Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advantages Of Living Alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

a lot of this "living alone is great" stuff sounds like youre trying to convince yourselves more than anything. the advantages
    seem to be mostly nudity and masturbatory. woohoo!

Who the fcuk doesn't like nudity and masturbation?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,920 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Esoteric_ wrote: »

Nuns!

Nuns!

They never live alone, so they don't count. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Nuns!

I'm sure they have plenty of other habits.

I wish I lived alone. Whatever about shitting with the door open, **** in the sitting room or strolling around the house bollock-naked, it would be quite nice not to be woken at 5am on a Sunday morning by someone who forgot their key, can barely stand upright, looks like they're about to throw up, but has a sudden urge to test the smoke alarm by making a rasher sandwich.

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭NeonCookies

As I said in my last post though, it would probably be lonely to live alone in a new place where you don't know anyone. Plus, you've never experienced a house/flat share, which has its good points too. I'd recommend the share - living with one or two isn't too bad. Any more than that though is getting crowded, in my opinion.

Yea, I think they're both things people should experience. And I'm worried about being lonely! Unfortunately the area I'm going to isn't a real 'flat share' type area so my options are very limited and most places are someone renting out a room which would suck because it'd always be 'their house'. There are some choices though which I've found online. Think I'll just arrange viewings for both living alone and sharing, then decide when I've seen the place and, most importantly, met the person!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

no, i meant you can still do that stuff in a houseshare. the key is not to get flatmates who are dickheads. easier said than done ill admit.

I dunno about you, but I don't think any housemates I've had in the past would have taken kindly to me walking around the kitchen in the nip or going at it on the sofa, and I wouldn't have been happy with them doing it, either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

You can buy a pet tarantula and nobody freaks out.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Never having to watch Come Dine With Me.

I dunno about you, but I don't think any housemates I've had in the past would have taken kindly to me walking around the kitchen in the nip or going at it on the sofa, and I wouldn't have been happy with them doing it, either.

not the masturbation but jaysus how badly off for it do you have to be when you need to go at it on the hall because youve had an amorous thought. the nudity however, has never been an issue. iv wandered to the bog or shower in the nip and whenever i caught a housemate in the buff it was never anything other than funny. but sure each to their own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

veggies are assholes to live with

Why?:confused:

Wurly wrote: »
    Why?:confused:

actually that was a sweeping generalisation and i withdraw that comment. iv only ever lived with one and she was an asshole. she got all superior every time you ate meat and we used to do this wee cooking thing where wed take turns making dinner for everyone once a week. every time someone else made dinner they accounted for her and her tastes but she only ever made vegetarian stuff for everyone else. it bugged me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

House share- never ever again!
    I like living on my own- sometimes I want company- then I don't!

The independence is wonderful

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Being able to clatter in, stocious drunk, 3am, stick on all sorts of crap food, some random movie on the tv, then pass out on the couch and nobody interrupts you until you get up about 4pm the next day.

Never actually lived alone but had a housemate who worked shift and went home when he had more than 2 days off.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭worded

I love the internet. My friends live there

• Registered Users Posts: 16,304 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Not having a sliced in half onion stink up the whole fridge contaminating everything from the milk to the orange juice to the um other fridge stuff like beer.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭worded

A recently divorsed friend of mine said the first thing he did in his new solo gaff was to wash his mountain bike in the bath. The joy of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

actually that was a sweeping generalisation and i withdraw that comment. iv only ever lived with one and she was an asshole. she got all superior every time you ate meat and we used to do this wee cooking thing where wed take turns making dinner for everyone once a week. every time someone else made dinner they accounted for her and her tastes but she only ever made vegetarian stuff for everyone else. it bugged me.

My last time living with someone who wasn't family was horrific regarding the meat- he was extremely unhygienic with it and there was a pool of blood almost permanently at the bottom of the fridge. It was also like me being a veggie meant he had to eat EXTRA amounts of meat to make a point, and do stupid things like make himself very sick once from eating a raw steak straight from the fridge.

Hence my comment about living alone = no meat in the house- The smell just turns my stomach now (never did before) and I don't want it in my kitchen! It's lovely having such a clean grill constantly :D

My last time living with someone who wasn't family was horrific regarding the meat- he was extremely unhygienic with it and there was a pool of blood almost permanently at the bottom of the fridge. It was also like me being a veggie meant he had to eat EXTRA amounts of meat to make a point, and do stupid things like make himself very sick once from eating a raw steak straight from the fridge.

Hence my comment about living alone = no meat in the house- The smell just turns my stomach now (never did before) and I don't want it in my kitchen! It's lovely having such a clean grill constantly :D

yea but thats a bit different from what i was saying.

• Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭Derpington95

Nobody finds my box of destroyed memories and broken dreams.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭Nialler15

Living alone all the way. Being able to just sit there with your hands down your pants on the couch and not worry about someone thinking your weird. And no we are not touching ourselves...its simply more comfortable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

A lot of you are going to think I'm crazy. For the past 18 months I've been living with minimum 4 people to a room, maximum 24! The past 9 months I lived in a ten man portacabin (5x bunkbeds, with 2 lockers each) and that was cramped, but awesome. I can't understand how people want so much isolation - I loved always having someone around to do **** with, be it walk to town, go clubbing, go gym, cinema, food...

Now I have my own room, and honest to god, I'd love to go back to the portacabin atmosphere. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

discus wrote: »
    A lot of you are going to think I'm crazy. For the past 18 months I've been living with minimum 4 people to a room, maximum 24! The past 9 months I lived in a ten man portacabin (5x bunkbeds, with 2 lockers each) and that was cramped, but awesome. I can't understand how people want so much isolation - I loved always having someone around to do **** with, be it walk to town, go clubbing, go gym, cinema, food...

Now I have my own room, and honest to god, I'd love to go back to the portacabin atmosphere. :(
    No thank you. If I want burps and farts to lull me to sleep I eat cheese before i go to bed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

I love living alone. It's a great feeling to close the door and know that you don't have to interact with another human bean unless you really want to.

I can be as noisy as I please.

I don't own a TV and am not forced to watch any ****e that I don't want to watch.

I know myself inside out and get on much better with other people as a result.

Also, stuff stays where I leave it. Food is never stolen and if the place is manky it's my problem and choice whether I clean it or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

discus wrote: »

Which jail are you in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

I went on holidays last August, my suitcase is still in the sitting room.

If I lived with someone, they'd have nagged me into actually doing something with it.
    Probably comes in handy to have something to rest your legs up on when you're poking the box off yourself to babestation!
    Masturbating in the sitting room watching babestation.

I also have eggs that are a year out of date in my fridge. That also wouldnt be allowed.

Jaysus, if you could give up the porn addiction and didn't hate cuddles so much you wouldn't be worried about having to have your eggs frozen

• Registered Users Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

living alone is heaven. A woman who once dumped me and broke my little heart, asked me recently to get back together. I couldn't even consider it for a second.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭my my my

you can have pet seagulls in the house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

What's worse is living with people but still feeling like you live on your own. Just ghosting around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Also, not having to clean up after other people's mess. Some people don't have a clue and think a house/apartment never has to be vacuumed or dusted and get offended if you suggest otherwise.

Not having to live with clean freaks.