Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Huawei G510

• 11-04-2013 2:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭

I have a HTC desire(original three years old exactly)
    Starting to see the limitations in it now and was thinking about a nexus 4.
    Then I hear about the Huawei G510 dual core for half the price and more than half the hassle(dewpends on how easy it is to unlock it from vodafone UK,or if VF ire get it too!)
    any any thoughts on this?

http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/50828/huawei-ascend-g510-vodafone-android

Just wondering will the developer community are going to take it on?

Could be the job for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

seanin4711 wrote: »
    I have a HTC desire(original three years old exactly)
    Starting to see the limitations in it now and was thinking about a nexus 4.
    Then I hear about the Huawei G510 dual core for half the price and more than half the hassle(dewpends on how easy it is to unlock it from vodafone UK,or if VF ire get it too!)
    any any thoughts on this?

http://www.pocket-lint.com/news/50828/huawei-ascend-g510-vodafone-android

Just wondering will the developer community are going to take it on?

Could be the job for me!

It looks exactly like the y 300 in meteor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 nucleardublin

Looking at the specs on both Handsets there are some differences:

Bigger Display 4.5" (G510) compared to 4" (Y300)
    Processor - 1.2Ghz Dual Core versus 1Ghz Dual Core
    G510 supports NFC

I would presume Vodafone Ireland will launch soon it if it is available in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

Looking at the specs on both Handsets there are some differences:

Bigger Display 4.5" (G510) compared to 4" (Y300)
    Processor - 1.2Ghz Dual Core versus 1Ghz Dual Core
    G510 supports NFC

I would presume Vodafone Ireland will launch soon it if it is available in the UK.

what is NFC?
    thanks

what is NFC?
    thanks

Near Field Communication ,
    Works similar to Bluetooth found in every thing from phones to smart tellys ,

I found it near useless being honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Usually Amazon are cheaper, but not in this case. Its £186.00. Go for it, but check Argos, Asda ,etc., in case you miss a better offer:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭djfattony2000

Usually Amazon are cheaper, but not in this case. Its £186.00. Go for it, but check Argos, Asda ,etc., in case you miss a better offer:).

Amazon .de 198.89e

http://www.amazon.de/Huawei-Smartphone-Touchscreen-Dual-Core-Megapixel/dp/B00B5LQDA4/ref=sr_1_19?m=A3JWKAKR8XB7XF&s=ce-de&ie=UTF8&qid=1365795563&sr=1-19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭irishpancake

Gatling wrote: »

But VF UK is

£130 = €152 + €3.50 for PM.... or free if new customer.

That's €155.50 max

Not bad!!

But VF UK is

£130 = €152 + €3.50 for PM.... or free if new customer.

That's €155.50 max

Not bad!!

I was going by the 186 quote from VF which I thought was sterling price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

I asked in the Vodafone store on Grafton Street on Thursday evening and was told the Handset was launching in Ireland this weekend @ €149 Prepay.

Don't see it online yet....

this is the next thing!
    plus how to root it and get rid of VF bloat asap!
    Also could we do the old "get a tesco sim and move to vodafone " to get it cheaper?
    whats your thoughts?

I asked in the Vodafone store on Grafton Street on Thursday evening and was told the Handset was launching in Ireland this weekend @ €149 Prepay.

Don't see it online yet....

That's even better....and don't forget fatcheese

€24 cashback on Prepay when "a" number is ported from a SIM to VF!!!

this is the next thing!
    plus how to root it and get rid of VF bloat asap!
    Also could we do the old "get a tesco sim and move to vodafone " to get it cheaper?
    whats your thoughts?

Rooting, one-click, dunno if it works, but the guy seems confident....

http://www.oneclickroot.com/phone/huawei-ascend-g510/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Its is Vodafone on o Connell street limerick for 149.99

Just popped in there

20€ off when you move from another network.
    tesco sim got already.
    How does fat cheese work?

Rooting, one-click, dunno if it works, but the guy seems confident....

http://www.oneclickroot.com/phone/huawei-ascend-g510/

will oneclick root unlock it too from VF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

will oneclick root unlock it too from VF?

No...rooting and unlock network are different things...

Edit..Sorry, Capn, just saw your reply in similar vein!!!

probably take modaco and XDA a week or so to formulate roms and boot loader unlock!

512mb is not much but better than 180mb on htc desire!

HTC Desire also has 512mb RAM. I assume you mean internal storage, the G510 has 4Gb I think.

yes internal storage,sucks balls bigtime!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Simi

I hate to burst everyones bubble but a dual core processor paired with 512mb ram is an exercise in pointlessness. Once you go past gingerbread, you need 768mb as a bare minimum! All the low memory killer scripts and trimmed down roms in the world won't change this inescapable truth.

Simi wrote: »
    I hate to burst everyones bubble but a dual core processor paired with 512mb ram is an exercise in pointlessness. Once you go past gingerbread, you need 768mb as a bare minimum! All the low memory killer scripts and trimmed down roms in the world won't change this inescapable truth.

well flip that then!

You know this for a fact do you??

My missus G300 is running Stock+ ROM, which is ICS, on a single core 512MB RAM with no problem whatsoever....

Huawei are providing ICS on Stock ROM out of the box.

I'm sure Cyda and Dazzozo and other Devs on Modaco would be delighted to have your input, as they are all fools and labouring under the misapprehension that they can provide ICS and JB ROMs running without a problem on the hardware you seem to regard so little.

Go on, give them some of your very valuable insights into how just how bad the G300 is....

There are ICS ROM's available even for the ZTE Blade, which I had for a long time, and the devs did extraordinary stuff with the hardware available on that marvellous device.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Simi

I'm sure Cyda and Dazzozo and other Devs on Modaco would be delighted to have your input, as they are all fools and labouring under the misapprehension that they can provide ICS and JB ROMs running without a problem on the hardware you seem to regard so little.

Actually I'm using a galaxy S with cm10.1, my Dad has a g300 running meijarom and my Brother has a zte blade which until recently was running cm10.1. I regularly flash their phones with the latest and greatest roms around and their chief complaint is always the same, it's slow/laggy. Android 4+ needs more memory plain and simple. In the end my brother insisted I downgrade his blade to gingerbread and he hasn't complained since. I had to delete apps that ran in the background on my dads phone and give him a list of apps he couldn't install again if he wanted his phone to be useable.

I greatly appreciate the efforts of all the devs on XDA and modaco, especially Pawit who maintains cyanogenmod on the SGS. He has done a fantastic job and I am very happy running cm10.1, but I like everyone else have had to learn to live within the confines of a device with 512mb ram. This means no facebook, no whatsapp, no viber or any other memory hogging apps and very little in the way of multi-tasking. Exactly the kinds of things a person buying a new android phone or even buying a smart phone for the first time might want to use.

What I'm trying to say is that I'm all for pushing the limits of old hardware, but a persons first experience with android shouldn't be learning to track down and kill memory hogging apps or flashing lmk scripts or trimmed down roms only to realise in the end, they'll simply have to give up apps that run in the background.

Thanks for getting back Simi, I think we will have to disagree.

I see like myself, you like flashing [ROM's!!!] and getting the most out of what is limited hardware, but comes at a budget price.

Myself, I got the SGS3, and even though it's quad-core, with 1GB RAM, but it is not without problems, and these can even include the dreaded SDS...

I have the bad chip!!!

but the kernel is up-to-date, little red hyphen ! and all, due to rooting, and no can OTA from Samsung any more, but who cares....

I also had to install Lagfix, cos it will lag eventually, and you need to fix that...

But this phone costs €400-€500 at least!!!

I should not have to go down the Custom ROM route with a phone which costs so much??

The point is, you can pay €100-€150 for a phone, like the Huawei's we are discussing, dual or single cores, restricted RAM [512]...

[you can get loads of China phones for less, which have almost all 512 RAM, unless you pay more!!! all running ICS or JB now]

but it can be made to be a perfectly usable everyday device, you can receive and send phone calls, sms, G+, FB, WhatsApp, Viber, YouTube, Flash, etc, etc.

The experience is reasonably good, you get what you pay for, and you can make a €100 phone into a perfectly usable device, if your budget is restricted.... and let's face it, everyone's is.

It's like when people simply had to have the latest desktop, or laptop, running the latest OS, when they had a perfectly usable, and fast enough PC/Laptop running Xp, or even Windoze 98.

It is simply never totally necessary for normal users to have the latest, leading edge device to carry out everyday tasks...

It makes no sense, except to those selling these high end devices...

Cheers, and thanks for listening...it takes one nerd to know another brother!!

fatcheese if i am ordering the phone from VF online ?

"€24.00 Cashback on Vodafone Prepaid new connection where your number is ported over"

and 20€ off if i go into bricks and mortar shop to transfer my number(tesco-VF).

Could I be getting this phone for 104€???

Jaysus this phone will be cheap enough in the end!hopefully!
    any word on a free unlock???
    thanks guys and gals!
    s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Considering getting this, Have a lumia 800 now. Windows is too tied down for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,961 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I have had a g300 for almost a year. It has over 100 apps loaded, two 4x4 widgets & live weather wallpaper!

It copes well & my go task widget tells me that its using around 85-90 percent ram. The key is choosing the right apps. Changing from go launcher to ADW launcher was a revelation. The phone was suddenly so much faster. Replacing Dolphin with Boat lite had a similar effect.
    Many apps are designed for powerful phones but there is usually an alternative that's half the size.

I am waiting for Huawei's version of the Galaxy Note.

By the way it's not rooted. Just standard Voda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,734 ✭✭✭Fowler87

I see the G510 is available on the vodafone online store for €150. Gonna wait for some reviews but does anyone think it will be worth upgrading from the G300 as the features are similar enough bar the dual core processor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Viscosity1

Switched from a G300 to the G510 yesterday. I had found the G300 a little slow once I'd upgraded to ICS.

Tried FilmOn app last night and happy enough with the performance. They have switched the menu and back/cancel buttons around which took some getting used to.

It kinda reminds me a little of a Samsung SII which is probably acceptable given the price of 150 new on VF.

Got it unlocked here.
    http://stores.ebay.com/phoneunlocker82

hi
    I can get 20€ off for switching to VF.
    is the fatcheese offer of 24€ the same thing or can i get this as well?
    (jeez i am greedy!)

anyone know?
    thanks

Much vf bloatware on the handset?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭ccarr

Really like the look of this phone
    I currently have Iphone3gs would this be improvement. Iphone starting to give trouble
    Previous to this i had San Fran/Blade cant remember the exact name of it lol

i would be using the phone for browsing/Facebook/viber/email

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,961 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

That revue makes the g300 look better than the g510. It gives no indication of how the 510 will perform with a better launcher etc

For example my g300 returns to homescreen pretty instantly & my drop down menu is fast.

Would the better option be to install ics on the g510?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

Would this be easy to unlock? I really don't want to have to leave 3!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Viscosity1 wrote: »
    Switched from a G300 to the G510 yesterday. I had found the G300 a little slow once I'd upgraded to ICS.

Tried FilmOn app last night and happy enough with the performance. They have switched the menu and back/cancel buttons around which took some getting used to.

It kinda reminds me a little of a Samsung SII which is probably acceptable given the price of 150 new on VF.

Got it unlocked here.
    http://stores.ebay.com/phoneunlocker82

Have to say I found the G300 slow even on GB. ICS just made it worse. Moving to an Ace 2 with Dual Core and 768mb on GB was a huge leap in performance. The volume on the G300 and SQ for music was better than the Ace 2 though. Camera much better on the Ace 2 though. The Ace 2 2nd hand is around 120~150. Still on GB but with JB due any day.

If I had a single core, slow and with low ram the G510 looks like a decent leap for not much money.

ciano1 wrote: »
    Would this be easy to unlock? I really don't want to have to leave 3!

4 sterling on ebay
    link in modaco somewhere
    have a peek

ccarr wrote: »
    Really like the look of this phone
    I currently have Iphone3gs would this be improvement. Iphone starting to give trouble
    Previous to this i had San Fran/Blade cant remember the exact name of it lol

i would be using the phone for browsing/Facebook/viber/email

The wonderful ZTE Blade.....god's gift to those who like to dabble in ROM's flashing, general nerd stuff.

There was a huge thread here about it, and on Modaco, and it's still goin'.

I cut my Android teeth on the Blade, at a very old age!!!!

hi
    I can get 20€ off for switching to VF.
    is the fatcheese offer of 24€ the same thing or can i get this as well?
    (jeez i am greedy!)

anyone know?
    thanks

It is in addition, you gotta wait for it to come through, and sometimes, it never does.....

you gotta buy on-line from Voda, using the link in fatcheese.

That's all I know, why not go for it, I don't need a new phone, got too many already, in fact, I'll have at least one up on Ads, or Done-deal, or somewhere shortly, cos I need the money.....

it'll be cheeeep!! as chiiips.

Yeah, but why do they still say stuff like this:
    If you can strip out all the manufacturer software and use vanilla Android, you'll have a better time (and invalidate your warranty).

You don't invalidate your warranty, in the EU, you have an automatic 2-year warranty as of right within the EU....

EU directive in question is 1999/44/EC.

Please all read here.....http://piana.eu/root
    Rooting your phone

Does rooting your device (e.g. an Android phone) and replacing its operating system with something else void your statutory warranty, if you are a consumer?

In short: No.

Just the fact that you modified or changed the software of your device, is not a sufficient reason to void your statutory warranty. As long as you have bought the device as a consumer in the European Union.

A bit longer:

Directive 1999/44/CE dictates¹ that any object meeting certain criteria (including telephones, computers, routers etc.) being sold to a consumer inside the European Union, has to carry a warranty from the seller that the device will meet the quality that you would expect for such a device for a period of 2 years.

A telephone is an example of such a device and is an object that comprises many parts, from the case to the screen to the radio, to a mini-computer, to the battery, to the software that runs it. If any of these parts³ stop working in those 2 years, the seller has to fix or replace them. What is more these repairs should not cost the consumer a single cent — the seller has to cover the expenses (Directive 1999/44/CE, §3). If the seller has any expenses for returning it to the manufacturer, this is not your problem as a consumer.

If your device becomes defective in the first 6 months, it is presumed that the defect was there all along, so you should not need to prove anything. If your device becomes defective after the first 6 months, but before 2 years run out, you are still covered. The difference is only that if the defect arises now, the seller can claim that the defect was caused by some action that was triggered by non-normal use of the device.

this rooting invalidates your warranty is BS, unless you can be proven to have caused a hardware fault by something you have done, software-wise.

They need to be able to prove this.

ppl need to get assertive....

And this guy also says.....this kinda shyte:
    If you absolutely must pull this phone out of your pocket in public, at least cover your shame with a case.

Shame???

It's like all those ppl who would not be seen dead in a Lidl or Aldi 6 years ago, where do they all shop now???

Feckin snob!!!

This looks at least as good as my plastic S3...which costs around €300 more, at least.

if looks are your ting!!!

Yeah, that's more like it, two decent reviews, one 4****, the other 5*****

Personally, if I were in the hunt for a new phone, I would go fro this, if you can get it for anywhere inder €150, better still if fatcheese came through....

unlock for a fiver, use tesco, or 48month, or some cheap provider, can't go wrong, IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭skaface

I am a first time buyer with smartphones, and i was going to get the Galaxy Ace.. it,s on offer for 80euro in Carphone Warehouse atm.. But having seen this Phone, i think i,ll get it.. 150 Payg on Vodafone..Great value :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭balcan

skaface wrote: »
    I am a first time buyer with smartphones, and i was going to get the Galaxy Ace.. it,s on offer for 80euro in Carphone Warehouse atm.. But having seen this Phone, i think i,ll get it.. 150 Payg on Vodafone..Great value :):)

Don't bother with the ace
    Wife got one and it's junk.I got a g300 at Xmas and was very impressed by it.only for getting a HTC one x second hand and passing on the g300 to herself I'd by getting a g510 and have saved myself a few quid

balcan wrote: »
    Don't bother with the ace
    Wife got one and it's junk.I got a g300 at Xmas and was very impressed by it.only for getting a HTC one x second hand and passing on the g300 to herself I'd by getting a g510 and have saved myself a few quid

How much was the HTC One?...

it is really a class apart, but it's still only a smart-phone.

I'd say you could make that G510 fly, with the proper ROM on it, seems Huawei have loaded their Emotion UI GUI on it, and it is far from AOSP...that's stupid, IMHO.

Trying to compete with Sense/TW??

Most Android doods like AOSP, gives freedom to put your mark on the device.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I wouldn't say the Ace was junk. Its just an old phone (2yrs+) and it was mid to budget phone when it was released at the start of 2011.

The G300 is a year newer which is a lot in phone time. and it has a higher spec, bigger screen, more ram, faster and newer software, Android 4.0 vs 2.3 on the Ace. The camera is just ok on the G300. I'd be curious if they improved the camera on the G510.