Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biased refs

• Registered Users Posts: 33 faithfulfan

Martin567 wrote: »
    faithfulfan - you're being very generous to Parlon for his foul on TJ Reid. If he had caught Reid on the right hand, I would have had no complaints. The ball was there to be won. The problem was that he hit the left hand. He was at least two feet away from making contact with the ball and could have had few complaints if he received a straight red.

Perhaps but I still thing a yellow would have been appropriate, it was a good physical game and I doubt any player went out with the intent to injure.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

You do know that the bigger counties carry more voting power especially in hurling as most of the others counties don't give a flying about hurling. The indo article shows Offaly were clearly opposed to the back door or do you have evidence to the contrary?

No they don't as you say yourself stick to the facts the voting at congress is made up of the following - the outgoing Council,the past Presidents, and
    delegates from the Counties on the basis of one delegate from each ten affiliated Clubs or fraction of ten over five,but the minimum representation from such Counties to be four delegates. Counties with fewer than five affiliations to have two representatives. The maximum representation
    for any one County shall be ten delegates.

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭eire 2012

Faithfulfan "Both incidents were punished and highlighted on the Sunday Game which kind of fly's in the face of your conspiracy theory. The KK incident in the run up to the goal against Dublin went unpunished and resulted in a score for KK. In fact the same thing happened last night in the first half where a KK back held an Offaly players hurl/hand, result free out KK."

I realise the incidents were discussed during the game coverage it was strange it wasn't discussed on the highlights program seen as it was a hurling priority weekend with tipp playing limerick being the other main game.There was zero discussion about Kk /Offaly match but the Sunday game seems more interested in showing us stupid tweets from gaa players etc which add nothing to a highlights program.I think it might be time to bring back the game on Monday and give all teams a proper highlights spot instead of the current 5 mins with no discussion afterwards.

The structure is flawed to begin with so its all academic. Just not enough countys take hurling seriously. The league should be 12 teams so at least most counties start on a level pegging. The All-Ireland is meant to be a cup competition so why is there a safety net? Start the championship in July all 12 teams in an open draw.

12 counties in the league? There are 32 temas in the league as a matter of fact and like every league in any sport in the world the said league is divided into divisions based on the relative strenght of the teams and how they performed the previous year.

Why 12? Because Offaly happen to fall into that bracket, I thought you wanted a system to develop hurling in all the counties big and small, do you not see the hypocrisy of limiting it to 12?

12 teams in an open draw knockout, great less games thats what we need to develop the game :rolleyes: 9 games of Senior Championship Hurling a year, the game would be dead in 15 years.

12 counties in the league? There are 32 temas in the league as a matter of fact and like every league in any sport in the world the said league is divided into divisions based on the relative strenght of the teams and how they performed the previous year.

Why 12? Because Offaly happen to fall into that bracket, I thought you wanted a system to develop hurling in all the counties big and small, do you not see the hypocrisy of limiting it to 12?

12 teams in an open draw knockout, great less games thats what we need to develop the game :rolleyes: 9 games of Senior Championship Hurling a year, the game would be dead in 15 years.

I said no such thing, its pretty obvious I'm referring to Div1A and Div1B and promotion and relegation would still apply (3 divisions of 12). A knockout draw is close to what was there for 100 years so saying the game would be gone after 15 is a bit dim. I'd be happy with 36 team knockout if I thought it would help all counties or maybe two 18 team setups.

eire 2012 wrote: »
    I realise the incidents were discussed during the game coverage it was strange it wasn't discussed on the highlights program seen as it was a hurling priority weekend with tipp playing limerick being the other main game.There was zero discussion about Kk /Offaly match but the Sunday game seems more interested in showing us stupid tweets from gaa players etc which add nothing to a highlights program.I think it might be time to bring back the game on Monday and give all teams a proper highlights spot instead of the current 5 mins with no discussion afterwards.

I agree hurling coverage is getting worse by the year, the likes of the Breaking Ball and the Saturday game are a big loss.

I said no such thing, its pretty obvious I'm referring to Div1A and Div1B and promotion and relegation would still apply (3 divisions of 12). A knockout draw is close to what was there for 100 years so saying the game would be gone after 15 is a bit dim. I'd be happy with 36 team knockout if I thought it would help all counties or maybe two 18 team setups.

So under your proposal we would have 69 league games and 9 championship games, does that make sense even to you??

GAA didn't have competition from other codes like it has now with increased exposure and access to so many different sports, its called moving with the times, I do agree with you that the current backdoor system is failing as it is ironically achieving the opposite to what it was designed for but a move to a stright knockout is a million miles from what is needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WKRFX3lqcek

2.49 - Parlon attempts a block, hurls and hand are tangled in the lead up and Reids own hurl is up, the knock to the helmet/head, it is clearly accidental and Parlons reaction is telling as is Reids somewhat over reaction. Result free to KK and Yellow Card.

2.55 - You are wrong Parlon is clearly fallowing the trajectory of the ball and its there to be won. The pull however catches both the hand and the hurl which are between him and the ball, I admit its reckless play but in not particularly dirty play or a premeditated attempt to injure.
    Result free to KK.

Both incidents were punished and highlighted on the Sunday Game which kind of fly's in the face of your conspiracy theory. The KK incident in the run up to the goal against Dublin went unpunished and resulted in a score for KK. In fact the same thing happened last night in the first half where a KK back held an Offaly players hurl/hand, result free out KK.

Mistakes are made both ways and in fairness most even minded people accept that, but if anything the big teams usually get the rub of the green due to experience and the clout they have behind them. The very existance of the back door system bears this out.

But it is not a pull on the hand holding the hurl. He connects about half way down the hurl and the follow through hits the holding hand, which happens in every match

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Ah lads, Parlon's pull on TJ was fair bad.

You're entitled to compete for the ball but he was nowhere near it. He flaked the hand holding the hurl.

That's three bad pulls on TJ now in a very short time.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Watching the replay of Parlons pull again and again on youtube particularly the second replay from behind the two players.
    I still think it was a red unless there was some slim chance Parlon didn't even seem him jumping in front of him.
    Its exactly the stroke to pull if you wanted to really hurt a lad that was catching ball, Reid must have been very near having a broken hand only for it was clenched around the hurley perhaps.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

antoobrien wrote: »
    Not for lack of trying by a certain wing back.

Not just on opponents either, what about the ref? And not even sent off for splitting him... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,779 ✭✭✭Charlie69

lol only KK lads could turn this into a thread about them, the scary thing about it is they actually believe this victim rubbish, I tell you Cody is more than a brilliant manager he has the whole feckin lot of them brainwashed and signing of the same hymnsheet, genius!

They spent the last 5 years laughing and goading Tipp, and still do, that they are soft and wouldn't go into a dark room etc. then after Padraic Mahers one bad challenge (the second one was a freak accident) Tipp are suddenly bullies and the poor auld mites on Noreside need more protection from the refs :rolleyes: Twas all good honest manly stuff according to Sir Brian untill one of their lads got hurt, now its out of control and something needs to be done, lol seriously you couldn't make it up! There have been plenty of lads on the receiving end of KK down through the years but they seem to have forgotten all them??
    ah the man who told me he he's not a Kilkenny knocker,funny the amount of times you end up swearing at KK posters and getting your blue and yellow knickers in a twist about Kilkenny,

That article is from 1998, I said that when the back door was introduced Offaly were in favour of it. If the whole thing was only designed for the big three ( a laughable arguement tbf as they were nowhere near that at the time) how did it ever get passed or how has it remained?? Do Kilkenny, Cork and Tipp get extra votes because they have won more AI's?? 15 years ago Offally voted to remove it, motion was overwhelmingly defeated and there hasn't been a mig since.

Infact the current system in place was introduced in 2008 and Offally supported it ;)
    Not only did offally support it but also went on to become first team to win via back door that year

• Registered Users Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭randd1

Charlie69 wrote: »
    Not only did offally support it but also went on to become first team to win via back door that year

Offaly won the AI the year after the back door was introduced, the back door was introduced in 97, with Kilkenny beating Galway and Tipp beating Down in the QF's, with both Kilkenny and Tipp losing out to Clare respectively.

As I recall most counties were very much in favour of the back door.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭randd1

There are some good refs, and some bad refs, and refs both good and bad make bad decisions and great ones. Same as every sport.

I think the pressure the refs are under from the stands means that they'll occasionally make biased decisions. I also think that the refs are being hampered by the assessors, very hard to apply common sense when there's a guy in the stand ticking a notebook for things like playing advantage instead of giving a free.

randd1 wrote: »
    Offaly won the AI the year after the back door was introduced, the back door was introduced in 97, with Kilkenny beating Galway and Tipp beating Down in the QF's, with both Kilkenny and Tipp losing out to Clare respectively.

As I recall most counties were very much in favour of the back door.
    correct but offally were first team to win allireland via the back door

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭toxicity234

Ah lads, Parlon's pull on TJ was fair bad.
    You're entitled to compete for the ball but he was nowhere near it. He flaked the hand holding the hurl.
    That's three bad pulls on TJ now in a very short time.

The 1st one in the Offaly was a yellow it was bad, sloppy, but there was no malice in it.
    The 2nd one in the Offaly was a yellow as well. it was completely reckless. Parlon was a lucky boy to be let away with it. Both were Yellow he should have being off,

We got away with that one this year but it long overdue to offaly, over the last few year offaly have had some shocking decision against them. The Club Final this year. Shane Dooley losing an ear in front of the ref aginist Dublin and we didn’t get a free. Dan Currams send off against Galway in the drawing match ( call by the Galway manager as mad on the day). Dermot Molloy sending off against Antrim (Antrim manager call it “nothing, nothing happened”.)
    The ghost points Galway (drawing game), Dublin (two points, Dublin scored a goal in the last min and we lose by 5) and Cork (lose by a point) have all scoring against us and being showing on TV to be well wide. That over only 3 years.

This thread was started my some saying the ref was in-favour of Offaly against Waterford. In second half we got a lot of decisions but the ref gave us nothing in the 1st half. Brick Walsh spends most of the 1st half with two hurlers in his hand. His own and the Offaly centre forwards and he was get frees all over the place. He rugby tackle an Offaly Player and Waterford got a free for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭blue note

Has anyone ever experienced a ref biased in their favour? And not a ref that gave soft frees to your team when they were 20 points down, but one where you got most of the 50/50 calls in an important game that you scraped through?

Fair play to Dublin on the big win but I'm afraid ref Barry Kelly gave a shockingly biased performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭dzer2

Fair play to Dublin on the big win but I'm afraid ref Barry Kelly gave a shockingly biased performance.

Ah come on Dublin were the better team and deserved their win. Kilkenny couldnt get out of a wet paper bag last night and were lucky to be only a goal down at the end

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Sorry now, you ain't getting away with that. Well deserved win for Dublin.

bohsboy wrote: »
    Sorry now, you ain't getting away with that. Well deserved win for Dublin.
    Agreed,Dublin would have won by more but for some wayward shooting,thought Rush was unplayable but was very impressed with corner back Schutte's performance,dont know how our lads are going to regroup for Tipp match with a patched up team.

Lads I'm not saying Dublin didn't deserve their victory they did and fair play to them.But I'm afraid it was much harder for kilkenny to be awarded a free but that's nothing new

• Registered Users Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Lads I'm not saying Dublin didn't deserve their victory they did and fair play to them.But I'm afraid it was much harder for kilkenny to be awarded a free but that's nothing new

Rubbish. He was bad to both teams in fairness because he is a very poor referee. It is common courtesy and good practice for referees to allow players receive attention when they are hurt while stopping play. This time could have been added to the clock but Mr Barry Kelly sees fit to order the play to continue when there is a player on the deck. It happened to both sides.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭zetecescort

hilarious, your manager comes out with the "mans game", "let it flow" stuff at every oppourtunity and now ye complain when ye lose. this is obviously the way Cody wants the game to be reffed so ye can hardly be put out if it goes against ye once in a while, which I dont think it did last night btw, Kelly was fair to both imo.

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Harder to be awarded a free?? It looked like Dublin got a few "soft frees" but there were fouls there, couple of trips. Couple of time Dublin were awarded the advantage but the ball was turned over, could have resulted in more scores for them! KK are the ones looking for free flowing hurling, leave them play etc!

KK scored 11 frees, Dublin scored 7, but could have had more!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭celt262

Marty Duffy didn't have a great game last night.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

blackbelt wrote: »
    Rubbish. He was bad to both teams in fairness because he is a very poor referee. It is common courtesy and good practice for referees to allow players receive attention when they are hurt while stopping play. This time could have been added to the clock but Mr Barry Kelly sees fit to order the play to continue when there is a player on the deck. It happened to both sides.

Most of your posts I agree with, but that makes no sense. The referee only has to stop a game for a head injury and that's the way it should be.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

celt262 wrote: »
    Marty Duffy didn't have a great game last night.

Wasn't really helped by his umpires. I think it is time to change the role of linesman to assistant referee.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,249 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

How is Joe McQuillan allowed ref so many Dublin games? It's ridiculous at this stage.