If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Report neighbour with no insurance?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭arleitiss

tbh looks more like OP thinks it's unfair that he's paying taxes, nct and insurance, and if OP was really so caring and worried about drink driving he would've stopped guy from getting into car and driving off (if he did really witness it, if he didn't that's a bad lie)

Maybe he just doesn't have them displayed? I once every 3 months drive without displaying tax disc, because just a minute before driving off I remember I didn't pay tax for that month, and it's 1st of month, so knowing my luck with Garda, I run back home, pay tax online, and drive, usually have printed off receipt in glove box. Maybe same case with him?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 18,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

arleitiss wrote: »
    ...Maybe he just doesn't have them displayed? I once every 3 months drive without displaying tax disc, because just a minute before driving off I remember I didn't pay tax for that month, and it's 1st of month, so knowing my luck with Garda, I run back home, pay tax online, and drive, usually have printed off receipt in glove box. Maybe same case with him?

It's still an offence to drive with no tax displayed. Just saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭Pique

Lots of people in this thread without insurance by the looks of it, or maybe drink drivers.

That's the only justification I can fathom to advocate letting someone away with such behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,215 ✭✭✭✭listermint

tbh looks more like OP thinks it's unfair that he's paying taxes, nct and insurance, and if OP was really so caring and worried about drink driving he would've stopped guy from getting into car and driving off (if he did really witness it, if he didn't that's a bad lie)

Maybe he just doesn't have them displayed? I once every 3 months drive without displaying tax disc, because just a minute before driving off I remember I didn't pay tax for that month, and it's 1st of month, so knowing my luck with Garda, I run back home, pay tax online, and drive, usually have printed off receipt in glove box. Maybe same case with him?

your post is so full of maybes its ridiculous. OP stated the guy has no tax no insurance and no NCT and visibly drink drives. Why would anyone have sympathy with such an individual just to 'get back at the man'

This thread is full of idiots it seems (not pointing anyone out in particular btw)

listermint wrote: »
    your post is so full of maybes its ridiculous. OP stated the guy has no tax no insurance and no NCT and visibly drink drives. Why would anyone have sympathy with such an individual just to 'get back at the man'

This thread is full of idiots it seems (not pointing anyone out in particular btw)

and lots of whiney rats it seems (not pointing anyone out in particular btw)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭lanber man

taytothief wrote: »
    You'd make a good Stalinist citizen, reporting people.

Not at all I wouldnt normally but it's the fact that someone who has nothing on their car for 2 months actually makes their living from driving. Thats what annoys me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,770 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

and lots of whiney rats it seems
    Is that prison talk? It seems like a strange outlook for a productive member of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Report them. It's anonymous anyway.

There seems to be a lot of people in this thread advocating driving without insurance/tax/nct.

Getting caught without all 3 is a quick way to earn yourself a minimum of 10 points and a court appearance with a fine determined by the judge.

On the lookout for checkpoints isn't something I would want to be worried about when driving every day.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

You mention kids playing in the area and are sure he is drink driving, if that was the case and you cared about the said childrens safety then as soon as he gets into the car you ring and report it to the guards. Forget about the tax/insurance/nct as that will all be asked of him when he gets stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Caliden wrote: »

There seems to be a lot of people in this thread advocating driving without insurance/tax/nct.

There's a difference between not reporting, and advocating.

Let the Gardai & Parking wardens enforce the tax & nct, the Gardai have been tasked with this ridiculously impossible task of collecting revenue so let them try & fail, until a proper solution that guarantees 100% compliance is put in place.

I'm sure there's people here giving out about non payment of motor tax, who'll jump on the "I'm not paying" bandwagon when it comes to the household charge and property tax.

Drink driving, cannot be advocated or accepted.. I don't think anyone here condoned it.

But with regard to insurance, as I stated before, just be sure he's not covered from extension from another policy...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭mathepac

Cheensbo wrote: »
    ... But with regard to insurance, as I stated before, just be sure he's not covered from extension from another policy...
    That's the Guards' job. A good citizen only has to report their suspicions; investigation is not the job of a private citizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭Pique

There's a difference between not reporting, and advocating.
    Not really. It's tacit approval.
    All it takes for evil to flourish is for good men to do nothing etc.etc.
    Let the Gardai & Parking wardens enforce the tax & nct, the Gardai have been tasked with this ridiculously impossible task of collecting revenue so let them try & fail, until a proper solution that guarantees 100% compliance is put in place.
    This is mind boggling logic. If he is breaking the law (and it seems like he is) then he should be fined. Leaving it to the Gardai to get the time and resources to set up checkpoints to hopefully catch everyone will never happen. The Gardai depend on help from the public to solve crimes. This is in the same vein but there seems to be lots of resistance to it on this thread.

If he was drunk and ininsured and crashed into someone seriously injuring or killing them or a child, there would be uproar that the Gardai hadn't enough checkpoints to catch offenders like him. Conveniently ignoring the fact that members of the public (presented in a sample on this forum) would turn a blind eye to it if they saw it themselves, first-hand.

Utter hypocrisy.

OP, you know what you shuold do. Go do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Pique wrote: »
    Not really. It's tacit approval.
    All it takes for evil to flourish is for good men to do nothing etc.etc.

This is mind boggling logic. If he is breaking the law (and it seems like he is) then he should be fined. Leaving it to the Gardai to get the time and resources to set up checkpoints to hopefully catch everyone will never happen. The Gardai depend on help from the public to solve crimes. This is in the same vein but there seems to be lots of resistance to it on this thread.

If he was drunk and ininsured and crashed into someone seriously injuring or killing them or a child, there would be uproar that the Gardai hadn't enough checkpoints to catch offenders like him. Conveniently ignoring the fact that members of the public (presented in a sample on this forum) would turn a blind eye to it if they saw it themselves, first-hand.

Utter hypocrisy.

OP, you know what you shuold do. Go do it.

Not going to argue any further, as the obvious "report him" logic will win out, I guess I just don't give a f*ck if Tommy down the road taxes his car or not.

What I will argue against is your insinuation that myself and others here have condoned, or even supported the notion of drink driving, this is unfair and misleading. As I am pretty sure noone here has advocated, condoned or supported drink driving in any shape or form.

I have not supported drink driving or driving uninsured. Read my posts before you quote me with such sh1te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Caliden wrote: »
    Report them. It's anonymous anyway.

Getting caught without all 3 is a quick way to earn yourself a minimum of 10 points and a court appearance with a fine determined by the judge.

On the lookout for checkpoints isn't something I would want to be worried about when driving every day.

You do know, you can only get points for one offence from the same check right?

As in if I am stopped for no tax, no insurance, no nct, driving drunk, in a bus lane, and driving dangerously, I will only get 1 set of points from whichever is highest (incredulously it is actually 5 for no NCT that is highest AFAIK)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭derry

Question : who own the roads the people or the government?

Question :If the government owns the roads who gave them the roads and where is the certificate of ownership

Question :
    If the government as civil servant the servants to the people how did they stroke it as servants to become owners of the road network or rather are they merely servants whose job is to maintain the roads and can only be interfering in road event after the event or after the accident has taken place not before

Question :
    So is the the servants the non owner of the road network choosing on their own bat without the permission of the peoples to pre crime us as if you exceed the speed limit and nobody get killed hurt and no damage took place then where is the COMPLAINT as a complaint can only exist after the common law crime death injury damage has been done and everything else is a CHARGE such as charges for water tax

Question :
    If the people own the roads and you as one of the people owns the roads then as a owner of the said property why would you allow any body like your neighbor tell you what rules and regulations apply to you that would be similar to telling him what to do in his house he owns

Question :
    If in fact the next door owner knows that he owns the roads and the government doesn't own the roads and has no real authority to tell him anything on their regulations as the government is the servant to the people and so maybe he knows he is people and maybe he knows its not for servants to tell their boss the PEOPLE what to do

Question :
    So where do you get the idea you have the right to inform on your neighbor who might know a lot more about the real world rules and regulations than you do and you might not really know the true regulations and its his dispute with the elected authorities if he breaks some common law like killing injuring or damage to property

Question :
    Before you take your horse and horse and cart or push bike or you chose to walk on the road why does that road activity not need all these regulations insurance tax NCT license etc

Question :
    is it privilege to travel with your bike horse or car down the PUBLIC road or is a right to travel down the PUBLIC roads and if its right where can they get the authority to demand that you MUST comply to have these papers license tax insurance NCT etc if its PUBLIC and your the PUBLIC

Question :
    Is this crime you think your neighbor is doing a real crime like burglary or is this commercial rule being broken like parking on double yellow line

Question :
    Apart from the brain washing you received in school and from the media how much do you really know for sure the neighbor is committing a real crime .After all until he is breathalyzed where is the EVIDENCE he is classed as unfit to drive (but not evidence that he is fit to travel do you know the difference in LAW )in the court of which LAWS .Also the lack of disks can have many reasons like he is too lazy to put them on show so so far all I hear is HEARSAY no EVIDENCE and commercial courts do they need the EVIDENCE to look the FACTS

Question :
    If driving without car insurance was a crime why did the Insurance companies have to set up special fund for the estimated 10% of uninsured drivers?
    Surly the Insurance companies would have no reason to pay for those 10% if driving without insurance was real crime as commercial entities that would be like taking responsibility for the act the of god does like flooding when there was no policy for that activity flooding

Question
    why does one USA state not have mandatory car insurance and why do many countries not have mandatory car insurance

Question :
    Are you still going to think you know the law or are you gonna go and read up and find out that maybe you think you know the law and if you report your neighbor you might be only working from hear say about the law and you don't know the difference between LEGAL and LAWFUL

Question :
    Can the government make you take out house fire Insurance on your house you own and if you don't make the laws to fines and jail term you for not taking out the Fire Insurance ? and if the government cant why not ???

Questions : Just posing questions that all

Derry

derry wrote: »
    Question :
    Apart from the brain washing you received in school and from the media how much do you really know for sure the neighbor is committing a real crime .After all until he is breathalyzed where is the EVIDENCE he is classed as unfit to drive (but not evidence that he is fit to travel do you know the difference in LAW )in the court of which LAWS .Also the lack of disks can have many reasons like he is too lazy to put them on show so so far all I hear is HEARSAY no EVIDENCE and commercial courts do they need the EVIDENCE to look the FACTS...

Questions : Just posing questions that all

Derry
    That's not questions, that's gibberish.

Anan1 wrote:
    That's not questions, that's gibberish.

Question:
    Which part is gibberish make it easy for you who owns the PUBLIC ROADS of Ireland and if you own them why do you think that Garda have the authority to ask you questions on something maybe you own or maybe you cant know and are brain washed and talk gibberish.
    Anan1 wrote: »
    And who do you think funds the MIBI? That's right, we do.

Question:
    Are you sure of your facts there last I recall it is the Insurance companies that pay into that MIBI funds .Also then who pays out the damage if that fund runs out of cash to pay out .Why would the insurance companies agree to set up this fund surly they cant be that nice and lose their profits could they ???

Derry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Have you reported them yet op? If you're still reluctant, pm me the info, I'll take a peek myself and do the reporting for you. I'm immune to the gibberish many have been spouting on here. You're aware of somebody apparantly taking the piss out of all of us who pay insurance, and putting the rest of us at risk. If its investigated and its a mistake on your part, no foul. If they're done for it, good stuff.

endacl wrote: »
    Have you reported them yet op? If you're still reluctant, pm me the info, I'll take a peek myself and do the reporting for you. I'm immune to the gibberish many have been spouting on here. You're aware of somebody apparantly taking the piss out of all of us who pay insurance, and putting the rest of us at risk. If its investigated and its a mistake on your part, no foul. If they're done for it, good stuff.

Batman get the call to go do battle to save Ireland from the ..... LOL :pac:

Derry

derry wrote: »
    Batman get the call to go do battle to save Ireland from the ..... LOL :pac:

Derry

Did your keyboard just fart?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭macsauce

AlanG wrote: »

If you ring 999 and report it as an offence in progress then they will have a record and you are also more likely to see action.

I really hope you're kidding. The 999 number is for emergencies only!! This is definitely not an appropriate use of the number and i suspect you would get a rebuke from the operator for using it for this matter. Honestly, the service is under enough strain as it is without dealing with silly little matters like this. Report it to your local Garda station.

macsauce wrote: »
    I really hope you're kidding. The 999 number is for emergencies only!! This is definitely not an appropriate use of the number and i suspect you would get a rebuke from the operator for using it for this matter. Honestly, the service is under enough strain as it is without dealing with silly little matters like this. Report it to your local Garda station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 yeayeayea

I get the impression from this thread that the majority of people on here spend there days peeking from behind there Curtin waiting for something to happen and looking for something to report. I cant believe that somebody actually suggested calling 999 to report somebody for having no Tax and NCT.

yeayeayea wrote: »
    I get the impression from this thread that the majority of people on here spend there days peeking from behind there Curtin waiting for something to happen and looking for something to report. I cant believe that somebody actually suggested calling 999 to report somebody for having no Tax and NCT.

Most I'd imagine couldn't give a toss about tax and nct. Insurance can directly affect other people though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 yeayeayea

Yes insurance and drink driving is fair enough anybody driving around like this is an idiot.

Most I'd imagine couldn't give a toss about tax and nct. Insurance can directly affect other people though.
    ?? Tax and NCT directly affect other people too.

Anan1 wrote: »
    ?? Tax and NCT directly affect other people too.

They do indeed, but if somebody crashes into me, or knocks me down, it's not their tax or nct details I'll be looking for. Those are between them and the government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭argentum

I actually reported my neighbour for speeding and drink driving.I got pissed off the way he used to come into the estate speeding passed all the kids including mine playing on the green out the front of our houses.
    He came home one day all over the place so I rang the local station and they sent out a car.He had parked in his drive way by the time they got there and when they knocked he got all mouthy with them and said that he wasn't even out in his car and that they had no proof.
    They had to leave but half an hour later he drove out of the estate hitting a kerb on the way and fecking up his front wheel and guess what the same Guards were out on patrol and pulled him in.
    he got done and I think he served some time and split with his wife.he only recently got back with her and to this day thet don't know who reported him and we don't really talk to them anymore any way.
    I don't care if some posters on here have a problem with that but he got everything he deserved and my kids are still alive which is more important to me than accusations of being a nosey neighbour

They do indeed, but if somebody crashes into me, or knocks me down, it's not their tax or nct details I'll be looking for. Those are between them and the government.
    If somebody doesn't pay their tax then the shortfall gets made up from the rest of us. And if somebody doesn't NCT their car then that can affect the rest of us too. We're a society, and the actions of each member affect everyone else. There is a direct link between Joe down the road not paying his motor tax and your grandmother (or mine) lying untended on a hospital trolley because there's no money to pay for staff. It's not between them and the government - it's personal.

-snip-