Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The virtues or otherwise of corolla bangeromics

• Registered Users Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

unkel wrote: »
    My own car is 12 years old and worth less than a grand. Hardly qualifies me being a snob, does it? ;)
    The age of your own car is irrelevant, You come across as being a badge snob towards Japanese cars, particularly towards Toyota imo.
    I suppose plenty of people in this country are easily pleased with a very basic car for their bangernomics money. I guess I'm not one of them :)

Don't get me wrong though, if my budget was the tiniest possible, I too would buy a basic A-B reliable (probably Jap) car. Not a Toyota 1.3 though, it would be much cheaper and more reliable to own a 1.0 Micra :p
    Apart from being cheaper to tax I would disagree that a Micra ''would be much cheaper'' to own. An Irish version of a Micra is actually less reliable than a 1.3 Corolla.

• Registered Users Posts: 65,051 ✭✭✭✭unkel

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    The age of your own car is irrelevant, You come across as being a badge snob towards Japanese cars, particularly towards Toyota imo.

Apart from being cheaper to tax I would disagree that a Micra ''would be much cheaper'' to own. An Irish version of a Micra is actually less reliable than a 1.3 Corolla.

You're contradicting yourself there in what you reckon I think about Japanese cars ;)

And as I said, if I was really stuck and needed the cheapest possible car to own, I'd buy a Japanese car

Micra is of course much cheaper to own than a Corolla:

1. Costs less to buy
    2. Costs less to fuel
    3. Costs less to tax
    4. Costs less to maintain. I agree, both cars should be nearly maintenance fee except regular servicing and tyres, but the Nissan has a timing chain, not an inferior cheapo belt as in the Corolla

RoverJames wrote: »
    1995 Corolla value at €800 ish???

Yes or No
    If a car even an old car is going to be highly reliable and undemanding for years to come with little and cheap maintenance, then yes 800 ish is good value and a small price to pay for that, would you agree?

Tbh your argument about the price is silly imo as 850 is hardly a lot of money in the first place and most cars that age in that condition will be in or around that money.
    Bias is like addiction, most folks with it won't admit it btw.

I never said the Carisma was best in class old boy. They are no where as bad as you reckon though, fact. I know that from personal experience, I'd trust my own views more than yours too of course.
    I never said you did, You said they are every bit as good as a Corolla which they are not, If you had ''personal experience'' of both cars and worked on both cars you would know this. It's fair enough if you think other wise that's your opinion, Im just telling it how it is, nothing to do with being bias as I am a Honda fan at heart :).

If a car even an old car is going to be highly reliable and undemanding for years to come with little and cheap maintenance, then yes 800 ish is good value and a small price to pay for that, would you agree? .............

Not when a more modern civic or 323 can be gotten for the same money and be "highly reliable and undemanding for years to come with little and cheap maintenance".

End of the day a 95 Corolla is rank compared to other stuff that can be bought for the same money.

I have personal experience of both Carisma and corollas so I am more than able to form an opinion on them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Lads, ye'll never agree so please agree to disagree!!!!!!!

I'll reply to any post directed at me as I see fit ;)

Not when a more modern civic or 323 can be gotten for the same money and be "highly reliable and undemanding for years to come with little and cheap maintenance".
    A Corolla will be cheaper to run and will age better than a 323, I agree with you on a Civic though, they are as good if not better than a Corolla.

End of the day a 95 Corolla is rank compared to other stuff that can be bought for the same money.

I have personal experience of both Carisma and corollas so I am more than able to form an opinion on them.
    What other stuff like a Carisma? Tbh I don't think you have any proper experience of both cars if you think a Carisma is a good car and is as good as a Corolla.

What other stuff .........

Eh did you not see posts about 323s and Civics in this thread :confused:

.. Tbh I don't think you have any proper experience of both cars if you think a Carisma is a good car and is as good as a Corolla.

Tbh if you think a Carisma is as sh1t as you say I'm struggling to fathom how you have any experience with cars .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

Toyota toyota toyota.
    avensis recommend for me in here, ok some sense but 1995 Corolla 800 euro :eek: Oh my of God !!!!

It last for more years yes but 800 euro go so much better.

No electric windows, no locking central remote.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Spot on. I think the issue is people creaming themselves over a 95 corolla asking 850, its simply not a bargain, not value and certainly not a lot of car for the money.

If in here is anything to go by there's no shortage of people willing to pay over the odds for one though.

I agree that particular corolla for €800ish is not abargain. I disagree however that it is not value for money.

My understanding of bangernomics is that they don’t always necessarily have to be a bargain. The brother is out of work at the moment, two young kids, wife, mortgage etc.. needed something reliable to ferry the crew around with little or no trouble. Picked himself up one of these for €750. Years test, decent nick.

6 months later, no trouble. Now the car wasn’t a bargain by any means, but the value for money it is offering my bro is massive.

As for a lot of car for the money. I agree, it’s not.

This debate has degenerated into horse trading at this stage. I read one post stating that at €500 it’s a good buy and at €800 it’s not. Why not split the difference, and say anywhere between €600 & 700 is fine. But then maybe €700 is too expensve. Can we agree that €578.99 is a fair price?

In relation to the passive/aggressive insults flying about (irate deluded fanboys/guys creamingthemselves) as a result of people posting a car and stating an opinion. Idon’t think they add anything to the spirit of the thread.

BTW; I promise I’ll never post another one unless it’s under €500. Not worth the hassle.!

He'd have gotten more value for money in a civic, potentially. Just as reliable, much nicer design and much nicer to drive imo :)

It was the lot of car for the money drivel that prompted my comment, other drivel was than directed at me so I replied ;)

You seem not to think the snob comment was an insult? One way street us it?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭W123-80's

He'd have gotten more value for money in a civic, potentially. Just as reliable, much nicer design and much nicer to drive imo :)

It was the lot of car for the money drivel that prompted my comment, other drivel was than directed at me so I replied ;)

Fair point on the snob comment. No call for that either.

I'm going to tip toe away from this debate now.. and get back to picking out some dodgy bangers.!

• Registered Users Posts: 73,405 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

topic split....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Very hard to find a Civic that hasn't been raped by boy racers unfortunately. Any that are in good condition are being sold for a bigger premium than the Corolla too.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Not particularly cheap to buy. Not very safe. Not a lot of car for the money.

Explain how they're not very safe? They have brakes and airbags and so long as the tyres are brake pads/discs are in good order they're a perfectly safe car. They may not have 5 star encap rating or side impact beams but that doesn't make them an unsafe car.

They don't have airbags, abs, or anything safety related

• Registered Users Posts: 9,615 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

colm_mcm wrote: »
    They don't have airbags

Later ones did

• Registered Users Posts: 8,301 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Crash safety of 1990s C segment cars based on offset testing by Auto Motor und Sport. Anywhere you see "rot" in the below table, it's bad news.
    http://www.autocrashtest.de/unterseiten/am_fr_55_untere.htm

As can be seen an airbagged Corolla (which most Irish ones weren't) is rated worse than most rivals at the time such as the Golf, Astra, ZX, Renault 19, facelift Escort etc.

It should be said that even the best early nineties cars in this table have rubbish safety by modern standards however some like the Corolla and Civic are worse again.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Later ones did

For like 18 months

• Registered Users Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I sold a 96 starlet with a fresh nct for 900 not so long ago. Was great, Irish People love their Toyotas. :D

They are stupidly reliable though. Nothing can kill the 4E-FE

Very hard to find a Civic that hasn't been raped by boy racers unfortunately. Any that are in good condition are being sold for a bigger premium than the Corolla too.

Really?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=84455511&postcount=370
    Later ones did

To be fair all this started in relation to a 95 corolla asking €850, lot of car for the money bla bla bla, not later ones :)

Just passed 185,000 miles on my '93 1.3 XLi which I'm using for a daily commute. No immobiliser, airbags, abs, central locking or electric windows! Can be very slow to accelerate - but it gets me where I need to go. I brought it to the Loire Valley in France recently and brought back a boot full of wine.

It's my first car (a friend gave it to me for free two years ago after I passed my test). It's been excellent to learn about how a car is put together and how it is maintained.

Am I the only one who finds it hilarious that everyone is getting so worked up over such a boring car?

As regards the airbag I think they were fitted on the Plus special only in 96/97.

All I remember about them was I kept slamming the doors by mistake as they were so light

Am I the only one who finds it hilarious that everyone is getting so worked up over such a boring car? .........

Don't think many are, a few posters on a forum creaming themselves and getting irate over a banger doesn't equate to everyone getting so worked up.

I was using the royal everyone :)

Out of curiosity, if a corolla like the one in this thread popped up when your thinking of buying how close to the asking of this one would you go John?

I'm a tight ****er as you know. I'd be aiming to pay 450-550.

If it had a nice but of tax I'd push to 600 but I'd draw the line there.

No more though. Don't think I'll be looking now. Gf passed her test and was going to need a car but I think a solution has been found.

As regards the price of the one that started this all I can see the appeal and why people buy them. If you wanted something short term you know you won't loose much if anything on it or have difficulty selling it on.

If you want it to drive into the ground it would be painless enough to own and with servicing and maintenance it should be good for a lot more miles.

I agree there are far nicer cars out there and im a fan of the 323 and agree its a nicer place to be but I think this is a car for those who couldn't give a shyte about any other badge. They just want a Corolla.

The value is there however if someone wanted it long term. I wouldn't pay that price mind, and you won't have it on your driveway unless it came for free.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,230 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

<snip>
    Don't get me wrong though, if my budget was the tiniest possible, I too would buy a basic A-B reliable (probably Jap) car. Not a Toyota 1.3 though, it would be much cheaper and more reliable to own a 1.0 Micra :p
    Not trying to slag you Unkel.....but,
    Probably one of the worst mid-90's Jap cars you could pick....timing chain will be rattling it's tiny brain out, sills will be rotten, front cross-member will be beyond rotten, boot floor above exhaust will be non-existant, fuel injection problems .
    Spend an extra couple of hundred and buy an '89 Yaris :)....Toyota I know, but there you go.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Fiona

I got my Toyota Corolla last October, 96 model, 142K on the clock for €500. Quite simply the best money I have spent all year. Cost €52 to service cos I did it myself (with the help of my glamorous assistant)

It's so reliable and functional, quite frankly disgusts me with how cheap it is to run. For what I need it for, ie winter hack it's just perfect.

How could anybody not want one of these cars if they are wanting a cheap run around!?

Fiona wrote: »
    ............ €500............

......... appropriately priced :)