Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

12 head shots

• 14-05-2013 12:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭

out yesterday with me new cz 455 hmr,a bit windy,a bit showery,all head shots,all under 90yds aprox,nearest about 45yards,have the gun 3 weeks now,zeroed at 80yrds,for now,just getting used to it,very accurate:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

Nice one lad, hmr is accurate enough to stick it through the eye alot of the time!! Why have you zeroed at 80 yards tho?? 1" high at 100 yards will give you point and shoot out to 160 so you will still be able for all the headshots at the range you mentioned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭sniperman

aaakev wrote: »
    Nice one lad, hmr is accurate enough to stick it through the eye alot of the time!! Why have you zeroed at 80 yards tho?? 1" high at 100 yards will give you point and shoot out to 160 so you will still be able for all the headshots at the range you mentioned
    hi,thanks,i 80yrds was just a handy starting point to zero,its been so windy lately i wont try the 100 yrd zero til it calms down,1" high at a 100 yrds sounds good,will defo try that soon;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Nice bag for the day. Love the rifle. Nice compact setup, and especially like the thumbhole stock.

Rabbits seem to be getting scare around my way. Good to see they are plentiful enough elsewhere.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Cass wrote: »
    Nice bag for the day. Love the rifle. Nice compact setup, and especially like the thumbhole stock.

Rabbits seem to be getting scare around my way. Good to see they are plentiful enough elsewhere.
    thanks cass,bought the gun from sean harding thurles,if you remember,a few months back you suggested him to me,THANKS,really pleased with it,and yes on one of my permissions,there is quite a handful,gonna get as much of them as i can:D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

sniperman wrote: »
    .........bought the gun from sean harding thurles,if you remember,a few months back you suggested him to me,........

That's right. Forgot all about it.

Was looking at it myself about the same time. They are hard enough get new. Ardee are/were sold out of CZ 455's, so whatever a dealer has is all that is available for the time being.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Dec the trucker

nice shootin sniperman. thats a lovely set up. cant beat the cz, i have a cz .22 and its deadly accurate. i thought all the rabbits have left tipp though, havnt seen any in ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Glenbulldog

Great shooting fair play

nice shootin sniperman. thats a lovely set up. cant beat the cz, i have a cz .22 and its deadly accurate. i thought all the rabbits have left tipp though, havnt seen any in ages.
    hi,some places are full of them,for now,but they soon disappear:mad:

we had a lot of them round here but like you we got a bit trigger happy.

HA HA,i know,its hard not to take the shots when they popping out in front of ya:P

not any more round here lad. more chances of getting a wild boar than a rabbit. have a neighbour goin mad for a few bunnies for the pot but their just not around. was up around templemore this morning and there was a good few up there. keep up the good work. you have a name to live up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭jagged

Good shooting sniperman :)

jagged wrote: »
    Good shooting sniperman :)
    hi again,thanks;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

Nice shootin' lad:D. I have same rifle and LOVE it. Wouldn't change it for the world. I stuck on a SAK mod,Hawke Sidewinder 6-24x56 and a 6"-9" harris swivel bipod and like your own,it's a serious tack-driver:D:D:cool::cool:.
    Keep up the good work.
    Happy hunting
    LR

Longranger wrote: »
    Nice shootin' lad:D. I have same rifle and LOVE it. Wouldn't change it for the world. I stuck on a SAK mod,Hawke Sidewinder 6-24x56 and a 6"-9" harris swivel bipod and like your own,it's a serious tack-driver:D:D:cool::cool:.
    Keep up the good work.
    Happy hunting
    LR
    hi,thanks,yes very accurate gun,cant wait to push it a bit farther when the wind dies down,my scope is a hawke as well 16 mag,nice and clear:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 genuineirl

Good shooting lad
    I subbed my browning T bolt 17hmr for same cz as yours, as I found browning trigger very creepy like nowhere else. My gunsmith tried to do something with it but with no positive results (he said sear, safety and trigger was engaged on one spring and was no possibility to make it lower to pull. average pull over 5lb)
    Can't wait until my new licence arrive
    I found some lads said cz triggers are no perfect but they change trigger springs for lighter and remove creep putting shims.
    How is your trigger anyway?

genuineirl wrote: »
    Good shooting lad
    I subbed my browning T bolt 17hmr for same cz as yours, as I found browning trigger very creepy like nowhere else. My gunsmith tried to do something with it but with no positive results (he said sear, safety and trigger was engaged on one spring and was no possibility to make it lower to pull. average pull over 5lb)
    Can't wait until my new licence arrive
    I found some lads said cz triggers are no perfect but they change trigger springs for lighter and remove creep putting shims.
    How is your trigger anyway?
    hi mate,love the cz.but trigger is a bit hard to pull,probably meaning that accuracy could be affected,so im in the process of a diy trigger job using an ink pen spring.ill post results soon;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 genuineirl

I bought set of 4 springs and 4 shims from yodave for 20e and gonna do some changes as soon as i collect the gun, found lots of movies on youtube how to do it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Nice shooting there again lad
    The rabbits seem to be appearing and disappearing elsewhere
    For instance I've land that last year was crawling with rabbits and this year has feck all
    And another land I have for years had more pheasants than rabbits but now rabbits are reappearing again its great to see them again
    Slowing down to just taking one each time im out
    Even buzzards are starting to appear on this land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

nice shooting sniperman:D:Dand nice gun ,cant wait to get out for bunnies myself just launched in paperwork for cz .22 so fingers crossed it wont be long for license

What time were you out at there's hardly any around me during the day plenty come 8 o'clock onwards,nice shooting btw

hi mate,was out around 5 in evening,had 8 got by 8pm,was a good day:D

Yeah seems to be the best time alright I was out all day only came home at 5 today seen 2 rabbits all day,evening time seems to be the time:) I got 2 grey backs so all was not lost ,8 rabbits great shooting:D

Great shooting, great pics! (You'll make a few bunny burgers out of that lot!)

Druss.