Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

double jobbing

• 03-06-2013 2:17am
    Registered Users Posts: 561 ✭✭✭iguy

Do you double job or know anyone that does,
    What do you think of it, in our current situation when others without jobs are finding it hard to get jobs.
    I ask because a friend of mine has been working in a local convenience store,
    a pub/off licence opened recently and she applied for a job to work in the pub, a job which she got.
    Now what happened was the local people got wind that she has two jobs and they
    were giving out about, e.g. she has a job already and she should leave one and let someone else get the other one, this is a small village, 40 percent of the population is unemployed.
    What do ye think?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

It's none of their business how many jobs she has.

Nothing wrong with it in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭Kichote

It depends. Its grand to have a 'handy little earner on the side' but feck this nonsense you see so common in the States that people actually need to have two fulltime jobs at the same time to get by and have a bit of money to spare and these people arent living lavish lives by any means its just things are that tough in places

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

She might need both jobs to make ends meet. Good luck to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Barracuda1

She is dead right. I love to have a job working in retail or a hotel for a day or two a week even if it meant working evening or nights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Hownowcow

I admire her initiative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Fair play to them in one way. As another poster said, they're hardly doing it for the craic, they probably need the money.

People who have retired taking agency/ subbing work used to piss me off but you never know peoples situations and what money they need or who they are supporting.

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    She might need both jobs to make ends meet. Good luck to her.

One shouldn't need two jobs to make ends meet. if this catches on then more jobs will be filled but the pool of unemployed people stays the same size.

Eventually it gets to the point where everyone needs to work 16 hours a day to get by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Kichote wrote: »
    One shouldn't need two jobs to make ends meet.
    Might be two part-time jobs though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Barracuda1

One shouldn't need two jobs to make ends meet. if this catches on then more jobs will be filled but the pool of unemployed people stays the same size.

Eventually it gets to the point where everyone needs to work 16 hours a day to get by.

They do most households that are lucky to have two working need the money if they have to bring up kids. The cost of everything in Ireland is crazy. Since the new taxes have come in USC,property tax etc an income of 60k there is at least 80 eur per week more in taxes

Might be two part-time jobs though.

True. I dont see anything wrong with that. For full time jobs though it doesnt really make sense to have someone perfectly capable sitting on their arse doing nothing while some poor sap is flat out doing two jobs (and probably taxed to the hilt to pay for the nothing-doer's dole)

This is very common in the States. People need two jobs to get by. So they get the second job and things are grand for a while but the added stress and lack of sleep start to take their toll, then they end up burnt out and in bigger sh1t than they were before.

• Registered Users Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

iguy wrote: »
    Do you double job or know anyone that does,
    What do you think of it, in our current situation when others without jobs are finding it hard to get jobs.
    I ask because a friend of mine has been working in a local convenience store,
    a pub/off licence opened recently and she applied for a job to work in the pub, a job which she got.
    Now what happened was the local people got wind that she has two jobs and they
    were giving out about, e.g. she has a job already and she should leave one and let someone else get the other one, this is a small village, 40 percent of the population is unemployed.
    What do ye think?
    mum did this when she still lived in ireland and also when she came over here because she only did cleaning jobs and these were mainly found on part time only so she didnt make enough with one job,the years she spent in that job has left her physicaly disabled and she ended up retiring early.

there is nothing wrong with it if its part time jobs,however if they were jobs that made enough money on their own then that woud be seen as socialy or moraly unaceptable for a community,as communities work by people pulling together not working against each other.

there are drawbacks to living in rural areas that people have to accept if they want to live there- of course there will be less jobs so they need to do something rural or drive outside to a place where there are jobs.
    then there are drawbacks to city living,it sucks-its busy,smelly,noisy,theres a lot more restrictions on pets such as chickens and so on but there are more jobs.
    one area will always get jobs in no matter what rececion comes up is disability and elderly services; look for support work in either-it might involve working in the persons own home, in a residential facility,in a day centre etc,all they usualy ask for is a interest in people and being the supportive non patronising type.

theres always cleaning jobs in busier areas, but a lot of people think theyre above that job.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

It's beyond stupid how people feel they can complain about this. I saw a bumper sticker on a taxi that read 'double jobbers out'. I automatially assumed he was a moron.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭Wompa1

HaHa Really!!? Gotta love Ireland, people would get pissed off at somebody for having an initiative and work ethic to work two jobs to afford the lifestyle they want. Recession or not, why should she feel bad for working two jobs. She was hired, most likely, because she was the best candidate. The people who moan should take the time spent moaning about her to look at themselves and question why they are not as good of a candidate for the job as she is.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Im assuming that s/he is paying tax on both jobs & not a welfare cheat?

I ce no issue with someone working 2 jobs ( seeing as you asked!) but from an employers point of view this makes them less flexible with hours, emergency cover, holiday availability etc. if there was a pool of freely available equally good applicants I certainly wouldn't give a second job to a person. Unless it was a part time role which is different. I would also be wondering about their tiredness levels -again, I wouldn't do this as an employer -pinches both me and them at both ends.

With 10% of the population not working , as many as 300,000 forced out of the country ( emigration) and God knows how many forced onto useless FAS courses and free slave unpaidlabour schemes, you would wonder why they didn't give someone struggling & unemployed a break.

I see " their" point in many ways.

• Registered Users Posts: 772 ✭✭✭GTDolanator

A friend of mine works 2 jobs because she cannot get enough hours in either of the jobs to justify working one job!absolutley nothing wrong with it,some need money others just like working

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Well I'm a "double jobber", not a term I'd heard of much to be honest.
    Actually I have a 39 hour job, part time business that I work ~20 hours a week at, and have just started another small business, just 5-10 hours at the moment. Plan is that I'll be able to get to the stage where I can drop the 39 hour job and be self employed.

Surely if they are tax compliant and everything is above board then it's nobody's business. Maybe the other unemployed in the village didn't bother applying or did crappy interviews.

Business people hire the best people for positions, not have pity on crappy candidates just because they are on the scratcher.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭Corkbah

I can understand it on both sides.

for low/semi-skilled jobs - there is plenty of work, and plenty of people unwilling to do the work for the rates of pay, thats their choice !! but for others they do not see it as work but more of an opportunity to increase their income.

if we take for example photographers - there has been a huge influx of photographers over the past 10-15yrs because photography is more affordable and science has made cameras do most of the work now, so people see photography as a means of making extra cash.

there are hundreds of "wedding photographers" who only shoot at weekends because they have a mon-fri job, these people offer weddings cheaper than the "professional" because they usually do not see or have all of the expenses that a full-time photographer would have and they supplement their photography with their normal job, if they can make money from their photography ...no harm (except to professional photographers)

of course, professional photographers charge excessive fee's for something which the camera takes care of these days, so people are changing and going for the cheaper option...which means the professional wedding photographer is going to disappear unless they adapt and charge less which means they have to work more in order to cover costs - it gets to saturation point.

people trying to get into the business are not willing to learn they simply want to earn and its only until people can tell the difference between a photographer and a professional photographer that changes can be made.

Ps. there's sometimes very little difference between a photographer and a professional photographer in terms of work produced.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭lau1247

I agree. It is not anyone else's business that the girl in OP's post have two jobs. Everyone have equal opportunity as much as her to get the job.

It is not all about money by the way for anyone who thinks that. I have full time work and back two years ago I got part time on the weekend. The main reason I got the part time is just due to my personality. I feel restless when i'm not doing something. My weekdays work involve me sitting in the office all day. But on my weekend work I was doing manual labour (I see that as an opportunity to do some exercise/movement). The money that comes with it was just part of the work which was not my main motivator.

I agree with Corkbah. There are work out there but sometimes people are not willing to take it up due to the amount of work relative to the rate of pay.

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Was talking to a taxi fellow about this recently. I think because I asked what the story was with those giant green stickers on some taxis now, he said they were trying to ensure taxi cars were only taxis?
    Anyway, we agreed that if someone is able to do both jobs and clearly the best candidate for both, fair play to them. Nothing wrong with it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

bluewolf wrote: »
    Was talking to a taxi fellow about this recently. I think because I asked what the story was with those giant green stickers on some taxis now, he said they were trying to ensure taxi cars were only taxis?
    Anyway, we agreed that if someone is able to do both jobs and clearly the best candidate for both, fair play to them. Nothing wrong with it

The main problem i would have with someone working a second job as a taxi driver or bus driver is from a safety point of view. Fair enough, they might be the best driver in the world but if they are working for 8-9 hours then proceeding to drive a taxi for the next 6-7 hours, tiredness is bound to affect their driving at some point. This means that they are putting the public at risk.

In relation to the to the woman in the OP. Fair play to her i guess. If she is willing to work the two jobs, then let her at it i say. I can't imagine it allows her to have much of a social life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

One shouldn't need two jobs to make ends meet.

No 'one' shouldn't, wotwotwot... Are you the queen or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

If there were more days/hours in the week I'd work three or four jobs.

Survival of the fit and all that.

Most people I know who are long term unemployed really couldn't give a rats ass and kick up a stink when they're put on FAS courses, they don't actively seek even one job.

Fair f*cks to the girl.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭jd83

Usually the people who kick up a fuss over this are the same ones who would rather go unemployed than take certain jobs because they feel its beneath them.

If all I had was a part time job, I would find something else to build up my hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

If you want something done ask a busy person.

Fair play to her to getting two jobs and holding onto them.

Did any of the moaners even apply? If they didn't feck them and if they did well then she was the best candidate.

Rural area? Sure the publican and national school teachers and the farmers are probably part-timers in their livelihoods too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

mikemac1 wrote: »
    If you want something done ask a busy person.

I'm gonna have to work that into my day... Good saying, I never heard it before ~ can't wait to use it, with a smug look on my face :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

It depends. Its grand to have a 'handy little earner on the side' but feck this nonsense you see so common in the States that people actually need to have two fulltime jobs at the same time to get by and have a bit of money to spare and these people arent living lavish lives by any means its just things are that tough in places

It depends indeed.

The "Nonsense" is in fact Capitalism,and the "Free Market",doing it's stuff,although in this specific incidence,the "Locals" obviously don't like it.

It also needs to be recognised that,in modern Ireland,the Implimentation of the EU Working Time Directive renders it illegal for either Employer or Employee to work at the levels widespread in the U.S.

With significant restrictions on both Work and Rest periods the American model would see heavy fines and even Jail Time imposed on those foolhardy enough to want to work at a level over and above what some Eurocrat considers appropriate.

The WTA,has essentially imposed an Income Limit on ordinary folk,as it does not apply to the self-employed proffesional classes,thus we have almost silently witnessed yet another nail hammered into the coffin of the "Will to Work".

There are currently enough inducements to remain Work-Free in Ireland without seeking to completely extinguish the embers of self-respect and self-advancement which this woman obviously has.

Well done her,I say :D

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

Double jobbing. Sounds like a tag team porn move.

or a guy with 2 penis getting sucked off by two women at the same time.

maybe the guy comes from chernobyl

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

or a guy with 2 penis getting sucked off by two women at the same time.

maybe the guy comes from chernobyl

Maybe it's Micheal Douglas in respite ...;)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Not all double jobbers are double jobbers by choice either. Sometimes they are the only person willing to do a certain job, able to a certain job, or tax compliant enough to do a certain job, as in my case. I have a wee two hour a week job that I was asked to do because they couldn't find anyone with a TC2

• Registered Users Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Just because she was already employed doesn't mean she was making enough money to get by. Working in a convenience store, she was probably on minimum wage and quite possibly part-time - that would barely cover the essentials. If she can juggle two jobs to make ends meet, then fair play to her.

It's no-one else's business though - she didn't "steal" a job from anybody, she must have been the best candidate that applied and she has to do whatever she has to do to survive.