Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how many in Ireland on dole?

• 25-04-2013 12:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭

I hear this figure of 400,000 being thrown around but can't find any concrete evidence to verify.. Internet official stats seem to be from 2011 but the figure is probably much different now, do you know anyone on the dole or do you claim yourself perhaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

What is with the obsession about the dole around here ffs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

People on the dole get €400,000 :eek:

Is this per week/year, scandalous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

not on dole, just being thrown around, I think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Pinewoo wrote: »
    I hear this figure of 400,000 being thrown around but can't find any concrete evidence to verify.. Internet official stats seem to be from 2011 but the figure is probably much different now, do you know anyone on the dole or do you claim yourself perhaps?

I suggest you read the CSO figures you might get a better idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

They get free cars as well or is that the immigants? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

its actually only 3 people. They're signing on all over the place. Its a scandal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Pinewoo

Gatling wrote: »
    I suggest you read the CSO figures you might get a better idea

Where are they, as I said I only see stats from 2011...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Know 7 or 8 people on the dole personally.Live register for March 2013 was 422,088 and 83,421 on CE schemes/JobBridge/TUS/Fas courses etc.

http://trueeconomics.blogspot.ie/2013/04/542013-live-register-march-2013.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 514 ✭✭✭RUSTEDCORE

Its the farmers putting their cows on the dole
    getting medical cards for their sheep and rent allowance for their pigs....

I say we kill everyone outside Dublin and turn it all into high rise housing and sell it to the chinese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

endacl wrote: »
    its actually only 3 people. They're signing on all over the place. Its a scandal.

It's actually four, but one of them has a part time job..So about...

...tree fiddy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Pinewoo wrote: »
    Where are they, as I said I only see stats from 2011...

They're published monthly by the CSO

http://www.cso.ie/en/media/csoie/releasespublications/documents/labourmarket/2013/lreg_mar2013.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    They get free cars as well or is that the immigants? :p

Free prams if you can't fit it on a bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Know 7 or 8 people on the dole personally.Live register for March 2013 was 422,088 and 83,421 on CE schemes/JobBridge/TUS/Fas courses etc.

Well that's a start. So we know its somewhere between 8 and 422,088.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

I'm on the dole. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

No. I'm on the dole. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

I'm on the dole too so you can count me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Norwesterner

Being on the dole and living in a Council house is probably the safest place to be, as regards demographics in Ireland.
    Working in an unstable job with a monthly mortgage or rent to meet is WORSE than being unemployed imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭IceFjoem

Jesus, that's almost 11% of the population!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

If we find out what the full number of the possible working population is and then start crossing off the ones who still are working it might be quicker..

If there's 500,000 not working and about 200,000 have had to emigrate(I'd say more but they have a blind lad with one arm keeping count on the Out door to keep the figures looking better), I'd say E. Kenny has another 150,000 hidden in colleges, behind his sofa and in camps in Leitrim. Damn near a million if you include Twink and Samantha Mumba.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

Those dammed doleys!
    Did you hear they get a free immigrant twice a year!

Ffs my tax pays for those immigrants and I can't even afford one!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Treehousetim

Eh you forgot the sick. Dole is one thing , sickness benefits another. And not all 'sick' people are sick. I know several who boast about the performances they give at the gp surgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

IceFjoem wrote: »
    Jesus, that's almost 11% of the population!

That 400k figure is thrown around a lot, but it's not accurate!

The cso figure includes people who are casual and part time workers. The quarterly household survey is a more accurate reflection of unemployment.

As of end 2012, there was 294k persons unemployed in the state. On the bright side, there are still 2.15 million people employed in ireland. And to get a better idea of the stats, remember that in the height of the boom (q32007), there were still over 100k registered as unemployed.

It would be more accurate to say the unemployment figure rests at under 200k. Still a lot, but half of 400k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭bhamsteve

I'm on BTEA, soon to sign back on the dole for the summer. Do I count?

Elessar wrote: »

The cso figure includes people who are casual and part time workers. The quarterly household survey is a more accurate reflection of unemployment.

As of end 2012, there was 294k persons unemployed in the state. On the bright side, there are still 2.15 million people employed in ireland. And to get a better idea of the stats, remember that in the height of the boom (q32007), there were still over 100k registered as unemployed.

It would be more accurate to say the unemployment figure rests at under 200k. Still a lot, but half of 400k.

Jesus, that's almost 5.5% of the population!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

IceFjoem wrote: »
    Jesus, that's almost 5.5% of the population!

Is Jesus on Boards?

kneemos wrote: »
    Is Jesus on Boards?

Ye, two in the shape of a T.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

bhamsteve wrote: »
    I'm on BTEA, soon to sign back on the dole for the summer. Do I count?

I'm not sure. I thought when they put someone on BTEA or an Enterprise Grant they counted them as not "being on the dole" anymore despite receiving payments.

I could be wrong though.

Anyway... here's a song about the dole:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

As important, how many outside of Ireland are claiming it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

Ask the Man From Del Monte...Dole is his biggest competitor.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Boombastic wrote: »
    People on the dole get €400,000 :eek:

Is this per week/year, scandalous

Only the immigrants get that, with their tricks and tomfoolery, getting things Irish people can't get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Only the immigrants get that, with their tricks and tomfoolery, getting things Irish people can't get.

Easy to spot an immigrant,they're the one's with the pram.

When you add in Back to Education, Disability recipients, Farmers Dole and State Pensions, there's a hell of a lot of money being paid out every year. No wonder we're in the bother we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

....in terms of uncertainty and inability of the ordinary person to plan and obtain opportunities to earn money in a predictable and stable fashion in order to arrange their lives in a sane and sustainable way.

People in jobs feel agrieved by the high level of taxation on their decreasing earnings and the uncertainty of their future job security makes forward planning impossible.

People not in jobs feel angry because of perceived unfairness of some people having "a great time" while they have nothing.

Nobody is happy with the present situation.

The only thing that solved this the last time was WW2 and a complete rearrangement and restructuring of the world economic order brought about by fear.

We need a similar complete restructuring of the world economic order in order to move forward in a sane, predictable and structured way.

Lets hope the powers that be don't use a world war to bring about the necessary changes and social upheaval needed to break out of the present mess.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

kneemos wrote: »

Full of our money :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Yakult wrote: »
    As important, how many outside of Ireland are claiming it?

How do you think that would be done, considering the payment has to be collected in person every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭godwin

Chucken wrote: »
    How do you think that would be done, considering the payment has to be collected in person every week.

They fly into ireland undetected on swans , then they consume the evidence(the swans)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

godwin wrote: »
    They fly into ireland undetected on swans , then they consume the evidence(the swans)

I suspected as much :pac:

But how do they leave again? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭godwin

In free social welfare cars , which they then sell in Romania to buy more swans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

The department is a big player in the whole swan business. They've even got a swan in their logo ffs.

Are you sure about that?
    Every week?
    Collected personally?
    I'm an Irish citizen. Passport holder.
    Paid thousands in taxes in the State since the 80s
    Moved abroad to work a few years ago.
    Came back last year to my own country to look for work, and was told by the Social I was not entitled to help as I had been abroad for over 2 years.

As I left the office, I saw folk from all over the World signing on.
    I felt like a unwanted stranger in Ireland, despite being Irish.
    Obviously, due to no work and no dole, I ended up back on the plane.
    And here I am abroad again, earning less for a 50 hour week (4 dollars an hour) than foreigners get on the dole in my own country.
    Now, I'll be called a racist for pointing this out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

Are you sure about that?
    Every week?
    Collected personally?
    Came back last year to my own country to look for work, and was told by the Social I was not entitled to help as I had
    been abroad for over 2 years.

And here I am abroad again, earning less for a 50 hour week (4 dollars an hour) than foreigners get on the dole in
    my own country.

No, not a racist. Thats a f***ed up situation you find yourself in. Talk about abandonment by your own country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭monflat

Being on the dole and living in a Council house is probably the safest place to be, as regards demographics in Ireland.
    Working in an unstable job with a monthly mortgage or rent to meet is WORSE than being unemployed imo.

totally agree here with you some locally I know fits the above description and they are going to Australia for 3 months soon with their child

sure those of us who have mortgages and health insurance and those things are way worse better off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭monflat

Are you sure about that?
    Every week?
    Collected personally?
    Came back last year to my own country to look for work, and was told by the Social I was not entitled to help as I had been abroad for over 2 years.

And here I am abroad again, earning less for a 50 hour week (4 dollars an hour) than foreigners get on the dole in my own country.

Jesus that is fecking terrible what sort of a handout country is this

I saw evidence of this yesterday I saw a few well known dole recipients in town on Thursday and then seeing them again down there in pennys with ****ing trolleys full of clothes .
    myself and d husband work full time but
    are constantly tryin to keep head above water
    that made me sick
    and the lazyNess falling off those assholes

not a day's work in them and they spending like
    they ****ing deserved it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

You have it all wrong lads. Have you not noticed there are less swans around, they use our swans to get them home, then use them for the return journey next week to collect more of our money, eat them, and upgrade to a bigger better swan for the journey home I tells ya!!!

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    You have it all wrong lads. Have you not noticed there are less swans around, they use our swans to get them home, then use them for the return journey next week to collect more of our money, eat them, and upgrade to a bigger better swan for the journey home I tells ya!!!
    Great craic we are shure, hi.
    The Celtic tiger is over, bud.
    Time you faced realities for your childrens sake.
    There is no magic money tree, and it's no laughing matter for Irish emigrants watching from afar.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 713 ✭✭✭WayneMolloy

Great craic we are shure, hi.
    The Celtic tiger is over, bud.
    Time you faced realities for your childrens sake.
    There is no magic money tree, and it's no laughing matter for Irish emigrants watching from afar.

The newly unemployed lad is on less than 200 blip a week and desperate to find work.

The lazy lad, who has no interest in working, has the game sown up and is claiming allowances we wouldnt believe. I watched Paul C Investigates on TV3 and one single roma woman admitted that she got 420 euro a week from welfare along with her rent paid for.

Serious poke. Your rent paid and 420 a week to pay your few bills - sweet as. Thats above minimum wage, like. Its a mad system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Required Field

Originally Posted by kneemos

Full of our money :mad:

And then they abandon those prams full of money at the bus stop, pausing to sneer at the driver and other passengers as they ascened the steps, state-funded baby in arms, to declare "No matter there's no room for my pram! The Social Welfare will get me another one for free! Mwahahaha!"

She's probably only wearing pyjamas too, and returning from signing on.

Sure we might as well be BURNING the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,775 ✭✭✭Death and Taxes

Absolute and utter rubbish.
    Immigrants do not get anything that irish citizens dont get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,727 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Elessar wrote: »

We have two figures alright - the official unemployment figure of 294,000 and the number claiming unemployment benefits which is 425,000.

The usual proviso applies to the 425,000 of course because many part-timers claim unemployment benefit.

There is a worry that the 294,000 is underestimating the true figure as well. The Quarterly National Household Survey, on which the 294,000 figures is based apparently (according to a Dan O'Brien article I read in the Irish Times last year) will count you as employed if you ay you worked as little as one hour in the previous week.

Theres also the worry of people who have stopped looking for worker etc who technically don't count as being unemployed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭mitosis

About 20% more than are actually unemployed