Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I being unduly concerned about my flatmate?

• 01-05-2013 1:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭

I moved into a new house on my own after breaking up with my boyfriend. The house was in the perfect location for me. I am concerned about one of the women in the house. She doesn't leave the house-no job, no hobbies and rarely socialises. The heating seems to be on nearly always even at 3:30am in the night. I thought she was going to hit me last week for changing the tv channel after she had left the living room. I told the landlord about her agression and he said he already knows about it.

I tried to talk to her about it and now my expensive gluten free pasta bag was opened and most of it gone. One of the slices of my bread was damp and salty despite the fact that I don't even own salt and my press is dry. I am begining to wonder what is she capable of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,088 ✭✭✭OU812

Making lunch apparantly.

Face up to her. Tell her to back the F off or she WILL face the consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

She got your landlord to have a w@nk into your bread.. they're in this together:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

mogrady14 wrote: »
    One of the slices of my bread was damp and salty despite the fact that I don't even own salt and my press is dry.
    Erm, I hope you didn't eat it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Is she hot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Is she definitely a woman?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

tell landlord your not happy with your housemate and that you are going to move out unless he deals with her.

living in a flat/house on your own ftw. no smelly weird housemates to bug ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

I moved into a new house on my own after breaking up with my boyfriend. The house was in the perfect location for me. I am concerned about one of the women in the house. She doesn't leave the house-no job, no hobbies and rarely socialises. The heating seems to be on nearly always even at 3:30am in the night. I thought she was going to hit me last week for changing the tv channel after she had left the living room. I told the landlord about her agression and he said he already knows about it.

I tried to talk to her about it and now my expensive gluten free pasta bag was opened and most of it gone. One of the slices of my bread was damp and salty despite the fact that I don't even own salt and my press is dry. I am begining to wonder what is she capable of?

The landlord should have told you what she was like before you moved in, tell him you are moving out ASAP and you want your deposit back.
    Are you expected to pay for half the heating bills?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

Ya think that's bad, a chap was telling me how his Flatmate shot a deer and then brought it home and butchered it in his Room and never bothered to fridge any of the meat. He moved out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭mogrady14

The landlord said he would like to get her out but that she is there for 4 years so he would have to give her a lot of notice and it would be difficult to get her out. Everyone else is new like me and seems to avoid her except the German girl.

Location suits me so I don't want to move. So, if neither of us move- I wonder what she is capable of and how to deal with her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭dantbyhid

One of the slices of my bread was damp and salty despite the fact that I don't even own salt and my press is dry.

You tasted the bread after realising it was damp?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 97 ✭✭1hottmofo

Did she rub your bread on her Fanjita

If so Ebay it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

She sounds like she's suffering from depression, and you sound like the kind of person that counts the number of cornflakes that you have left in the packet and leaves passive aggresive notes for flatmates on the fridge.

In other words, I expect you to find her to standing outside your bedroom door with a kitchen knife by wednesday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Snatch her ass in a bear trap, have her swingin from tree so high, nobody find her for days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

Put a lock on the press you keep your food in. Apart from that, try to be friendly with her. She sounds like she needs help/support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

The landlord said he would like to get her out but that she is there for 4 years so he would have to give her a lot of notice and it would be difficult to get her out. Everyone else is new like me and seems to avoid her except the German girl.

Location suits me so I don't want to move. So, if neither of us move- I wonder what she is capable of and how to deal with her?

God, I'd move for the heating bills alone. If she has the heating on the whole time they must be sky high! No way I'm paying for someone else's mad heating habits, let alone all the other weird stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Move.

Lifes too short for this $hit / pi$$ stained bread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

I'd be moving out too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

Even if the location is great, just move! There are so many places available for rent right now, your present landlord might even recommend somewhere, I've lived with total lunatics before and it is just not worth it, you're just waiting for the next weird thing to happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

conorhal wrote: »
    She sounds like she's suffering from depression, and you sound like the kind of person that counts the number of cornflakes that you have left in the packet and leaves passive aggresive notes for flatmates on the fridge.

What are you on about? I'd be laying the smack down on anyone who took my food without asking first or replacing after

mathie wrote: »
    Move.

Lifes too short for this $hit / pi$$ stained bread.

I'm making this my new mantra, when I want an excuse to do something reckless I'm going to tell everyone "life is too short for piss stained bread"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Phoenix wrote: »
    Are you "The Rock"?:pac: rockbottom through a table!

I prefer the people's elbow (preceded by the people's eyebrow, of course)

MurdyWurdy wrote: »
    I'm making this my new mantra, when I want an excuse to do something reckless I'm going to tell everyone "life is too short for piss stained bread"!

We need to start work quick on the t-shirts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

Yesssss! A good old fashioned my housemates a c*nt thread. Now, this is why I come to after-hours. Lets proceed, have you considered ****ting in her bed yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Sounds like a girl I used live with OP. She was exactly the same as your flatmate- never stirred out of bed except to collect her social welfare on tuesday mornings, then back to bed for the week.

That was until the night I had some friends over and this one particular chap, well, he didn't like to see this girl up in the room on her own while we were downstairs having a laugh. I told him to leave her alone, and I figured she'd tear strips off him on sight of entering her bedroom...

Ten minutes went by, then half an hour, suddenly there was a whole lot of roaring and screaming and I said for the guys own safety I'd better get him out of there. The mental images will never leave me-

There she was on top of him giving it welly and he cursing and roaring so I couldn't be sure was he enjoying it or not, but for sure she was with the big giddy head on her!

I closed the door and went back downstairs. I was in the kitchen the next morning having my breakfast when I could hear somebody stumbling down the stairs and in himself struggles into the kitchen, hanging off the door.

He couldn't even look at me straight, so I made him breakfast and sent him on his way. The girl moved out a week later and moved to Galway, got a job in a fish factory there, that was the last I heard of her.

Jesus now I think of it- make sure it's actually butter is in the tub you're spreading on that fanny bread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Just move out.

These people who operate on the fringes of society and only enjoyable in the past tense as a story to tell down the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

conorhal wrote: »
    ......and leaves passive aggresive notes for flatmates on the fridge.

read a good book based on the subject called "I lick my cheese"

On a serious note, consider moving soon for your own health/sanity

Yesssss! A good old fashioned my housemates a c*nt thread. Now, this is why I come to after-hours. Lets proceed, have you considered ****ting in her bed yet?

roasting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,515 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

In cases like this the only answer is fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I really really really don' miss house sharing with people , it's a ****ing nightmare at the best of times...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

dee_mc wrote: »
    you're just waiting for the next weird thing to happen!

Sounds like a right laugh tbh

Though it depends on how bat sht crazy the house mates are.

Any stories???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Irishcrx wrote: »
    I really really really don' miss house sharing with people , it's a ****ing nightmare at the best of times...

I think one of the main reasons is to keep bills down but this bird sounds like she wants it Dante's Inferno temperature hot so I'd be gone. That and her penchant for rubbing her pits on my sliced pan would prompt me to seek alternative accommodation tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

shank or be shanked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Ask Duggy, they know what to do with a mental housemate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Iand now my expensive gluten free pasta bag ?

Buy normal pasta and stop being gay.

You only need to worry OP if she starts borrowing your clothes-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Dose all your food with laxatives. That'll teach her.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

How come there's always one crazy fuck in a house share?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

My partner was sharing with 3 other great guys and one fella from hell. Ate their food, made noise at ridiculous hours, made sure to be loud when they were studying, changing the channel constantly when the majority voted on something, never washing up, the usual little shít sort of fella.

Well he was mad for stealing milk, so after a week or two my partner used draw maps to the nearest Centra on his and mark where he drank to on the bottle. He never cared about the other 3 lads taking some, they all shared if there was a shortage.

With a less than legal acquisition of milk from the college canteen supply one early morning meant my partner and another one of the other housemates went to the apartment and told him that they got him some milk so he could stop stealing theirs now. He went for them, never slam a boxer against a wall is all I can say! He never stole his food again though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

okay so this girl has been there for four years. You come along, decide its a nice location and move in - the girl that has been there for four years is now bothering you and you don't want to move - just deal with it then. Find another place. She couldn't be that bad if she has been there for four years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Just move out and leave her to it. There are probably a hundred 'investment' properties within a few streets of where you are, or even in the same estate, all looking for people to rent a room. I have had my fair share of housemates over the years before getting my own place, and you are not responsible for her way of life or behaviour. Life it just to damn short to put up with weird crap from housemates who you would never choose to be part of your life (other than the fact that you share a roof) when you just need to give the landlord the minimum amount of notice, pack your bags and go. Seriously, don't even give it as second thought. You don't owe your landlord any sense of loyalty or any of that crap either, just give him notice and find somewhere else. He won't give a crap, there will be someone else to fill your room. Maybe discuss with the other housemates about the splitting of the bills re. the heating, if you guys are all out at work during the day and this girl has the heating on all the time, then it's really not fair to expect ye to fork out for it. Maybe go to the landlord as a group about this particular issue?

Does anybody remember the days before the housing boom, looking for accommodation in the Evening Herald small ads, when there would be queues down the road to view box-rooms in ****ty houses with '70's decor? Thank GOD those days are gone and at least MOST of the places for rent are reasonably new, and there are more of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

pmcmahon wrote: »

None of my flatmates are crazy....oh...:(

Lol,, if you think there isn't a crazy **** in a house share - that means you are the crazy ****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

We've all had a weird housemate...
    I shared a house with the owner and 2 other people (one of whom was never there, the other was a really nice person). I couldn't believe my luck: the house was nice, the owner seemed great and anyway was moving to London the following week, and the rent was cheap as chips!
    Too good to be true? Yep! She was the strangest person I've ever met.
    She watched me unpacking my kitchen stuff on day 1, and as each item emerged from the bags asked 'why do you buy that particular brand of pasta?', 'do you really think Comfort is better than Lenor?', etc etc.
    I thought, ah, she's just nervous and trying to make conversation, so I asked her could she recommend any pubs or other social stuff in the town. She gave me a funny look and asked 'why do you have Ryvitas instead of cream crackers?'.
    Downhill from there! The move to London didn't happen, because the flights were too dear (even though she supposedly had interviews arranged)
    On weekend mornings she'd knock on my door at 8am and ask was I still asleep (not anymore!)
    Every Thursday she fried 4 onions with curry powder til they were black and reeking, then ate the lot while walking around the house (smell usually receded by Wednesday evening!), and once (thanks god only once) she left her skidmark-ey knickers on the floor in the bathroom! Bad enough, but it was the bathroom I shared with the guy who was never there, she had her own en-suite downstairs!
    The only time I ever confronted her (I like a quiet life) was when she used her key to go into my bedroom and move things around. As in, she thought my underwear would be 'handier' in the chest of drawers than on the shelf in the wardrobe, and she put my magazines in a pile in order of date! She felt this was all perfectly reasonable :)
    I was so relieved when my contract ended, but felt a bit bad for her when, as I moved out, she gave me a card that said 'thank you for being my friend'
    hey ho, least she didn't piss on my bread!

I dunno, crazy fùcks are what makes life interesting really! :D

dee_mc wrote: »
    We've all had a weird housemate...
    I shared a house with the owner and 2 other people (one of whom was never there, the other was a really nice person). I couldn't believe my luck: the house was nice, the owner seemed great and anyway was moving to London the following week, and the rent was cheap as chips!
    Too good to be true? Yep! She was the strangest person I've ever met.
    She watched me unpacking my kitchen stuff on day 1, and as each item emerged from the bags asked 'why do you buy that particular brand of pasta?', 'do you really think Comfort is better than Lenor?', etc etc.
    I thought, ah, she's just nervous and trying to make conversation, so I asked her could she recommend any pubs or other social stuff in the town. She gave me a funny look and asked 'why do you have Ryvitas instead of cream crackers?'.
    Downhill from there! The move to London didn't happen, because the flights were too dear (even though she supposedly had interviews arranged)
    On weekend mornings she'd knock on my door at 8am and ask was I still asleep (not anymore!)
    Every Thursday she fried 4 onions with curry powder til they were black and reeking, then ate the lot while walking around the house (smell usually receded by Wednesday evening!), and once (thanks god only once) she left her skidmark-ey knickers on the floor in the bathroom! Bad enough, but it was the bathroom I shared with the guy who was never there, she had her own en-suite downstairs!
    The only time I ever confronted her (I like a quiet life) was when she used her key to go into my bedroom and move things around. As in, she thought my underwear would be 'handier' in the chest of drawers than on the shelf in the wardrobe, and she put my magazines in a pile in order of date! She felt this was all perfectly reasonable :)
    I was so relieved when my contract ended, but felt a bit bad for her when, as I moved out, she gave me a card that said 'thank you for being my friend'
    hey ho, least she didn't piss on my bread!

I think I may be married to her! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Just save yourself all that hassle and move. I took my time and had one of the loony housemates try and shank me in the middle of the night.

pour eye drops on your bread and let the culprit steal the bread

they will be the one stuck on the toilet p!ssing out their arsehole

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Just save yourself all that hassle and move. I took my time and had one of the loony housemates try and shag shank me in the middle of the night.

fyp