Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

tuxy wrote: »
    While the 156 is not as unreliable as some people would have you believe I know they can have major problem with the front suspension. Would the heavy v6 make this problem even worse?

Poly bush. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,881 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Lads what would I need to look out for if considering purchasing a 1.6 Vvti corolla 2002/3/4?

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-1-6/5172676

Full-20628938.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭kodute

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Not bangernomics.

Its dreamernomics at that price

kodute wrote: »
    Its dreamernomics at that price
    It's not vintage or a classic either :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Lads what would I need to look out for if considering purchasing a 1.6 Vvti corolla 2002/3/4?

Probably a pacemaker because the car is so boring and you'd be so bored driving it that you'd need a pacemaker to bump your heart back into life after a few weeks...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-1-6/5172676

Full-20628938.jpeg
    Not a whole lot to look out for in these as they are one of the most reliable cars out there. Just do all the usual checks really, Look for signs of accident damage, service history etc also make sure there is plenty of oil in the engine and that it's a golden colour.

Chances are though it probably doesn't have a service history at that age but look for service stickers in the door jams, in the engine bay, and on the windscreen etc. Edit: I just noticed that that car is a uk import so a service history is a must really and a history check would be a good idea also.

Bear in mind also that the Nct is nearly up. Id be pushing the seller to get it nct'd as part of the deal as it's now within the three month time frame so there is no excuse for them not to have it done.

166man wrote: »
    Probably a pacemaker because the car is so boring and you'd be so bored driving it that you'd need a pacemaker to bump your heart back into life after a few weeks...

We can't all be top gun pilots like you, Tom.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    Advice

Thanks. I was just reading up on oil issues with those vvti engines.

Would I be better off going for a civic around the same price do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,578 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Check your insurance first before buying a Civic!

Anyway, if all you care about is cheap, very reliable, motoring, would you not buy a (old model) Micra? That's about as reliable as any car has ever been. Also has a timing chain, so no belt changes to worry about and pay for.

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

FSH, Tax, Test and Leather, Really tempted to have a look at this....... opinions please

Rover 75 - http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/rover-75-connoisseur-elit/5474979

Thanks. I was just reading up on oil issues with those vvti engines.

Would I be better off going for a civic around the same price do you think?
    While vvti engines had a tendency to burn oil, it was mainly confined to early 00-01 examples. Tbh I wouldn't worry too much about it. As long as you keep an eye on the oil level and service the car on time there should be no issues.

As for buying a Civic instead, well it depends on the model you are looking for. If it's the 02-06 hatchback version you are after then the Corolla is definitely the more reliable car as that model Civic gives electric power steering and gearbox issues.

If it's the saloon version of the 02-06 civic you are after then it's all down to which one you prefer as this car is every bit as reliable as a corolla and is a much better built car than the hathback version of the civic.

Ded_Zebra, where are you? :p

NCT till Christmas, 320

Full-22154206.jpeg

Also people, see this ad? I got suspicious at the one pic and blank plate....

The only picture
    Full-22153684.jpeg

Oh look, it's now a 1.6!

But.... What else did I find while digging?

Used_Mitsubishi_Carisma_2001_Blue_Saloon_Petrol_Automatic_for_Sale_in_City_Of_Bristol_UK.jpg
    Used_Mitsubishi_Carisma_Saloon_1_8_Gdi_Equippe_4dr_Auto_2001_Blue_for_Sale.jpg

Real car is a 1.8 auto.

Sad bastard stealing pics. F*ck you, you c*nt of a scammer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,330 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Well spotted. I reported that add, you should do the same.

MadYaker wrote: »
    Well spotted. I reported that add, you should do the same.

Way ahead of you. C*nt is on gumtree too with multiple ad's for the same car....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

dgt wrote: »
    Ded_Zebra, where are you? :p

NCT till Christmas, 320

Full-22154206.jpeg

Not even I would want a 1.4 vento but stick in a n/a Diesel I'll be all over it :pac:

I really will have to buy one at some point, Maybe I'll trade the Lancia for one.....

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Not even I would want a 1.4 vento but stick in a n/a Diesel I'll be all over it :pac:

I really will have to buy one at some point, Maybe I'll trade the Lancia for one.....

BANNED

NCT till April, 1250

Call lady Anthony on....
    Full-22158632.jpeg

BANNED

I knew that would wind you up :P I'm going to keep that car until I'm rich enough to drive it daily or it disolves back into the earth from where it came:o

I see the sig2big police got me :(

I knew that would wind you up :P I'm going to keep that car until I'm rich enough to drive it daily or it disolves back into the earth from where it came:o

I see the sig2big police got me :(

I think the Russian steel issue was long solved by then, albeit too late for Fiat's image....

The brown dust on the floor in my shed would tell you different:p:(

But realistically speaking it's not too bad at all. No worse than any other car of the same age that put up with the salty UK roads. Probably better than most because it was Waxoiled when it was new :)

The brown dust on the floor in my shed would tell you different:p:(

But realistically speaking it's not too bad at all. No worse than any other car of the same age that put up with the salty UK roads. Probably better than most because it was Waxoiled when it was new :)

As long as it's not the body all's grand :) more than likely either doors or suspension components.... That reminds me, must waxoyl some of the cars here while I have the time....!

I'm half thinking of making a thread out of this but we'll see where it goes, I think it's an interesting topic, what is it that makes those Corolla's reliable anyway?

Well here's another car that you don't like :p

lots of test, belt done plus full service history, one owner. Sure it's not exciting but it'll get you where you need to go.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-avensis/5477664

Full-22159132.jpeg
    As long as it's not the body all's grand :) more than likely either doors or suspension components.... That reminds me, must waxoyl some of the cars here while I have the time....!

Waxoil is super stuff alright although I have seen some posters saying that there is some other more modern rust protection that is much better. Might be worth looking into.

Speaking of that shape Avensis, my dad lovingly tells me the story now and again ( happened about 12 years ago) of when a Garda Avensis in that shape shot by him past Navan Ford, only for him to get to the Silver Tankard and see the same Garda car stopped, bonnet up and smoke gushing from the bay..... :pac:

NCT till June, 1650

Full?id=22157826

Well here's another car that you don't like :p

lots of test, belt done plus full service history, one owner. Sure it's not exciting but it'll get you where you need to go.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-avensis/5477664

Full-22159132.jpeg

Don't actually mind the petrol one's even though Dad's 2001 2.0 VVTi was sh1te and was an awful car tbh, but I just don't see why the Corollas are so great, they're hideously boring!

Don't get me wrong, I like Toyota's but only the Levin's and the more upper end ones, can't really say much for the mainstream stuff. You get me?
    unkel wrote: »
    Aye the last generation of the reliable Nissans. Primera included!

Can't see how you think the Almera was more reliable or could be run for less money than the Micra. Base Micra has nothing electric, no frills, nothing can break.

If I only had less than a grand to spend buying a car (which would keep its value), €170 for tax and the least possible on insurance, zero budget for maintenance, apart from the yearly €55 NCT and needed 40MPG, the only car I would consider is the Micra 1l

The car I'd have is a Fiat Seicento, does everything your Micra does but has character and, I'd gather is a much better drive.

'04 Hyundai Trajet

Low miles, very long NCT and taxed for 3 months. Serviced and 4 good tyres. Asking €1,500

View2-22150908.jpeg

I tend to agree with people calling them "Hyundai Tragic" as they are a pretty spartan yoke. Driving it would be pretty depressing if you like your cars. I've 3 kids myself and never even considered buying an MPV. Rather put my genitals in a blender :D

But if you do need 7 seats and have little money, it would do the trick...

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

The car I'd have is a Fiat Seicento, does everything your Micra does but has character and, I'd gather is a much better drive.

I love the Seicento! Great little car! If I were on above very tight budget and had a family member who could bail me out if things went wrong, I'd have it over a Micra in a heartbeat ;)

Did I mention I've never driven a modern car that could do a zero point turn on a narrow road (as in a just do a 180 degrees turn) like a Seicento can :D

My ads on adverts.ie:

Tragedy, Tramps Jet etc.... That's if it'd drive, known for gearbox issues! Bleuch.....

Mind you, don't know if this is any better!

NCT till Feb, 1250

2.4 Petril
    Full-22154202.jpeg