Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,747 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Cienciano wrote: »
    Giles has said enough rubbish over the years to make me ignore him at this stage. tactics don't matter, Ronaldo banging in a goal a game at united is rubbish.

Ronaldo being a big man-child is what Giles hated about him.

I don't think he ever said tactics don't matter, that was more in reply to the gimmicky/over-complicated things some managers do, what Giles says is get your best players on the pitch in their best positions and devise a plan around that.

I know people think he's over the hill, but I like his old school values, there's nice contrast between him and modern psychobabble merchants like Ken :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Jesus what was the point of that football show today? Oscar going to China is nothing new or noteworthy and a boring 30 minute chat about how great 1996 was if you are English which listeners are mostly not. Will we have a chat with a french journalist about how great it was to be french in 1998.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,827 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Jesus what was the point of that football show today? Oscar going to China is nothing new or noteworthy and a boring 30 minute chat about how great 1996 was if you are English which listeners are mostly not. Will we have a chat with a french journalist about how great it was to be french in  1998.
    Yeah very poor really. You would imagine a full set of midweek fixtures would have been discussed a bit more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Jesus what was the point of that football show today? Oscar going to China is nothing new or noteworthy and a boring 30 minute chat about how great 1996 was if you are English which listeners are mostly not. Will we have a chat with a french journalist about how great it was to be french in 1998.

Lots of their podcasts have been awful lately. The quantity of actual football events has gone down dramatically and replaced with filler. What used be an essential podcast is now my third choice after FW and Off The Ball...yes I said that.

Seems like I'm always banging on over the lack of quality in the pod lately but the facts are that the lads have given me FANTASTIC entertainment over the years for FREE!! I'm not even complaining...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Yes, I too have been wondering why the quality of recent football shows have been far from the usual standards.

There was one recently enough in which an interview with a football analytics fellow took up the bulk of it and he really didn't have anything new to say about the field, well at least nothing I hadn't heard before elsewhere. Real filler stuff, I got the feeling that they may have sourced the guest from amongst their mates. So much time was given over the last day to the whole Karius V Nevilles stuff, which is mildly diverting - at best. This is peak football season, there should be no shortage of other stories to devote time to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

I enjoyed Ken's "old banger" line about Lalanna, chuckled a little too much for some of the goms around me on the train home.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,747 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

The book review was enjoyable, Ken's review of that Guardiola book was the highlight, Malachy was right in saying it would be impossible not to read it in Ken's smartarsed voice.

Ken had a great quote on O'Connell asking himself if he was a pain in the arse to other players

"If you're asking that question of yourself you're probably not, I think the real pain's in the arse never ask themselves 'am I a pain in the arse' "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,139 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The football show was good, not sure what people are talking about saying it's not as good as it used to be.

I was slightly disappointed with Ken talking about Pep and Stan Collymore. Doing what all the other journalists did and watched the shortened clip and not the full clip so completely lost the context on what Pep actually said. Ken usually researches a bit better than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

I havent read the annuals as thought the price was a bit steep. Is the two volumes for €20 deal worth it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭iancm25

I havent read the annuals as thought the price was a bit steep. Is the two volumes for €20 deal worth it..

Was thinking the same but couldn't find the fecking deal on their website. Rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,655 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

iancm25 wrote: »
    Was thinking the same but couldn't find the fecking deal on their website. Rage.

http://secondcaptains.myshopify.com/products/20-combo-deal-on-the-second-captains-sports-annual-vol-1-and-vol-2

There you go...

The annuals worth getting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭redbuck

Nope not in my view as someone who paid full price for it. Was hoping for all the Fair View's in it too, just the one included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Hippo

Lots of their podcasts have been awful lately. The quantity of actual football events has gone down dramatically and replaced with filler. What used be an essential podcast is now my third choice after FW and Off The Ball...yes I said that.

Even allowing for a drop-off in the quality of SC, this simply cannot, cannot be. Appalling stuff, always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭bren2001

Vol 2 for 18? Probably not worth it. Both for 20? Definitely, I thoroughly enjoyed last years one. Some great pieces in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

The 2 for €20 is sold out now I see

Hippo wrote: »
    Even allowing for a drop-off in the quality of SC, this simply cannot, cannot be. Appalling stuff, always.

If you told me that 6 months ago I would totally agree with you. OTB was a car crash for a long time after the lads left but honestly since Kevin Kilbane has joined the standard has increased significantly, not to say Kilbane is a great presenter it's just the standard of the guests and subjects has been great lately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

I'd have to agree that the standard on OTB has definitely increased, particularly the football segments, however I still wouldn't have it on-par with SC. If they kept Joe as full time presenter, instead of rotating with Gilroy, I think it would vastly improve the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

I can't say I've noticed this drop-off, OK, the 90's book guy wasn't the most interesting of guests but in general I don't think there has been any decline in quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I'd echo the sentiments on OTB. They've improved a lot since taking over, and once Parkinson was jettisoned, the show because infinitely more listenable for me.

I still prefer SC, and haven't really noticed that much of a dip in quality tbh (maybe a little bit of a dip in that they seem to be moving more and more towards an American style with the sound effects and stuff which I don't like) but OTB is decent now in fairness.

I love the book review podcast every year. It's one of their best shows. I'd have liked if maybe they did a few more books rather than the 5, but Ken doing the Guardiola book was priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    I'd echo the sentiments on OTB. They've improved a lot since taking over, and once Parkinson was jettisoned, the show because infinitely more listenable for me.

I still prefer SC, and haven't really noticed that much of a dip in quality tbh (maybe a little bit of a dip in that they seem to be moving more and more towards an American style with the sound effects and stuff which I don't like) but OTB is decent now in fairness.

I love the book review podcast every year. It's one of their best shows. I'd have liked if maybe they did a few more books rather than the 5, but Ken doing the Guardiola book was priceless.

I enjoyed Parkinson

The person who I'd like to see jettisoned most of all is long questions Gilroy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Hippo

If you told me that 6 months ago I would totally agree with you. OTB was a car crash for a long time after the lads left but honestly since Kevin Kilbane has joined the standard has increased significantly, not to say Kilbane is a great presenter it's just the standard of the guests and subjects has been great lately

I caught the 'banter' for about 20 unforgettable minutes when listening in the car last week. They were discussing footballers' hair transplants IIRC. Fascinatingly terrible, the kind of thing only Ken should be let near, and then sparingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I wish they had Jonathan Wilson on every single pod. He's always so interesting and fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

I caught the 'banter' for about 20 unforgettable minutes when listening in the car last week. They were discussing footballers' hair transplants IIRC. Fascinatingly terrible, the kind of thing only Ken should be let near, and then sparingly.

This is why I can't listen to OTB on a regular basis. It all sounds very forced when they are trying to have a laugh. Like they've been told that they have to make out they are having great craic, and it then comes across really bad.

Also can't listen to that Adrian Barry fella. He has the charisma of a sickbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I like Kilbane on the footie stuff, it's cool to get a pro's view on stuff. Give him 5 years and he'll be a Gilesy! The way the game should be played! I'd tune in for Dan McDonald or whatever his name his, nice balance in his analysis.

Seriously, if you're giving out about forced to have a laugh, having the craic etc. Second Captains is as bad an any. They've only 4 hours a week to cram everything in. They do it well most of the time!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭price690

This is why I can't listen to OTB on a regular basis. It all sounds very forced when they are trying to have a laugh. Like they've been told that they have to make out they are having great craic, and it then comes across really bad.

Also can't listen to that Adrian Barry fella. He has the charisma of a sickbag.

The "banter" they have and listening to Gilroy hamming up the "splendido" crappy quiz on a friday with his "factoids" is the most annoying of all.

Its like you put a group of fellas together and they have just read a manual on how to appear laddish, and failed spectacularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

K-9 wrote: »
    I like Kilbane on the footie stuff, it's cool to get a pro's view on stuff. Give him 5 years and he'll be a Gilesy! The way the game should be played! I'd tune in for Dan McDonald or whatever his name his, nice balance in his analysis.

Seriously, if you're giving out about forced to have a laugh, having the craic etc. Second Captains is as bad an any. They've only 4 hours a week to cram everything in. They do it well most of the time!

McDonnell is terrible. Offers no real insight. On the rare occasions that I listen to the show, I turn it off if he's co-hosting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,821 ✭✭✭✭siblers

McDonnell is terrible. Offers no real insight. On the rare occasions that I listen to the show, I turn it off if he's co-hosting.

I don't think there is another person on Irish radio or tv who has a better knowledge of the league of Ireland or of the Irish national team than Dan McDonnell