Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jeep for deer stalking

• 04-06-2013 1:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭

my good old passat estate has enough to carry deer and wet dirty dogs in the boot and it refuses to go off road !
    So i was thinking of an oldish 4x4 but thanks to the private tax of €1050 or more i simply can't afford. I do not have a business so commercial tax is out.

Just wondering what do you drive when going for a stalk ? I did try a Landrover series 3 ( cheap road tax :)) but you are risking your life every time you drive it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Tommy87

I know loads of lads with jeeps that pay commercial tax that don't have a business!! I have a focus van and pay commercial tax without a business!

Anyway I was thinking along the same lines as yourself lately. I want to get something like a Nissan navara. Great jeep. But heavy on diesel. They all are heavy enough to be fair. Most are 2.5 and up. How about a grand vitara?? A friend of mine had one, 2.0 litre I think. Grand for the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭ah sure !

but if the cops stop you driving your commercial van for pleasure purposes they can give you a good fine. That they do it or not is a different matter.
    Basically i just need a 4x4 for Hunting , the Grand Vitara are 2L so still a big tax bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Tommy87

Ya I know. Your probably better off with the private tax alright. But it's a good few bob like! Ive been thinking about getting a jeep for ages, it's the money that's putting me off. Everything is just more expensive. It would be twice as expensive on diesel as my van, and 3 times the tax(private) and even tyres, €130 a piece were the cheapest I could see.

I'd love one all the same though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

If you had something like a hilux or navara with crewcab you can just powerhose out the back to wash any blood or anything out of it. Keeps the smell of wet dog out of the cab too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Discovery are a dream on diesel , with the wheel base of a defender so gud off road .

And as long as it taxed a guard will never look anymore about it .

If ya want a try back buy a Hilux there all hard on diesel so ur as well buy the best of them if ya have the money

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

I use my Navara for all my hunting needs, and could never fault it. I've had jeeps for the last 7 years. All of them commercially taxed, and insured. The commercial tax thing can work if you are not a business, but the vehicle must have been used/taxed previously as a commercial. At least that's my understanding.

My Navara is a 2.5 td. It does 35.8 miles (57+ Km) to the gallon. Higher than average for most jeeps, but that is down to my maintenance of the jeep over the years. It has 174 bhp, and 400Nm torque. I had the engine re-mapped to 214bhp & 510 Nm torque. However looking at it from the worse case scenario you can expect a max of 30 miles to the gallon from any jeep (most likely less), tax in the €1,000 per year bracket, and high enough running costs.

However a jeep can do everything a car can, and a jeep can. A car is a car. I can carry 4 other lads, guns, gear, and still have the bed for deer and other items. The jeep is good for off road work, but the lock on it is terrible. You need a huge turning circle. They can be "skittish" in the rear when empty/unloaded, but not such a problem when in 4x4. Parts for the Navara (genuine) are expensive. I buy them when i need to or must, but for other smaller or non important aspects i use aftermarket or re-branded products. Less than 50% the cost of genuine parts. The Navaras are cheap to buy especially in the last few years with prices dropping on big engine vehicles.

Toyota do a great jeep, but with 3.0 ltr diesel being the "norm" (on landcrusier or hilux) fuel costs, and tax, etc are going to be at their highest. I used to use a Discovery for work when in construction. They were a workhorse. not comfortable or luxury, but done exactly what was needed and the basic build of them made them easy to maintain. I could not vouch for their long term use/ownership. I also used the Ford, and Mazda pick ups. Not impressed with them tbh. Seemed lower than most jeeps/crew cabs (clearance), and no where near the same horse power or torque. Same 2.5 engine in both. In fact they were in essence the same jeep other than the badge on the bonnet.

Even looking for a jeep for weekend work might be expensive. To buy, tax it (even for only the deer season), and have it running right you could be looking at anything from €3,000 upwards. That is a pure guess. It could be a lot more depending on the make, model, and year you buy.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

i actually love the discovery , had one before and they are good on Diesel and very comfortable.
    The defender is my preferred one but hard to get a good one for good money.
    But the killer is the private road tax :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Defenders are now starting to come of age insofar you can get vintage ones (from 1981 I believe) although they're few and tend to get snatched up pretty quickly but plenty(ish) of them across the pond.

Would be a much cheaper alternative than a Navarra and you could just keep it as a second car.

I have a Range Rover Classic myself (although not for hunting) and find it a lot more comfortable than a SIII. Still tonnes of room, especially with the seats down.

Roadtax 58 euro a year, regardless of engine size and no NCT and classic insurance...

Afterthought : If you were to look around on lets say Donedeal, you might even find someone putting Disco bodies on RR chassis making them vintage, technically I believe this is legal, you may just attract the wrong kind of attention though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

wexie wrote: »
    Defenders are now starting to come of age insofar you can get vintage ones (from 1981 I believe) although they're few and tend to get snatched up pretty quickly but plenty(ish) of them across the pond.

Just make sure if you are buying from the UK or NI that the chassis is sound..
    I bought one from a dealer,with a couple of "wee holes in it,no bother to fix."
    Untill I got home and found many wee holes and some very large holes too!
    And two outriggers that needed replacements.:mad: Dunno what LR made their chassis from around 1988 to 1998..Papier mache and the cheapest steel possible would be my guess.:(

I have a Range Rover Classic myself (although not for hunting) and find it a lot more comfortable than a SIII. Still tonnes of room, especially with the seats down.
    Anything would be more comfortable than a seris 3 LR.:P

Had a seris 2a SWB[first car ],a seris3 LWB,LR110, Range Rover 1970s three door model 2 Range Rover Vouge[1980s and late 1990s]

Done the Landrover/range rover thing,and TBH I would never buy or own a Landrover here again.All of them had problems of some shape,all were expensive to fix,and all were unreliable.Some folks think they are brilll,I think and from experiance they are well over rated and now very dated.

Best value INMHO and seem to give the least bother are the Japs.
    Old Nissan[1980s] patrols,Mitsubishi pajero have been the two brands that have given me the least trouble and the best Value.Pity that the patrol was such a rot bucket.

Afterthought : If you were to look around on lets say Donedeal, you might even find someone putting Disco bodies on RR chassis making them vintage, technically I believe this is legal, you may just attract the wrong kind of attention though.

Apprently it's not 100% legal either and Revenue is wised up to that one.Have heard of lads having a fair bit of bother and explaining to do on that one.Whether true or not...But caveat emptor as them lads in Rome used to say.
    Plus it is debatable whether it works 100% as well?? Either the RR chassis is either too long or too short or its the disco body??Unless you are making a "bob tail" Rangy or Disco??

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

I believe classic or "vintage" only applies to a vehicle when it is over 30 years old from date of first registration. So anything from 1983 back would qualify.

As for the placing a body onto another chassis. As said above wouldn't chance it, and most likely not legal but i'm no expert so cannot comment further..
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Cass wrote: »
    I believe classic or "vintage" only applies to a vehicle when it is over 30 years old from date of first registration. So anything from 1983 back would qualify.

As for the placing a body onto another chassis. As said above wouldn't chance it, and most likely not legal but i'm no expert so cannot comment further..

That would be vintage yes but apparently classic is different again, Im not sure of the age but if it is your second car you can apply for a milage limit insurance and tax and you pay less due to it being used less. Could be 25 years depending on the company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

i drive a disco2 and bring in all parts from uk have her 7yr and touch wood nothing major... i do regular preventive maintenance when i can afford it ... can bring in two genuine filter kits from uk for same price as one costs here, i know toyotas are expensive to buy parts and nissan the same..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭deano2882

ah sure ! wrote: »
    i actually love the discovery , had one before and they are good on Diesel and very comfortable.
    The defender is my preferred one but hard to get a good one for good money.
    But the killer is the private road tax :mad:

planning on 7 seater discovery myself tax is bad but at end of day its not much more dan passat tdi so for extra few pound its worth it for comfort...upkeep is alot more on a jeep than car but if u can fit parts urself u cut out the labour...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,902 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Just clicked in from the main forum , how long is the deer hunting season, just tax the jeep for the season, get the rf100 form signed for the rest if the season to say its off the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭stoeger

You might think im mad but have a look at the suzuki sj 410 or sj 430 cheap as chips and will go anyware have a look on you tube

I know a lad using a Suzuki Jimny for the last 5+ years. So not that mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Jimmys are fantastic but if this is ur evey day yoke ! Not a hope not big enough for anything really and ya look like a gimp in one , there expensive too for what you get and alot if off road guys are buying them , so sought after .

Why would ya private tax a discovery , bit of efford and you'll get it tax commerical and really what cop give two ****s as long as it taxed !

Other alternative is buy the 2 litre petrol version .
    I've had no issue with my Landrover at all , and parts are dirt cheap if I do ! No like a Toyota !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

Cass wrote: »
    I know a lad using a Suzuki Jimny for the last 5+ years. So not that mad.
    The Jimmy and Vitara dont get enough credit for how well they are built and how good the engine and gearbox is on them..the only thing about the jimmy is you have to get tinted windows so no one can see you driving it:D

suzuki sj 410 , i can see the deer laughing at me seeing me driving in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭landyman

if you got one vehicle to do all your every day social and your deer hunting like new model freelander very good off road or new ranger with 2.2 engine private tax it for well under grand probably work out cheaper than taxing insuring 2 vehicle even if the second is commercial.I have comm jeep myself as second was thinking doing this.Whats ye oppinion would smell of deer linger in closed cab or the ranger dont know much about is it any good or are there better options

i drive a 400 cc scooter to work , cheap tax and no traffic. Not ideal for carrying a deer though. Will go for a commercial Landrover for my early morning trips this winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

stoeger wrote: »
    You might think im mad but have a look at the suzuki sj 410 or sj 430 cheap as chips and will go anyware have a look on you tube

They are a sound little wagon.
    If you are a four foot something in height they are grand.:D
    At 6'6" my legs are to the side of the steering wheel and it looks like I'm driving Noddy's toy car!:p

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    They are a sound little wagon.
    If you are a four foot something in height they are grand.:D
    At 6'6" my legs are to the side of the steering wheel and it looks like I'm driving Noddy's toy car!:p

Would love to see a picture of you in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

I have a Pajero pinin IO 1.8 GDI the long wheel base model and it is a fantastic little yoke. Nice and smooth enough on the road, comfortable, plenty of room inside the back seats fold down and you could throw four or five deer in the back easy. It is also a great performer off road I was amazed at how well it dose and what it can handle. It has a low box too which is great. all in all a fantastic yoke and not too heavy on tax etc.. It is also quite good on juice. :D
    282290_4112664807618_717767558_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

i have mate who has a lwb suzuki vitara 1,6 petrol that he uses for every day use and for deer/hunting and never gives much trouble and cheap enough road tax private 450ish not 100% sure, cheap enough for parts and i thinking off investing in same ,i have a dog box so wet dog wont be a problem there and cheap enough bought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭kfod

I've got a 1.6 Daihatsu Sportrak, It's a great little yoke, goes anywhere, reliable and reasonable tax, ok on petrol for a run around but not great either (same as any 4x4 i guess)

It's been nice the last few days with the back roof off driving the kids around. Pity hunting from vehicles is illegal it would be brilliant in this configuration, just sit in the back and shoot away lol :)

It's similar in size to a Vitara and to tell the truth when out hunting 3 lads with a selection of guns fairly fills it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

have looked at 1.6 diahutsu as well was goin to invest but lad selling was looking for fone no.s so goin to look at a vitara and an escudo on sat vitara is 2ltr diesel but a haulier mate of mine will get it taxed commercial for me if i buy it an the suzuki escudo is 1.6 lwb is goin for humble money i need something for day to day as well as pulling the boat/goin hunting,its a question of diesel or petrol in the long run for me as my permissions are fairly wide in four different counties alot of milage:confused: