Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bon Jovi being generous? Pity there's no recession around here!

• 30-05-2013 3:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,297 ✭✭✭✭

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/bon-jovi-waive-fee-concert-spain-134220299.html
    Bon Jovi have agreed to waive their own fee for their concert in debt-ridden Spain.

The singer has decided to reduce the price for the tickets to his Madrid show, as a gesture of consideration to the strain on Spanish people because of the financial crisis.
    So Bon Jovi have waived their performance fee and reduced the price of their tickets to their Madrid show to between €18-€40 as a ''thank you'' to their Spanish fans for 30 years of support and in consideration of how bad the recession has hit Spain.....

Well I hadn't realised that the recession had missed Ireland and things were so good here :-)
    I mean here Bon Jovi will charge their Irish Fans a minimum of €80 to attend a concert in the middle of nowhere, that will cost a pretty penny to get to with piss poor transport links.
    Its a good thing us Paddies have plenty of cash to spare :-)

Oh wait, we don't! We are debt ridden and recession buried too...
    Maybe if Irish Fans just loved and supported the band a little bit more we would have got some value too ;)

But,lets look on the bright side.....
    Lots of Irish ladies are into 50 Shades of Grey.....
    And Bon Jovi obviously like to shag the Irish(and other well off North europeans) up the arse!!!!
    So ye may as well get buggered as well as ripped off!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

He'd have to pay me to go to his concerts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Maybe it wasn't that no one had money to see him. Maybe the people of Spain have wised up to the fact that bon jovi are crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Are you trying to say you don't like Bon Jovi OP, because Whooahh you're halfway there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,297 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Same here, I'm far from a fan but tbh....
    This ''gesture'' has pissed me off!
    On the one hand it paints the Spanish as close to 3rd world and benifitting from the bands altruism....
    I'd rather go deaf in fairness ;)
    And on the other it kinda belittles Irelands own recession and the problems many folk here are having financially.
    Maybe if they introduce a ''Show your dole card discount'' ! haha
    Maybe it wasn't that no one had money to see him. Maybe the people of Spain have wised up to the fact that bon jovi are crap.
    Are you trying to say you don't like Bon Jovi OP, because Whooahh you're halfway there!!
    Ba dum tish!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

It's true, half the people here are livin' on a prayer but if you do have the money you might have a nice day. I'm not a fan but it's my life so I don't have to go.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

In fairness, Spain is far more ****ed than we are economically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

It was a great move for him to realise that his own name is Bon Jovi so he can actually just get rid of the other lads and still be Bon Jovi. 400% profit!

His/their music is still ****e though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

banie01 wrote: »
    it kinda belittles Irelands own recession and the problems many folk here are having financially.

Ireland is still one of the richest countries in the world in per capita incomes.

I don't think it's wise to conflate the current economic events with global poverty or misfortune...

kinda belittles it.

NothingMan wrote: »
    It's true, half the people here are livin' on a prayer but if you do have the money you might have a nice day. I'm not a fan but it's my life so I don't have to go.

You'll have to lay down on a bed of roses after using up all them puns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Same here, I'm far from a fan but tbh....
    This ''gesture'' has pissed me off!
    On the one hand it paints the Spanish as close to 3rd world and benifitting from the bands altruism....
    I'd rather go deaf in fairness ;)

A nice gesture shot down in a blaze of glory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

You'll have to lay down on a bed of roses after using up all them puns.

I just wanted to go out of this thread in a blaze of glory.

Edit: Dammit Mikom. Who even invited you!

NothingMan wrote: »
    I just wanted to go out of this thread in a blaze of glory.

*coughs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Rock music....the older I get......its such a capitalist business......

and yet these gimps would have you believe they are on the side of the working man.....

When has Bon Jovi or any other big band ever gone to play a big gig for free, in a poor country, where people dont have the money to pay for records.

I spent some time in Ecuador years ago. Manu Chao came through to play. It was like the biggest thing ever to hit the country, it was unheard of to have a big rock band there. Tickets were $5, a decent piece of dough there. But within reach for the average person.

On the other hand, fair play to Bon Jovi for doing this. i dont see anyone else doing it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Pedro used to work on the docks.USED TO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭yara

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/bon-jovi-waive-fee-concert-spain-134220299.html

So Bon Jovi have waived their performance fee and reduced the price of their tickets to their Madrid show to between €18-€40 as a ''thank you'' to their Spanish fans for 30 years of support and in consideration of how bad the recession has hit Spain.....

Well I hadn't realised that the recession had missed Ireland and things were so good here :-)
    I mean here Bon Jovi will charge their Irish Fans a minimum of €80 to attend a concert in the middle of nowhere, that will cost a pretty penny to get to with piss poor transport links.
    Its a good thing us Paddies have plenty of cash to spare :-)

Oh wait, we don't! We are debt ridden and recession buried too...
    Maybe if Irish Fans just loved and supported the band a little bit more we would have got some value too ;)

But,lets look on the bright side.....
    Lots of Irish ladies are into 50 Shades of Grey.....
    And Bon Jovi obviously like to shag the Irish(and other well off North europeans) up the arse!!!!
    So ye may as well get buggered as well as ripped off!

yes but here in Ireland people are refusing to protest like they should. this is more of what our silence buys us

pmcmahon wrote: »
    Pedro used to work on the docks.USED TO.

Gina dreams of running away
    When she cries in the night
    Tommy whispers: .................... Mañana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

Slane is not in the middle of nowhere, thank you very much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Ticket sales are probably shíte so he's trying to fill the place by knocking down the prices but keep face by painting it as a generous gesture.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Prodigious wrote: »

Ah it is yeah, I've only met 1 person from Slane, a stupidly tall girl who was a really good kisser.

Besides that, for all I know, Slane could be nothing more than a myth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

gramar wrote: »
    Ticket sales are probably shíte so he's trying to fill the place by knocking down the prices but keep face by painting it as a generous gesture.
    I think the ticket sales are pretty woeful here too, judging by the amount of ads for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

If you like Bon Jovi, that's all you deserve. Let it be a lesson to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I was one of the lucky ones when the bon jovi tickets went on sale...I didn't get one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,287 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Far more talented bands than Bon Jovi play for peanuts for most of their careers.

Jon Bon Jovi can afford to do an entire world tour on his own dime, if he does that I'll be impressed.

Not that I'd bother with that ****e anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Spain is waaaaaaaaay more screwed than we are. Their unemployment rate is at 25% whereas ours is at 14.

More importantly, our dole is 3 times theirs. So even unemployed people can afford the ticket here. But in Spain they can't realistically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭666irishguy

Fair Play to them. Bands like Bon Jovi always put on a good show and if nothing else it will let people forget their worries for a night. Could never understand the hatred for Bon Jovi, they never pretended to be anything other than a rock band that wanted to write hits and have success. I guess people want their music to be downbeat and full of 'artistic integrity' these days. God forbid we might hear a song that you could sing along to when you are plastered and not have to worry about it's deep message. Music snobbery lives on I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Steam games are also cheaper in Spain.

The Spaniards have it so easy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭becost

They obviously can't shift tickets and are probably locked into contracts with the promoter meaning they still have to pay up if the gig doesn't go ahead. Might as well cover their costs even if they're performing for free and try to score a few points with the losers that like them in Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I guess people want their music to be downbeat and full of 'artistic integrity' these days. God forbid we might hear a song that you could sing along to when you are plastered and not have to worry about it's deep message. Music snobbery lives on I suppose.

No, it's just that Bon Jovi are crap. I don't like them but there are lots of songs and artists that have no deep message that I enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

yara wrote: »
    yes but here in Ireland people are refusing to protest like they should. this is more of what our silence buys us
    I was gonna protest but it was raining outside, so I stayed in bed and posted on boards instead. That'll show them :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I never understood why Irish people paid so much money for concert tickets. That's besides the travel costs, over-priced food & drink etc.

Most gigs were completely sold out, sometimes the artist or band only barely plays just over an hour and is off again.

I doubt Bon Jovi or other musicians set the tickets price, their promotional companies do, and they will charge whatever price they think enough people will buy at.

I suspect the tickets weren't selling well in Spain. It's not like they're giving away tickets for free either, 18-40 euro is still a significant amount for two hours entertainment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Anyone who would pay to see Bon Jovi at all deserves to have their obviously faulty eardrums kicked in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Gokei

Ireland is still one of the richest countries in the world in per capita incomes.

I don't think it's wise to conflate the current economic events with global poverty or misfortune...

kinda belittles it.

Happy days! And here I was worrying about paying the mortgage this month!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Prodigious wrote: »

no but it's a bastard to get out of after a concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Jaysus, fair enough if you don't like the music but the amount of cynicism in this thread is unreal and says more about the posters than Jon Bon Jovi.

Jon Bon Jovi comes across as a dick sometimes but if you actually look at what the guy does for other people, you'll probably realise that this isn't a PR stunt. He doesn't shout it from the roof tops like some other celebs but if you look for it, you'll find he does some great work for charity and his own community.

If he wanted to do it as a PR stunt, I'm sure there are bigger profile gigs that he could do for free that would get more publicity. The Spain gig has sold out too where as they are struggling for ticket sales in a lot of other countries so it would have made more sense, if he just wanted media coverage, to do it in Germany, UK or US.

The fella can't win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Fair play. They didn't have to do it, so it's a nice gesture from them. You'd never see U2 do that here.

Whatever about their music (I think some of their earlier songs are actually pretty good), enough people like them to have made them very successful for almost 30 years now.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Fair play. They didn't have to do it, so it's a nice gesture from them. You'd never see U2 do that here.

Whatever about their music (I think some of their earlier songs are actually pretty good), enough people like them to have made them very successful for almost 30 years now.

That's because most of the money from their tours generally goes back into the production costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

That's because most of the money from their tours generally goes back into the production costs.

Ah yeah, but I'm sure one free or discounted concert in their home country wouldn't exactly bankrupt them. Bono and co. aren't short of the few bob ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Ah yeah, but I'm sure one free or discounted concert in their home country wouldn't exactly bankrupt them. Bono and co. aren't short of the few bob ;)

One of their most famous tours in the 90's almost did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,875 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Why didn't you just call the tread "Lets bash Bon Jovi"

Whether you think they are crap or not is your own opinion and fair play to you for sharing it but calling people stupid and loosers for going to see them is unacceptable.

For what it's worth, I've been to a few of their concerts over the years and they always get a full house (and put on a great show in my opinion).

So fair play to them for the gesture, not everything has to happen in Ireland for us to appreciate it, and sure a lot of Irish people are strapped for cash now, but lets face it, quite a few of us are ok for a few bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭godwin

I wouldn't watch Bon Jovi if they were playing for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

kinda belittles it.

kraggy wrote: »
    Spain is waaaaaaaaay more screwed than we are. Their unemployment rate is at 25% whereas ours is at 14.

More importantly, our dole is 3 times theirs. So even unemployed people can afford the ticket here. But in Spain they can't realistically.

These are exactly the kind of comments that are a pet peeve of mine.
    It smacks of head in sand mentality, just like the politicians of ireland.
    "Well at least we are better off than spain" Well thats a great fcukin achievement, do you want a medal for that.

Who cares that we are better than spain, wouldnt it be better to be equal or better than Scandinavia, US, Uk japan and other similar countries.....
    but no ah shur arent we better than spain, that'll do.
    Oh and as for being better than spain, you might want to ask a spaniard about that. Opinions and all that.

Now for Bon Jovi, dont really care for them but people like what they like and they do some decent rock/pop songs.

godwin wrote: »
    I wouldn't watch Bon Jovi if they were playing for free.

That's about as original as some of Jon Bon's lyrics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

kupus wrote: »
    These are exactly the kind of comments that are a pet peeve of mine.
    It smacks of head in sand mentality, just like the politicians of ireland.
    "Well at least we are better off than spain" Well thats a great fcukin achievement, do you want a medal for that.

Who cares that we are better than spain, wouldnt it be better to be equal or better than Scandinavia, US, Uk japan and other similar countries.....
    but no ah shur arent we better than spain, that'll do.
    Oh and as for being better than spain, you might want to ask a spaniard about that. Opinions and all that.

Now for Bon Jovi, dont really care for them but people like what they like and they do some decent rock/pop songs.

*Whoosh*

DeanAustin wrote: »
    That's about as original as some of Jon Bon's lyrics.

Very?

Very?

Not so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Kolido wrote: »
    For what it's worth, I've been to a few of their concerts over the years and they always get a full house (and put on a great show in my opinion).

its afterhours, "lets hate everything"

i have seen pretty much every major rock band over the past 30 years in person and never had a bad time at a bon jovi gig even the night it pissed rain, thunder and lightning in rds back in 2001

its helps that bon jovi seems to attract a complete lack of knackery which is endemic to alot of other irish gigs

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Not so much.

Oh.

I'd imagine that causes him many a sleepless night.