Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,125 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Even if the vehicle was previously registered in the UK?
    That could change things alright. I would check with the VRO in Rosslare though.

Not your ornery onager

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Truckermal wrote: »
    Nah just arsehole!!! I was told ill make the perfect BE driver as I am cranky and ignorant most of the time. .:D

I used commute from the bog via BE. We had a deadly driver who gave all the regulars his phone number, had a tv/video in the bus, and played movies every night on the way home.

If we were a couple of minutes late, we'd give him a quick ring and he'd wait for us.

Every year at Christmas he got about €400 from his passengers.

He's the only non cranky BE driver I ever met.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Stheno wrote: »
    I used commute from the bog via BE. We had a deadly driver who gave all the regulars his phone number, had a tv/video in the bus, and played movies every night on the way home.

If we were a couple of minutes late, we'd give him a quick ring and he'd wait for us.

Every year at Christmas he got about €400 from his passengers.

He's the only non cranky BE driver I ever met.

What bus was this :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

If i can do it the third time so can you!

Myself also :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

What bus was this :D

The mountmellick to Dublin Bus

:eek: Mountmellick has a bus?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Interslice wrote: »
    It was worse and an actual pic. We're taking the gearbox out at the weekend. The shaft pinched and seized the bearing that the drive shaft run on coming out of the box. Either going to fit a scrappy box or get the bearing fitted somewhere.

f3ce.jpg

crazy%20mad%20camber.jpg

tn_Untitled-411.jpg

:cool::eek:

:eek: Mountmellick has a bus?!

Yah, only ran once a day specifically for commuters

Blimey, you learn something new every day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Blimey, you learn something new every day

Oh look, its gimpy and gimpyer back together again:)
    I'm keeping an eye on ye tonight;)

More driving lessons with my son today, not going too bad.
    He got to third gear (in a small field) and no kangaroo petrol:pac:

I'm a small bit dissapointed, I haven't had to grab for the 'jesus' brake yet!

pred racer wrote: »
    Oh look, its gimpy and gimpyer back together again:)
    I'm keeping an eye on ye tonight;)

More driving lessons with my son today, not going too bad.
    He got to third gear (in a small field) and no kangaroo petrol:pac:

I'm a small bit dissapointed, I haven't had to grab for the 'jesus' brake yet!

Good of you to join us gimpyest :pac:

Looks like you might have some competition there ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

YbFocus wrote: »
    Myself also :)

Ditto. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

New signs on the field across from me, land now preserved.... Locals will be upset, they all used to have a shnaky drive round it, myself in the 406 included :pac:

Need to find a new field.... Prefably oneI can go diffin in :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

And I never got a shot. :(
    Well, find a new one. :p

dgt wrote: »
    New signs on the field across from me, land now preserved.... Locals will be upset, they all used to have a shnaky drive round it, myself in the 406 included :pac:

Need to find a new field.... Prefably oneI can go diffin in :p
    CianRyan wrote: »
    And I never got a shot. :(
    Well, find a new one. :p

Field behind my house lads ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Let's wait for Cleveland to get his truck and we can put my Mazda on the back and take it to the field. :pac:

We'l be waiting so! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,125 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Field behind my house lads ;)
    I remember when it was all fields...

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

Got the front ARB droplinks replaced on my Outback (had to get a place to do it as I have no tools at all over here yet). So crazy how much a diff it makes to go from broken to new droplinks. You would think the front of the car was falling off before, nice and smooth and quiet now.

Also its pretty fast in Sports mode but stupidly lazy in normal mode (Auto box fail). Could have done with better normal driving mode tuning IMO. Desperately needs a noisier exhaust too, its ridiculous how quiet and boring it sounds.

PS: Was in front of a Ferrari 430 in the Terrace Tunnel (800m long, so long enough for noise)... sound was good. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

We'l be waiting so! :pac:

Feck off ye bollix!
    I'm going to look at a GMC Sierra in mullingar on saturday. 5.7 v8 petrol and (I think) the extended bed so plenty of room for the mazda :P

Failed the first one, got the time wrong for the second and well... Third time lucky! :D

So that explains why you couldn't get the mazda insured. Pass the test and it should be different

Hey if I can pass on the second attempt (and anyone who has seen me drive should laugh at that one :P ) anyone can!

Feck off ye bollix!
    I'm going to look at a GMC Sierra in mullingar on saturday. 5.7 v8 petrol and (I think) the extended bed so plenty of room for the mazda :P

Hue hue hue :pac:

I would join you but I have prior engagments ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Hue hue hue :pac:

I would join you but I have prior engagments ;)

Oh there's a lady on the scene :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    Oh there's ladies on the scene :)

;) you heard nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Lads this thread is going to ****e. More car talk and less rambling please.

Fair point,

Well this morning I was in naas hospital car park when some genius tried to reverse her tank, I mean audi A8, and started getting a bit too close for my liking, beeped the horn at her and she got out and had a little hissy fit until I pointed out she was millimeters away from an insurance claim, she was about 5mm away from my bumper, like on the corner of the car, threw me some evils and drove off :rolleyes:

There seems to be an awful lot of this happening lately, especially to people on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I'm noticing a lot of Chrysler Lancia Y's in Svotland. They're growing on me. Has anyone ever rented one?

Fair point,

Well this morning I was in naas hospital car park when some genius tried to reverse her tank, I mean audi A8, and started getting a bit too close for my liking, beeped the horn at her and she got out and had a little hissy fit until I pointed out she was millimeters away from an insurance claim, she was about 5mm away from my bumper, like on the corner of the car, threw me some evils and drove off :rolleyes:

There seems to be an awful lot of this happening lately, especially to people on here

Happened me in tesco newbridge the other day,
    luckily I had the window down as did the idiot, so I "explained why he was wrong"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Had someone in a rental MPV pull out without indicating in front of me yesterday. That was a nasty situation waiting to happen. Thankfully I was able to stop quite quickly and avoid it.
    It'd be one thing dealing with a private individual but i'd say a nightmare if you had an accident with a rental.

Dord wrote: »
    Had someone in a rental MPV pull out without indicating in front of me yesterday. That was a nasty situation waiting to happen. Thankfully I was able to stop quite quickly and avoid it.
    It'd be one thing dealing with a private individual but i'd say a nightmare if you had an accident with a rental.

It is added complication, but assuming you are not at fault it shouldn't make a difference I would imagine?