Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

The political podcast day is a disaster. Almost always Friday's. I mean I finish work on a Friday I'm off for the weekend, I'm travelling home and the last thing I want to listen to is an hour long political podcast. But that's just me. Friday should always be a preview day of the coming sport over the weekend. I would also like to see them give up at least one podcast a month over to a sports book. Have the author on to talk about it (doesn't have to be a new one just a recommended read) or just talk amongst themselves about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

It was grand up to a point, but as is standard practice in these situations, there's a statement about how technocratic wooly headed ivory tower-dwellers need to move beyond narrow rationalism, and nothing is offered to replace it.

There's no reason to think that systematic thinking has failed as a concept just because we happened to make bad systems.

I just accidentally heard a bit of Off The Ball there, where for some reason Kenny Cunningham was giving a film review, under the guise of "easy-going banter with the boys". Jaysus. Most of the time I hear it these days it's just self-indulgent ****e banter between a group of lads with as much charisma as a bag of spuds.
    Kilbane and a few others they have on regularly are good when they're talking about stuff, rather than to each other, but there's a lot of "yer da" about listening to what passes for their repartee.

Ger Gilroy's interviews are pretty good, and generally when they're interacting with people from outside the bubble they're grand (the live rugby show from the end of last week with ROG, BOD and Woody was brilliant), but there's no chemistry at all between them, and some of them just across as a bit thick.

It makes the quality of SC a bit clearer when you see the standard of what is presumably the number one sports programme on radio in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I thought the Friday political podcast was alright to be honest. It was totally unfocused and rambling and your man just talked and talked and talked, but, I dunno, I still enjoyed the "conversation". Do I know why people distrust experts, no not really, but, sure, what of it.

I had to laugh towards the end when, after the guest had finished talking after about five solid minutes of uninterrupted monolouge, all Ken could summon was a patently barely listening "yeah".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Keep Richie Sads on the players chair. So so boring, just basically says nothing. Slag off OTB if you want but having Dan McDonnell puts OTB in a different league when talking ireland.

Ken talking absolute bollocks on the Ireland goal scoring issue aswell on the show today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Keep Richie Sads on the players chair. So so boring, just basically says nothing. Slag off OTB if you want but having Dan McDonnell puts OTB in a different league when talking ireland.

Ken talking absolute bollocks on the Ireland goal scoring issue aswell on the show today.

Ken Early nearly talked more than Sadlier in Sadlier's segment.

Sadlier has a habit of asking question in his answers. I thought that was a only a Cork thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

You must be another O'Neill worshipper because Early was absolutely spot on with the 'no Robbie so don't bother trying' stuff that's going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Sadlier has a habit of asking question in his answers. I thought that was a only a Cork thing.

Nah my wife does that too and she is from Dublin. Pain in the hole.

Patww79 wrote: »

You must be another O'Neill worshipper because Early was absolutely spot on with the 'no Robbie so don't bother trying' stuff that's going on.

Objectively O’neill has a pretty good record.

Ken is a journalist and he should be able to evaluate the strength of our squad which has no goalscorers and no goal creators and doesn’t even have a good set piece taken since Brady got injured. Im sure the management are trying but it’s a very difficult task with that personnel. Even Richie & mcdevitt weren’t buying Kens argument. Kens argument verged on dishonesty.

Objectively O’neill has a pretty good record.

Ken is a journalist and he should be able to evaluate the strength of our squad which has no goalscorers and no goal creators and doesn’t even have a good set piece taken since Brady got injured. Im sure the management are trying but it’s a very difficult task with that personnel. Even Richie & mcdevitt weren’t buying Kens argument. Kens argument verged on dishonesty.

I think its a bit chicken and egg. There have been players in recent years who have chosen not to play for us because our prospects arent good, we dont play entertaining football, and there appears to be a funk around the team because of it. Hard to attract exciting attacking players who have Irish links when this is the case. Grealish could have been running the attack in that game if we had gotten him on board (ahead of Rice). Get any semi-decent striker (which is what we have) ahead of Grealish and we will get at least a few more goals, imo.

And we do need the granny rule players. The LoI isnt producing top players, and Irish players arent getting into top teams in the EPL anymore. O'Neill does well saying he doesnt have the players (as did Trap before him) but you have to be doing more with what you have. I dont like O'Neills approach to team management and tactics - i think it contributes to the problem of a lack of attacking impetus - and i think this is what Ken was talking about in the review of this game and of previous Ireland games.

I empathise with the lads - all three of them spoke about how god awful the football is to watch - and it is imo. And i dont think it has to be this way. We are scraping 0-0 wins to do what? Stay in Group B and do this again the next time? Get to tournaments to scrape more draws?

When you have kids running up and down the stadium to keep entertained, you know the style of football is crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Anyone else think it was a bit rich of Ken going on about how boring Ireland are after putting out that political podcast the episode before? :pac:

Its not Kens fault. He just doesnt have the interesting, attack minded, creative subject matter to put out there on a pod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

What is it you think McDonnell offers? I get that he covers LOI and Ireland games, but I've never really heard him say anything of interest. Which is a problem with a lot of the OTB team imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I honestly don't know why you keep listening

lawred2 wrote: »

I honestly don't know why you keep listening[/quote
    I explained it to you last time you asked so I don’t know why you keep asking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

because it's at the point where it seems that you only listen to have something to complain about...

knock yourself out like - just an odd way to spend time and money

because it's at the point where it seems that you only listen to have something to complain about...

So you’d don’t understand me listening to SC and I don’t understand why you ask me a question I’ve already tried to answer so if it’s all the same to you don't bother asking me why next time I criticize the show.

I miss rieman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

So you’d don’t understand me listening to SC and I don’t understand why you ask me a question I’ve already tried to answer so if it’s all the same to you don't bother asking me why next time I criticize the show.

Ooof. I think that's what some would call a written broadside.

Pter wrote: »
    I miss rieman.

You're just a riemann fanboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I dunno lads. If I hate something so much I sure as hell wouldn’t pay the guts of €7 a month to listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

I loved Ken's Robbie Keane rant:
    "Imagine a kind of a primitive caveman religion like sun worship or tree worship, it's like natural goalscorer worship.":D

He tends to soar to his greatest verbal heights when he's exasperated about something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,827 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Great to have Tim Vickery back on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I loved Ken's Robbie Keane rant:
    "Imagine a kind of a primitive caveman religion like sun worship or tree worship, it's like natural goalscorer worship.":D

He tends to soar to his greatest verbal heights when he's exasperated about something.

Yeah, he was good yesterday. Exasperation levels were high. The boys seem to be more fond of effing and blinin' these days, I suppose the Irish team would do that to you.

I suspect Ken swears like a sailor off the mic.

Señor James Nesbitt. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭ongarite

Ken's description of Henry's coat was incredible.

Here it is. He's right, he looks like an undertaker

4f11a87a2cce46f3a4b4117c3dca83d8.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭bamayang

Hi, I’m a Recent subscriber. Really love the show, haven’t missed an episode since joining.

Would anyone be able recommend the best second captains poscasts of the past?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭WhatsGoingOn2

bamayang wrote: »
    Hi, I’m a Recent subscriber. Really love the show, haven’t missed an episode since joining.

Would anyone be able recommend the best second captains poscasts of the past?

https://www.secondcaptains.com/select-cuts/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

Friday’s shows are always a mixed bag, defo feel like they are Pre-records with the lads taking the day off. Not complaining, but feels odd not to use Friday’s as a pre weekender build up. This weeks GAA one felt out of place for example, same with Kens political pod the prior week.

But fair play banging out a Monday bank holiday episode all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

tomwaits48 wrote: »
    Friday’s shows are always a mixed bag, defo feel like they are Pre-records with the lads taking the day off. Not complaining, but feels odd not to use Friday’s as a pre weekender build up. This weeks GAA one felt out of place for example, same with Kens political pod the prior week.

But fair play banging out a Monday bank holiday episode all the same

Ya, I tend to agree, although I'm not really complaining either. I thought the pod on Friday was excellent, Paul Rouse is a very good guest and, as a GAA fan, I found the topic interesting. But I do agree with your point that they could/should use the Friday pod as a "preview the weekend" type of show, notwithstanding the games they have already previewed during the week.