LUXOBARGE (sub5k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I'd do a CTS-V but not a chance of a normal one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Clean looking early E65 for €3k with a few months test.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/02-bmw-735i/6137276

I've passed that yoke a good bit in the last few days. Would love a 7 series but it'd have to be a diesel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I've passed that yoke a good bit in the last few days. Would love a 7 series but it'd have to be a diesel.

I doubt the mpg is going to be much better in a diesel 7'er. Considering it is a 3.0 diesel in a tank of a car, I doubt the mpg would be over 25-27 unless you were on a long run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Get a V8 and LPG that bitch :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭faral

Sobanek wrote: »
    Get a V8 and LPG that bitch :D
    don't you think its ridiculous?v8 and LPG?if you can't afford it than stay away.
    thing is its not only fuel consumption someone have to take account of but also parts cause in every second hand car anything can go wrong and having premium luxury car you will pay premium luxury price to fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

unkel wrote: »
    You didn't buy it then? :p

His wasn't for sale. Might be viewing one this week though.

faral wrote: »
    don't you think its ridiculous?v8 and LPG?if you can't afford it than stay away.
    thing is its not only fuel consumption someone have to take account of but also parts cause in every second hand car anything can go wrong and having premium luxury car you will pay premium luxury price to fix it.

No, I don't. If you can save money then why not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Not necessarily. Would you run a v8 as a daily, knowing that there was a way to run it cheaper putting more money aside for parts etc?

I think it's ridiculous that a 7 series actually comes with diesel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ffocused

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Its just in the wrong colour, I reckon. Needs to be cream.

In all seriousness, I wonder how much hes asking for this fine machine.

same car was on Donedeal in October for just north of 2k in Mayo.
    Current owner registered in early November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

I spoke to a 730d owner recently who had a 530d beforehand (same engine), and he seems to think that the mpg isn't too far off that if the 530d. He said he regularly gets early 40s on a run similar to my daily commute. 600 miles a week wouldnt warrant a petrol one though which is unfortunate as the sound of those petrol.engines are superb.

Anyway I doubt I'll ever own one this side of 40. As affordable as they are to buy, a small job on a 7 series would start at a grand and work upwards. The 530d willbe my weapon of choice soon enough.

Scortho wrote: »
    Not necessarily. Would you run a v8 as a daily, knowing that there was a way to run it cheaper putting more money aside for parts etc?

!

well its not obvious in Ireland.LPG is not widely popular here and you need to live in vicinity of gas station that supply it.your car will consume circa 20% more of that and you have to invest money first, say 1 grand towards installation. moreover you have to valuate value of the car if you wish to resell it in a future. as for myself i would not touch luxury car running on lpg not because of safety but for sake of luxuriousness!v8 are reserved for top of the range cars for wealthy lads so lpg will ruin future classic.can you imagine rolls royce on lpg??for me it would be funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,574 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

well its not obvious in Ireland.LPG is not widely popular here and you need to live in vicinity of gas station that supply it.your car will consume circa 20% more of that and you have to invest money first, say 1 grand towards installation. moreover you have to valuate value of the car if you wish to resell it in a future. as for myself i would not touch luxury car running on lpg not because of safety but for sake of luxuriousness!v8 are reserved for top of the range cars for wealthy lads so lpg will ruin future classic.can you imagine rolls royce on lpg??for me it would be funny.

Can you imagine being able to afford to run a V8 everyday and not relegating them for "wealthy lads"? Also mass produced cars like the 7 series will never be future classics, so that's irrelevant but in the medium term cars on LPG in the UK and Oz command a premium in the used market.. ie increases not decreases value. In Ireland there are not enough cars to draw any meaningful statistics, but I sold my LPG powered S8 rather promptly and easily.

PS: V8s are not prestigious. And use spaces and caps.

Oooh, something new on the luxobarge market

25436804.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-e38-750i-v12/6133883

It looks MINT! Can't go wrong for €2,500

I'd rather have a rolls Royce v8 run on petrol than a tractor.
    If LPG allows luxobarges be owned and used as Dailys by enthusiasts then I'm all for it. In an ideal world, we'd only use petrol but it aint an ideal world.
    Obviously annual mileage comes into play. If it was a daily and I was doing 8000 miles plus, I'd lpg in a heart beat, if it was a weekend bit of fun, she'd be staying as petrol b

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,271 ✭✭✭TireeTerror

I pretty much strongly disagree with everything you have said. Its a fact that many times I have simply used "LPG" or "autogas" as the only thing in the filter when searching for cars. Its a highly desirable option on every car, especially big luxury cars.

It has nothing to do with wealth, I could afford to put petrol in a 5 litre car and drive the 800km per week I do currently, but I never got wealthy by throwing money away just for the hell of it, I want as much value for my money as I can get.

I pretty much strongly disagree with everything you have said. Its a fact that many times I have simply used "LPG" or "autogas" as the only thing in the filter when searching for cars. Its a highly desirable option on every car, especially big luxury cars.

It has nothing to do with wealth, I could afford to put petrol in a 5 litre car and drive the 800km per week I do currently, but I never got wealthy by throwing money away just for the hell of it, I want as much value for my money as I can get.
    So that has to be a new trend in Ireland now I'm not aware of.But if its true tell me why there are so few petrol stations with LPG option??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Sobanek wrote: »
    Oooh, something new on the luxobarge market

25436804.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-e38-750i-v12/6133883

It looks MINT! Can't go wrong for €2,500

Why ohh why will nobody sell an 00-01 e38 740 or 750 in cosmos black, finding a v8 or v12 post facelift in black seems to be impossible

So that has to be a new trend in Ireland now I'm not aware of.But if its true tell me why there are so few petrol stations with LPG option??

Because retailers are retards. It's the same reason why we're only sold 95 octane petrol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Why ohh why will nobody sell an 00-01 e38 740 or 750 in cosmos black, finding a v8 or v12 post facelift in black seems to be impossible
    Buy it and wrap it in black!

kaimera wrote: »
    Buy it and wrap it in black!
    Matte of course

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭rovoagho

Better a V8 with LPG than a diesel barge, and I say that as someone that'd rather a dead body in the boot than an LPG tank. Diesel barges are just criminal.

rovoagho wrote: »
    Better a V8 with LPG than a diesel barge, and I say that as someone that'd rather a dead body in the boot than an LPG tank. Diesel barges are just criminal.

With a few notable exceptions (The v8 diesel in A8s and the V10 VAG TDI being the first to come to mind) I would agree

The whole point of the luxobarge is the large engine. LPG means you can run it more often so why not? It doesnt compromise anything except minor mpg loss, and is greener for the environment (if you care about that sort of BS)

Because very few irish people would stomach the tax in the first place which is why these cars are cheap to buy.
    While on here it looks like everyone would drive a luxobarge, the fact is only a few would, we just all happen to enjoy driving and cars which makes us an unequal representation of the population.

Feck if we were an accurate representative of the drivers in this country Alfa would be one of the most popular Marques!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,944 ✭✭✭✭bear1

3.2 V6 Alfa 166 ;)

bear1 wrote: »
    Autodelta 3.7V6 Alfa 166 ;)

FYP! :p

I sir, stand corrected :D
    Strap a turbo onto that :D

bear1 wrote: »
    I sir, stand corrected :D
    Strap a turbo onto that :D

Nah supercharger.....

Why not both :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-540m-sport-touring-2001/6113293

01 540i m-sport touring
    123k (miles?)
    no mention of nct.

asking: 3000e

I'd buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭thecomedian

Lovely car that 540i, with the touring makes it a real sleeper imo.
    It would be tempting if I could stretch to that tax bracket.