Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advantages Of Living Alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I LOVE living alone, it is by far one of my favourite things.

It's like I have my own private island, every room is mine and I can do what I want with it, I don't have to make boring conversation with anyone when I use the kitchen or the sitting room, I can watch or listen to whatever I want, when I want, as loud as I want, no one steals my food, I can make a massive mess in the kitchen cooking and then not give a **** about cleaning up until I feel like it, I can make as much noise as I want, no one is there to nag me, no one is using my computer/Internet/telly/game consoles/ipad when I want to use them, mu stuff is always where i left it. Being honest that whole caring is sharing malarkey is bs, being a selfish bastard is much more fun.

And if I ever get lonely I ring someone or give a shout over or they give a shout to me. Plus I have my dog, the greatest company ever, because he doesn't talk.

Downsides to living alone, all the bills and rent beiong to you and you alone. That's about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Being able to sleep in all day.
    Being able to bring whoever you like back and not care about making noise.
    Being able to have cereal for three meals a day.
    Being able to sleep with the downstairs lights on because nobody is giving out.
    Being able to leave last nights cereal bowl in the sink without having to wash it.
    Nobody stealing your drinks or food.
    No waiting for the washing machine/dryer.
    Nobody messing up after you've scrubbed the place.

Living alone would be great.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

The worst thing about living on your own is when you watch or read something really scary and then later on when you're lying in your bed and you think you hear a noise so you listen closely and then you hear it again so you hide under your duvet but the noise starts to get louder and then your bedroom door slowly creaks open..... AAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

Glad I'm not living on my own anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭my my my

you can control the washing up system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

You can have no pants Wednesday too, that's generally frowned upon with others

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

Not having to put up with your housemates friends coming over constantly, that it is almost like they live there, especially if you don't like them, or they piss you off.

Clean up whenever you want to and not have to listen to others complaining that the house is untidy.

I don't have to remind others to do their share of the cleaning.

No food is taken from you, and I can stock the fridge as much as I want to.

Not having to engage in conversation with housemates all the time so you appear "normal".

I can invite whoever I want over, whenever I want, and not have to worry about what the housemates are doing.

If I don't like someone they don't get into the house.

Independence.

No queue for the shower/toilet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I have never lived with anyone that i would want as a friend except for 1 guy. All the rest were just there because i cant afford a house to myself and want decent internet. Been on my own now for a few weeks and its great, throw stuff wherever i want in the fridge, no trying to figure our if something is yours or not.

I have started to get lonely but the neighbours cat has started coming in the window while im in the kitchen so I've started talking to her while I make food. Am I insane? Probably but mr fluffykins doesnt judge me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Making love to the Pannetone before the guests arrive. Then spreading sweetened clotted cream all over. And watching them enjoy it. Groovy baby!

Dancor wrote: »
    Porn with the volume up.

Porn has sound?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Having a fridge full of beer and nothing else if that's what you want.

Burping and farting with wild abandon.

Whatever you want on the telly/ xbox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

You can double dip any of the cartons of food in the house
    A fart never has to be followed up with "excuse me"
    You can delete 95% of the crud on your Sky+ Planner
    You never hear "are you sure you haven't had enough already"?
    You can cry at the end of Love Story :o
    Sausage Rolls are a legitimate breakfast

• Registered Users Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Knowing where everything is. Girlfriends in particularly have a supernatural ability to tidy things out of existence. Not worrying which shelf in the bathroom cabinet or fridge is 'mine'. They're all fecking mine. Pottering around the gaff to whatever hour takes your fancy and not worrying about who's getting up when.

No more countless píssy, pointless arguments over shopping lists (you got milk, I said I'd get milk. Now we've got too much milk. But you didn't get onions. I told you I needed onions...). No more arguments that hang in the air for days or possibly weeks. No more friends of friends who obviously don't mind messing the place up because sure it's a share and I'm only here for a few days.

No more eye-rolling or pointed sighs at choice of music or TV (Hotel Impossible rocks. Yeah it does). No more interrogation of bills. I used it all, I'll pay for it all. No more "Can you turn down the TV/music, I'm on the phone." It's a mobile. Walk into one of the many other rooms in the mansion. Your bedroom for example.

No more increasingly distant/frosty/fractious relationships, but there's nobody wants to be the one to move out. And why should I/they?

No more space hogging with books, bikes, electronics etc. No more arguing over space hogging. No more trimming your own personality back to suit someone else.

That last one's definitely more important as you get older. Once you're past 40, it's very difficult to rearrange your habits to suit someone else's. As someone fierce clever (Sartre I think) once said, hell is other people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

Duck Soup wrote: »
    Knowing where everything is. Girlfriends in particularly have a supernatural ability to tidy things out of existence. Not worrying which shelf in the bathroom cabinet or fridge is 'mine'. They're all fecking mine. Pottering around the gaff to whatever hour takes your fancy and not worrying about who's getting up when.

No more countless píssy, pointless arguments over shopping lists (you got milk, I said I'd get milk. Now we've got too much milk. But you didn't get onions. I told you I needed onions...). No more arguments that hang in the air for days or possibly weeks. No more friends of friends who obviously don't mind messing the place up because sure it's a share and I'm only here for a few days.

No more eye-rolling or pointed sighs at choice of music or TV (Hotel Impossible rocks. Yeah it does). No more interrogation of bills. I used it all, I'll pay for it all. No more "Can you turn down the TV/music, I'm on the phone." It's a mobile. Walk into one of the many other rooms in the mansion. Your bedroom for example.

No more increasingly distant/frosty/fractious relationships, but there's nobody wants to be the one to move out. And why should I/they?

No more space hogging with books, bikes, electronics etc. No more arguing over space hogging. No more trimming your own personality back to suit someone else.

That last one's definitely more important as you get older. Once you're past 40, it's very difficult to rearrange your habits to suit someone else's. As someone fierce clever (Sartre I think) once said, hell is other people.

I think I love you. Will you be my internet boyfriend?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

i have to say, i do 90% of the stuff listed here ( except the public toilet/ bodily function stuff) living with herself. plus i have food and sex on tap.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

oldyouth wrote: »
    You can double dip any of the cartons of food in the house
    A fart never has to be followed up with "excuse me"
    You can delete 95% of the crud on your Sky+ Planner
    You never hear "are you sure you haven't had enough already"?
    You can cry at the end of Love Story :o
    Sausage Rolls are a legitimate breakfast

These sound more like the whinges of a wife than a housemate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Itwasntme. wrote: »
    The silence. I miss the silence. God I can't wait to live alone again. This is one of the reasons I have no intention of ever getting married or having kids.

Join a nunnery then. Most of the people in this thread seem to want to withdraw from society. I'm going to start selling crying chairs, seems like a profitable line of business in here.
    i have to say, i do 90% of the stuff listed here ( except the public toilet/ bodily function stuff) living with herself. plus i have food and sex on tap.

Same here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Itwasntme.

Join a nunnery then. Most of the people in this thread seem to want to withdraw from society. I'm going to start selling crying chairs, seems like a profitable line of business in here.

Convents are like prisons. Yes, they are mostly silent and one has relative solitude but one is not free which is even worse.

I for one don't want to withdraw from society. I just want (maybe even need) a space that is mine and mine alone. A space within which I am in complete control. It's hard to get that when you're living with other people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,920 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Same here.

I think they just want to play with their bits while cool breeze comes through their sitting room window

• Registered Users Posts: 1 julia moxey

Its super living alone, can get up when I like ,eat when Iwant and what I like.
    No one moaning. I can come and go as I want without a thousand questions what time will you be home, where are you going etc,etc. It has loads of ++++++

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

This thread reeks of the first world.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,800 ✭✭✭take everything

The worst thing about living on your own is when you watch or read something really scary and then later on when you're lying in your bed and you think you hear a noise so you listen closely and then you hear it again so you hide under your duvet but the noise starts to get louder and then your bedroom door slowly creaks open..... AAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

Glad I'm not living on my own anymore.

Eh no.

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭Ms. Captain M

No f**king crumbs in the butter!

Packets of ham are opened properly, not stabbed and sawn apart so they won't close right.

No one making noise when I'm in bed.

(I do live with my son but he only comes in to get fed and sleep)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

discus wrote: »
    A lot of you are going to think I'm crazy. For the past 18 months I've been living with minimum 4 people to a room, maximum 24! The past 9 months I lived in a ten man portacabin (5x bunkbeds, with 2 lockers each) and that was cramped, but awesome. I can't understand how people want so much isolation - I loved always having someone around to do **** with, be it walk to town, go clubbing, go gym, cinema, food...
    Well people are all different ages here - and it seems to be the case in general that the older you get, the less people you want to live with. I don't see why living alone = lots of isolation. You can go out or have people call over, you know. The things you list having people around to do with - I have those people around me too; they're my friends who live nearby.
    How is that relevant? Obviously the people talking about enjoying living alone are either single (and possibly trying to meet someone) or not yet at the stage of a relationship where they want to move in with their partner. This thread is about living alone versus living with housemate(s), not partner.
    Just because a person enjoys not living with housemate(s) doesn't mean they won't ever want to live with a partner.
    Most of the people in this thread seem to want to withdraw from society.
    Living alone = withdrawing from society? That's some leap. So, take a person who lives alone and goes out a lot, has people over to visit a lot... versus a person in a house-share who stays in their room all the time. The person in the house-share is clearly the most gregarious one... yeh?
    I'm going to start selling crying chairs, seems like a profitable line of business in here.
    On what basis? Assumptions don't mean reality at all at all. And it's quite arrogant to think so.
    How about selling "I think a certain way therefore everyone else must and is only pretending if they say they don't" chairs?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,158 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I've never lived on my own, but I guess when you're shedding tears of bitter loneliness you won't have to worry about anyone seeing you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Most people are probably not stupid here and just on a wind-up, but those who genuinely think it's sad for a person to be living alone (these would be people who are not far past child stage) would be the same people to say single people in their 40s (after a separation/divorce etc) in a house-share are sad also. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Most people are probably not stupid here and just on a wind-up, but those who genuinely think it's sad for a person to be living alone (these would be people who are not far past child stage) would be the same people to say single people in their 40s (after a separation/divorce etc) in a house-share are sad also. :)
    Yeah it's funny, I rent my house out a good bit in the summer and move in with my Dad. People on here would have tell you one day if you live with your parents you are sad, and then the next if you lived alone you are sad.

Moral of the story,

Don't give a fluck about what anybody else thinks.:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

worded wrote: »
    A recently divorsed friend of mine said the first thing he did in his new solo gaff was to wash his mountain bike in the bath. The joy of it

Hah. Reminds me of a college friend's brother, who dismantled his motorcycle in his bedroom and couldn't (or couldn't be bothered to) put it back together. So for years his motorbikes was in pieces on his bed and he slept on the floor.

This was in the family home though, so not very on-topic for this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Hownowcow wrote: »
    When I first lived alone I was completely broke. I brought my meagre possessions in some black plastic bags. I ate my meals standing up at the kitchen worktop for a long time. Getting a table and chairs was a big event. It's funny what you take for granted and then learn to appreciate.

That sounds like you are a sim!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,054 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

You can make your own beef jerky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

Well people are all different ages here - and it seems to be the case in general that the older you get, the less people you want to live with. I don't see why living alone = lots of isolation.You can go out or have people call over, you know. The things you list having people around to do with - I have those people around me too; they're my friends who live nearby.

Yet most of boards.ie who agreed that alone is better have stated masturbation as a main reason why!

Bunch of old hermetic wankurs!