Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Angelina Jolie - Preventative Double Mastectomy

• 14-05-2013 8:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭

My Medical Choice
    MY MOTHER fought cancer for almost a decade and died at 56. She held out long enough to meet the first of her grandchildren and to hold them in her arms. But my other children will never have the chance to know her and experience how loving and gracious she was.

We often speak of “Mommy’s mommy,” and I find myself trying to explain the illness that took her away from us. They have asked if the same could happen to me. I have always told them not to worry, but the truth is I carry a “faulty” gene, BRCA1, which sharply increases my risk of developing breast cancer and ovarian cancer.

My doctors estimated that I had an 87 percent risk of breast cancer and a 50 percent risk of ovarian cancer, although the risk is different in the case of each woman.

Only a fraction of breast cancers result from an inherited gene mutation. Those with a defect in BRCA1 have a 65 percent risk of getting it, on average.

Once I knew that this was my reality, I decided to be proactive and to minimize the risk as much I could. I made a decision to have a preventive double mastectomy. I started with the breasts, as my risk of breast cancer is higher than my risk of ovarian cancer, and the surgery is more complex.

On April 27, I finished the three months of medical procedures that the mastectomies involved. During that time I have been able to keep this private and to carry on with my work.

But I am writing about it now because I hope that other women can benefit from my experience. Cancer is still a word that strikes fear into people’s hearts, producing a deep sense of powerlessness. But today it is possible to find out through a blood test whether you are highly susceptible to breast and ovarian cancer, and then take action.

My own process began on Feb. 2 with a procedure known as a “nipple delay,” which rules out disease in the breast ducts behind the nipple and draws extra blood flow to the area. This causes some pain and a lot of bruising, but it increases the chance of saving the nipple.

Two weeks later I had the major surgery, where the breast tissue is removed and temporary fillers are put in place. The operation can take eight hours. You wake up with drain tubes and expanders in your breasts. It does feel like a scene out of a science-fiction film. But days after surgery you can be back to a normal life.

Nine weeks later, the final surgery is completed with the reconstruction of the breasts with an implant. There have been many advances in this procedure in the last few years, and the results can be beautiful.

I wanted to write this to tell other women that the decision to have a mastectomy was not easy. But it is one I am very happy that I made. My chances of developing breast cancer have dropped from 87 percent to under 5 percent. I can tell my children that they don’t need to fear they will lose me to breast cancer.

It is reassuring that they see nothing that makes them uncomfortable. They can see my small scars and that’s it. Everything else is just Mommy, the same as she always was. And they know that I love them and will do anything to be with them as long as I can. On a personal note, I do not feel any less of a woman. I feel empowered that I made a strong choice that in no way diminishes my femininity.

I am fortunate to have a partner, Brad Pitt, who is so loving and supportive. So to anyone who has a wife or girlfriend going through this, know that you are a very important part of the transition. Brad was at the Pink Lotus Breast Center, where I was treated, for every minute of the surgeries. We managed to find moments to laugh together. We knew this was the right thing to do for our family and that it would bring us closer. And it has.

For any woman reading this, I hope it helps you to know you have options. I want to encourage every woman, especially if you have a family history of breast or ovarian cancer, to seek out the information and medical experts who can help you through this aspect of your life, and to make your own informed choices.

I acknowledge that there are many wonderful holistic doctors working on alternatives to surgery. My own regimen will be posted in due course on the Web site of the Pink Lotus Breast Center. I hope that this will be helpful to other women.

Breast cancer alone kills some 458,000 people each year, according to the World Health Organization, mainly in low- and middle-income countries. It has got to be a priority to ensure that more women can access gene testing and lifesaving preventive treatment, whatever their means and background, wherever they live. The cost of testing for BRCA1 and BRCA2, at more than $3,000 in the United States, remains an obstacle for many women.

I choose not to keep my story private because there are many women who do not know that they might be living under the shadow of cancer. It is my hope that they, too, will be able to get gene tested, and that if they have a high risk they, too, will know that they have strong options.

Life comes with many challenges. The ones that should not scare us are the ones we can take on and take control of.

Angelina Jolie is an actress and director.

She could have kept this private but she chose to go public in order to help other women in similar situations and to encourage women in general to seek information and make informed choices. Fair play Ange and best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 jamesjoyce1710

or else she has a raft of films coming up and she wants publicity!
    she always struk me as quite a selfish person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Fair play to her, it can't have been an easy decision to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

That's a ridiculous comment.

Mod

Cop on.

Crap like this won't be tolerated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭LifesgoodwithLG

I can't disagree with you more regarding her motivation for publicising her preventative masectomy, its a horrible decision to make but your life is worth more than boobies. Its a subject close to my heart , at times it feels like a lonely place to be so its' good to know there's others out there. She's more of an icon for me right now than she's ever been before, I totally respect and applaud her decision . Thank you .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭sumsar

Folks, don't take the bait.

Not an easy thing for her to do I'm sure, fair play to her for going public with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I've always admired her. It must have been a really tough decision to make and I can imagine it's been a horrible few months. I'm glad she actually got to go through it privately, and was in control of when the public found out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭hyperborean

Tough choice, fair play to her.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

I've never been a big Jolie fan but credit where credit's due and she definitely deserves it in this situation. What an incredibly hard decision for anyone to make and then go public about it too.

I'd imagine that the media was a factor in her going public, but probably only to prevent rumours of boob jobs etc going around. I don't think that takes away from it though, it takes strength to be so honest like that.

I have grown more respect for Jolie now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

It sounds like an incredibly tough decision - for any woman, but for someone who is defined a lot in the media by her looks and at the scrutiny of the world media even more so.

I read Emma Hannigans "Talk to the Headscarf" over the summer - an Irish writer who did the same thing, and included her womb in the process and still got cancer multiple times but is still fighting. It was an eyeopener and gave an insight into how the HSE treats these things.

Major respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭Snoopy1

I think its great she kept it private throughout the operations, but chose to go public when the time was right. Unlike a certain other z list who went through same thing, but broadcast every single thing.
    All women who do this are incredibly brave though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Ambersky

I absolutely admire Angelina for the way she has handled this and I do believe she did it to help other women going through breast cancer. It is of course a pity she has had to live with this issue for so long, with the death of her mother and the worry that she may suffer the same fate, taking the decision she did in order to stay alive. She made her decision with the best information available and Im sure its not an easy decision for anybody and it must take courage in the extreme. That's what we want more survivors.
    But how fantastic that a woman who is so much in the public eye and who is considered one of the most beautiful women in the world, would not simply hide her experience from the world and instead choose come out publicly and share her experience. Other women who are going through breast cancer and particularly with mastectomys, who may have difficulties with their self esteem, confidence and perhaps even their sexuality may benefit from looking at Angelina continuing in her career and may take some reassurance from it. Fair play to Angelina if it gives courage and helps even one woman go for a breast check or live with cancer. If she gets publicity and more work out of it I will be one of those paying my money at the box office supporting her.

There have been a few other women in the public eye who did not hide their fight against breast cancer. Its a very personal experience and I dont blame anyone staying private on the matter I just with them well and to stay alive. Melissa Etheridge back in 2005 sang a tribute along with Joss Stone, to Janis Joplin at the Grammy Awards and she came out and sang bald having lost her hair after chemo and radiation. That too was a powerfully life affirming statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

If you haven't done so click through to the NYT article. The illustration with the article is really powerful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Very brave and she is lucky to be able to afford the testing, the treatment and the reconstructive work. For many women worldwide they would not even get as far as the test due to financial considerations.

I wish her all the best, her mother was very young when she died, if this can prevent the same tragedy then it's a wonderful thing.

Her speaking out will no doubt help other women. She does a lot of good work, she is to be admired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭LittleBook

Time.com - Angelina Jolie’s Double Mastectomy: What We Know About BRCA Mutations and Breast Cancer

Jolie's Decision Sheds Light on BRCA Gene, Importance of Genetic Counselling

Irish women face 18-month wait to undergo vital cancer gene test

Campaigners praise Angelina Jolie's double mastectomy news for 'supporting women'

Just as small selection. Mission accomplished Angelina.

I would have posted some links from French media if it wasn't inundated with articles about the (female) leader of the "Christian" Democratic Party tweeting in response to what she's done:
    Pour ressembler aux hommes? Rire! Si ce n'était triste à pleurer!

Which roughly translates as:
    To look like men? LOL If it wasn't so funny it would be sad!

Stupid bítch.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I certainly wouldn’t have $3,000 lying around to spend on a blood test, I know that healthcare in the States can be crazy expensive though. Does anyone know how much it costs in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

According to Ray D'Arcy this morning there's a free test available at the Mater, but there is a waiting list for it.

I'll probably be annihilated for my opinion, but i can't understand the fuss.
    Yes, I think it's good to have attention brought to her choice, but she just had massive surgery that was possibly unnecessary followed by a glorified boob job.

As a contributor to the above show who has the gene stated, such surgery is not the only option available, and treatment and preventative measures are improving all the time.

Scarinae wrote: »
    Does anyone know how much it costs in Ireland?

Most Irish women opt for screening instead of surgery
    However women have to wait 18 months for the test to be carried out to determine whether they are carrying the gene. Private health insurers do not cover the cost of the test and it costs €1,400 to have it done privately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭kat.mac

Addle wrote: »
    Yes, I think it's good to have attention brought to her choice, but she just had massive surgery that was possibly unnecessary followed by a glorified boob job.

As a contributor to the above show who has the gene stated, such surgery is not the only option available, and treatment and preventative measures are improving all the time.

Key words - her choice. It was her decision, in consultation with her partner and her doctors, in light of her experience of losing her mother at a very young age, with her children in mind. I can't understand why you are projecting your choice and your experience onto her, and criticising her for taking a different option.

And calling her breast reconstruction a 'glorified boob job' is insanely harsh.

I'm not a particular fan of Jolie's but I have huge admiration for how she has handled this. I think it's super that she has used her position to shed light on the gene, its possible ramifications, and her statement that it may be unattainable for women who are not as wealthy as she is carries a lot of weight and may kickstart a movement towards making the gene tests accessible to all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

Scarinae wrote: »
    I certainly wouldn’t have $3,000 lying around to spend on a blood test, I know that healthcare in the States can be crazy expensive though. Does anyone know how much it costs in Ireland?

It cost me and my sister €500 each in the Mater Private. However, we already knew the exact mutation we were looking for and had a relative's blood sample (with the mutation) for comparison. Getting the test without a sample for reference is significantly more expensive.

kat.mac wrote: »
    you are projecting your choice and your experience onto her, and criticising her for taking a different option.

I have no direct experience in this regard.
    I referred to someone whose opinion was read out on the Ray D'Arcy show.

Just my opinion anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

To be honest, I wouldn't consider that kind of surgery as 'possibly unnecessary' - the chance of her developing breast cancer was far higher than the possibility that she wouldn't. It's a massive decision for any woman to make, but she chose longevity of life over her breasts. And I applaud her for that. Also, I think it was far from a 'glorified boob job'. I can't blame her for wanting reconstructive surgery, I'd do the exact same in her situation if I had the means.

I know that treatment and preventative measures are always improving, but I think most women would sooner not take the chance, especially when we don't all have access to the same money and facilities as a Hollywood actress.

I was never a huge Jolie fan, but she knew that her fame could be used for something really positive here, so I admire her for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Just my opinion anyways.

Hang on. Your opinion is someone else's opinion but it's still just your opinion?

3 parts/paragraphs to my post.
    As per the below, my opinion in contained in the second.
    According to Ray D'Arcy this morning there's a free test available at the Mater, but there is a waiting list for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

LittleBook wrote: »
    Time.com - Angelina Jolie’s Double Mastectomy: What We Know About BRCA Mutations and Breast Cancer

Jolie's Decision Sheds Light on BRCA Gene, Importance of Genetic Counselling

Irish women face 18-month wait to undergo vital cancer gene test

Campaigners praise Angelina Jolie's double mastectomy news for 'supporting women'

Just as small selection. Mission accomplished Angelina.

I would have posted some links from French media if it wasn't inundated with articles about the (female) leader of the "Christian" Democratic Party tweeting in response to what she's done:

Which roughly translates as:

Stupid bítch.
    I try to ignore Boutin's comments in general, some of the things she comes out with are pig ignorant. Cannot stand the woman. They do do a nice skit of her on Le Petit Journal on Canal + though.

Just my opinion anyways.

It sounded as if you were the person who contributed to the show, the way you phrased it. My point about criticising her medical decision - and the 'glorified boob job' comment - stands, regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

What makes me sad about this is the cost for the average woman. Glad to hear the test isn't as expensive in Ireland, but what about the surgeries? Do they count as elective surgeries? I would assume any reconstructive surgery is coming from the patient's pocket.

I liked that Angelina pointed out the high cost of the test in the states remains an obstacle for women.

Think that's one of the most important parts of the whole thing. You and I could go shouting about it but when it comes from her, people will hear it.

I try to ignore Boutin's comments in general, some of the things she comes out with are pig ignorant. Cannot stand the woman. They do do a nice skit of her on Le Petit Journal on Canal + though.

Yeah, she's an awful wagon ... makes some of our FGrs look liberal! :)

How was my translation? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

LittleBook wrote: »
    Yeah, she's an awful wagon ... makes some of our FGrs look liberal! :)

How was my translation? ;)
    Pretty good! :)

The fuss is, a famous beautiful woman, has chosen to have her breast tissue removed and have her breasts reconstructed because her family history and genetic testing showed that she had an almost 90% chance of developing breast cancer. Her own mother died at 56 years of age from cancer that she had fought for 10 years. Angelina is a woman with 6 children who is 37 years old. She kept the procedures and the situation private until after the event at which point she decided to use her fame to highlight this issue for women. Im not clear on what bit of the "fuss" you dont understand?

Im not sure how you think it was possibly unnecessary? The possibility was really small. She was given an 87% chance of developing breast cancer. She watched her own mother die of cancer, she is a mother herself. Why on earth would she take the risk that she would be in the lucky 13%?

I cant understand how any woman can refer to breast reconstruction surgery as a glorified boob job. She had her breast tissue removed. Besides the fact that her children might notice her body is different, do you really expect her to just have no breasts now? She is as famous for her looks as she is for her acting, and even if she wasnt famous - why would any woman not get reconstructive work done if she lost her breasts?

I suggest you google images of post mastectomy patients who did not have reconstructive work done and see for yourself how it looks. Its not very nice. Its a deformity. Calling the reconstruction of such a deformity a glorified boob job is ignorant and offensive. I am close to women who lost breasts to cancer and I have seen the agony they go through, and afterwards, not feeling like a woman due to the missing breast. Its heartbreaking for any woman and her family and friends to have to go through that.

I suggest you choose your words more carefully when you speak of reconstructive breast surgery as I am sure I am not the only one who finds the term you used callous and offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Susie564

Can someone correct me if I'm wrong here but my understanding is that having a preventive mastectomy does not mean that you will not get cancer anyways??? I think I would be extra devastated if I had gone through that surgery and developed cancer anyway rather than being diagnosed with cancer and having the relevant treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

It reduces her risk from nearly 90% to around 5%. It doesn't alter the risk of ovarian cancer that the BRCA genes are responsible for.

Susie564 wrote: »
    Can someone correct me if I'm wrong here but my understanding is that having a preventive mastectomy does not mean that you will not get cancer anyways??? I think I would be extra devastated if I had gone through that surgery and developed cancer anyway rather than being diagnosed with cancer and having the relevant treatment.

She has reduced her chances to 5%.
    Her original chances were 87%

She is playing the odds. Yes, she could still get it, but the chances are a lot lower than they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭confusticated

And I suppose if you did get it after the mastectomy, at least you'd feel you'd done all you could to avoid it. If it were me and I didn't get the surgery, and subsequently developed cancer, I think I'd wish I'd got the surgery done before it got more serious. (But obviously, it's a hell of a lot more difficult to make that choice when it's really put in front of you.)

It's pretty major surgery (forgetting about the expense and all) and although Ms Jolie says it didn't affect how she feels about herself etc etc, I'm not quite the sex bomb that she is to begin with and I'm not married to Brad Pitt! So I think it might take a bigger toll in that sense. I think I'd still feel the worry hanging over me that it would still come along. I'm not sure I'd do it, definitely a difficult choice - hopefully I'll never have to make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭lonestargirl

What makes me sad about this is the cost for the average woman. Glad to hear the test isn't as expensive in Ireland, but what about the surgeries? Do they count as elective surgeries? I would assume any reconstructive surgery is coming from the patient's pocket.

Reconstructive surgery for this is covered publically in Ireland. The test is free too but there's quite a waiting list so some people opt to get it done privately.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Susie564 wrote: »
    It's pretty major surgery (forgetting about the expense and all) and although Ms Jolie says it didn't affect how she feels about herself etc etc, I'm not quite the sex bomb that she is to begin with and I'm not married to Brad Pitt! So I think it might take a bigger toll in that sense. I think I'd still feel the worry hanging over me that it would still come along. I'm not sure I'd do it, definitely a difficult choice - hopefully I'll never have to make it.

It's a big decision but I really think that I would do it if it was me. Being able to reduce your odds by 80% like that is a big thing to be able to do for yourself. I'd rather that to having to go through the painful process of cancer treatment.

You're always going to worry but having the power to at least try and help yourself is actually the best way of self reassurance sometimes.

That's just my opinion based on my own personal medical history though. And I think Angelina and this thread may have just helped me on the road to making my own major medical decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

If you google image 'double mastectomy' it's ALL pictures of AJ. Hopefully this makes the health care system understand that this is an issue that effects people and something needs to be done about it.

I have so much more respect for her now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 38 Potentially Toxic

Why?

Why?

Mod

A mod warning has already been given for jamesjoyce1710's post, answering your question will derail the thread so let's leave it there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭justbored

justbored wrote: »

Thanks so much for posting that. I guess with a family history like that it makes more sense to me. It's also good to know that the relevant services are there for those that need them in this country. Thankfully for me I have only had one family member develop breast cancer, my mum, who unfortunately died in 2001 aged 46. So my risks are not as high. I'm not a fan of Angelina Jolie's but her speaking out about it has certainly raised awareness worldwide and she has to be given credit for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭justbored

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

thank you so much for posting justbored

people's reactions to this just dumbfound me, someone posted a very relevant comic on facebook and I think it would be appreciated here:

tumblr_mmt9daWscy1qbtxv8o1_1280.jpg
    tumblr_mmt9daWscy1qbtxv8o2_1280.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Attitudes like the above just show how women are still reduced to the sum of their body parts. Some of the responses on Twitter (and indeed elsewhere on Boards) have been outright disgusting.

Screen-shot-2013-05-14-at-8.37.22-AM.png

Screen-shot-2013-05-14-at-8.49.07-AM.png

Screen-shot-2013-05-14-at-8.38.57-AM.png

Screen-shot-2013-05-14-at-8.39.55-AM.png

Screen-shot-2013-05-14-at-8.42.55-AM.png

More here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Nymeria

I remember seeing my doctor about abnormal smear tests a few months ago, ended up having to have a colposcopy - anyway, one of the things she mentioned was that since Jade Goody's death a few years ago, she noticed the number of women asking about cervical cancer and taking their smear tests more seriously had increased.

When it is out there in the media, it can't help but increase people's awareness of it.

I hope this does something similar for people's awareness of preventative measures available for breast cancer now because of Angelina Jolie. Whatever you think of her acting etc. she has done a good thing for getting people (more importantly women) talking about it.

It cannot be an easy thing to share with the world, and especially for a celebrity whose body is scrutinized for potential sexiness at every turn. Our culture focuses on breasts as purely sexual objects, and any deviation of that purpose (even breast feeding - their actual purpose) is dismissed or ridiculed by judgemental a$$holes.

Her breasts are not sum of her femininity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

My mother found an abnormality at the end of 2011. Thankfully nothing sinister had developed but obviously it had to be removed. The specialist told her there was no guarantee though that it wouldn't return, and the only way to be absolutely certain was breast removal - so she opted for that.

She said if she were a younger woman she'd be upset by the loss aspect, but she is a nurse and in her 60s and completely looked at it from the health angle, so she was very happy with her decision and did absolutely great afterwards. She knows so many women her age who have discovered an abnormality early, and have fared absolutely fine with the right intervention.

Being a nurse though helped her greatly no doubt. I know not all women in their 60s could be that positive about things. I think her decision was a great one though, and extremely brave despite her confidence with everything.

I understand people finding the "Oh what a shame, her great boobs are gone" comments re Angelina to be crass, but I'd be distraught at having mine removed in my 30s too, simply for appearance/femininity reasons, to be honest, and then there would be all the deeper aspects. I don't know if the comments are maliciously intended, I think it's just a bit of bad-taste humour and looking at things on the surface.
    It's the comments that: her sex life is gone, she did it for publicity, it was too drastic - there was nothing wrong with her, it makes a mockery of cancer patients etc... that make me despair.
    It's a massively brave and difficult decision and you'd wonder what kind of people would shove that aside and just think along the above lines - that she'd actually go to those lengths for attention? Some of the comments are by women too. Weirdos to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭hollypink

My mother found an abnormality at the end of 2011. Thankfully nothing sinister had developed but obviously it had to be removed. The specialist told her there was no guarantee though that it wouldn't return, and the only way to be absolutely certain was breast removal - so she opted for that.

She said if she were a younger woman she'd be upset by the loss aspect, but she is a nurse and in her 60s and completely looked at it from the health angle, so she was very happy with her decision and did absolutely great afterwards. She knows so many women her age who have discovered an abnormality early, and have fared absolutely fine with the right intervention.

Being a nurse though helped her greatly no doubt. I know not all women in their 60s could be that positive about things. I think her decision was a great one though, and extremely brave despite her confidence with everything.

My mum was diagnosed with breast cancer a number of years ago, after finding a lump. As far as I can remember, the specialist said a lumpectomy would be enough but she decided to go with a full mastectomy (one breast, not both) because she didn't want the worry of it coming back. Like your mum, she said that at her age (late fifties then), she was less worried about her physical appearance in making the decision, and didn't want reconstrutive surgery either.

I'm a bit confused by some of the stuff I'm reading; I saw an article posted on facebook claiming Angelina Jolie had been duped by her doctors and the "cancer industry" but when I read it, I thought it sounded very naive indeed, particularly this bit:
    In the world of health, nutrition and cancer, there are thousands of ways to prevent cancer and suppress the expression of BRCA1 genes. But Jolie and the cancer industry seem to imply no options exist other than chemotherapy, radiotherapy or surgery. Three options only. Nothing else exists in their world, not nutritional prevention, not vitamin D therapy, not vitamin C potentiated micro-chemotherapy, not ozone therapy, sauna treatments, acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine, stress reduction or anything else. You are supposed to believe that none of these things exist!

http://www.naturalnews.com/040349_Angelina_Jolie_breast_cancer_surgery.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

vitamin D therapy, Helps you absorb calcium, but does nothing for cancer
    not vitamin C potentiated micro-chemotherapy,I've never heard of it, but I'm willing to bet it's useless
    not ozone therapy, Does nothing for cancer http://whatstheharm.net/ozonetherapy.html
    sauna treatments, How they hell would that do anything?
    acupuncture, Placebo effect for most stuff. Useless for cancer
    Chinese herbal medicine, Placebo, useless, or downright dangerous, depending on what is given
    stress reduction Treats cancer how?
    or anything else I'm willing to bet anything else that author would prescribe would be worse than nothing

Honestly, the author of that may as well have written "I don't know why she got a preventative mastectomy; she never tried 'nothing'!