Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice Needed

• 19-05-2013 12:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49

Hi all I've been asked by a farmer to shoot rabbits on his land which normally wouldn't present any problems but his land is no more than 500 yards from an airport can anyone clarify the legalities of this as I was told by a fellow shooter that you can not shoot a rifle within a 1 mile radius of an airport. I use a .22 pcp air rifle and don't fancy loosing my licences over a couple of rabbits cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 chrispin

Personally i think you would be bringing a whole lot of grief on yourself if you were to do it.Maybe if you could find someone with ferrets and purse nets to address the problem for the farmer. Just a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

I see no problem as long as you are away from public view and you ensure you have a safe backstop, your not shooting a centrefire rifle and even then once you are safe there is nothing stopping you. As long as you are safe you will have no problems IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭aaakev

I know some lads who shoot around dublin airport and they are of the same opinion that you are not allowed shoot a rifle within a mile of the airport

Unless it is written in law I would'nt care, he is talking about using an air rifle there is not a hope of it doing any damage or endangering anyone and I doubt the pellet would even travel the 500m to the boundary of the airport. Why not ring the aviation authority and ask do the know of any such law. I bet you a tenner it is just another Chinese whisper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

chrispin wrote: »
    Personally i think you would be bringing a whole lot of grief on yourself if you were to do it.Maybe if you could find someone with ferrets and purse nets to address the problem for the farmer. Just a thought.

Most have put ferrets away now
    Rabbits have young and you'd be digging all day and the ditches are well covered now anyway
    Too many nettles :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Chiparus

probably depends which airport.

These two despite telling the authorities ( as well as being the authorities) caused a bit of a stir

http://www.herald.ie/news/offduty-gardai-spark-airport-security-scare-28008560.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

juice1304 wrote: »
    Unless it is written in law I would'nt care, he is talking about using an air rifle there is not a hope of it doing any damage or endangering anyone and I doubt the pellet would even travel the 500m to the boundary of the airport. Why not ring the aviation authority and ask do the know of any such law. I bet you a tenner it is just another Chinese whisper.
    His gun will be taken off him , you wouldn't care? ?Thats some advice.
    To the original poster ,if you go any where the airport you will end up in a world of pain and cause yourself grief, listen i am telling you that from first hand experience through the club, it dosnt matter if you have a pellet gun or an anti air craft rifle you have a firearm in the vicinity of the fly zone.Come back with the ferrets

lb1981 wrote: »
    His gun will be taken off him , you wouldn't care? ?Thats some advice.
    To the original poster ,if you go any where the airport you will end up in a world of pain and cause yourself grief, listen i am telling you that from first hand experience through the club, it dosnt matter if you have a pellet gun or an anti air craft rifle you have a firearm in the vicinity of the fly zone.Come back with the ferrets
    juice1304 wrote: »
    That is why I told him to ring the aviation authority, There is no reason in listening to what john joes uncles friend told him. For instance there are quote a number of farmers around here who think lamping is illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 J s682

Hi all thanks for all the replies what I really need to know is if it legal or not I have a feeling that if I were to ring the aviation authority and ask about shooting the answer would be no regardless of the legalities

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

J s682 wrote: »
    ............ what I really need to know is if it legal or not ....................
    It's legal.

Once you have permission to be on the land then there are no legal restrictions to stop you shooting there.

However as said above there are more precautions to be taken than shooting anywhere else. You may also fall foul of reckless discharge if stopped which is an easy sell for the Gardaí as it needs only show recklessness when using a firearm as opposed to any legality about shooting near an airport.

I would take excessive safety precautions if you decide to go ahead. Notify the local Gardaí, notify the DAA, fire away from the airport at all times even it means a miss, make sure you have a suitable backstop, no "high" shots, always into the ground, etc, etc.

It's a risk no matter what you do so it's your call as to whether it's worth the possible grief.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

lb1981 wrote: »

My thinking there is did the busy body passing by I tigers where there was no need or was he just ignorant to the fact there is life outside the airport. Most of is have came across people like that I suppose.

Either way was it noted a big deal of because it was guards out or because everything was legal. I know I wouldn't test the legal theory anyway. I'd say you would find yourself in a fair bit of bother.

There is a reason why the 3 clubs that boarder the airport dont shoot near it..one word grief.The hassle it causes is not worth any pheasant or rabbit. The land is totally open and you can be seen from a long distance away. Im pretty sure lads around port laoise prision are the same from what I have heard, , maybe if any of them are on here they can clarify that. I don't know about anybody else but I like the easy life with as little hassle as possible and shooting around the airport will lead to anything but that