Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭NobodyImportant

HRV doesnt make too much sense these days. They are pretty thirsty, boot although a reasonable size, has a relatively high loading level. Interior is pretty 90's, and 90's trying to be 'cool' too. Blue dials? Oh dear.

But they arent too cramped inside, dont look half bad either. Handling isnt so bad, ok, its no hot hatch, but you can cock up a wheel mid corner and its pretty entertaining in a way.

The later 5 door models were a bit more mature inside, more pratical for famlieis although the boot shrank but were still thirsty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

Any one able the spot any good bangernomics material with NCT and a bit of tax?
    I'll only be driving it for 3-6 months. Don't care if it falls apart after.
    Small petrol engine would be preferable to keep the insurance cost low.

Not bother what the car is as long as it would get me through the few months. Would be nice if it was just under 1k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

Any one able the spot any good bangernomics material with NCT and a bit of tax?
    I'll only be driving it for 3-6 months. Don't care if it falls apart after.
    Small petrol engine would be preferable to keep the insurance cost low.

Not bother what the car is as long as it would get me through the few months. Would be nice if it was just under 1k.

Where in the country are you located and how far are you willing to travel?

I'm in and around Dublin and Longford. 200 km radius. If its a decent yoke I don't mind travelling a bit further. In don't really have a problem with what is is as long as its not a Micra or a Multipla :)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/fiat-punto/5408280

What do ye think. Plenty of NCT looks to be in good shape beside the pink stereo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

I'm in and around Dublin and Longford. 200 km radius. If its a decent yoke I don't mind travelling a bit further. In don't really have a problem with what is is as long as its not a Micra or a Multipla :)

95-99 VW Polo 1.0l. They're actually great cars and from what I have seen, piss easy cars to work on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

166man wrote: »
    95-99 VW Polo 1.0l. They're actually great cars and from what I have seen, piss easy cars to work on!

Yeah.that was me he watched put a t belt into a polo as well as a full service :p They are easy to do work on :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

A 00-02 facelift model would be a better bet imo. They are much improved over the pre-facelift imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭johndaman66

I had one myself for a spell. A similar scenario to evolutionqy7 it was to fill a gap until funds improved, allbeit a longer gap. They are ok, not the worst car ever, far from the best, probably a bit over-rated really if you ask me.

Not sure if it is a trait in all of them but the one I had felt very unstable at motorway speeds with recommended tyres under it, a lot moreso than any other similar sized small hatchback I've ever drove. If you are planning a lot of motorway driving evolutionqy7 I think I'd recommend you steer clear of the Polo. Not that any similarly sized small car fits that bill well but you see so many people doing it.

How about a Micra? Some people have a serious hang up on them and wouldn't go near them on account of them being a Micra. If it were me and I wanted something to get me by for a few months I would drive one and just get on with it. Do look our for rust in them as it can sometimes be a problem in them.

This one
    for sale in Meath seems reasonable.

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    A 00-02 facelift model would be a better bet imo. They are much improved over the pre-facelift imo.

They command a price premium and have softer gearboxes AFAIK...

If I didn't have two already, I'd be all over this...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/t-spark-alfa-romeo-2l-petrol-900euro/5400634

NCT AND TAX until 2014, 2.0 and €900 asking, knock a €100 off the asking, fill her up with fuel and drive on! Savage value right there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,578 ✭✭✭✭unkel

NCT AND TAX until 2014

Tax till end of May '14, that's nearly €600 worth of tax right there. Great find. Provided the belt is not due until at least then!

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

unkel wrote: »
    Tax till end of May '14, that's nearly €600 worth of tax right there. Great find. Provided the belt is not due until at least then!

Ah would ya stop about the belts, you can buy the kit for buttons up North and pay an Indy to do it cheap enough. Sure a dealer would charge about €400, a good Indy should have it done for half that. Money well spent and its relatively worry free driving after that. The tax is an incredible bonus, if I had the money I really do reckon I'd go to view it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I'm not an indy I'll have you know :pac:

But belt kits for as little as £50 for a gates kit ain't a bad price ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

I'm sure we've seen it before but its always worth a post.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/bmw-525-tds-touring-e34-new-nct/5410082

dgt wrote: »
    I'm not an indy I'll have you know :pac:

But belt kits for as little as £50 for a gates kit ain't a bad price ;)

Exactly, buy you a turbo or something or a c*nt of a corsa and you'd be happy out...:D

Seriously tempted by that 156....:o

Ah would ya stop about the belts

I'd drive bangernomics cars with overdue belt changes, but if I bought an Alfa, and the belt was overdue or nearly due, it would have to be changed and the cost of it has to be factored in.

Most of us are fanboys but some of us are realists too ;)

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

I'd drive bangernomics cars with overdue belt changes, but if I bought an Alfa, and the belt was overdue or nearly due, it would have to be changed and the cost of it has to be factored in.

Most of us are fanboys but some of us are realists too ;)

I'm also realistic...;)

You buy for €800, get the belt done for €200, and you have a taxed and tested 156 for €1k with plenty of spec and the right wheels, where's the problem? You'd also shift it in 6 months time for what you paid for it.

I'm also realistic...;)
    get the belt done for €200

For €200? :eek:

Your mechanic is awfully cheap ;)

Alfa Indy does it for about €500 last time I looked. And that's just for fitting the standard kit, no waterpump, no variator)

Honestly, have you got an Alfa 156 twincam engine belt done for €200 all-in? (not talking doing it yourself, mates rates etc. ovbiously)

My ads on adverts.ie:

You didn't read my post. Buy the parts up north as dgt said himself for 50 quid and pay an Indy the guts of 3 hours labour to do it. If we even said €300 for the job the car is still a bargain. Alfa dealers charge about €450 for this job these days, any Indy charging €500 is ripping the piss out of you and frankly if its bangernomics, supply your own parts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

For €200? :eek:

Your mechanic is awfully cheap ;)

Alfa Indy does it for about €500 last time I looked. And that's just for fitting the standard kit, no waterpump, no variator)

Honestly, have you got an Alfa 156 twincam engine belt done for €200 all-in? (not talking doing it yourself, mates rates etc. ovbiously)

What alfa Indy do you use?

Don baker charges a 250-300 for the labour and that's a full days labour. There's 136 or so bolts to take off before you can change it.

And you won't find much better indies than don either.

Is 500 what you'd pay including belts etc, or just for the actual fitting?

Picked up the Punto. Turns out the guy lives only around the corner from me. He let it go at 950.

Pretty much dead power and steering but I only need it till December, January till I get a company car :)

Engine seems to be in good nick. A couple of scratches here and there, otherwise in great shape.

You didn't read my post. Buy the parts up north as dgt said himself for 50 quid and pay an Indy the guts of 3 hours labour to do it. If we even said €300 for the job the car is still a bargain. Alfa dealers charge about €450 for this job these days, any Indy charging €500 is ripping the piss out of you and frankly if its bangernomics, supply your own parts.

I know you know your Alfa's way better than me, but does that 50 quid include both cam belt and aux belt as well as all the tensioners and idlers?

Scortho wrote: »
    Is 500 what you'd pay including belts etc, or just for the actual fitting?

All parts included. VAT included too. That was what a well known indy was charging a few years ago. Mind, could be cheaper these days, many things involving labour are cheaper now!

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭jharr100

Alfa Alfa alfa etc etc ..

zzzzz....

Buy the parts up north as dgt said himself for 50 quid and pay an Indy the guts of 3 hours labour to do it.

You didn't answer my question. Have you had your Alfa timing belt changed for €200 all-in?

My ads on adverts.ie:

You didn't answer my question. Have you had your Alfa timing belt changed for €200 all-in?

I haven't yet. Because my belt etc doesn't need doing.

I'll put it this way for you, for someone who has paid to have the belt done. Last time it was done on my 156 for labour, and parts it cost €400 dead, VAT included. ;)

That was at an Indy too. Think it was 3-4 hours labour. Buying your own parts etc would knock a decent chunk of the price off that.

Look, call a spade a spade here, buy it at €800 as discussed earlier, go ahead and spend the €400 belting it etc. knock the €600 tax off it, and its a freshly belted, NCT'd 156 with climate and leather for €600.

Now if you're going to argue that then I can't say much more other than best of luck. :)

Now if you're going to argue that

No I'm not. I'm the realist, remember :D

If it was a Busso, I'd nearly be tempted myself :)

My ads on adverts.ie:

All parts included. VAT included too. That was what a well known indy was charging a few years ago. Mind, could be cheaper these days, many things involving labour are cheaper now!

I know don baker quoted me 300 for labour as its a full days labour. By the time I look at getting a metal impellor water pump, aux belt, tensioners, idlers and cam belt It'd be around 600-650.
    Thankfully on the busso's its not as often as on the twin sparks:) itll be done early anyway

No I'm not. I'm the realist, remember :D

If it was a Busso, I'd nearly be tempted myself :)

Meant to ask you btw, what's happening with your bus, up for sale yet? :D

BMW on the horizon?