Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scopes from the states

• 22-06-2013 9:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭

Can i get some one in the states to buy a scope and post it back to me, Any company i now dont ship to Ireland,
    Our does anyone have any suggestions of a better way to get a cheaper scope,
    Or should i just get the scope over here and save myself the hassle,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

If you get someone to send it back and it falls foul of the ITAR regulations they will be committing a felony offense which would be taken seriously. There is a reason that most places won't ship. Some will like optics planet etc.. But you will need to get an export licence which takes time and money as well as that you will be hit for tax as soon as it gets here so there is no point really in buying there unless you really want it and can't get it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

The last post is not strictly correct, if it is over a certain spec (larger zoom I think) you will be asked by the vender to declare that the scope is for your own personal use here in Ireland and you will not pass it on to a third party. Once you agree you will be able to purchase your scope.
    Warning you WILL pay tax on it here and that tax is on the cost of shipping as well. I was caught with that one but all in all I got a scope I wanted for less then the retail price here even after taxes and shipping fees.
    Don't worry about warrantys as most of the American stuff is not valid out side USA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

I got 2 copes from the states in the last month

This one http://www.eurooptic.com/steiner-3x-12x-56mm-g2-mil-dot-rifle-scope-like-new-demo.aspx

and this one http://www.eurooptic.com/steiner-4x-16x-50mm-s-1-ret-riflescope-like-new-demo.aspx

I had to pay tax and import duty but they worked out cheaper then if I bought them here. Don't let the ex demo add put you off the boxes were sealed and scopes brand new. The first one was €540 cheaper after all tax and import duty. cant say on the second one as I could not find it on sale here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Ape Owners

bought a spotting scope from china on ebay,customs stopped it and i had to declare full value,only cheap thing anyway but word is anything coming from asia or america is gonna be opened n checked out.anything over 25 euro value is gonna be taxed once it coming from non eu states.must find the letter from the DMC and post it up here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

What about if i was over in the states on holidays could I bring a scope back in my luggage?

Thanks for all the info

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

I had to pay tax and import duty but they worked out cheaper then if I bought them here. .
    As you said yourself that is more to do with the fact that the price of the scope was reduced due to it being a demo model than being cheaper in price. So the saving was made not because they were "like for like" but because it was a demo model. So if a demo model could be found here for €1,600 it would work out the same price as the first one you linked to?
    ronn wrote: »
    What about if i was over in the states on holidays could I bring a scope back in my luggage?
    Hard one to call.

Not going to get into it in detail as discussion of tax avoidance is not permitted, but carrying it in your luggage may or may not leave it liable to charges of tax and duty. You may be stopped when leaving the US or when entering Ireland. As said above if ITAR regulations is an issue you may not get it out of the states to begin with.

Remember the charges are 23% tax, an 4.5% on telescopic items. So when you see a price in Dollars simply change that amount to Euro (not convert just make the dollar amount a euro amount) and that is a very rough guide as to the total amount it will cost you. So if something is $1800 it'll be around €1800 by the time all charges are paid.

I mentioned before that in term of scopes we are becoming more competitive with Irish prices beating UK, and some European prices. US prices are cheaper but not when charges are applied. So unless it's a reduced price demo model as with German Pointer then you are better off checking here first.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 genuineirl

I got 2 copes from the states in the last month

This one http://www.eurooptic.com/steiner-3x-12x-56mm-g2-mil-dot-rifle-scope-like-new-demo.aspx

and this one http://www.eurooptic.com/steiner-4x-16x-50mm-s-1-ret-riflescope-like-new-demo.aspx

I had to pay tax and import duty but they worked out cheaper then if I bought them here. Don't let the ex demo add put you off the boxes were sealed and scopes brand new. The first one was €540 cheaper after all tax and import duty. cant say on the second one as I could not find it on sale here.

Can I ask
    Did they do export paperwork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,197 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Bit of useful info now from one of the US websites on this question.

Export Licensing

Certain products such as rifle scopes, optical sighting devices (red dot, holographic sights, and reflex) and laser sights destined for certain countries may require an export license from the United States Department of State or United States Department of Commerce.

Please click here to refer to the USDOC's Commerce Country Chart to determine if you will need an export license. However, for your convenience, we have listed the countries below that do not need a license or are eligible for an Strategic Trade Authorization (STA) License Exception. If you do not find the name of your country on the list, it means you would need an export license.

Canadian customers click here for country specific information.

No License Required

The countries listed below do not need an export license.

Albania
    Greece

Norway

Australia

Hungary

Poland

Belgium

Iceland

Portugal

Bulgaria

Italy

Romania

Croatia

Japan

Slovakia

Czech Republic

Latvia

Slovenia

Denmark

Lithuania

Spain

Estonia

Luxembourg

Turkey

France

Netherlands

United Kingdom

Germany

New Zealand

Eligible for STA License Exceptions

In accordance to the Strategic Trade Authorization (STA) License Exception, some items going to countries that would normally require an export license are now eligible to be shipped without an export license. If you live in one of the countries listed below, you may be eligible to receive your purchase without applying for an export license. However, you must complete an Ultimate Consignee Statement agreeing to the terms and conditions of the STA License Exception.

The following countries are eligible for STA License Exceptions.

Austria
    South Korea

Finland

Sweden

Ireland

Switzerland

Seems to have loosened up a lot recently..However lets see what the UN MK 2 Global arms registration[excluding all known arms dealers and smugglers to conflict zones of course]
    Kind of ironic that if you could get it in either the UK or the EU you avoid all this export paperwork:rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Like anything you buy outside the EU on holidays, they could check it and charge you tax for it. even clothes if they are new and over a price to be of interest of them.
    You dont have to pay tax on used products though. so if someone else buys it for you and takes it out of the packaging and mounts it on a rifle its used when you buy it off them. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭German pointer

genuineirl wrote: »
    Can I ask
    Did they do export paperwork?

This is what they sent me in an email

Please agree to the following.

German pointer
    (i) Is aware that Steiner 5003 4X-16X-50mm S-1 Recticle Riflescope ECCN 0A987 will be shipped pursuant to License Exception Strategic Trade Authorization (STA) in 740.20 of the United States Export Administration Regulations (15 CFR 740.20); (ii) Has been informed of the ECCNs noted above by EUROOPTIC LTD;
    (iii) Understands that items shipped pursuant to License Exception STA may not subsequently be reexported pursuant to paragraphs (a) or (b) of License Exception APR (15 CFR 740.16(a) or (b);(iv) Agrees not to export, reexport or transfer these items to any destination, use or user prohibited by the United States Export Administration Regulations; and(v) Agrees to provide copies of this document and all other export, reexport or transfer records (i.e., the documents described in 15 CFR part 762) relevant to the items referenced in this statement to the U.S. Government as set forth in 15 CFR 762.7.

Your sales order is attached. Please review the list of items on order. We will notify you once we are ready to ship.

If you wish to make a deposit or pay in full the following payment methods are available:

We prefer electronic check processing. To do so we will need the routing number and account number for the account you wish to use. This can be found on the bottom front of your paper check.

Please mail paper checks and money orders to:

Eurooptic
    439 Crawford Alley
    Montoursville, PA 17754

Our bank wire instructions are:
    Jersey Shore State Bank
    300 Market Street
    Williamsport, PA 17701
    Phone: +1 570 322 1111
    ABA Transit/ Routing # 031306993
    Name on account: Eurooptic Ltd
    Account # 1488481

Please put your Sales Order Number on the bank wire so we can better apply to your Sales Order.

We can accept visa, master card and Discover as well.

Sincerely,
    Eric

Eurooptic Ltd
    570 368 3920
    sales@eurooptic.com

Thank you for your business - we appreciate it very much.

I sent one back saying

I agree to this.

They sent me another one saying how would you like to pay.

I had the scope in a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭zen260

juice1304 wrote: »
    If you get someone to send it back and it falls foul of the ITAR regulations they will be committing a felony offense which would be taken seriously. There is a reason that most places won't ship. Some will like optics planet etc.. But you will need to get an export licence which takes time and money as well as that you will be hit for tax as soon as it gets here so there is no point really in buying there unless you really want it and can't get it here.
    this is utter rubbish,,,you DONT need a licence to own any form of scope here,,what can you do with a scope ??beat the deer with it??I have bought several scope form the USA,all of which were new and 5 times out of 10 you will not get hit by customs,the reason I know all about this is I had an issue with the gaurds in my town 6 months ago where a smart ass cops because I went to school with him and we never got on,he took it upon himself to confiscate 4 high power scopes from me as he stated I needed a licence for each of them,,so what I did was bring the cops to court under the police property act,,i represented myself in court because I know the firearms laws in this country inside out,i presented my case to the judge and I won,,i got all my scopes returned to me and a written apology from the gaurds for wasting my time and the cop in question was disciplined because I made a big ordel out of it,the judge applauded my professionalism and said how dear they take a personal issue with me and try and turn it into something else,,so the moral of the story is yes you can own all the scopes in the world regardless of magnification here in Ireland and don't let anyone tell you otherwise because I fought the man and won,,know the law down to the fine print

I see no mention about needing a license to own a scope in that post.

What you seem to be misreading is the ITAR regarding the export or sale of military spec rifle scopes FROM the US to Ireland (or any other country). Juice made no mention of needing a license to own a scope as none are needed (as you also pointed out)

Regardless of some people's claims regarding how many scopes they get, etc. the fact is there has been a significant increase in the amount of companies refusing to export/sell scopes outside the US, and the amount of scopes being stopped on the American side and being seized.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Cass wrote: »
    I see no mention about needing a license to own a scope in that post.

What you seem to be misreading is the ITAR regarding the export or sale of military spec rifle scopes FROM the US to Ireland (or any other country). Juice made no mention of needing a license to own a scope as none are needed (as you also pointed out)

Regardless of some people's claims regarding how many scopes they get, etc. the fact is there has been a significant increase in the amount of companies refusing to export/sell scopes outside the US, and the amount of scopes being stopped on the American side and being seized.
    well iam just making a point here to let all the guys here know despite what the word on the street is no licence is required,now bearing in mind 99% of the cops think you need a licence for scopes--this is fact,as they are supposedly firearm components ??but until some smart ass in government decides that airsort and paintball should be licenced you will always be entitled to purchase any scope in Ireland,,including laser sights,red dots ect,,

No argument on that end. I've had a few lads, even threads on here, talking about how they had guns taken for having scopes on them. Others saying they were asked for licenses for scopes.

The sight box on the FCA1 is only for NV ( light emitting scopes). Even at that it's not a license, just authorisation to have and use them.

While no license is needed to possess them here there are licenses/regulations needed for export, buying, etc from the states for certain types of scopes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭bravestar

zen260 wrote: »
    well iam just making a point here to let all the guys here know despite what the word on the street is no licence is required,now bearing in mind 99% of the cops think you need a licence for scopes--this is fact,as they are supposedly firearm components ??but until some smart ass in government decides that airsort and paintball should be licenced you will always be entitled to purchase any scope in Ireland,,including laser sights,red dots ect,,

Sorry to burst your bubble mate but 99% of cops don't actually think that. Sure, some might but the majority do not. Sorry if you had a bad experience.

As Cass already said the issue was with ITAR regulations in the United States, nothing to do with laws here.

So since your such and expert on firearms law, hop down off your little soap box and start reading about ITAR regulations. It will be a great tool to have in future and will only compliment your obvious professionalism in the field.

Cass wrote: »
    No argument on that end. I've had a few lads, even threads on here, talking about how they had guns taken for having scopes on them. Others saying they were asked for licenses for scopes.

The sight box on the FCA1 is only for NV ( light emitting scopes). Even at that it's not a license, just authorisation to have and use them.

While no license is needed to possess them here there are licenses/regulations needed for export, buying, etc from the states for certain types of scopes.
    no problem man,,,i know it can get very messy in Ireland regarding licences for this that and the other ,its crazy with this so called grey area as they say,,,anyway I thought I would put it out there,interesting thread anyway

bravestar wrote: »
    Sorry to burst your bubble mate but 99% of cops don't actually think that. Sure, some might but the majority do not. Sorry if you had a bad experience.

As Cass already said the issue was with ITAR regulations in the United States, nothing to do with laws here.

So since your such and expert on firearms law, hop down off your little soap box and start reading about ITAR regulations. It will be a great tool to have in future and will only compliment your obvious professionalism in the field.
    I know all about the ITAR regulations smart arse,,99% of cops no nothing about firearms at all PERIOD,so stick that in your little soap box like a good lttle boy

this is utter rubbish,,,you DONT need a licence to own any form of scope here,,what can you do with a scope ??beat the deer with it??

Well judging by your response earlier you don't seem to know anything about ITAR.

As was already said, correctly, a person or organisation in the US caught by US authorities trying to export a scope from the US, which falls foul of ITAR will face serious consequences in the US.

How is it you know 99% of gardai by the way? I'm just trying to establish the credibility of this nugget of wisdom you have bestowed upon us.

Or is it just a case that because you banged heads with a garda now you have a big chip weighing you down?

bravestar wrote: »
    Well judging by your response earlier you don't seem to know anything about ITAR.

As was already said, correctly, a person or organisation in the US caught by US authorities trying to export a scope from the US, which falls foul of ITAR will face serious consequences in the US.

How is it you know 99% of gardai by the way? I'm just trying to establish the credibility of this nugget of wisdom you have bestowed upon us.

Or is it just a case that because you banged heads with a garda now you have a big chip weighing you down?
    no chip weighing weighing me down man,,i won my case against the cops and put them in there place,,,from the so called superintendent down to the cops on the street,,,and in his opinion as a cop for 30 years and swore an oath on the bible that day in court you need a licence for all scopes,,his words not mine,,and in every district he was in he said that's the law he was following,,so from what ive seen in my one and only time inside a courtroom the cops have no clue and will lie under oath to try and get there way to cover up there incompetence and complete lack of knowledge regarding firearms and the mentality if it looks like a gun it must be a gun Ireland attitude,

Your dead right, scopes don't need a license but that hardly makes 99% of Gardai clueless. And for all the bitching and moaning that is done about gardai and firearms in general, there are thousands of application that sail along without incident.

Anyway, my main point was about ITAR, not your case, which to be honest, going on purely what you say, I'm glad you won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

Just to put this back on track, back to the OP, it is clear that US companies will post you scopes if they want to and you make thier required declaration and therefore no need for an export license.
    What I do want to point out from my own experience is the Irish tax charge. The only extra I paid was the VAT rate. My scope was brand new and after the conversion over to euro I paid the going VAT rate on the US value of the scope and the shipping fee, that's all.
    My sons regularly buy from US and only pay VAT and often only on the goods and not the postage due to the fact that the postage is only a few dollors.
    I got my scope this year and all though it would still be classed as a cheep scope by many here, there was no dealer in Ireland, England or Europe that could match the price in the US. Seen the same with choke tubes.