Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

He should have signed more than one defender and the ones he previously bought haven't set the world alight improving goals condeded though?

I didn't think Ken was majorly off balance, he did concede that the defense got Liverpool to the top 4 last year. He is just pointing out they haven't bought to improve the defence, havent made any obvious changes in training to improve it, and mistakes keep happening in the defence.

It's a fair point imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Pter wrote: »
    He should have signed more than one defender and the ones he previously bought haven't set the world alight improving goals condeded though?

I didn't think Ken was majorly off balance, he did concede that the defense got Liverpool to the top 4 last year. He is just pointing out they haven't bought to improve the defence, havent made any obvious changes in training to improve it, and mistakes keep happening in the defence.

It's a fair point imo

Ah yeah, like I said, didn't entirely agree with Ken, as a LFC fan I'm a bit puzzled that up to £70m couldn't buy anyone on the planet that would be an improvement on Lovren, but I didn't fall to the ground frothing at the mouth and soiling myself with rage at the suggestion that Klopp knows what he's doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

genuinely lol'd at Ken's chin story.....an accident that could only happen to a DRINKER.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,569 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

tomwaits48 wrote: »
    Also really enjoy the various snippets about US sports. The chap who planted the flag at his rivals ground sounds like a right laugh, must look up the video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,752 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Would have been better if he got the flag to actually stick in the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,569 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

lawred2 wrote: »
    Would have been better if he got the flag to actually stick in the ground

^^^
    Spoiler alert! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

corwill wrote: »
    Klopp hasn't even been 2 full years in the job, and the above is reductio ad absurdum,

Whatever it is, it's not that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Souness did that in Turkey.

Gbear wrote: »
    Whatever it is, it's not that.

Well it's a reduction to absurdity, but it's not a 'reductio ad absurdum' in the technical sense in context of Logic. So wrong on Logic, right on Latin.

corwill wrote:
    Well it's a reduction to absurdity, but it's not a 'reductio ad absurdum' in the technical sense in context of Logic. So wrong on Logic, right on Latin.

You write fluently and think cogently, but I think you are wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭styron

Fluent, rationally convincing ... but wrong *

* Now that's a reductio ad absurdum :pac:

Good luck getting me to admit it!ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

God I ve spent the last week on and off listen to that trimble interview..

So boring - racked by self doubt. I just don't believe it - almost seems like an excuse if he played crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Arghus wrote: »
    I thought it was a noticably weak football show yesterday. Ken was allowed to ramble on for twenty whole minutes about De Boer story - which is an interesting story, but really not that important in the context of the wide world of football - no one apart from Palace fans, which there are fck all of in Ireland, is going to give a flying fck about all of it in a fortnight's time.

He really hyped it up - "the most stupid thing in the history of The Premier League" - almost it felt to justify talking about it at such great length. Ken is great and all, but from time to time he just becomes fixated on a subject and starts parsing it for deeper meaning and ends up like a dog chasing his tail. I gave a sigh of relief when they moved on to talking about Liverpool and, of course, the inevitable Mourinho conversation - based, as always, around something he said in an interview or press conference.

Then they spent fifteen minutes talking to Miguel Delaney about the De Boer sacking. Jesus Christ.

He did the same about Oscar's move to china last season. Built it into some massive epoch event when no one realistically gave a flying fcuking if Oscar or FdB were ever seen again. He employs a rant to pass the time on a podcast or fill an article. It's an occasional Ken tactic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,167 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Braved the waters of the Paul Galvin interview:

It started off quite well, but things took a nausea inducing turn when Paul referred to Dunnes Stores as a "cultural institution" and started going off about how he prefers to think of himself of a storyteller - one who mainly works through the medium of flogging derivative genseais and onesies and the like, largely, I'd imagine, to misguided mammies on behalf of sons who are glad that someone bought them some clothes, otherwise they'd have to do it themselves.

He talked the talk - he was "conceptual" and saw the purpose of his tales, manifested in fabric, as being one of "elevation" - but the only time when his burring monotone rose with any sincere feeling was when he assured Ritchie that the most important thing about his gear was that it "sells and sells and sells."

You're a hack Galvin! A hack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

Christ I hope you are joking!!

I also hope that since eoin hasn't been on since Wednesday he is working on some massive interview..

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I thought Galvin was interesting, especially the stuff about being too intense during his career and trying to change his approach.

Eoin's cameo at the end was....bizarre.

Deedsie wrote: »
    I got one of the jumpers. Its grand. Chill out ta feck

Did your Mammy buy it for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

Yeah what was going on with Eoin at the end, strange.

Paul's interview was interesting on the sports side but the waffle coming out of him about clothes was hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

tomwaits48 wrote: »
    Paul's interview was interesting on the sports side but the waffle coming out of him about clothes was hilarious.

He was there to promote his "menswear label", nothing else. Completely pointless interview, especially so since it came up in my podcast player as "Paul Ga" so I was expecting tales of Colin Henry and fishing for cans of tenants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,895 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

weadick wrote: »
    Got so sick of the cringy 'banter' on Newstalk between 'Killer' and 'the lads' after the last few Ireland games.

This is the reason I struggle to listen to OTB. It's as if they have been instructed to make out like they are having loads of craic. But it comes across massively cringe. So forced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

This is the reason I struggle to listen to OTB. It's as if they have been instructed to make out like they are having loads of craic. But it comes across massively cringe. So forced.

The Football Ramble live at Fallon & Byrne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,752 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

weadick wrote: »
    Got so sick of the cringy 'banter' on Newstalk between 'Killer' and 'the lads' after the last few Ireland games.

What else would you expect from craic master general Gilroy?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Ken's put on smugness will be off the charts tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭NavyandBlue

The hard-on for Mayo (particularly from Murph) was a bit much to take. And not even a Fair View to compensate!

Id imagine Ken is hanging and hence not around today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Id imagine Ken is hanging and hence not around today?

I very much doubt Ken is hanging. No interest in the GAA,Like a lot of people.

I remember Ken saying way back on OTB that when he was 5 he played a game of Gaelic Football and he kicked the ball into his own net and everyone started giving out to him and he's had a negative association to it since, I don't think he hates it, he seems more indifferent towards it.

I have zero interest in gaa but recognise a chance to go on the beer when I see one.