Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 3: Episode 8 * Have NOT read the books*MOD NOTE POST #1

• 20-05-2013 3:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭

Good episode! We now know for sure what Samwell's dagger can do.

My hate levels for Joffrey are gone higher if thats possible! And the sacrifice scene? wtf!

Glad we gotta break from Theon's and Rob's storylines this week but was hoping to see more of Jamie after last week..

All in all it's building up nicely for an exciting finish.

Oh and..Daenerys..in the tub..:D

ps. sorry if someone else usually does this..just watched it there and cant sleep :pac:

MOD NOTE: Please no book discussion or hinting or nodding at future events from books readers please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭DL Saint

Great episode. Glad they stuck to a few specific story-lines and didn't try fit too many in. Saw the Dragon glass thing from a mile away, but I can't believe the eejit left it on the ground and ran...

The Tyrion drunk scenes were pure gold: "I am the God of tits and wine..."

Wonder how Rob will react to the hound showing up to the twins with Arya?

Dany's stuff was cool. I feel I am going to grow to like that Daario guy.

Hope they don't kill off Gendry. There is so much potential there. Oh and that Mellisandre line about how the two of them are the only two who can stop that great darkness is a nice chat up line for future references ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Decent episode. I am reading the books and am slightly ahead of the tv show in some storylines and bit further ahead in others. I will not drop any spoilers, don't worry. It has been accidentally and deliberately done to me a few times.

Not saying I would have done any better, but did Samwell run the fcuk away without picking up the obsidian dagger again? I'm pretty sure he did.

Can't believe there are only 2 episodes left. Felt like slow going so far. Hopefully the last two are special.

Whitewalker (or whatever the frig they are) scene with the crows was cool.

Dany scenes were cringe. No dragons this week, hopefully saving the budget for a big finale. Was afraid the dragons would look daft, but they are actually very cool looking.

Ser Davos trying to read and just saying "fúck me" was funny. Was hoping for more of Dog/Arya in the episode. Maybe they will show something more substantial next week. Scenery there at the red fork was very nice.

Cersei "If you ever call me sister again, I'll have you strangled in your bed". Excellent. Cersei squirming away from her before that was priceless too. The expression on Margaery's face was funny also. Just a little reminder of what her place is and not to push it.

Shae sulking all the time is getting quite tiring. The lad playing King Cúntface is doing an excellent job

No tidings from the wall at all in this episode, or the Twins.

I better shut up now because I am mixing the book and the tv show together. I am sure to put my foot in it or not.

Winter is coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

holy ****ing ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I can't decide who has a nicer ass. Daenerys or Melisandre?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

Great episode! I was cacking myself when Sam and Gilly were in the hut with the ravens going mad outside. I CAN'T BELIEVE HE DIDN'T PICK UP THE DAGGER!!!! What an eejit! Especially since I'm presuming the ravens are scouts for the White Walkers. I wonder if the ravens have anything to do with the three eyed raven beyond the wall in Brans dreams?

I was really surprised that Sansa made it to the alter- I kept expecting Baelish to swoop in and whisk her away. Glad that Tyrion did the decent thing. I presume if the marriage isn't consummated it could be annulled? Joffery, Tywin and Cersei are all bad apples from the tree of cnuts. Felt sorry for Loras, although I'm not sure why he's so down in the mouth- surely he was expecting a sham marriage of some sort, just not to such a sour old b!tch.

The scene with Gendry was great. I hope that they don't have to kill him. FYI leeches don't hurt when you pull them off. I wonder what the effects of the spell will be???

I'm a big fan of Daario, there's been a long-haired-mysterious-warrior-shaped hole since Kahl Drogo died. I hope he's trustworthy.

Nice scene between Danys and Missandei- I liked the way it showed that even though Danys is a queen and she is a former slave she's not afraid to speak honestly to her. It shows Danys egalitarian ethos is more than just lip service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭Brendan Filone

Delighted that those rumours THAT Emilia Clarke put a no nudity clause in her contract after the first season were not true!

/SNIP[

Linking to nudity not allowed here , Calex

We have to wait two weeks for the next episode, anyone know why?

Id remove those gifs if I were you, probably in breach of the charter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

We have to wait two weeks for the next episode, anyone know why?

Memorial Day in the USA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

MadYaker wrote: »
    Id remove those gifs if I were you, probably in breach of the charter.
    They're very much appreciated though!

I may or may not have bookmarked them....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Snap :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭Smartly Dressed

That was a really entertaining episode.

A turn of forture for Arya? Your man landing in with the heads of his captains. ''You'll be ****ing your bride with a wooden cock''.

I thought it was all fun viewing.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Last scene felt a little flat but the rest of that was rollicking good fun!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

"Gladly your grace."

teehee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

First let me say, I very, VERY much like Daario Naharis! ;) I was begging Darys to let him join her. Good episode I must say definitely better than last weeks, fully enjoyed. Can't imagine what Tyrion will do if he refuses to do anything with Sansa, surely his father will not stand for that. God, the scene with Joffrey and Sansa, gave me the chills! He is so sick! Wonder what fate the hound will have? I doubt they'll just give him a reward. Please, please tell me that Sam did not leave that dagger behind?! I was shouting at the computer to tell him to pick it up!:o Loved when I saw the two Tyroshi leaders heads, they were such thugs!

The guy playing Joffrey has twisted sicko down to a tee. I thought it was funny how he basically acknowledged the fact that he is a Lannister in that scene. I'm not so sure about the Daario guy, he says he does whatever he wants and the only reason he didn't kill her is because he wants to ride her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Bedding ceremonies and copious amounts of wine. The people of Westeros throw a fine wedding :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

"And so my watch begins".... Tyrion taking a vow of celibacy a la the nights watch if Sansa doesn't want him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

You'll be fcuking your bride with a wooden cock.

Brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Think this Dario guy is from the same place as Ja'qen Hagar and Syrio Forel - Braavos isn't it?

Good Episode. Good scene i thought between Davos and Stannis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,812 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Degag wrote: »
    Think this Dario guy is from the same place as Ja'qen Hagar and Syrio Forel - Braavos isn't it?

Good Episode. Good scene i thought between Davos and Stannis.

MOD NOTE: Blay please keep discussion to the TV Show, there is to be no book discussion here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

You forgot the ****ing dagger!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

So Ayra is heading to the Freys - isn't she betroth to a Frey, as per the original stark/frey accord? she will not be happy?
    Is the hounds brother dead? or is he just on the loose after the Edmure debacle?
    Joffery is a lannister - according to him, heheh, but he always said he was nothing to robert.
    All tyrion has to do is get Sensa preggers - does not need to be him, couldnt he send in one of the younger lannisters like Cersei used when jamie was gone?
    Looking forward to seeing what mel and Gentry conjure up for the usurpers, had to go back and check the names; Balon Greyjoy? he does not let anything go, he cant still be a threat?
    Loved the Davos and Stannis scene, Onion knight kicks ass, great character.

Loving the season so far.
    I love the sense that it could all turn on its head in an episode, and in the next season we could be looking at whole houses wiped out and a new landscape. Truely a suspenseful series. itching to read the book, have read 1 and 2 and holding out for the summer read.

Mode Note :Lynski I removed one line from that post as it referred to an earlier post and book reference I edited out of an earlier post, no spoilers or anything in it just that there is no book discussion here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

Oh my god.

OH. MY. GOD.

What an episode.

lynski wrote: »

Mode Note :Lynski I removed one line from that post as it referred to an earlier post and book reference I edited out of an earlier post, no spoilers or anything in it just that there is no book discussion here
    Didn't realise it was just a book ref. sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,559 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Shame we have to wait 2 weeks.

Has it been explained in the series what that tree with the face is? Is there more than one, since I think there's one at Winterfell?

not in the series no, AFAIK.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Shame we have to wait 2 weeks.

Has it been explained in the series what that tree with the face is? Is there more than one, since I think there's one at Winterfell?

Yeah it was explained in season 1. There was one at Winterfell, they're called weirwood's and they're what those who worship the Old Gods pray too, like Ned Stark for example. Jon also said his oath on front of a weirwood when he took the black.

I dont think that that tree and a weirwood are the same thing, i might be wrong, but the weirwood in winterfell did not have a face? they are big red-leaved trees. that is a different thing all together. I am wrong. it is one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Dropped the Dagger, what an idiot!!

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,530 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

I dont think that that tree and a weirwood are the same thing, i might be wrong, but the weirwood in winterfell did not have a face? they are big red-leaved trees. that is a different thing all together. I am wrong. it is one

They're the same thing. You can even see the face on Winterfell's one in the opening credits.

edit: sorry, just saw your ninja edit! :)

Dempsey wrote: »
    Dropped the Dragger, what an idiot!!

thought he had a few though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭DL Saint

thought he had a few though?

As far as I can remember he took one as did his fellow nights watchers. Fairly sure he only shows one of them to Gilly in that scene in the woods...

Degag wrote: »
    Think this Dario guy is from the same place as Ja'qen Hagar and Syrio Forel - Braavos .

I thought the sallow one with the long black hair was the Braavosi?

I forgot to mention the excellent scene between Margery and Cersei. Cersei is an eightyfour horsepower b!tch!! It was quite amusing to see Margery's silver tounge getting shot down. She will be the thorn in the Tyrells side alright. What was funny about her anecdote about the Casterleys was that (from the interactive map on the HBO site)
    the Casterleys were actually the same family as the Lannisters until Lann the clever, the first Lannister, tricked them out of Casterley Rock- so the Lannisters achieved their current status by the same kind of deviousness and plotting that the Tyrells now employ. On one hand Cersei is saying 'don't fcuk with the Lannisters or you'll be smitten' but her story equally shows that there is opportunity for the Tyrells to advance themselves by cunning, and that the Lannisters have no more moral right to wealth and power than them.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

A strong episode, and I think the fact it had a tighter focus & reduced cast wasn't coincidental. The show chugs along much better when the episode follows one or two of the threads & not all of them at once. I don't care how cranky it'd make the book readers (and it seems like they're openly milling around these threads now?) but the show needs a cull!

One advantage though of a reduced cast is that it gives more opportunity for the better characters to shine - the return of Davos was welcome, he deserves much more than to be shackled to the otherwise dour Stannis, and I loved Olenna's hilarious attempt to work out the now-confused family tree that existed between the Lannisters & Tyrells. Given a choice between Diana Rigg enjoying herself & watching Theon getting tortured or Bran's camping in the woods, I know which one I'd pick.

Not sure how I felt about Tyrion mind you, he doesn't come out the best in this episode. Leaving aside the fact he nearly gets himself & Sansa killed with his (admittedly funny) outburst towards Joffrey - who btw seems to get more ridiculously OTT by the episode - Tyrion spent too much of the episode wallowing in self-pity; given he & Varys were some of the few people looking out for Sansa, it seemed passing strange he then made no attempt to calm her, or make her feel better about this scenario. Instead he just reminded her how awful it all was & spent his time drinking.

And the whole Sansa thread underpinned a strangely explicit reference to rape throughout the entire episode. nearly every storyline had an overt reference to rape, or at the very least the degradation and/or nonexistent status of women: the Hound spoke about Arya being raped if she stayed alone in the woods; that moronic mercenary captains kept rabbiting on about raping Danaerys (thus sealing his fate); Joffrey broke out the charm in threatening to rape Sansa & arguably even Gendry found himself to be manipulated into sex, even if it seemed broadly consensual. The show has no problem being fairly explicit at the best of times, but this constant referencing seemed fairly heavy-handed. We get it GoT, being a woman sucks in this world.

And on the subject of Lannisters, Tywin's previous comment about Cersei not being as smart as she thinks she is seems to be coming home to roost: she behaved in a fairly stupid, unsubtle manner, effectively making an enemy of the two Tyrell children out of foolish impatience. She has also clearly lost any remaining control of Joffrey so she may want to rethink her strategy.

One thing that did confuse me though, and was trying to think back on series 2: how was it Stannis cursed Papa Greyjoy? I had been operating under the assumption that the Iron Islanders were a problem for the Starks alone, yet apparently Stannis deemed them worth of a curse? I wasn't even aware he knew of the Greyjoys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Because Stannis is king of the entire realm anybody In uprising is a usurper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

pixelburp wrote: »
    We get it GoT, being a woman sucks in this world.

Does it though? Sure, it wouldn't be nice to be a female peasant but then....it wouldn't be nice to be a male peasant either! Lets examine your claim that being a woman is horrible in this story.

Observe.......

King Robert is dead, but his wife is alive.
    Ned Stark is dead, but his wife is alive.
    Khal Drogo is dead, but his wife is alive.
    Theon Greyjoy is being tortured, but his sister is fine.
    Bran was paralyzed, both his sisters are fine.
    Jamie lost his hand, Brienne kept hers.
    Tyrion's face was mangled, his sisters face is fine.

I'm sure the list could be much longer if some thought was put into it. When it comes to the nobles and highborn, which most of our characters are, it seems its much better to be a woman.

It would appear that in the game of thrones you either win....or you die.....unless you are a woman!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Kirby wrote: »
    Does it though? Sure, it wouldn't be nice to be a female peasant but then....it wouldn't be nice to be a male peasant either! Lets examine your claim that being a woman is horrible in this story.

Observe.......

King Robert is dead, but his wife is alive.
    Ned Stark is dead, but his wife is alive.
    Khal Drogo is dead, but his wife is alive.
    Theon Greyjoy is being tortured, but his sister is fine.
    Bran was paralyzed, both his sisters are fine.
    Jamie lost his hand, Brienne kept hers.
    Tyrion's face was mangled, his sisters face is fine.

I'm sure the list could be much longer if some thought was put into it. When it comes to the nobles and highborn, which most of our characters are, it seems its much better to be a woman.

It would appear that in the game of thrones you either win....or you die.....unless you are a woman!

I think that's an oversimplification; it's not just a question of who lives & dies, clearly in this world women are objectified to a horrendous degree, where basically your only options are to either trade sex for money, or to sit around and wait for a man to impregnate you. And even if you're highborn, you still apparently have the constant threat a man may simply come along and violate you anyway - or in the case of Roz, you get turned into target practice. Even Brienne came close to meeting that fate were it not for a change of heart from Jamie. The phrase "A fate worse than death" springs to mind here.

And the gilded cage that is a highborn woman's life is made clear by Sansa & Margaery's conversation last week where the latter tried to impart her knowledge to Sansa; it's all about lying on your back and thinking of Winterfell. Cersei's about the only one who seems to have actively tried to avoid this life, although even she is defined by the unhealthy relationship with her brother.

Gilly (I think her name is?) is the ultimate expression of all this, as her only role in life was to sire a daughter for her own father, otherwise living in daily terror & misery. God knows how many sons she had to lose before Sam came along. You also look to Stannis' wife & daughter; both are locked away, one having gone mad surrounded by stillborns in jars (ick), the other hidden because of disfigurement, presumably because she's useless now as a potential mother to heirs.

Danaerys is the exception that proves the rule here, because whilst she bucks the trend by being in power, proactive and arguably the best / most compassionate leader in Westeros, nearly everyone she meets emphasizes how repugnant it is that they are dealing with a woman and how she should instead be on her back pleasuring them.

In GoT, if you're lucky you get to live in a gilded cage, popping sprogs when your hubbie is feeling frisky; otherwise you live with the perpetual threat of rape and/or death. I just think this point is crassly overemphasized sometimes. I look to something like HBO's Rome, a similar show with an ensemble cast, set in a equally alien environment of past times (yes, GoT is fantasy, but its inspiration is clearly medieval / feudal Europe). Even though set in a time when women were literally objects in the eyes of the law, Rome didn't feel the need to constantly emphasize how degraded women were.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

For me. this episode gave a lot away in terms of what we might see over the next few episodes and maybe next year. It seemed to try and set up all the major story lines for what is to come - even the ones that weren't directly referenced on screen.

What I find interesting is the comparison between all the different going-ons and the focus they have.

In Kings Landing everyone is focused on the politics of positioning themselves for what is to come - as if cunning, untruths and alliances were the weapons of war. The tension within both the great families is not strained more than ever and something has to give. Joffery is one sudden act away from starting an internal war and with Tyrion putting caution to the wind it may happen sooner rather than later.

Tyrion is also becoming more and more disjointed from his own family. i wouldn't be surprised to see him defend Sansa against his own family - maybe Joffery - and find himself at the wrong end of a beheading.

In the North Sam showed us a glimpse of hope. A method of dealing with the Others (etc) if and when they start to roam South. The focus in the North is one of fear and simple survival. Even the Wildlings will find that they need to put aside their past if they are to survive.

Stannis and Danaerys are the real threats outside what is north of the wall. She has shown herself to be resourceful and clever and seems to have a spell over men with her beauty. It's no mistake that the success she had with the 2nd sons (or whoever) was done without the dragons - albeit due to her beauty and somewhat outside her direct control. Her army are growing and completely loyal - a complete contrast to both the armies of the North and South. Way back in the first few episode of season 1 Robert commented on the potential she has - although dismissed by Ed as paranoia or simple blind revenge, Robert seems to have at least identified the real threat.

Stannis - although without an army now - has something more powerful, Magic. The scene with the leeches was for me hugely significant and the curse/spell but on those 3 should not be taken lightly. At that point I would not have deemed it far fetched if all three suddenly collapsed dead. We have already seen the power of the King's blood and should expect the same soon.

Although Robb was absent from the episode you got a feeling that the wedding is going to be interesting. The spell from Stannis and the brief comment from the Hound (or was it the mountain?) seems to have this event as a significant one.

I find it interesting that with all of these distractions going on, everyone has time to take a break from the war and go about their normal business. No one is taking advantage of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Hyzepher wrote: »
    Stannis - although without an army now - has something more powerful, Magic. The scene with the leeches was for me hugely significant and the curse/spell but on those 3 should not be taken lightly. At that point I would not have deemed it far fetched if all three suddenly collapsed dead. We have already seen the power of the King's blood and should expect the same soon.
    I spent the whole episode after that scene in dread. I was full sure Joffrey was going to burst into flame or something at the wedding :D

He's an evil little **** but I found myself actually feeling sympathy for Cersei of all people. The one thing she's shown above all else is her love for her kids and if something nasty happens to Joffs then I hate to think of her reaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭K_user

Where to start?

There were too many interesting scenes, fantastic acting, plot lines and twists for easy analysis.

First off, this episode was far more enjoyable than the last two. Like others have pointed out, this was mainly because they took their time with scenes, rather than jumping quickly from plot to plot.

Poor Sansa. Is there any other character so helpless as this girl? She is a total pawn. Helpless. You can’t help but feel sorry for her.

And you have to give the actor playing Joffrey full credit, he just gets more hateful every time he’s on screen. I found it funny that even in his threat to rape Sana, he needed two gold-cloaks to make it real. Can anyone imagine his fathers, King Robert, or the Kingslayer, needing two gold-cloaks to make a threat?

Tyrion, I know that his moral compass is far more complicated than what the series can show. But his character just keeps getting better. Last season he slapped Joffrey right in the face, but in this episode, his c*ck comment, right in front of everyone, was pure brilliance. As was his tale, as he left the room, of once throwing up during sex. As a character, and an actor, he steals the show.

Tywin, who would mess with that man? A single glance was enough to silence the crowd.

Cersei, like her father and Tyrion, just doesn’t miss a beat. Her dismissal of Margaery was perfect.

Loving the development of Dany this season. You know that things can’t keep going her way, but for the moment she is really stepping up to the role of “Khaleesi”. Years of bashing under her brother has hardened her to all the vile things men can say.

I was surprised at the naked scene though. The only way I can understand it is in context of the situation. Dany was once a pawn, like Sansa is now. Her nakedness was sold, she was an object of desire, for others to use. Now though, she has men bringing her heads in a bag. She is still desired, but it is on her terms. Where she was once vulnerable. She is now powerful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,729 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Why was Balon Greyjoy mentioned alongside Joffrey and Robb when Stannis was throwing the leeches into the fire? I thought the Greyjoys stayed out of the whole war. Did Greyjoy say he was King of the Iron Islands or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Penn wrote: »
    Why was Balon Greyjoy mentioned alongside Joffrey and Robb when Stannis was throwing the leeches into the fire? I thought the Greyjoys stayed out of the whole war. Did Greyjoy say he was King of the Iron Islands or something?

He did (Season 2), he's pretty much defying the realm like he did last time (got his arse handed to him): calling independance and raiding the shorelines.

It's the War of the 5 Kings: Joff, Stan, Rob, Renly (RIP) and Balon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,324 ✭✭✭keps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭oxygen

I'm surprised people liked this episode so much. I thought it was a slow one myself, I liked it, but definitely slow, and possibly a little bit fillerish.

I understand people wanted a break from the Theon story, and IMO the sooner that story wraps up the better. But very little happened here... a wedding we knew was coming, a white walker attack, one scene of Ayra and the Hound, some vague magic, and the beheading of two characters we had just met.

I hope the last two episodes are crackers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

He did (Season 2), he's pretty much defying the realm like he did last time (got his arse handed to him): calling independance and raiding the shorelines.

It's the War of the 5 Kings: Joff, Stan, Rob, Renly (RIP) and Balon

The war has kinda taken a backseat this season. last season it was all building to the invasion of Kings Landing and everything was falling into place, this season it hasnt been the focus so much. Stannis is off licking his wounds, Balon hasnt even been in this season, Robb spends most of his time in tents with the missus and Joffrey is..well Joffrey.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

I'm surprised people liked this episode so much. I thought it was a slow one myself, I liked it, but definitely slow, and possibly a little bit fillerish.

I understand people wanted a break from the Theon story, and IMO the sooner that story wraps up the better. But very little happened here... a wedding we knew was coming, a white walker attack, one scene of Ayra and the Hound, some vague magic, and the beheading of two characters we had just met.

I hope the last two episodes are crackers

I suggest you go back and re-watch the episode and this time have a think about why things are happening, sometimes the simplest thing seems to have the biggest impact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Something in the back of my mind tells me Sam has another one or two of those daggers. Hope he does anyway. Would be extremely foolish to lose it otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Dany's story continues to go from strength to strength. I was a bit disappointed though by how easily that gent was able to sneak into her tent. Has nobody learned anything from poor Renly?

At this stage, its about time Ser Barristan got to kick his some ass before he retires. When Dany said to him kill that one first, I was thinking he was finally going to unleash a can of whoop ass.

The best part of the episode was no Robb. He should of took Sam with him though. I find that storyline hugely boring.