Bon Jovi being generous? Pity there's no recession around here!

• 30-05-2013 04:38PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,338 ✭✭✭✭

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/bon-jovi-waive-fee-concert-spain-134220299.html
    Bon Jovi have agreed to waive their own fee for their concert in debt-ridden Spain.

The singer has decided to reduce the price for the tickets to his Madrid show, as a gesture of consideration to the strain on Spanish people because of the financial crisis.
    So Bon Jovi have waived their performance fee and reduced the price of their tickets to their Madrid show to between €18-€40 as a ''thank you'' to their Spanish fans for 30 years of support and in consideration of how bad the recession has hit Spain.....

Well I hadn't realised that the recession had missed Ireland and things were so good here :-)
    I mean here Bon Jovi will charge their Irish Fans a minimum of €80 to attend a concert in the middle of nowhere, that will cost a pretty penny to get to with piss poor transport links.
    Its a good thing us Paddies have plenty of cash to spare :-)

Oh wait, we don't! We are debt ridden and recession buried too...
    Maybe if Irish Fans just loved and supported the band a little bit more we would have got some value too ;)

But,lets look on the bright side.....
    Lots of Irish ladies are into 50 Shades of Grey.....
    And Bon Jovi obviously like to shag the Irish(and other well off North europeans) up the arse!!!!
    So ye may as well get buggered as well as ripped off!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

He'd have to pay me to go to his concerts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Maybe it wasn't that no one had money to see him. Maybe the people of Spain have wised up to the fact that bon jovi are crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Are you trying to say you don't like Bon Jovi OP, because Whooahh you're halfway there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,338 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Same here, I'm far from a fan but tbh....
    This ''gesture'' has pissed me off!
    On the one hand it paints the Spanish as close to 3rd world and benifitting from the bands altruism....
    I'd rather go deaf in fairness ;)
    And on the other it kinda belittles Irelands own recession and the problems many folk here are having financially.
    Maybe if they introduce a ''Show your dole card discount'' ! haha
    Maybe it wasn't that no one had money to see him. Maybe the people of Spain have wised up to the fact that bon jovi are crap.
    Are you trying to say you don't like Bon Jovi OP, because Whooahh you're halfway there!!
    Ba dum tish!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

It's true, half the people here are livin' on a prayer but if you do have the money you might have a nice day. I'm not a fan but it's my life so I don't have to go.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

In fairness, Spain is far more ****ed than we are economically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

It was a great move for him to realise that his own name is Bon Jovi so he can actually just get rid of the other lads and still be Bon Jovi. 400% profit!

His/their music is still ****e though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

banie01 wrote: »
    it kinda belittles Irelands own recession and the problems many folk here are having financially.

Ireland is still one of the richest countries in the world in per capita incomes.

I don't think it's wise to conflate the current economic events with global poverty or misfortune...

kinda belittles it.

NothingMan wrote: »
    It's true, half the people here are livin' on a prayer but if you do have the money you might have a nice day. I'm not a fan but it's my life so I don't have to go.

You'll have to lay down on a bed of roses after using up all them puns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Same here, I'm far from a fan but tbh....
    This ''gesture'' has pissed me off!
    On the one hand it paints the Spanish as close to 3rd world and benifitting from the bands altruism....
    I'd rather go deaf in fairness ;)

A nice gesture shot down in a blaze of glory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

You'll have to lay down on a bed of roses after using up all them puns.

I just wanted to go out of this thread in a blaze of glory.

Edit: Dammit Mikom. Who even invited you!

NothingMan wrote: »
    I just wanted to go out of this thread in a blaze of glory.

*coughs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Rock music....the older I get......its such a capitalist business......

and yet these gimps would have you believe they are on the side of the working man.....

When has Bon Jovi or any other big band ever gone to play a big gig for free, in a poor country, where people dont have the money to pay for records.

I spent some time in Ecuador years ago. Manu Chao came through to play. It was like the biggest thing ever to hit the country, it was unheard of to have a big rock band there. Tickets were $5, a decent piece of dough there. But within reach for the average person.

On the other hand, fair play to Bon Jovi for doing this. i dont see anyone else doing it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Pedro used to work on the docks.USED TO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭yara

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/bon-jovi-waive-fee-concert-spain-134220299.html

So Bon Jovi have waived their performance fee and reduced the price of their tickets to their Madrid show to between €18-€40 as a ''thank you'' to their Spanish fans for 30 years of support and in consideration of how bad the recession has hit Spain.....

Well I hadn't realised that the recession had missed Ireland and things were so good here :-)
    I mean here Bon Jovi will charge their Irish Fans a minimum of €80 to attend a concert in the middle of nowhere, that will cost a pretty penny to get to with piss poor transport links.
    Its a good thing us Paddies have plenty of cash to spare :-)

Oh wait, we don't! We are debt ridden and recession buried too...
    Maybe if Irish Fans just loved and supported the band a little bit more we would have got some value too ;)

But,lets look on the bright side.....
    Lots of Irish ladies are into 50 Shades of Grey.....
    And Bon Jovi obviously like to shag the Irish(and other well off North europeans) up the arse!!!!
    So ye may as well get buggered as well as ripped off!

yes but here in Ireland people are refusing to protest like they should. this is more of what our silence buys us

pmcmahon wrote: »
    Pedro used to work on the docks.USED TO.

Gina dreams of running away
    When she cries in the night
    Tommy whispers: .................... Mañana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭Prodigious

Slane is not in the middle of nowhere, thank you very much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Ticket sales are probably shíte so he's trying to fill the place by knocking down the prices but keep face by painting it as a generous gesture.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Prodigious wrote: »
    Slane is not in the middle of nowhere, thank you very much.

Ah it is yeah, I've only met 1 person from Slane, a stupidly tall girl who was a really good kisser.

Besides that, for all I know, Slane could be nothing more than a myth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭stretchdoe

gramar wrote: »
    Ticket sales are probably shíte so he's trying to fill the place by knocking down the prices but keep face by painting it as a generous gesture.
    I think the ticket sales are pretty woeful here too, judging by the amount of ads for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

If you like Bon Jovi, that's all you deserve. Let it be a lesson to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I was one of the lucky ones when the bon jovi tickets went on sale...I didn't get one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,391 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Far more talented bands than Bon Jovi play for peanuts for most of their careers.

Jon Bon Jovi can afford to do an entire world tour on his own dime, if he does that I'll be impressed.

Not that I'd bother with that ****e anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Spain is waaaaaaaaay more screwed than we are. Their unemployment rate is at 25% whereas ours is at 14.

More importantly, our dole is 3 times theirs. So even unemployed people can afford the ticket here. But in Spain they can't realistically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭666irishguy

Fair Play to them. Bands like Bon Jovi always put on a good show and if nothing else it will let people forget their worries for a night. Could never understand the hatred for Bon Jovi, they never pretended to be anything other than a rock band that wanted to write hits and have success. I guess people want their music to be downbeat and full of 'artistic integrity' these days. God forbid we might hear a song that you could sing along to when you are plastered and not have to worry about it's deep message. Music snobbery lives on I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

Steam games are also cheaper in Spain.

The Spaniards have it so easy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 328 ✭✭becost

They obviously can't shift tickets and are probably locked into contracts with the promoter meaning they still have to pay up if the gig doesn't go ahead. Might as well cover their costs even if they're performing for free and try to score a few points with the losers that like them in Spain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I guess people want their music to be downbeat and full of 'artistic integrity' these days. God forbid we might hear a song that you could sing along to when you are plastered and not have to worry about it's deep message. Music snobbery lives on I suppose.

No, it's just that Bon Jovi are crap. I don't like them but there are lots of songs and artists that have no deep message that I enjoy.