Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Arghus wrote: »
    I think for a long while in his punditry career Dunphy walked that fine line between spoofery and entertainment fairly well. He was never the most informed pundit, but he was entertaining though and that was good enough. And when he was in his pomp I think most of his daft pronouncements were at least sincere and he spoke from the heart, rather than the head - he couldn't help himself.

But since The Trap era he became lazier and lazier as a pundit. His lack of research about players, teams, results - everything became chronic, inexcusably so, in my view. I guess I'm one of those traditionalists who likes if the pundits on TV at least have some research done about what they are paid to talk about, or at the very least don't spoof outrageously and then get haughty and defensive when called on your nonsense.

I also think Dunphy became lazy in his attitude towards what his role as a pundit actually was. There was a time when he was a controversialist, in the best possible sense, he used to say things about football to shake the status-quo and group think that often characterised coverage of Irish football. Even if I felt he was largely full of guff, he served an important role and, like I said, I think he was, back in the day, sincere enough about it.

But in more recent times I think he was content to play to the gallery and claim the easy victories and low hanging fruit, because that's what people wanted - and that was lazy. Occasionally he'd say something daft, because that's what people expected - and that too was lazy. Towards the end I don't think he really believed a lot of what he had to say, it was just a role given to him, largely by RTE and he went along with it. He was finished as a pundit, both in terms of knowledge and entertainment. The time had come; it was long overdue.

I think we get the real Dunphy on his podcast, not the cartoon Dunphy that he had become. I much prefer the real version.

A cogent post.

I would also add that anyone tuning into RTE football coverage expecting Dunphy to give insightful tactical analysis, or well researched knowledge of teams / players, did not understand what Dunphy was there for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

RTÉ could have had an interesting package if they had younger pundits willing to challenge the status quo but they hired lads who were deferential to the old pros.

It’s interesting that the one pundit who had his own mind on everything was Kenny Cunningham who isn’t involved with RTÉ anymore.

Dunphy tried to portray himself as the white sword of truth but all he provided was exaggeration and the comfort blanket of populism.

I stopped watching their analysis of Irish games in 2015 and tournaments and the CL soon after.

I really enjoyed the lads talking about their Newstalk exit at the start of the pod yesterday. Very entertaining. As was Dunphy refusing to name Ryle Nugent and just referring to him as the "Head of Sport" a number of times. Obviously no love lost there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,138 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

While I do think Dunphy went a bit over the top for the sake of the cameras and controversy, I think Bill, Dunphy, Giles and Brady was the best panel entertainment wise. It lost a bit of credibility after Brady came back from the Ireland job, but I would tune out for some matches only to tune back in when the panel came on.

Nice to see Dunphy call out George Hook too. Any history there?

Cienciano wrote: »
    Nice to see Dunphy call out George Hook too. Any history there?

Nothing I remember, probably just professional jealousy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,590 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

What was Ken's story about the male stripper about?? :confused:

Dots1982 wrote: »

I can't imagine Dunphy being jealous. As a pundit, Hook was ridiclious, wanted O'Driscoll to retire cos he was finished in 2008 before he won his first Heineken cup and grand slam. Hook got píssed off when Ireland won because he was only happy when he could slate the team.

At least Dunphy changed his stance on Ronaldo and can eventually admit he was wrong. Hook is a charisma vacuum which makes it harder to get away with the contrarian views. I can genuinely see why Dunphy doesn't want to be compared with him.

I can't imagine Dunphy being jealous. As a pundit, Hook was ridiclious, wanted O'Driscoll to retire cos he was finished in 2008 before he won his first Heineken cup and grand slam. Hook got píssed off when Ireland won because he was only happy when he could slate the team.

At least Dunphy changed his stance on Ronaldo and can eventually admit he was wrong. Hook is a charisma vacuum which makes it harder to get away with the contrarian views. I can genuinely see why Dunphy doesn't want to be compared with him.

Well I can definitely imagine dunphy being bitter. He’s fired shots at Matt cooper as his successor on the last word on today fm as one example.

Jesus, He’s constantly feuding with people sure.

But not Hook because he knows Hook is considered to be a bit of a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,590 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Well I can definitely imagine dunphy being bitter. He’s fired shots at Matt cooper as his successor on the last word on today fm as one example.

Dunphy had Matt Cooper on his podcast last week so they seem to get on fine now! :D

Nah, I’d say there’s no love lost between them but not like they are major enemies. Dunphy needed content, Cooper flogging his book.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

"It's alright Didi relax baby"

I've noticed Hamann becoming more and more outspoken in his comments in the last few years, compared to when he started out.

I've no interest in Baseball and haven't a clue about the rules but I enjoyed US Murph this week.

On Hook there definitely is some history between them based on this clip.

After listening to Dunphy talking about Denis O'Brien it's hard to side with George. He just keeps repeating Dunphy got paid well as if that's relevance. Definitely no love lost there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I want to know more about that stripper story lol

lawred2 wrote: »
    I want to know more about that stripper story lol

PM me.

Apologies, I read that as paint stripper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,578 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Youtube subtitles lol, Denis O'Brien = Danceable

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Arghus wrote: »
    I think we get the real Dunphy on his podcast, not the cartoon Dunphy that he had become. I much prefer the real version.

Spot on. I really enjoyed this interview. It felt honest and reflective and there was no pandering to an audience.

Eoin and Ken prepped well as always and didn't offer up a reverential tribute. I think Dunphy respected this and as a result was honest. In the company of journalists he mightn't have time for he may well have reverted to stock answers.

The stuff about RTE editorial trying to massage opinion in line with the nation was very good, especially the stuff about interfering with critical comment on Michelle Smith.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

"It's alright Didi relax baby"

I've noticed Hamann becoming more and more outspoken in his comments in the last few years, compared to when he started out.

I've no interest in Baseball and haven't a clue about the rules but I enjoyed US Murph this week.

I think we can all agree Dunphy was spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭WindmillWarrior

Dunphy's right. Dunphy's right about everything!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,152 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Lads, what's the song that's used in the extended soundbed thingy that's used on the Players Chair podcast (and possibly the main show too)...it's been bugging me for a while and now it's popped up on an ad for RTE as well

https://youtu.be/oldHxwcuiIw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Lads, what's the song that's used in the extended soundbed thingy that's used on the Players Chair podcast (and possibly the main show too)...it's been bugging me for a while and now it's popped up on an ad for RTE as well

https://youtu.be/oldHxwcuiIw

Gosh - Jamie xx

What did people think of the political podcast? Christ, that guy gave seriously long winded answers. I wanted to listen but I just found it incredibly boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭PIORUN

I think we can all agree Dunphy was spot on.
    can't stand Hook...a complete windbag with a manufactured accent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭WhatsGoingOn2

What did people think of the political podcast? Christ, that guy gave seriously long winded answers. I wanted to listen but I just found it incredibly boring.

Agreed. They should stick to sports.

I like probably every second political podcast, this one was just particularly boring imho. 10 minute answers without pause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Unbelievably boring. Their worst one yet, they're very hit and miss on the politics pods. They had a very good one at the beginning with a Scottish lecturer based in the states, I believe he was the guy they played in a clip at the start - for a minute I thought he was the guest himself but the chap that came on would put xanax to sleep

dulux99 wrote: »
    Unbelievably boring. Their worst one yet, they're very hit and miss on the politics pods. They had a very good one at the beginning with a Scottish lecturer based in the states, I believe he was the guy they played in a clip at the start - for a minute I thought he was the guest himself but the chap that came on would put xanax to sleep

Glad to see it wasn't just me. One of his answers started and I just kept tapping the "skip 15 seconds" button to see when he'd stop and Ken would ask something else. I skipped half the pod. After every tap was just him droning on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭blackwave

I really wanted to listen to it as it is an interesting topic but he was putting me to sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

Pretty sure I havent listened to one political podcast since they started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,046 ✭✭✭deisedude

blackwave wrote: »
    I really wanted to listen to it as it is an interesting topic but he was putting me to sleep.

It was awful. Imagine how crap yer mans book is based on that interview