Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cocker bitch for mating

• 14-04-2013 8:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40

Hi lads- just wondering has anyone a cocker bitch they would be willing to mate to my 13yr old dog. Absolutely outstanding dog thats still going like a train. He,s an extremely intelligent dog an it would be a pity to lose his line as he is the only one of his litter in this country. Would be looking for a dog pup in return for service. Thanks for looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

whats his line

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Moving this out to hunting to allow discussion.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Kinzig

sako591 wrote: »
    Hi lads- just wondering has anyone a cocker bitch they would be willing to mate to my 13yr old dog. Absolutely outstanding dog thats still going like a train. He,s an extremely intelligent dog an it would be a pity to lose his line as he is the only one of his litter in this country. Would be looking for a dog pup in return for service. Thanks for looking.

At 13 years old I would be surprised if he could serve a bitch..hes also way past his prime..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

Kinzig wrote: »
    At 13 years old I would be surprised if he could serve a bitch..hes also way past his prime..

I'm sure he'll have plenty of fun trying... Couldn't hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Glensman wrote: »

He could damage a hip though :)

Seen a 12 springer do the deed for exact same reason a while back so some tricks are not all new to old dogs...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 276 ✭✭Rocky Bay

Why in God's name would you want to bring in more dogs to a country where thousands are put down because of no homes for them. Have you not seen the old fertiliser bags in the bogs full of drowned pups...

@Rocky Bay.

As this is the hunting forum the only discussion allowed about dogs is for working dogs. The blood lines of certain dogs are highly sought after, and the pups would be spoken for before the bitch is mated.

This has nothing to do with the pet trade or having a dog for a pet. These dogs are bred, and trained for a purpose. So going to the local pound for a rescue dog, or picking up whatever dog becomes available is not an option. Certain breeds are wanted, and most breeders of working dogs are responsible enough to not breed unless there is a want/demand for them.

I would also hazard a guess that litters would be few and far between. If you have a good dog, with great lineage, you do not want dozens of pups which would taint or sour the line.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Glensman wrote: »

at his age his sperm count will be really low..so your using a dog for mating purposes that will if he can mount the bitch produce a really small litter..it doesnt make sense when theres plenty of good stud dogs of a younger age about, but I suppose its that old thing that everyone thinks theres nothing in the world like their own dog:rolleyes:

Sounds like he's only after a pup so wouldn't a small litter be ideal?

still amazed u havent posted his pedigree ??? a serious doggy man is gonna want to see his pedigree before he will leave a dog near a half decent bitch

Sounds like he's only after a pup so wouldn't a small litter be ideal?

yeah but what about the guy that owns the bitch..im sure that if I owned a good bitch I wouldnt want some geriatric dog serving her that may result in one or two pups when I could use a younger more virile stud dog that will produce a much better litter..but yous guys seem to know what your talking about so work away:rolleyes:

What's with all the sarcastic eyes?
    You'd swear the dams owner was forced into it. Could suit all parties & could be a great line. Might be a poor line, sire might not work - who knows but it's only a discussion.

What's with all the sarcastic eyes?
    You'd swear the dams owner was forced into it. Could suit all parties & could be a great line. Might be a poor line, sire might not work - who knows but it's only a discussion.

The sarcastic eyes are because the whole idea is absurd..your handle suggest you are a doggy man but yet you promote the idea of using a 13 year old dog as a stud and go further to suggest its acceptable for a bitch to be mated with the prospect of producing a poor litter...to be honest I shouldnt be using the sarcatic eyes icon it should have been this:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭223vmax

The sarcastic eyes are because the whole idea is absurd..your handle suggest you are a doggy man but yet you promote the idea of using a 13 year old dog as a stud and go further to suggest its acceptable for a bitch to be mated with the prospect of producing a poor litter...to be honest I shouldnt be using the sarcatic eyes icon it should have been this:pac::pac::pac:

Kinzig, it's obvious you're irritated by the comments made by the hunting lads, and its clear you have nothing positive to contribute, so why bother posting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭snipey

can you register a 13 year olds pups,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

snipey wrote: »
    can you register a 13 year olds pups,
    no you cant, think its 8.... and i agree with kinzig bad idea unless your willing to buy a bitch and breed a litter keep a pup or two and have the rest destroyed or pet homed as not to potentially damage the breed by breeding dodgy litters your intention should always be to improve on what you have 13 just seems too risky but then again could be the best thing ya ever done is there any other dogs around from the same lines

I'm partaking in a conversation & sharing experiences. All I said is I've seen an older dog sire a perfectly fine litter. A larger litter does not mean a better litter. Pups I saw were all busters too.
    If the OP can find a willing & suitable bitch then best of luck to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭lb1981

I bread my springer bitch a few years back with a 12 year old dog also owened by me and it threw 13 healty pups so that arguement is invalid.

lb1981 wrote: »
    I bread my springer bitch a few years back with a 12 year old dog also owened by me and it threw 13 healty pups so that arguement is invalid.
    just out of curiousity do you still have any of the pups as in did you keep and work any of them how did they turn out its just because my buddy has an aging dog thats worth breeding from

sorry but your wrong..an old dog will gave a much higher chance of having a low sperm count, this can cause the bitch to miss and have no pups, he may also have lazy sperm and could also have abnormal sperm which can cause problems with the unborn pups not seeing their way to birth...why anyone would want to use an old dog as stud when there are younger more virile stud dogs which have full health checks to look for any problems such as hips. eyes etc and offer a much greater chance in producing healthy pups is beyond me...just because one or two old stud dogs prove okay doesnt make it good practise.

223vmax wrote: »
    Kinzig, it's obvious you're irritated by the comments made by the hunting lads, and its clear you have nothing positive to contribute, so why bother posting?

its clear you dont know what your talking about ive been hunting for 40 years:pac: anyways who made you a mod?

snipe02 wrote: »
    just out of curiousity do you still have any of the pups as in did you keep and work any of them how did they turn out its just because my buddy has an aging dog thats worth breeding from
    The bitch i kept was put down at the start of this season , a picture of her last retrieve is on here some were.They turned out fine it was just way more than i expected ,we had to bottle feed them as there was so many ,think my sisters still have photos of them all together il dig them up.

why would someone want to breed off a 12 year old dog ? if he was that good wouldnt u have got a son off him along time ago in case something happened to him.

its clear you dont know what your talking about ive been hunting for 40 years:pac: anyways who made you a mod?
    Your hunting 40 years and you dont understand the importance of carrying on a line if it served you well , lads in my club have been shooting 40 years and they still dont have a clue about raring birds or training dogs so that means nothing.
    If he wants to continue on a line and he finds a willing owner of a bitch then best of look to both of them.

charlie10 wrote: »
    why would someone want to breed off a 12 year old dog ? if he was that good wouldnt u have got a son off him along time ago in case something happened to him.
    I was giving him one last go at siring ,the bitch was good and in heat so i let it happen and i got what i wanted in the end, didnt make much money out of it but got a good bitch out of it that served me well for 7 seasons.

the op wants to keep his line alive but still didnt say what particular line of bitch he wants to go too either, pups will carry most of bitchs traets , so line breeding would keep the chances of getting a replica pup of the father greater. fellas on aabout small litters and the likes what about keeping a good line of cocker would that not be the bigger issue

litters shouldnt be bred lightly i think and its as easy go to a good young dog and increase your chances of a good mating no room for romantic attachments when it comes to breeding if the line is that good breed sooner rather than later you can always go to a dog you bred in case the sire\dam gets too old in fairness breeding from 12 and 13 year old dogs could be avoided, would ye breed from a 12\13 year old bitch?

I normally get a bitch nuetered at around 5 if i have bread off her or not, they can pick up womb infections easy after being in heat and that is the end of the road for most of them were they have a better chance off staying healty after grtting nuetered.

thats good practice would you breed from them first

Depends if circumstances allow, my cocker bitch is just four now ,she one of the best breed cocker's around and has very sought after lines and most importantly she is a brilliant little dog, she was only in heat a month ago but i couldn't get her serviced as my wife is due any week now and we are moving house so i couldn't take on a litter of pups as well , if i dont get her serviced next time i will get her neutered even though it will kill me not to breed from her but i would rather put her welfare first.The time before that i was going to Australia for a month and my ma and da were minding them so i couldn't have a litter popping out while they had her and the springer.

I know using old dogs is not ideal but it has been going on in doggy circles since time began to keep strong lines.

i also have a cocker what lines has she, i have a dog from meassyderwin snipe and a dog called waupley river that only died this week at the ripe old age of 13. both were ftch champions and sought after lines ..what lines has that bitch im curious

Your hunting 40 years and you dont understand the importance of carrying on a line if it served you well , lads in my club have been shooting 40 years and they still dont have a clue about raring birds or training dogs so that means nothing.
    If he wants to continue on a line and he finds a willing owner of a bitch then best of look to both of them.

I dont get what your saying, the lineage in cockers and springers is still out there, his dog isnt the only cocker carrying that line..im sure if he did some looking about it wont be hard to find those lines again.

Also how can you make out that I dont understand anything when you dont even know me?..thats a personal insult which says a lot more about you :confused:

i also have a cocker what lines has she, i have a dog from meassyderwin snipe and a dog called waupley river that only died this week at the ripe old age of 13. both were ftch champions and sought after lines ..what lines has that bitch im curious

http://www.rytexgundogs.com/chykped.htm = sire

DAM = MAESYDDERWEN SCIMITAR ftch, SAFORD BLACK MAMBA ftch lines

http://www.rytexgundogs.com/chykped.htm = sire

DAM = MAESYDDERWEN SCIMITAR ftch, SAFORD BLACK MAMBA ftch lines
    love is in the air :D:D

;)ive enough of trouble on my hands with the ones i have for **** sake

I have cleaned up all the crap, and inter personal comments.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but if you cannot keep it civil then you will not be allowed to post. Simple as.

Also questioning the motives, actions or inaction of a mod is done via PM, and not on thread.

Anymore of the same crap, and bans will be issued. There will be no warnings for anyone. I cannot stress this enough. Any comments, at all, in the same vein as those removed will get a ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭td5

I bought a Cocker bitch pup last year from the Drumnascamp Kennels. I am well pleased how she is shaping up. They have a few Dogs at stud as well.
    Their pedigrees can be viewed at Drumbanaghershoot.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

First you can't reg pups if the bitch is over a certain age , the dogs age is not important .

And if the man has a dog that he feel is gud enough and a man willing to let him , what does it matter weather it a small or big litter .

It just shows that when you breed a dog it's for profit than for the hope of a gud pup .

I personally would like to see a dog working before lining a bitch .