Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Further €3.1 billion will be sought next year?

• 30-04-2013 8:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭lightspeed

http://www.rte.ie/news/business/

So next year is going to us trying to raise another additional €3.1 billion from spending cuts and tax measures.

Brain Hayes of Fine Gael said that income tax had already reached its limitations and income tax cant take anymore increases.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0104/361260-brian-hayes-taxation/

So where will this money come from now and in subsequent years?

Even if they decrease welfare, there seems to be quite a struggle from unions to take any further cuts now and yet its envisioned that somehow its going to be possible to introduce further cuts next year.

Will this be croke park 3 with 4 to follow?

Can we assume that property taxes will actually be then increased next year? Apparently austerity led budgets right up to 2016?

Ive little money in the bank but i cant help but worry reading the above that if we are going in the direction of Cyprus or another bailout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

Brian Hayes comes across as an angry little man trying to worm in with the rich and powerful.
    Why would income tax not be able to handle the increase, versus broad taxing of people already squeezed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

It's said all the time and it's become so much of a cliché I don't even want to say it but..the country has gone to shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,275 ✭✭✭SeanW

Ooh, Ooh, I know why don't they increase Road Tax again? I mean someone with a poverty spec saloon from 15 years ago clearly isn't paying enough with ~€710 regardless if they're unemployed, on a low wage, deep in debt, just plain broke.

Bastards :mad:

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭lanyard

Cut the dole - it's the €20billion elephant in the room

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭mikehammer67

lanyard wrote: »

good spot lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

SV wrote: »
    It's said all the time and it's become so much of a cliché I don't even want to say it but..the country has gone to shíte.
    Ah jaysus it's shawkin'! Sure it's near as bad as it was in the 80's.

The young lad's away in a'stralia now, since the work dried up on the sites. He's making fierce money washin out fish tanks. I'd nearly folly him over, but I'd be too auld for that craic at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭mikehammer67

couldn't we invade britain or something

maybe a few euro there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I dont think the 2016 celebrations will be a pretty affair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭lightspeed

And as crime increases should we continue to close Garda stations and maintain a freeze on hiring more Gardai.

It seems likely that the state pension will be hit massively and a stricter criteria is going to be put in place for those able to obtain a medical card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Pinewoo

Cut public sector wages a little bit, cut dole a little bit, cut ESB staff wages (highest average in the world for electricity workers resulting in higher electricity bills which means people on dole, public sector staff, everyone really needs to earn more to pay - this is the real elephant in the room)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

You can't do that. I'm entitled to that money. ENTITLED!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Overseas Aid should be on the block.

lightspeed wrote: »
    And as crime increases should we continue to close Garda stations and maintain a freeze on hiring more Gardai.

It seems likely that the state pension will be hit massively and a stricter criteria is going to be put in place for those able to obtain a medical card.

The crying that went on about closing Garda Stations was a joke. There was 57 stations in Donegal ffs. Gardaí sitting behind a desk stamping forms and making tea do not prevent crime. Closing stations that were relics of the RIC days was the best thing that happened the force in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

crockholm wrote: »
    Overseas Aid should be on the block.
    +1 to this

It's a ridiculous situation where a country that is running a severe deficit/flat broke should be giving money out to other countries - especially as we're borrowing that money in the first place!!

Besides, charity begins at home and there's more than enough worthy causes within our own borders that would be glad of some extra funding if any was going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Bring in an oxegen tax!

The average adult breathes roughly 23,000 times in a 24 hr period. You are given an allowance of 15,000 breaths in a 24 hour period. A charge of 20c per 1000 breaths will then apply. You will pay to make up the shortfall of roughly 8000 breaths per day.

That is roughly €1.60 per day for oxegen, times 365 = €584 per annum.

Soooooooo, 6.3 million x €584 = 3 Billion, 679 million, 200 thousand.

We are rich lads!

Sorted!

Bring in an oxegen tax!

I don't think anyone is bothering going to oxegen this year with the shíte line up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

I opened a new welding business today - big deal for me and a long held wish to have a decent, modern premises of my own so am renting one, small enough, but tidy and presentable. Today was opening day(always worked out of vans/on site doing industrial work).

First, very first walk-in "customer" walks in, I go ohh, customer. "Hi" says "customer" - "I'm Hugh Cnut from the C.C rates collection department, the last lad in here went bust and there is an outstanding rates bill due on this premises which is now yours and here's your bill for the current full year".

Thousands. I can pay, just, but somthing else will have to suffer. I scrimped and saved to open up, didn't get one penny help from the state and am employing three others full time and have plenty of high profile Multinational customers who know how good our work is and give us good work. My opening day help from the state? A pat on the back, a small grant? No, Another massive bill. Fcuking country. I can see the working joe soap getting squeezed till the pips squeak to raise this feckin 3-4 billion extra.

I opened a new welding business today - big deal for me and a long held wish to have a decent, modern premises of my own so am renting one, today was opening day(always worked out of vans/on site doing industrial work).

First, very first walk-in "customer" walks in, I go ohh, customer. "Hi" says "customer" - "I'm Hugh Cnut from the C.C rates collection department, the last lad in here went bust and there is an outstanding rates bill due on this premises which is now yours and here's your bill for the current full year".

Thousands. I can pay, just, I scrimped and saved to open up, didn't get one penny help from the state and am employing three others full time and have plenty of high profile Multinational customers who know how good our work is and give us good work. My opening day help from the state? A pat on the back, a small grant? No, Another massive bill. Fcuking country. I can see the working joe soap getting squeezed till the pips squeak to raise this feckin 3-4 billion extra.

What? I admittedly know feck all about commercial rates but how is someone else's bill your problem?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

BURN THE eh...eh... BURN THE BANKS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    Ah jaysus it's shawkin'! Sure it's near as bad as it was in the 80's.

The young lad's away in a'stralia now, since the work dried up on the sites. He's making fierce money washin out fish tanks. I'd nearly folly him over, but I'd be too auld for that craic at this stage.

You can make fun of it all you want but the fact is the lack of jobs along with the government cuts and taxes are driving people out of this country, especially the young.

The country is going to find itself with a generation completely missing as they've all fúcked off somewhere else, and rightly so, but sure what does the government care, they've got it sorted for themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

I opened a new welding business today - big deal for me and a long held wish to have a decent, modern premises of my own so am renting one, today was opening day(always worked out of vans/on site doing industrial work).

Thousands. I can pay, just, but somthing else will have to suffer. I scrimped and saved to open up, didn't get one penny help from the state and am employing three others full time and have plenty of high profile Multinational customers who know how good our work is and give us good work. My opening day help from the state? A pat on the back, a small grant? No, Another massive bill. Fcuking country. I can see the working joe soap getting squeezed till the pips squeak to raise this feckin 3-4 billion extra.

Good grief! Are you liable to pay full rates for the entire 12 months of 2013, or is it just 8 months?

the owner of the premises is liable for arrears contact your landlord

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

But we have to look good in Europe and get those pats on the back for being the poster boys.
    Feck the people in Ireland its Europe that matters.

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    What? I admittedly know feck all about commercial rates but how is someone else's bill your problem?
    I have feck all clue tbh?? I said I'd pay mine for this year, but go sh1t4 the other lads. That didn't look like an acceptable answer and names were taken etc etc. They can go an ask me left nut tbh but I'll bet I end up paying -the other lad is bust and gone to Aus.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

It's time to vote Micheál Martin and FF back in. If history has though us anything, it is that the Soldiers of Destiny can get us out of this quagmire.

I have feck all clue tbh?? I said I'd pay mine for this year, but go sh1t4 the other lads. That didn't look like an acceptable answer and names were taken etc etc. They can go an ask me left nut tbh but I'll bet I end up paying -the other lad is bust and gone to Aus.:mad:

I think the advice from Sept above is probably best - contact your landlord to check it out

(and despite the crappy start, congrats on the new business. Hope tomorrow is better :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Rastadoyle

I don't think anyone is bothering going to oxegen this year with the shíte line up

a tax on skangers. yes please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Working class will be hit as usual.

What they will do

Car tax
    Insurance products
    USC
    Smokes
    Drink
    VAT
    Petrol
    Household tax
    Water charges
    Stand charge etc
    PRSI

(Basically hit anyone currently in a job, **** things up even more. Cause going at this rate. I won't be able to afford the car! Causing company's to again put up prices on products)

All will go up

They will up everything and as usual tell us we are going in the right direction.

What they won't do

Reduce pay in the Dail
    End the Dail bar
    Scrap all existing expenses that can be claimed and start again with things that are practical for Dail members
    Reduce the massive pay bill they are paying the people at the top of organizations that are actually costing the state money. IE bankers pay.
    Touch the dole (I know this is a touchy subject , put come on at this stage)
    Touch the medical card
    Touch anything to do with anyone over 60/65
    Clamp down and up the budget for smuggling etc..
    Up car tax on cars 2008+
    Multinationals that are paying hardly any tax

Some of what I can think of at the moment.

But still it is amazing how we seem to be able to find the money to pay bond holders to the tune of 3 Billion, when we are told we are broke. Amazing!

FoxT wrote: »
    Good grief! Are you liable to pay full rates for the entire 12 months of 2013, or is it just 8 months?
    Full year apparently. I think the State is currently trying to bleed out every single Euro they can raise from every single angle possible. Even if it is blatantly unfair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭jjbrien

Heres an idea I have been thinking of what if the Goverment gave grants to comapies to hire people who are on the dole for more than 6 months lets say a grant of around 3k per person the company takes off the dole this can be made up of a cash payment to the company and a reduction in its prsi for that person meaning its cheaper to keep that person. A single person on the dole will get 9776 euros a year whilst a married person gets almost double that. Would cut the welfare bill a lot bring in jobs and help kick start the economy. This government seems to think that by making cuts it will solve everything so far in the past few years it hasnt done anything time for a new way.

Full year apparently. I think the State is currently trying to bleed out every single Euro they can raise from every single angle possible. Even if it is blatantly unfair.

They are supposed to be helping small businesses but they got it mixed up and replaced "help" with "hinder".
    You should actually be given a year or two free for starting a business and employing workers but they would never consider that.
    "business? we'll put business out of his head".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

But yet the big company's like Starbucks are paying hardly anything to operate here. The mind boggles, they talk about SME start ups then hammer them out of it from day one !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

oh, wait, I'm tired, nevermind.

We need to go on 'strike', block traffic and demand the dail takes some cuts.
    (Stop enough traffic/business etc and they'll have to do it)

jjbrien wrote: »
    Heres an idea I have been thinking of what if the Goverment gave grants to comapies to hire people who are on the dole for more than 6 months lets say a grant of around 3k per person the company takes off the dole this can be made up of a cash payment to the company and a reduction in its prsi for that person meaning its cheaper to keep that person. A single person on the dole will get 9776 euros a year whilst a married person gets almost double that. Would cut the welfare bill a lot bring in jobs and help kick start the economy. This government seems to think that by making cuts it will solve everything so far in the past few years it hasnt done anything time for a new way.
    Good idea, but here's the rub. If you're on the Dole, there is a scheme exactly as you describe. If you worked 18 hour days for years to save up to start a new Company, but were not on the dole, you get....nothing. Despite your proven clients, proven track record as a sole trader and the fact you are creating new and fully sustainable jobs with products people actually want to buy and are buying for proper money. Some situation. The feckin total rates bill would have paid for another machine to employ another person. Some bunch of muppets running this ship we're sailing on.

jjbrien wrote: »

Its already there, Revenue Job assist and Employer JobPRSI incentive scheme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭regress

Thousands. I can pay, just, but somthing else will have to suffer. I scrimped and saved to open up, didn't get one penny help from the state and am employing three others full time and have plenty of high profile Multinational customers who know how good our work is and give us good work. My

opening day help from the state? A pat on the back, a small grant? No, Another massive bill. Fcuking country. I can see the working joe soap getting squeezed till the pips squeak to raise this feckin 3-4 billion extra.

Troll. I don't believe you. You are not liable to pay rates on previous tenant. I did not know that they still had rates collectors but it is not believable that if they do that one would have lied to you and said that you had to pay for last tenant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,315 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

That works out at about €44,000 a year for everyone on the dole.

regress wrote: »
    Troll. I don't believe you. You are not liable to pay rates on previous tenant. I did not know that they still had rates collectors but it is not believable that if they do that one would have lied to you and said that you had to pay for last tenant.

Commercial rates remain with the property and the new owner will become liable. The poster should have asked his solicitor if there was any rates outstanding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

This country needs to take a leaf from the people of France. When the government does ANYTHING over there to impinge on their lives, the country shuts down and action is taken by the citizens.

Over there, the government is scared shítless of the citizens. Over here, the citizens are scared shítless of the government. Not a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Commercial rates remain with the property and the new owner will become liable. The poster should have asked his solicitor if there was any rates outstanding.

What are the rates paying for?

My local cafe had to pay out E6000 to the council before she opened. Why?

DazMarz wrote: »
    This country needs to take a leaf from the people of France. When the government does ANYTHING over there to impinge on their lives, the country shuts down and action is taken by the citizens.

Over there, the government is scared shítless of the citizens. Over here, the citizens are scared shítless of the government. Not a good thing.
    And when we can't borrow money to pay the PS, dole, etc, the country will have some form of shut down. Hurray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,315 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

DazMarz wrote: »

How are they getting away with such high property taxes and a wealth tax in that case?

there are rate collectors and they will try and get money whatever way they can

bluewolf wrote: »
    And when we can't borrow money to pay the PS, dole, etc, the country will have some form of shut down. Hurray.

Might not really be a bad thing.
    At least we could start afresh with new politics and a bit of honesty installed.

new owner of property not new tenant is that correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Window Tax, Glimmer Man, How about we lock up Bertie, Quinn, Any of the cnuts that defaulted on NAMA loans in stocks at the GPO and other local land marks and charge €2 to whip the ****ers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

What are the rates paying for?

My local cafe had to pay out E6000 to the council before she opened. Why?

because we need to send our County councilors abroad every St. Patrick's Day to represent us.
    Flights, decent accommodation and expenses all add up you know!

Nice one. Also, I care if you believe me, truly I do. Where's the "up yours pal" smiley when you need it? I'm here brooding over the nutty rates demand, but sure I probably made it up just to annoy you, eh. And the new owner is a bank-they lent out the money to the original owner, I'm just a tenant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

just wish they would have the balls to cut pensions.
    despite the poor mouth that they play, the majority of the country's wealth is with the over 65s, so why should they be protected so much?

The Government jets (2) should be sold off as well as the fleet of minister's cars. We cannot afford them. Let them use their own cars seeing as we are paying them mileage anyway. Why pay mileage to people to get to work? What other worker gets that?

It might not raise a lot but it would be a start.