Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

President Michael Daniel Higgins....what a man....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

:pac: "Lads, lads, listen..."

:pac: "I've a great joke about Michael D. Higgins"

:pac: "Lads, seriously, it's reeealy good."

:pac: "You know the ways he's a bit short?"

:pac: You might even say..."

(Ready for it???)

:pac: "He looks."

:pac: "Like a HOBBIT!!!"

:pac: "or a DWARF!!!"

:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

also

:mad: rabble rabble rabble "champagne socialist" rabble rabble rabble.:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,858 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Ava_e wrote: »

Higgins dismantled this idiot and his unconditional US support for Israel

"A W^NKER WHIPPING UP FEAR".......last few seconds of broadcast

Micky D just tore that chap a new ar5ehole allright.:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

Unless he has found a magic pot of gold that will pay for our public service, social welfare and public services, we're going to have to live within our means.

And I'm pretty tired of being lectured about "os-ter-it-tee" by union leaders, tv presenters and people like Michael D earning hundreds of thousands of euros, most of which is paid by for by taxpayers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

paddy147 wrote: »
    "A W^NKER WHIPPING UP FEAR".......last few seconds of broadcast

Micky D just tore that chap a new ar5ehole allright.:D:D

Neither of those two goons comes out well as a result of that interview.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,652 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Sergeant wrote: »
    That's the problem with Michael. He didn't read the job description and is still spouting his champagne-socialist nonsense.

Oh he spoke out against your party Fine Gael then ??? How dare he.

hmmm wrote: »
    Unless he has found a magic pot of gold that will pay for our public service, social welfare and public services, we're going to have to live within our means.

And I'm pretty tired of being lectured about "os-ter-it-tee" by union leaders, tv presenters and people like Michael D earning hundreds of thousands of euros, most of which is paid by for by taxpayers.

Maybe we could get one of the TDs or ex TDS to do "The Secret Millionare" programme...;):pac:

We could get Brian Cowan to work in behind a BAR...:pac::pac::pac:

Or even get Ivor Callily to work in an O2 or Vodafone Phone shop.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

paddy147 wrote: »
    Maybe we could get one of the TDs or ex TDS to do "The Secret Millionare" programme...;):pac:
    That's a good one secret millionare featuring Bertie. Following him around saying "Bertie we know your a secret millionare"

"Millionare, me, I'm a simple potato farmer these days"

Marsden wrote: »
    That's a good one secret millionare featuring Bertie. Following him around saying "Bertie we know your a secret millionare"

"Millionare, me, I'm a simple potato farmer these days"

or a plasterer named Paddy??:pac::pac::D

In fact eh...

Ahere,stall the ball lads....

:pac::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Fair play to him. I hope something comes of it and someone here at home or even at a european level sits up and listen.

There are so many people up and down and all around the country all with various circumstances who are in dire financial situations.

I know for me, I don't much over dole money and have no debts so aside from normal bills kept to a minimum my money gets zapped up pretty quick every week. I'm in a good position - single, living at home with no kids.
    I can't imagine what it's like for other people. Especially those with families.

Austerity is also going to lead us around in circles leading to more unemploxment and pushing deeper into the sh1ts.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

As far as I know he has 3 pensions on top of that. Who better to comment on hard times

He's relinquished two of them, and slashed his Presidential salary.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,102 ✭✭✭mathie

He's relinquished two of them, and slashed his Presidential salary.

Slashed it to €249,014

How does he get by?

Regardless whether he is on 250k or 1 euro 50 cents...fair fcuking play to him for raising the matter and making some of the EU leaders and officials feel uncomfortable.

Eamon Gilmore didnt look that pleased with Micky Ds outburst on RTE News yesterday

So fair to Micky D for speaking out and continuing to do so,as our president.

Hes the only one with some balls on him to stand up and say it like it is.

The rest of them are just guttless whimps who dont have a pair of balls between the lot of em.....(apart from the several Labour defectors)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

fair play to him - at least somebody is opening their gob and telling it like it is.

I wonder is he ashamed of his beloved labour party and how they have reduced themselves to a bunch of sniveling ar*selicks. He should be.

Pity he didn't speak out more while he was in the labour party - they may not have ruined themselves like they did if they had a positive leader like himself.

this place needs to wise up and stop the crap.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

mathie wrote: »
    Slashed it to €249,014

How does he get by?

Well, he did keep one of his 3 pensions too apparently, so moneys not as tight as it first looks!

In fairness to wee mickey though, it's more than the likes of enda "don't ask me about my teachers pension" kenny or any of the other clowns running the show have done.
    Bear in mind the average industrial wage in this country is something like €32k - region of a months wages, expenses and dubious pensions for the bold enda for example. None of our fearless leaders have even a passing aquaintance with reality, they are so far removed from the day to day effects of their decisions that they basically cease to exist for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

MidlandsM wrote: »
    yeah, it's easy to give out about austerity to the EU when you get a 7 year highly paid job, free mansion in the park, and servants/cars/planes etc.....

..........yeah, he can relate to austerity alright......

Hate that argument tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Its easy for him to complain when he doesn't have to deal with the issue. Just sit in his house in the park and watch the money come in while the people in the Dail have to work with the EU and our debt.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

Jester252 wrote: »
    Its easy for him to complain when he doesn't have to deal with the issue. Just sit in his house in the park and watch the money come in while the people in the Dail have to work with the EU and our debt.

how long has he been sitting in the house in the park....oh ya, a few months :rolleyes::roll eyes:

sad post. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

If he did have to 'deal with the issue' as a T.D. in the current Government, I'd imagine he wouldn't hold back from expressing precisely the same opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Jees ....people moan when people don't speak up....some one speaks up and he's torn to shreds.

He could just sit back and say nothing. As it is he's standing up (again) against austerity. He may have little power, but look at enda kenny, he promised he'd sort this mess out and he's completely ballsed everything up and hasn't a clue how to manage his government.

So good on Michael D....thanks for speaking out...hope he keeps going with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 713 ✭✭✭WayneMolloy

Yamanoto wrote: »
    If he did have to 'deal with the issue' as a T.D. in the current Government, I'd imagine he wouldn't hold back from expressing precisely the same opinion.

He was a sitting TD for four decades up until spring 2011. We needed him to speak up a long time ago - but barely a whimper left his lips. He was happy to sit in the back and trouser the loot. And the loot has gotten lottier - he is now on 249,000 euro plus expenses per annum. Cha-ching.

Its not the presidents job to take political positions on such matters. It seems to me like he is angling for a role - perhaps a position in the UN? He is a career politico, afterall.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,718 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

gustavo wrote: »
    Hate that argument tbh
    Its a fair argument to make.

Higgins or his ilk do not have a clue whats going on and all the populist speech making in the world will not change that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

He was a sitting TD for four decades up until spring 2011. We needed him to speak up a long time ago - but barely a whimper left his lips. He was happy to sit in the back and trouser the loot. And the loot has gotten lottier - he is now on 249,000 euro plus expenses per annum. Cha-ching.

Its not the presidents job to take political positions on such matters. It seems to me like he is angling for a role - perhaps a position in the UN? He is a career politico, afterall.

For crying out loud, will you at least wise up before posting your bile on someone you clearly know nothing about...

Him speaking in the Dail on the minimum wage
    Him speaking in the Dail on the 2010 budget
    Him speaking on Irish political culture before leaving the house

I don't know what he was doing in the Irish Looper Party for so long, but he is a genuine class act.

Of course, something tells me even if he worked for free you'd still be whinging that he isn't paying you for the priviledge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

I'm on a win, win with Michael D as I can't stand him and I can't stand the establishment. I hope that he continues to rock the boat until he has to be impeached. :D

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Impeachment#Republic_of_Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Fair play to him, good to see someone prominent speaking out on this topic; he may not have any real political power, but he is exercising what little power he does have, through his prominent position and voice. Despite not knowing much of him, am glad to have him as president of the country right now.

He's putting his voice in the right areas too: Urging the EU to make up its mind on the kind of union it wants to be, and urging the enacting of reforms within the EU, that can resolve the crisis.

As usual though, the austerity advocates ignore that he is speaking for EU reform, and are parroting the usual "we have no choice" line, based on looking at Ireland on its own; the "there is no alternative" line of argument has been utterly demolished long ago, with Higgins himself speaking of the well known alternatives available with the EU, yet the austerity advocates deliberately ignore this, because they don't care about the alternatives, they (for whatever reason, usually ideological) want austerity despite the alternatives, and just want to try and shutdown discussion of those alternatives. We are past that now, and discussion of it will not be shut-down.

Need way more prominent voices speaking up for the alternatives like Higgins has done here, so that momentum and political pressure can be built up towards reform in the EU; he is providing a valuable role, by using his position to legitimize mainstream discussion of this, where others may have feared to speak out (but may fear less now).

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Its easy for him to complain when he doesn't have to deal with the issue.

Far easier for him not to complain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Its a fair argument to make.

Higgins or his ilk do not have a clue whats going on and all the populist speech making in the world will not change that.

Questioning somebody's right to express an opinion is not an argument at all. It's a cheap way of avoiding an argument.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,177 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Its easy to talk the talk when you don't have to walk the walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

It seems you're damned if you do and damned if you don't on here. Say nothing and you're called a coward. Speak up and you're torn to shreds because "you're not one of the people". Fcuk off. It's a real shame that the president, a man who doesn't really have any power, is the one who is actually saying something, while the ones who are elected to actually make a difference are sitting there saying nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Tess Tickle

This bandy little hobbit,sat on his fat Galway butt in Dail eireann and never once opened his mouth about the property bubble or the disastrous policies of FF.In fact the Labour manifesto for the 2007 election urged 1billion more on health spending.He and all the other wasters in opposition were just as responsible as the FFrs and the bankers for bankrupting the country.
    We are borrowing a billion a month to run the country and this gobs**te wants you to believe we have choices!He seems to think he'ssome kind of Joan of Arc ,riding up on his white steed the champion of the underdog.Give me a break! We are about to be ranked alongside the likes of Uganda where ,just to remind you ,we are borrowing 600m to provide aid for the corrupt elite who run the country,just like here.
    When will the Irish people cop on to the wasters that infest Irish politics.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

This bandy little hobbit,sat on his fat Galway butt in Dail eireann and never once opened his mouth about the property bubble or the disastrous policies of FF.

You are talking sh1te. Yes he did, on many occassion.