suicide side rate is through the roof.
    Not sure if totally true. They're just reported as suicides now, instead of one vehicle accidents, accidental hanging, accidental drug overdose, death by misadventure, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,115 ✭✭✭✭bnt

As for the role of the Church ... the Association of Catholic Priests is complaining that Ireland has become Pagan and Materialistic. And it gets worse:
    Most Irish bishops believe we have become a “nation of pagans” who bought in to the “evils of materialism and consumerism” of the Celtic Tiger era.
    “But we are facing a crisis — a situation where there will be no priests in this country within 20 years. And we can’t claim then that we didn’t see it coming. What is most striking though is that there is no sense of urgency to do something about it.”

Th-Th-Th-Th-That's All, Folks! :D

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭apollo8

:pac::pac::pac::D
    apollo8 wrote: »

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

calling to old friends houses to be told that they are in the other part of the world and wont be returning anytime soon.
    You didn't know your friends had emigrated?

Well it great drink driving and road deaths down, and the smokin ban in pubs is feckin brilliant imo
    There are still plenty of music sessions in pubs around ireland