Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bulk Gas Vs Piped Gas

13»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 225 ✭✭QBE

shane0007 wrote: »
    I hope, sooner than later, you will realise the real benefits of Boards & see that most of us here are here to assist each other & get assistance from others. Most here have become friends & have exchanged numbers, are in contact daily when they are stuck over a boiler or other issue. That is an enormous benefit that I take advantage of everyday.

You have joined this party by insulting people, told us how you are above anybody with lesser experience & qualifications & expect respect from the off. IMHO everybody is entitled to the same information & assistance as every other person. It is how we all learn.

From me & I am by no means highly "ranked", you are most welcome but you are doing yourself no favours with this attitude.

What I teach is none of yours, as it is something I do not publicise as it makes no benefit to others for knowing.

I thought assisting each other and getting assistance was what all forums are about be it toilit paper or plumbing. However In the work place I would have apprentices I thought 8 tears ago still calling me for advice and it was only this morning I called ElecMech eng looking for advice. That's the norm. But I don't need you ranking or giving me stripes for a public forum.

you have blown out of proportion the lesser experience & qualification quote. that was a work related response and I also go to work to make money not friends. I know know friends are better made on this forum.

if what you teach involves working in my/our industry. It has a lot to with me. As its my apprentices or staff. You could be teaching. As I would prefer to send them to (martin. you know who I mean) but maybe your employed there and could change my mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭shane0007

QBE wrote: »
    I also go to work to make money not friends.

I also employ people & I would consider them as friends also.
    I would also most definitely see my clients as friends as that is why most business is done through repeat business & referral work. As I advised in other post to you that advertising is a complete waste of time & money. But you must find & cross your own path for that.

Going to work to make money & not friends might better be suited to the employed market & not the self employed market.

I also employ people & I would consider them as friends also.
    I would also most definitely see my clients as friends as that is why most business is done through repeat business & referral work. As I advised in other post to you that advertising is a complete waste of time & money. But you must find & cross your own path for that.

Going to work to make money & not friends might better be suited to the employed market & not the self employed market.

If I didn't like someone I wouldn't employ them .But if they where a good tradesman. I could tolerate them. Anybody I like I class as friends. But I don't need to go to work to make them.

I would see my clients as the hand that feed me. You never bite that. its friends all my work portfolio has come from to start off. A nice little one (yearly) for a five figure sum with one the worlds leading suppliers of gas. Does not mean I have to like the companys MD. Cos he writes the cheque. Ill use the hand that feeds me quoation for that.

referral work comes with your standards of work. friends can recommend you alright but will that client. if your a nice lad and a **** tradesman.

I think advertising and marketing is a specialist field outside your league and its statistically proven your wrong.

Maybe your profits reflects your advertising and marketing budget.

Or possibly as a successful self employed Installer he might have a insight that may help you in your endeavours:eek:.

I would be interested to see how you get on, I have experience of campaigns by installers and suppliers, it seems to be a tuff gig to get the message out.

gary71 wrote: »
    Or possibly as a successful self employed Installer he might have a insight that may help you in your endeavours:eek:.

I would be interested to see how you get on, I have experience of campaigns by installers and suppliers, it seems to be a tuff gig to get the message out.

sorry gary I deleted that post. So ad it here again.

Advertising and marketing is a major factor in creating a leading name in any industry. No point been the best . If know one knows the brand name. Also no point in investing if you don't want to excel.

Ill give you an example. If you where not affiliated in the game at all and asked the 5 leading companies in plumbing and heating in Ireland . who would you name.
    I have tried this with a buss coach today. the majority said board gais and couldn't name anyone else. Board gais are not plumbers. Do you understand me? so that tells me the majority of work is dispensed via board gais.
    now if I asked you to name . 5 fast food restraunts in ireland. You would say something similar to 1 mc donalds 2. burger king 3. Kfc 4. bk 5. super macs. My local restraint is better than any of them. but would not be on any of them lists. Its because of marketing and advertisement with the combination of a trusted name brand and that goes for all services.
    Maybe your profits reflects your advertising and marketing budget. Your defo a great friend maker, possibly a good plumber, but defo no business man

back to garys quote. yes I would agree . that's the purpose I joined boards. So I could benifit from others mistakes or add to there benefits.

gary71 wrote: »

as far as I can make out to date with a lot of research by pros. In the plumbing and heating sector . Advertisment is seen as an unnessary expense and used by contractors to boost a slack period only. It Is then stopped when work is ok. not allowing to keep the brand name alive. Its forgot. But if that advertising compaign is kept in place. the service becomes a brand name.

our brand name believe it or not without competition is Board Gais. they have no competition and they supply gas . not plumbing and heating.

123.ie started off based on that theory as an online broker. they sold recently for 10 million +. everyone knows the tune. but how many would remember it next year. if the ads campaign stopped

Maybe your profits reflects your advertising and marketing budget. Your defo a great friend maker, possibly a good plumber, but defo no business man

HTF would you know what kind of business man I am? You are back to your small minded insults again, so I am going to ask you politely to cease commenting about me or entering conversation with me in the future.
    that's the purpose I joined boards. So I could learn from others mistakes or add to there benefits.

Really? As you are showing some very different colours to the all. I am receiving a lot of messages from members that would not go along with your theories and you are most certainly not making any friends. Enjoy your conquering of the world.

HTF would you know what kind of business man I am? You are back to your small minded insults again, so I am going to ask you politely to cease commenting about me or entering conversation with me in the future.

Really? As you are showing some very different colours to the all. I am receiving a lot of messages from members that would not go along with your theories and you are most certainly not making any friends. Enjoy your conquering of the world.

A .I want noting to do with you. So that suits me fine. entering conversation started with yourself. Which I think if you read all the posts. I was better in my answers. you where out beaten.
    B. you receiving your private messages from members. Only confirms your childish mentality and behaviour. (want to be in my gang) + (ill let you be leader)
    C. Grow up sunshine. I wont be conquering the world . but I will build up a trade name people can trust via advertisement marketing and awareness. While your courting blossoms into friendships. continues on the web.

Hmmmm.... Nice intelligent response

to finalise and finish. that comment above was your only educated response or best effort at a reply to anything I answered you back on other than a diverted remark.

SIR

Posts: 2,124 in just over a year you have been a member of boards. I wounder what you do in your spare time. But that figure explains to me why you rate yourself so high on the forum. your more to be pitied.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭Firblog

Jayus lads, I dodged away for a day or two and war broke out...

I've a query I hope someone can answer, I recently contacted ESB gas about their prices ( had been told that anyone with a gas metre could change ) and they seemed to be very expensive - roughly 40c per unit as compared to calor which is as stated earlier.
    Obviously they are talking about 2 different units of measurement, Calor use cubic metres of gas; what is natural gas usage measured in? And do they deliver equal energy? when burned/used?

Firblog wrote: »

I've a query I hope someone can answer, I recently contacted ESB gas about their prices ( had been told that anyone with a gas metre could change ) and they seemed to be very expensive - roughly 40c per unit as compared to calor which is as stated earlier.
    Obviously they are talking about 2 different units of measurement, Calor use cubic metres of gas; what is natural gas usage measured in? And do they deliver equal energy? when burned/used?

Apologies for that.
    Calor use 2 types of measurement, meter volume m3 or by litres delivered. It is always best to use m3 as this is converted gas. LPG in its liquid form will use circa 10% of its own energy to convert itself from its liquid form to a gas form, so if you are paying for a 1,000 litres of LPG, you are really only getting 900 litres of net energy from it. If you are paying them for m3 then it is metered in its converted gas form & then you only pay for the actual fuel you use.

Nat Gas European standard of energy is 10.8kwh/m3 but in Ireland it is slightly higher energy content. LPG has an energy content of 25.87kwh/m3. Roughly it is 2.5 times the energy content of NG. These are gross figures so other deductions of circa 10% should be deducted from the useful energy but not from the billed volume.

Bord Gais use 11.4kwh/m3. Again this is gross value.

Firblog wrote: »

Its not war, its a self appointed king using tactics for alternative reasons. Loved that song by elvis. Thought it make a good headline.

In fairness them last 2 post gives you the answer for conversion. That's basics that all plumbers should know. Ill expose his reasons for the conversions and the reasons why he needs to elaborate on his posts and portrait himself as golden spanners Einstein.

I see the purpose for your conversion question . But there is no need to explain the conversion. You have a colar gas supply not a supply from board gais. colars meters used from their resovoirs cant change providers and ill provide you with a simple formula = it simply cant be done.

Sorry my answer only answers your question without coming across like a whizz kid for the purpose of self promotion. My Apologies also to the king for underminding his hierarchical system and been an obstruction to his real motive. But I think my answer best sums up your question.

But I suppose if I like others left my phone number as my biography been 0**- 9** 6**4 (I replaced some digits with *) on my home page of boards.ie for all to see and use the forum for self promotion (advertisement). That would explain a reason for keeping a pecking order system in place.

This is my gig and get off my stage. That's pitiful. I hope now you all understand why the context with the kings posts is irrelevant or alaborated on now.
    That's a cute hoor , a rouge and a scoundrel alright. Cant trust the likes of them. But I am wide to them.

I can only imagine the kings conversation with his troop of loyal sheep now that I have ruffled his feathers and undermined his self proclaimed authority . IT IS COMICAL.
    I have now brought the monarchy down. So It will probably be the case of a game of cowboys and Indians now. So I better be careful as I will be targeted (QBE been the indian ).

I hope, sooner than later, you will realise the real benefits of Boards .

I understand and realise the benefits now. Well I realise yours. ;)

I joined for different reasons. So I understand how we fell out and how wires got crossed.

You have the cheek to tell me advertisement does not work and Its a waste of money. What you really mean is free advertisement is better. You would have to sleep with one eye open. It is true every day is a learning curve. ever hear of the saying latchico.

Its not war, its a self appointed king using tactics for alternative reasons. Loved that song by elvis. Thought it make a good headline.

In fairness them last 2 post gives you the answer for conversion. That's basics that all plumbers should know. Ill expose his reasons for the conversions and the reasons why he needs to elaborate on his posts and portrait himself as golden spanners Einstein.

I see the purpose for your conversion question . But there is no need to explain the conversion. You have a colar gas supply not a supply from board gais. colars meters used from their resovoirs cant change providers and ill provide you with a simple formula = it simply cant be done.

Sorry my answer only answers your question without coming across like a whizz kid for the purpose of self promotion. My Apologies also to the king for underminding his hierarchical system and been an obstruction to his real motive. But I think my answer best sums up your question.

But I suppose if I like others left my phone number as my biography been 0**- 9** 6**4 (I replaced some digits with *) on my home page of boards.ie for all to see and use the forum for self promotion (advertisement). That would explain a reason for keeping a pecking order system in place.

This is my gig and get off my stage. That's pitiful. I hope now you all understand why the context with the kings posts is irrelevant or alaborated on now.
    That's a cute hoor , a rouge and a scoundrel alright. Cant trust the likes of them. But I am wide to them.

I can only imagine the kings conversation with his troop of loyal sheep now that I have ruffled his feathers and undermined his self proclaimed authority . IT IS COMICAL.
    I have now brought the monarchy down. So It will probably be the case of a game of cowboys and Indians now. So I better be careful as I will be targeted (QBE been the indian ).

It's a doctor you need & if not a doctor, a priest!
    Get over yourself & move on.

Sounds like you just need a hug...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Dtp79

I understand and realise the benefits now. Well I realise yours. ;)

I joined for different reasons. So I understand how we fell out and how wires got crossed.

You have the cheek to tell me advertisement does not work and Its a waste of money. What you really mean is free advertisement is better. You would have to sleep with one eye open. It is true every day is a learning curve. ever hear of the saying latchico.

Chill will ya. Do u feel the whole world is against you?? He wasn't being cheeky he was trying to advise you what's best. I personally don't believe in advertisement either. I'm self employee 7 years without advertisement

It's a doctor you need & if not a doctor, a priest!
    Get over yourself & move on.

Sounds like you just need a hug...

your a great lad for diverting the topic. Any one with a brain has coped onto now

Dtp79 wrote: »
    Chill will ya. Do u feel the whole world is against you?? He wasn't being cheeky he was trying to advise you what's best. I personally don't believe in advertisement either. I'm self employee 7 years without advertisement

are you one of his sheep? where are you in the pecking order of ranking? the ass licker rank. How old are yous. Still playing computer games and choking the chicken id say.

I was right about the cowboys and Indians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭Dtp79

are you one of his sheep? where are you in the pecking order of ranking? the ass licker rank. How old are yous. Still playing computer games and choking the chicken id say.

Jaysus

• Registered Users Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Robbie.G

All dtp79 was saying is to calm down there's no need to be abusive Thus is also on online community and its kind of obvious you don't what to be part of it. There is nope king order that's just in you head so you have adissagreement with one member you take it out on everyone

Robbie.G wrote: »
    All dtp79 was saying is to calm down there's no need to be abusive Thus is also on online community and its kind of obvious you don't what to be part of it. There is nope king order that's just in you head so you have adissagreement with one member you take it out on everyone

no the plumbing few regulars are a close knit community and all the cowboys bullets are firing this way. my bow and arrow could not keep up with that.

if it don't concern you , outside the obvious of ye been sheep and ranking orders. why are bullets been fired in one direction .

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

Enough...

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

I am opening this thread at the request of the OP who is still looking for information re his original request.
    Any return to the arguments above will result in infractions.This is the only warning .

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭DGOBS

OP, you asked some miles back about your 'calor' meter readings, cubic meters x 25.87kw/m3 should give your usage (the kw per m3 is on your bill) then x price per kw

Hope that helps

• Registered Users Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭Firblog

DGOBS wrote: »
    OP, you asked some miles back about your 'calor' meter readings, cubic meters x 25.87kw/m3 should give your usage (the kw per m3 is on your bill) then x price per kw

Hope that helps

Cheers, was just getting to that..

So my reading was 98m3 -> 98X25.87= 2535.26kw for 80 days -> 31.6785kw per day.

Am I using alot of energy, with due regard to what I've said my heating/cooking/showering routine is? I mean the house is less than 500sq feet on each floor, and really only heating 3 rooms... just seems bloody expensive compared to the bill for natural gas that the guy I was talking to said he had.

I suppose what I'm really want is to find out am I burning alot of gas/energy or being hugely over charged