Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Complete noob...whats involved?

Options
13»

Comments

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 50,848 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

You're not going to be making AAA level titles. For games that a person solo or a small team can make then there's plenty of tools out there to do the job. The thing about C++ is you have full control over everything you want to do. I'm trained up in Corona and have an app/game coming out soon that I worked on but for my own work I have lots of ideas but I can' work on them until the graphics 2.0 patch comes out. If I could get into the display code like C++ will let me I wouldn't have these problems.

I also wrote some pathfinding AI for the app. It runs like a dog unless the levels are designed to disguise this limitation. For stuff like this which requires a lot of messing around with arrays/tables you can could it an awful lot more efficiently in C++.

Really the tools are there to make very good indie or small game projects with the likes of Unity, gamemaker, Corona etc. But C++ will give you better control and if you are looking into getting into the industry then stuff developed in C++ will be a massive boon.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Torakx

Is making your own engine a massive project?
    If none of the other engines use C++ I might have to do it all from scratch.
    How long a process would it be to learn enough to start making a game?
    2D or 3D.

Maybe C++ is something I might try to work on an hour a week as I train up with Gamemaker and Unity 3D.