Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Something needs to be done about nightclub groping

• 28-05-2013 10:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭rox5

http://beaut.ie/2013/79727/

Just came across this on Facebook, and really is one of the reasons I rarely go to nightclubs that much anymore. I mean girls should be able to go out and enjoy themselves without being groped by creeps and then getting scolded when they reject them.

I mean some of the comments on beaut.ie really creep me out and I keep thinking that if this behavior continues that no girl will ever trust a guy who approaches them in a nightclub or pub, even though they might actually be genuine. I feel bad for those decent guys being tarred with the same brush of being a creep automatically if they talked to a girl in a nightclub.

Have you ever been groped in a nightclub, to a point where it ruined your night?
    Just want to hear other woman's views on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I don't go often to night clubs but it still happened a lot. People on holidays tend to be the worst. I was in a crowded club once when a group of turists came (I think they were Italian but the nationality diesnt overly matter) and every ten minutes different hand landed on my arse or someone was leaning on me. But in a way it was very bad couple of weeks ago. The first guy tried to chat me up and when he figured out my boyfriend was standing behind he ignored him and kept on going. It's realy not fun when somebody is so drunk they can barley talk and just go on and on. The other guy was worse. He basically asked me what am I doing with that fat **** (my boyfriend) and was just a pain anyway. I don't like to be ignorant but with that one I had enough and just walked away. Sometimes I wish they would just grope me and leave, it would be less painfull than listening to the drunken dross. There were other examples, for whatever reason any creep in the neighborhood finds me. Maybe I'm old but this kind of stuff just makes stay away from certain places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

I'd imagine it's happened to all women at some point.

The only time it legit ruined my night was when a guy groped me, I pushed him off and told him to fcuk off. He then told me he was going to rape me. :rolleyes: Lovely behaviour *snort*.

In general, it doesn't happen too often in the places I go, but I don't let it ruin my night. I just call the bouncer and get him to deal with the bloke and then get on with my night.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

The way some men behave in nightclubs really puts me off going. I used to love going when I was younger and probably (stupidly) had more of a tolerance for being felt up and groped. I loved--and still love--to have a dance.

I think there's a perception that if you're in a club, you're there to pull someone. I'd like to say that this is a new thing but it was the same 17 (!) years ago when I started going out first.

The last couple of times I went to a club (hello hen nights) I left feeling very edgy after spending the nights trying to fend off guys. Very young drunk guys for the most part. I did feel there was pressure to gently dissuade them rather than "making a scene" or "ruining people's nights". It's a bit crap that that's what my #1 concern was rather than avoiding being groped. :(

I go mostly to late night bars now if I'm going out. There's not as much opportunity to dance (not that I let that stop me) but I have a far better night not having to constantly keep an eye on the roaming hands of random guys.

I was pregnant last time I was on a hen and some dick-head grabbed my tits. I don't know what hurt more, my sore boobs that I could barely get into a bra without wincing over, or the fact that this ass treated my body as public property.

URGH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭DeltaWhite

I was out the other night and I was a little tipsy, wearing jeans and a nice top.

Some slime ball walked up to me and grabbed my lady area and I instinctively smacked him right in the face. I'm not a violent person but if some muppet thinks he can invade my space like that I will gladly protect/defend myself. The bouncers saw what happened and escorted him out.

I was sickened by it. I have a bf and I don't go looking for men when I'm out, I was with the girls having a great time and my night was ruined by one absolute sleaze.. I actually don't even know why I feel like I have to explain myself, maybe that's society today - dress provocatively and you're "asking for it" or being to drunk leaves you open to this kind of thing. Shouldn't be happening at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,768 ✭✭✭✭fits

Walked into Flannerys bar one night about ten years ago. I just walked down the length of the bar and was groped three times in about 90 seconds. It was crowded so I could never see who had done it. I turned around and walked back out and have never set foot in the place since. I cannot abide nightclubs or meat market bars.

Anytime I go out to dance now, its at music festivals or gigs. I dont really go out otherwise anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,366 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

As a 30 something guy, can I ask where you ladies are experiencing this?
    Are they typically younger guys?

I'm not shy but I couldn't even imagine just randomly groping/grabbing some girl on a night out, no matter how drunk.

I have also never seen it firsthand, but heard how places like Coppers etc are considered meat markets by both sexes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,768 ✭✭✭✭fits

GreeBo wrote: »
    Almost everywhere when it is packed and people are drunk. (never have a problem at gigs though)
    not necessarily.
    I'm not shy but I couldn't even imagine just randomly groping/grabbing some girl on a night out, no matter how drunk.
    Its nothing to do with shyness or confidence, its more to do with being a dick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭markad1

Holy jaysus, I'm a 40 yo man and I'm gobsmacked reading above.
    Then again I don't get out much :D

fits wrote: »
    Its nothing to do with shyness or confidence, its more to do with being a dick.

Not denying that they are dicks, but it does seem like something a normally shy dickhead would do with some drink on board. Lots of guys I know turn into very different people when drunk, some very obnoxious and totally different than when sober. I guess the same is true for girls.

Begs the question, any girls on here ever pinch a random bum on a night out?
    I've seen and experienced that but it seems to be treated as much more of a laugh when a girl does it, less predatory I guess anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I haven't been to a club in years, and I'm glad for it now. I've never had a problem with men groping me (I reckon I must give off a 'fúck off' air), so I'm surprised to hear how prevalent it seems to be. Don't let them away with it, if a man got a smack in the chops every time he did something like this he wouldn't be long about stopping it. Don't worry about making a scene; teach them a lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,430 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I have also never seen it firsthand, but heard how places like Coppers etc are considered meat markets by both sexes.

I'd never do it either, but i've seen friends actually score from a bit of ass slappin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭rox5

Begs the question, any girls on here ever pinch a random bum on a night out?
    I've seen and experienced that but it seems to be treated as much more of a laugh when a girl does it, less predatory I guess anyway.

I know a girl who slapped a few bums on a night out just for a laugh, but she would not be pineing after them though. I think it is different with girls, they might just do it as a bit of harmless fun, but I have never in my experiance seen a girl grope a guy and follow them around the nightclub, or get really pissed off when they are rejected. It's scarier with guys since they are, I'll admit, the stronger sex. I had one guy grab my wrist one time, and could not get him to loosen his grip for ages. If I did that to a guy (just FYI I have never done that to guys on nights out, just giving an example), he could pull away from me no bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

rox5 wrote: »
    I know a girl who slapped a few bums on a night out just for a laugh, but she would not be pineing after them though. I think it is different with girls, they might just do it as a bit of harmless fun

It's really not harmless fun. It's a violation of someone's privacy. Guys could say the same about doing it to girls, "Ah, sure I was only playing." I can't see how anyone can debate this. Don't grab other people. It seems obvious.

Usually in the clubs which have general appeal. Rock clubs, concert venues, alternative music events or even more expensive night clubs are usually ok. It's the common night clubs who attract all types of people which seem to be the worst. When younger I spent the most time in clubs or pubs where men were way to preoccupied checking if a guitarist on the stage made a mistake than anything else. And it was great, although you wouldn't get chatted up either.

I like alcohol, I have a glass of wine with food very often and sometimes I get drunk too. But I hate it how annoying people can get when completely hammered. I honestly believe that drink is the main problem. Most of those guys are dicks in everyday life too but they are much worse when drunk.

fits wrote: »
    Walked into Flannerys bar one night about ten years ago. I just walked down the length of the bar and was groped three times in about 90 seconds. It was crowded so I could never see who had done it. I turned around and walked back out and have never set foot in the place since. I cannot abide nightclubs or meat market bars.

Anytime I go out to dance now, its at music festivals or gigs. I dont really go out otherwise anymore.

Something similiar happened to me where I was just dancing with my friends minding my own business, when I felt the back of my top being lifted up. I pulled it down super quick, and turned around to tell them off but they were no where to be found. It didn't help that I am not totally skinny, so I have a bit of flab and love handles. So I wasn't sure if it was someone trying to grope me, or if it was someone being a real dickhead and trying to expose my fatness.
    But had made me even more self-concious about my body shape, since it is impossible to find going-out clothes that are not tight-skinned and crop-top these days. Similiar thing happened on a nightout where I overheard a group of guys talking about which girls they saw and who they would want to sleep and when they saw me they said I was too fat to sleep with, and I am only a size 12! That's is not fat in my opinion.

meeeeh wrote: »
    Usually in the clubs which have general appeal. Rock clubs, concert venues, alternative music events or even more expensive night clubs are usually ok. It's the common night clubs who attract all types of people which seem to be the worst. When younger I spent the most time in clubs or pubs where men were way to preoccupied checking if a guitarist on the stage made a mistake than anything else. And it was great, although you wouldn't get chatted up either.

I like alcohol, I have a glass of wine with food very often and sometimes I get drunk too. But I hate it how annoying people can get when completely hammered. I honestly believe that drink is the main problem. Most of those guys are dicks in everyday life too but they are much worse when drunk.
    ha i hear ya!

I know a girl who slapped a few bums on a night out just for a laugh, but she would not be pineing after them though. I think it is different with girls, they might just do it as a bit of harmless fun, but I have never in my experiance seen a girl grope a guy and follow them around the nightclub, or get really pissed off when they are rejected. It's scarier with guys since they are, I'll admit, the stronger sex. I had one guy grab my wrist one time, and could not get him to loosen his grip for ages. If I did that to a guy (just FYI I have never done that to guys on nights out, just giving an example), he could pull away from me no bother.

I don't think it's harmless fun. I know quite a few men who would not appreciate that kind of harmless fun. I might be old fashioned but I do think that we should treat people with some sort of respect.

meeeeh wrote: »
    I don't think it's harmless fun. I know quite a few men who would not appreciate that kind of harmless fun. I might be old fashioned but I do think that we should treat people with some sort of respect.

I saw an irish girl get put in her place in Egypt when she pinched a muslim dude in the ass....he was dead sound and was hanging out with us at night all week...then that happened...he went nuts "have you no respect" etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭markad1

rox5...I'm sure all those lads were hunks and could "pull" any girl they wanted....I wouldn't have said 12 was big either

Something similiar happened to me where I was just dancing with my friends minding my own business, when I felt the back of my top being lifted up. I pulled it down super quick, and turned around to tell them off but they were no where to be found. It didn't help that I am not totally skinny, so I have a bit of flab and love handles. So I wasn't sure if it was someone trying to grope me, or if it was someone being a real dickhead and trying to expose my fatness.
    But had made me even more self-concious about my body shape, since it is impossible to find going-out clothes that are not tight-skinned and crop-top these days. Similiar thing happened on a nightout where I overheard a group of guys talking about which girls they saw and who they would want to sleep and when they saw me they said I was too fat to sleep with, and I am only a size 12! That's is not fat in my opinion.

i actually heard this about me when i was 21ish "what about him? ...nah bellys to big" i laughed....but ya know yerself!!

The only person's bum I've ever groped in a nightclub was my OH's and I had pre-approval.

I don't think it's any less wrong for a girl to randomly grope/slap/or pinch a guy than it is the other way around.

If you wouldn't do it to someone somewhere like the supermarket, a club should be no different.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

kylith wrote: »
    Don't let them away with it, if a man got a smack in the chops every time he did something like this he wouldn't be long about stopping it. Don't worry about making a scene; teach them a lesson.
    Don't go down this route. Aside from the risk of having some drunken cretin fly into a rage and absolutely lamp you, it's simply wrong. I've had girls pinch or slap my arse plenty of times too and giving someone a smack isn't appropriate, whatever their gender.

Report it to the management of the club in question, and if they don't act on it, well, then it's time to start naming and shaming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

I went out last weekend for a friend's birthday, we were in a packed bar in town. At about midnight i decided it was time for me to leave but we were as far from the exit as I could be. There were loads of groups of lads standing in my way and every group I tried to squish past wouldn't let me go at first, you know the type, stopping a woman by themselves, trying to be smartarses and making comments.

That was until they realised I was 8 months pregnant and that's why I couldn't get past. The look of fear on their faces as they all frantically tried to get out of my way as quick as possible was hilarious!

I rarely go to bars or clubs anymore so can't recall being groped. I don't remember it being a problem when I did go out a lot but perhaps my tolerance for assholes was higher than.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Report it to the management of the club in question, and if they don't act on it, well, then it's time to start naming and shaming.
    It’s not always that straightforward though. I was in a pub with two friends and this drunk middle aged man started bothering us, he didn’t actually grope any of us but he sat down next to my friend and kept trying to put his arm around her and touch her leg. We complained about him to the barman and he said that she should take it as a compliment, so we left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

Originally Posted by kylith viewpost.gif
    Don't let them away with it, if a man got a smack in the chops every time he did something like this he wouldn't be long about stopping it. Don't worry about making a scene; teach them a lesson.

It would sound awful if that man was a woman in the above :S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭DeltaWhite

Don't go down this route. Aside from the risk of having some drunken cretin fly into a rage and absolutely lamp you, it's simply wrong. I've had girls pinch or slap my arse plenty of times too and giving someone a smack isn't appropriate, whatever their gender.

If someone touches my vagina without my permission - they are getting slapped simple as that. Anyone who thinks they can do that to a woman and get away with it needs a slap of reality. I understand your point about them flying into a rage but in the heat of the moment that's not what I would be thinking about!

DeltaWhite wrote: »
    If someone touches my vagina without my permission - they are getting slapped simple as that. Anyone who thinks they can do that to a woman and get away with it needs a slap of reality. I understand your point about them flying into a rage but in the heat of the moment that's not what I would be thinking about!

So what am I entitled to do if some "lady" grabs me in the crotch?
    Surely no one should think they can do that to anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭CavanGal

This stuff drives me mad. Why is it that if I am walking down the street in the middle of the day and some guy slapped my ass, grabbed my chest or vagina, all hell would break loose, the Guards called and the guy done for assault. However, 12 hours later I am in a bar/club, I head to the bar and its a fricking free for all and I should laugh it off or else I am creating a scene/embarrassing myself. No-one has ever grabbed my vagina (thank God as I would freak) but I am rather, er, gifted in the chest area and when I was younger, I was often gropped there -whether I was wearing a low top or not. I can take the ass slapping to a certain extent as it is less invasive but it still irritates me. However any other gropping and the refusal to take no for an answer when trying to chat me up is just ridiculous and upsetting. Why is it that drink leads some people (of both sexes) to lose all common sense and become animal-like?

I do agree though that it depends where you go so I tend to avoid Coppers and the likes at all costs. However, I should be able to wear what I like without people thinking it is an invitation to touch me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

It's gotten worse in the last few years, it's rare I will go out unless it's to places were that sort of carry on is not acceptable or if I have friends with me who will back me up.

Last time it happened was last weekend, trying move through a pub to head to the stairs to go up and meet people there. Two arseholes moved into my way thinking I was going to have to brush passed them, I refused and asked them loudly to move and they acted like scalded cats, calling me rude. I noticed movement out of the corner of my eye as I moved passed them and turned around to catch one of them going to grope my bum, told him if he touched me I would have him done for assault. Needless to say I got called a bitch, a dyke and a stuck up cnt and these were men older then me I'd say mid 40s to 50s and it was 9:30pm in a pub and not in a night club.

When I was leaving the pub 2 hours later I got groped twice, couldn't say who it was, was just trying to get the hell out of there asap. I won't be going back there ever again.

Mods, any issue with people posting where they have had this happen to them?

What exactly would it achieve?

It's happened to me in every club in Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

Have you ever been groped in a nightclub, to a point where it ruined your night?
    Just want to hear other woman's views on this.

A man grabbed my friend's behind, while we were walking up the stairs of a club one night, my friend had words with him and his response was "ah, it was just there, in front of me, looking so cute, I couldn't resist - it's only a bit of fun", not in the least bit apologetic.

He had quite a large nose and before I knew what was happening I had his nose in a pinch, and as he squeaked, completely startled, I said to him "ah, it was just there, at the tip of your face, looking so pinchable, I couldn't resist".

Unsurprisingly, he didn't find it fun having his nose grabbed - just as my friend didn't find it fun having her ass grabbed. He made a watery apology and we continued on our way, hoping there was now one less man in the world who thinks it's OK to grab total strangers in nightclubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

First off, I'm a fella in my early twenties.
    These kinda antics are pretty much the reason why I don't go to nightclubs any more. It makes me sick to see some lads (and indeed ladies) having absolutely no qualms about disrespecting other peoples personal space.

I can't understand how this Alchemy nightclub sh!thole can justify this kind of advertisement. It leads people to believe that everyone else there is ripe for the picking... Where can this lead if some particularly persistent punter is rejected by the attractive lady he just groped? Will it stop there?
    Advertising their events like it's some kind of fúcking orgy and giving the premise that everyone's up for it is disgusting.

I was kicked out of a nightclub a few years ago (and subsequently barred for arguing my corner with the staff) after I ended up in a bit of a "situation" with one of the regulars there - who constantly harrassed female customers by touching them/slapping arses etc.
    Since then, I've only been in a proper nightclub once. I got kicked out of there too when I requested the bouncers remove a certain "gentleman" from the building after he repeatedly snapped one of my female friends bra straps, pestering her to go home with him.

Any establishment, nightclubs included, should really start to work on creating a better environment for their patrons - one in which drunken, inconsiderate, touchy-feely arseholes are removed from the premises quick-sharp. People should always feel comfortable on a night out and not constantly having to be worried about being touched inappropriately.

Das Kitty wrote: »
    What exactly would it achieve?

It's happened to me in every club in Galway.

People would know where to avoid?
    I'm sure it doesnt happen in every club/pub in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

If you've ever experienced that horrible grinding thing--crotch into your backside grinding on you--here's your answer. Thank me later. :pac:

roast wrote: »
    First off, I'm a fella in my early twenties.
    These kinda antics are pretty much the reason why I don't go to nightclubs any more. It makes me sick to see some lads (and indeed ladies) having absolutely no qualms about disrespecting other peoples personal space.

I can't understand how this Alchemy nightclub sh!thole can justify this kind of advertisement. It leads people to believe that everyone else there is ripe for the picking... Where can this lead if some particularly persistent punter is rejected by the attractive lady he just groped? Will it stop there?
    Advertising their events like it's some kind of fúcking orgy and giving the premise that everyone's up for it is disgusting.

I was kicked out of a nightclub a few years ago (and subsequently barred for arguing my corner with the staff) after I ended up in a bit of a "situation" with one of the regulars there - who constantly harrassed female customers by touching them/slapping arses etc.
    Since then, I've only been in a proper nightclub once. I got kicked out of there too when I requested the bouncers remove a certain "gentleman" from the building after he repeatedly snapped one of my female friends bra straps, pestering her to go home with him.

Any establishment, nightclubs included, should really start to work on creating a better environment for their patrons - one in which drunken, inconsiderate, touchy-feely arseholes are removed from the premises quick-sharp. People should always feel comfortable on a night out and not constantly having to be worried about being touched inappropriately.

Fair play to you, lad! If only they were more guys like you! That actually makes me sick that you were one thrown out of these places, and not the perverts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

People would know where to avoid?
    I'm sure it doesnt happen in every club/pub in Dublin.

It's happened to me every single time I've gone to a nightclub, and I'm an average looking woman. Various towns and venues. It's easy to miss the regularity of it if you're not the one experiencing it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

I don't see any benefits in "naming & shaming", one or two creeps who can't keep their hands to themselves doesn't represent a venue's entire crowd.

It's happened to me on more than a few occasions and it gives me the rage that someone I don't know, have never spoke to, thinks it's ok to touch me on my backside. How could someone think that would get a positive response? Or worse, putting hands around my waist from behind and "dancing". *shudders*

I was in a club once and a guy decided to have a feel of my ass. I managed to grab his hand and made sure to tell him to never fcuking touch me again. Think he got the message, he looked a bit offended even. How did he think I felt :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

I've found that a lot of women have the same idea that someone else (could have been OP) on this thread has already pointed out, when women do it it's just harmless fun..

It's wrong to lay a hand on anyone else no matter if it's a man or woman without consent.

I've had it done to me in nightclubs by girls I know and girls I don't know as well, it doesn't really bother me but I can see that people take it as a violation of their space. I'd say that 90% of lads my age go out to clubs to "pull" and with a lot of alcohol involved it's only a matter of time before someone tries groping someone.

I don't see a solution to this, unless everyone who gets groped on a night out reports it to the club, they wouldn't be able to ignore it then, with possibly a hundred(wouldn't surprise me) incidents each night.

I've found that a lot of women have the same idea that someone else (could have been OP) on this thread has already pointed out, when women do it it's just harmless fun..

It's wrong to lay a hand on anyone else no matter if it's a man or woman without consent.

I've had it done to me in nightclubs by girls I know and girls I don't know as well, it doesn't really bother me but I can see that people take it as a violation of their space. I'd say that 90% of lads my age go out to clubs to "pull" and with a lot of alcohol involved it's only a matter of time before someone tries groping someone.

I don't see a solution to this, unless everyone who gets groped on a night out reports it to the club, they wouldn't be able to ignore it then, with possibly a hundred(wouldn't surprise me) incidents each night.

Ok I am gonna have to explain myself here, I understand that it is wrong to put your hands on anyone, girl or boy. No one likes to be annoyed like that when they are having a good time.

I am just saying that, in my experiance, that while they pinching on the ass can be annoying from boy or girl, there is something just more scary about a guy who follows you around, his hands all over you, and grabbing your wrists, your arms or your neck in an agressive way and not letting go, because they know they are stronger than you. I have never really seen girls do this to any guys themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭Gorilla Rising

I am just saying that, in my experiance, that while they pinching on the ass can be annoying from boy or girl, there is something just more scary about a guy who follows you around, his hands all over you, and grabbing your wrists, your arms or your neck in an agressive way and not letting go, because they know they are stronger than you. I have never really seen girls do this to any guys themselves.

You're exaggerating to defend your indefensible comment that it's 'harmless fun' when a woman does it. Just admit you're wrong and stop making things up.

I've never seen nor heard of this behaviour from anyone I've encountered.

Not saying it doesn't happen, but you're implying it's as common in comparison to what a woman does (just pinching a guys ass) and you're just plain wrong.

plenty of guys would be intimidated by a bunch of girls crowding around and pinching his ass...being physically afraid is a different issue imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Yeah I get where you're coming from now that you've explained.

But it's actually baffling the amount of women who'll use the "it's harmless fun" line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

When I was a teenager, I was out with the girls (I was overage I would like to add) and I had not been drinking but was heading to the bathroom, my neighbour/landlord who was nigh on 50 cornered me in the local nightclub and felt me up. It destroyed my night and indeed a lot of my time living at home after. I told my mother, but she was more interested in the low rent costs than me and warned me if I went to the gardaí she would say I was lying (needless to say, I have long left home and now have nothing to do with her) but I still get scared thinking of that night. Thank goodness it was indoors and not outside.

When women don't protect women, how can we expect anyone to sort it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Another- admittedly compelling- reason why I don't think people should bother with nightclubs.

If I saw one of my friends doing this I would instantly lose every bit of respect for them I had.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 230 ✭✭alphamule

What do you guys propose?? With drink involved this will always go on!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Systemic Risk

Im not trying to derail the thread, start an argument or take away from the terrible behaviour described here but i would like to pointvout ladies are very guilty of the exact same behaviour. I worked as security in bars for a few years in college and i was constantly getting groped, pinched, my ass slapped, u name it by drunk girls and i saw it happen to plenty of male customers. I found it anniying also but there is more of an acceptance of the behaviour when girls do it. Anyway i just wanted to make the point. Ill see myself out of the lounge, good night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,902 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

kylith wrote: »
    I haven't been to a club in years, and I'm glad for it now. I've never had a problem with men groping me (I reckon I must give off a 'fúck off' air), so I'm surprised to hear how prevalent it seems to be. Don't let them away with it, if a man got a smack in the chops every time he did something like this he wouldn't be long about stopping it. Don't worry about making a scene; teach them a lesson.

One night someone grabbed my tecticles was I was ordering a drink and when I turned around it was a woman who was part of a Hen night and it was one of the things on their "do do" list to grab some strangers crotch.

Should I have "smacked her in the chops" for doing this?

I'm not defending a groper but I really don't think it's acceptable for either sex to throw slaps.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Im not trying to derail the thread, start an argument or take away from the terrible behaviour described here but i would like to pointvout ladies are very guilty of the exact same behaviour. I worked as security in bars for a few years in college and i was constantly getting groped, pinched, my ass slapped, u name it by drunk girls and i saw it happen to plenty of male customers. I found it anniying also but there is more of an acceptance of the behaviour when girls do it. Anyway i just wanted to make the point. Ill see myself out of the lounge, good night.

Please consider the charter the next time you post, thanks

It is also not the place for men to respond to a thread on a women's point of view with "what about men?", this is considered "whataboutery" and off topic posting. If you want to discuss such subjects there are other forums on Boards where you can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

It's a good few years since I set foot inside a nightclub, but this constant groping/pinching/ass slapping/rubbing up against was really offputting. I'm only ordinary looking but it happened every single time I went to a nightclub. Sometimes I would just ignore it, sometimes I would give them an elbow or something but it doesn't really help. To be honest, it often ruined a night out for me, particularly if the guy was very persistent. I don't understand what these people think they are going to achieve?