Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

fepper wrote: »
    What's this craic of you starting ur text with " ADD YOUR REPLY HERE"?

It's the beta version of boards. For some reason it doesn't automatically delete when you go to post the reply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

What type of beef bull do you intend running with the cows. I presume that all calves will be sold at 10 days. What happens if you are restricted when cows are calving
    aa, bring in labour and keep them would be an option

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,617 ✭✭✭Farmer Ed

kowtow wrote: »
    For the few years I have been reading it the journal has contained endless "make an extra xyz per cow" mostly AFAIK containing the same list of tips which that article contained..

They certainly didn't have an article saying "waste 15k per year with the following optional extras" in amongst the how to borrow more for a shed special focuses.

So I'm a bit bemused, I thought we were pretty fine tuned as producers, I didn't realise that half the stuff we were doing religiously was just for sh##ts and giggles.

Why don't they have an article aimed at co-ops entitled "get real, your not a wall Street hot shot, your a man in a cheap suit who works in Mitchelstown"

It could contain a list of optional things not to spend farmers money on.

What does the Journal cost nowadays? The last time I brought it, it was something like 2.40. That would be a saving of something like 125 euro per year. I gave up buying it on a point of principle as I consider it to be a very political comic. There are plenty free farming news sources nowadays without having to spend money on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,456 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Farmer Ed wrote: »
    What does the Journal cost nowadays? The last time I brought it, it was something like 2.40. That would be a saving of something like 125 euro per year. I gave up buying it on a point of principle as I consider it to be a very political comic. There are plenty free farming news sources nowadays without having to spend money on that.

2.90/week. If you stopped buying it you would save 150/year so now we are up to 15150/year. If you had 75 cows it would be 2 euro/cow. Add to that Teagasc fees another 5-7/cow I imagine.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,798 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

2.90/week. If you stopped buying it you would save 150/year so now we are up to 15150/year. If you had 75 cows it would be 2 euro/cow. Add to that Teagasc fees another 5-7/cow I imagine.
    you can read most of it on line, there are so many ads in the farmers journal, too many

That explains how Im so flush with cash at the moment. I stopped buying it when it was only 2.40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Stop the ifa levy and that another couple of euros per cow.

whelan2 wrote: »
    you can read most of it on line, there are so many ads in the farmers journal, too many

Another reason not to buy it. All those ads trying to part you with your hard earned cash.

Financial crisis in dairying solved!

mf240 wrote: »
    Stop the ifa levy and that another couple of euros per cow.

I bet that one was not on the journal's list of things you are wasting your money on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,798 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

That explains how Im so flush with cash at the moment. I stopped buying it when it was only 2.40.
    We still buy it here as my mother does the crossword..... most weeks I wouldnt even open it. Thursday is an expensive day as its 4.90 for the indo and the journal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

I bet that one was not on the journal's list of things you are wasting your money on?

Funny that. They must of forgotten?

We still buy it here as my mother does the crossword..... most weeks I wouldnt even open it. Thursday is an expensive day as its 4.90 for the indo and the journal

You'll have to find some online crossword you can print off for your poor mother.

Not to upset the milk price boys and gals should we start a thread on how to save 15K by not using the journals advice.

Slava Ukrainii

And Whelan you forgot about the 25 euro for the wash cut and blow dry or do you do that with the power hose as well.:D

Slava Ukrainii

Or you could become a Dairygold milk supplier. Then you will get a free magazine called "Milk matters" every month that has a recommended retail price of 3.40. But if you're a DG supplier you will get it for free! Like it magic! No one pays for it! Its totally free!!!
    As for the RRP. I am not aware that they have ever managed to sell one?

And Whelan you forgot about the 25 euro for the wash cut and blow dry or do you do that with the power hose as well.:D

I was in the barber's one day as a board member came in to Dye his hair.Not sure what it cost him because my annual shearing job was a much faster process. This year I might just ask one of the lads that do the sheep.

That reminds me of a story I heard. It was about a publican Tom that wore a wig. Now while he was inside the bar one day a local lad John that was fond of the drink and was after a few asked him for a loan of a few pounds.

Now Tom letting on not to hear replied ''I must go and wash and dry my hair''

Where upon John answered '' what f@@king washing do you have of that, all you have to do is take it off, give a swish in the bowl and squeeze it out''. With that he exited the bar as Tom proceeded to start climbing out over the bar.

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Or you could become a Dairygold milk supplier. Then you will get a free magazine called "Milk matters" every month that has a recommended retail price of 3.40. But if you're a DG supplier you will get it for free! Like it magic! No one pays for it! Its totally free!!!

That's straight in the bin here, just a magazine trying to sell you stuff you don't need. If they stopped printing it and gave is the savings in our cheque.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,259 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Ed, you'd might want to rephrase your comment on getting one of the lads to do the sheep.
    Very open to misinterpretation!!!!
    I know rams are dear and all that. Ask Rangler for one.

Water John wrote: »
    Ed, you'd might want to rephrase your comment on getting one of the lads to do the sheep.
    Very open to misinterpretation!!!!
    I know rams are dear and all that. Ask Rangler for one.

Ok point well made. To clarify my position I was referring to the lads that shear the sheep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭browned

kowtow wrote: »
    For the few years I have been reading it the journal has contained endless "make an extra xyz per cow" mostly AFAIK containing the same list of tips which that article contained..

They certainly didn't have an article saying "waste 15k per year with the following optional extras" in amongst the how to borrow more for a shed special focuses.

So I'm a bit bemused, I thought we were pretty fine tuned as producers, I didn't realise that half the stuff we were doing religiously was just for sh##ts and giggles.

Why don't they have an article aimed at co-ops entitled "get real, your not a wall Street hot shot, your a man in a cheap suit who works in Mitchelstown"

It could contain a list of optional things not to spend farmers money on.

If we're so fine tuned as producers why is there such variation across profit monitor results every year. The simple realities is that some farmers are more efficient than others and believe it or not these are probably the farmers that aren't constantly blaming the coops for the low price.

browned wrote: »
    If we're so fine tuned as producers why is there such variation across profit monitor results every year. The simple realities is that some farmers are more efficient than others and believe it or not these are probably the farmers that aren't constantly blaming the coops for the low price.

I'm doing very well thank you very much.saving 150 euro not buying the journal and hopefully in the near future I can get on the board of one of the lowest paying co ops. And from there to Ornua and God only knows how many more quangos. Sure I'll never have to worry about money. Sure it's just like being on ex factor or one of those programs. You never know when you might strike it big. Nothing wrong with price of milk. People's own fault if their not all making millions out of it. I know as soon as I get my political career going I will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I was in the barber's one day as a board member came in to Dye his hair
    Which boards member was it??

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Which boards member was it??

Look carefully at their photographs. I think you should be able to guess.
    IMO nothing wrong with going grey gracefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

Shur who'd pay to read someone else's adverts if ya know what I mean.

Just got a call from someone who told me there is a bit on the examiner today, quoting the IFA dairy chairman as not being in favour of MSAs. When I did a google search this is all I could find. I reckon he's about 3 years too late with his miraculous conversion.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/business/agri-business/ifa-dairy-chairman-urges-dairygold-members-to-approve-supply-deal-227511.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Look carefully at their photographs. I think you should be able to guess.
    IMO nothing wrong with going grey gracefully.

Me thinks that just went over your head ed. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,259 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Hope we'll have a lot of conversions.
    Would there being a new president in the IFA have anything to do with it?

I see nothing wrong with short term MSA's. Even if it was annual. Just have a transfer window, say 30 days notice in the off season. That would seem balanced and fair.

Feck the Gentlemens agreement. Most of them aren't gentlemen or indeed ladies any way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

browned wrote: »
    inbuilt Irish Catholic guilt mentality there imo.

Land type has a massive bearing as would regional weather variation, family labour, personal health, how the aul place was left to a lad,ie family issues, land fertility

As I said before I cannot for the life of me understand why Irish dairy farmer are not showering the head bottle washers on glanbia with slurry and burning the gets out.
    Fat cats and shareholders taking the cream!
    But begorra paddy farmer must get more efficient. Don't buy paper towels for the parlour ,or a few stakes and wire ,or put a few times in the hay bob... Count the grains of nitrogen... Ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Disgraceful carry on dying hair, should call an egm and have them removed straight away