Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Complete noob...whats involved?

Options
  • 29-04-2013 4:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭

Hi folks,

Can anyone give me an idea of the process of making a basic platformer type game? I'm completely & totally new to all of this, & have literally no idea what the steps might be to do it. I realise there's prob few different options, but in general where should I begin the journey? I've no coding experience, so I suppose getting proficient at one would be a good start? If so, whats the advice for the best one for beginners etc?

Games like Mario & Sonic etc would be close to my heart, so a Summer project of making an 8bit-esque platformer would be nice

Any & advice is appreciated :o

Comments

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I'll be joining you in starting a game after my exams are finished. I've a bit of programming experience though so it'll give you a couple of weeks to catch up :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

I'll be joining you in starting a game after my exams are finished. I've a bit of programming experience though so it'll give you a couple of weeks to catch up :p

Ah I'll be a long time catching up, when I say noob I mean noob!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,408 ✭✭✭RedXIV