Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hot Press

• 01-04-2013 6:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭

Just looking at Reeling in the Years there and they showed when Hot Press magazine started. Ive never actually read the magazine and dont know anyone who does.

It always seemed like a pretentious magazine to me so never been that interested in it.

Do any Boardsies read it or do you know someone who does?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Magazines?
    Sure ya can read everything on the net now

• Registered Users Posts: 12,789 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Just keep towels and bedclothes in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Not read Airing Cupboard for decades and it was always full of the most appallingly "right on" commentary. Obviously it had a valuable role back when Irish mass media ignored all pop music but now I have no idea what it would be useful for bar the boost of seeing your act named in print.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Ive never actually read the magazine and dont know anyone who does.

It always seemed like a pretentious magazine to me so never been that interested in it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

It had its place in society, although I agree it was a bit "right on"... good phrase to describe it.
    Our dear president Michael Higgins used to write for it sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Can ya still get "Womans Own" OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Chucken wrote: »

Its always come across as pretentious in their adverts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I read it every now and then for a while there about 4 or 5 years ago. Was a bit shít, started getting NME or Q after that. Then I discovered the true power of the internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

It's mostly pretentious middle-class champagne socialist drivel. Open Letters to Ministers and all that jazz. It might have been considered radical in its time, but is now just a mouthpiece for middle-aged angsty types who haven't realised that the revolution is over - and that they lost.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

I worked for them in the mid 90's and they were amazing to work for. Fun family atmosphere. Cant afford to buy it regularly now but still love to get it from time to time. It is still well respected in the music industry and plays a big role in helping break bands through.

They have been and still are great at getting important messages out there. I love the support to the anti water fluoridation campaign they are giving and find their work well researched and put together.

Maybe im biased as that was the best working life I had and I miss it big style. Niall Stokes is one life's true gentlemen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Sounds like I'm missing out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Ava_e

Journalists who thought they wrote like Hunter S. Thompson

If I've an image in my mind of people who liked Hot Press it's people who worshiped The Frames, and dressed like them. Jesus.

Last time I checked there was a paywall on their site.

Finger on the pulse as always.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I thought it was cool in school. Mistakenly. It was always very self congratulatory somehow.

But there was frick all else back then, it had its place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭DainBramage

the problem with Hot Press is they believed the Irish music scene was on a par with what was happening in the UK, US etc when clearly its not.

So any half arsed band like the Frames, JJ72, jerry fish and a million and one other also-rans were feted as the next Beatles.
    I found its format was quite boring and never figured out if it was a music magazine or current affairs for students.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

the problem with Hot Press is they believed the Irish music scene was on a par with what was happening in the UK, US etc when clearly its not.

So any half arsed band like the Frames, JJ72, jerry fish and a million and one other also-rans were feted as the next Beatles.
    I found its format was quite boring and never figured out if it was a music magazine or current affairs for students.

Lots of covershots of Glen Hansard looking serious and 'deep' over the years. Usually in a plaid shirt.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Magazines?
    Sure ya can read everything on the net now

I hate these stupid answers.

Just because something is available on the net doesn't make it any way superior.

Nor does the web supercede a magazine, newspaper, book or anything else that is still available in hard copy.

I remember being sneered at in a pub a while back by a snotty little tart because I asked the barman to check something for me on Aertel.
    "Aertel, OMG you're like so 1980s", or words to that effect.

So I challenged the KPMG daughter type twat to a duel.
    Lets see who'll be the first to find the winner of the 4.35 in The Curragh.
    Me with the pub remote control versus you with your iPhone which we both place on the bar counter as soon as one of us wins.

"Ready Stedy go...."
    I pressed 4 buttons on the remote and within 5 seconds the results of every race that day were on the TV screen for the whole pub to see.

She had got as far as typing 'racing resu' on her search engine.

It shut the scarlet faced cow up big time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

Witchie wrote: »
    I worked for them in the mid 90's and they were amazing to work for. Fun family atmosphere. Cant afford to buy it regularly now but still love to get it from time to time. It is still well respected in the music industry and plays a big role in helping break bands through.

They have been and still are great at getting important messages out there. I love the support to the anti water fluoridation campaign they are giving and find their work well researched and put together.

Maybe im biased as that was the best working life I had and I miss it big style. Niall Stokes is one life's true gentlemen.

bit of the old confirmation bias as well as good memories there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Does Olaf Tyranesan still write for them?

He's an insufferable douche.

"Oh I smoked drugs once. Check me out. I met famous people and smoked drugs with them. Aren't I a star? I'm going to write my memoirs even though I have nothing of interest to say. Amn't I amazing?"

Also - to what degree are they on the anti-fluoridation train? I hear them mention it in their ads. Are they in the mind-control camp or the possible health risks, we should study this further camp?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

Read it religiously back in the 80's - yeah I know I'm ancient ;) And I papered my Bedroom with its covers. It was great then. I buy it from time to time now but not too interested in it - if theres an article you want to read now you will probably get a link to it on Facebook or Twitter.

But yeah it was brilliant in the old days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Roddy Doyle was their patron saint of letters wasn't he? David Norris their favourite gay and your one, the Labour TD, their favourite university educated feminist.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

I read/bought it a few times - but I am not enough of a music lover to appreciate it & their other stuff is a bit in your face.

• Registered Users Posts: 605 ✭✭✭pastorbarrett

I'm sure they never touted any of the above as 'the next Beatles'. I doubt if even the laziest music journalist would be reduced to making such a trite observation.

Agreed however that it is a product presenting its content in an aged format. On occasion they do have interesting features, but you can see easily access similar content elsewhere and for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

I used to read it for a while in the 90s.While Irish society has moved on in the meantime,judging by their ads the Hot Press team are still fighting the same battles on social issues,not realising that the war ended and their side won.Way too self-congratulatory

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Read it when I was in college alright. Felt very hip to be quaffing ones coffee in Bewleys reading either HP or In Dublin. :cool: But even then, I got a very strong whiff off Eau De Up Our Own Arses off it. Seemed very full of itself, especially when it came to the political and social commentary. I agreed with most of their views, but they were put across in a rather pretentious and preachy manner, which totally turned me off them. They were very anti FF and anti Catholic Church and their rather priggish and autocratic habits of telling people what was what, without realizing that they were doing the same things themselves.

Still, they gave a voice to a lot of people at a time who would have otherwise struggled to be heard or accepted in the main stream media, so fair play to them for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

mike65 wrote: »
    Roddy Doyle was their patron saint of letters wasn't he? David Norris their favourite gay and your one, the Labour TD, their favourite university educated feminist.

She never did become a TD, not for the want of trying mind.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Used to read it in my late teens/early twenties every week but even then the fact that they worshiped really mediocre Irish bands was evident. I liked the articles though as they "spoke" to me back then. I hadn't a clue. I'd an ex who wrote for them in his early twenties and he said they were arsehooles to work for. Egos the size of....massive things . My dad still buys it for me whenever I go home (bless him) but can't get past the first few pages as I've completely outgrown it but I imagine the young, studenty folk still "dig" it. Can't imagine anyone over 25 being able to take it seriously though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭DainBramage

I'm sure they never touted any of the above as 'the next Beatles'. I doubt if even the laziest music journalist would be reduced to making such a trite observation.

Agreed however that it is a product presenting its content in an aged format. On occasion they do have interesting features, but you can see easily access similar content elsewhere and for free.

'next Beatles' was just a figure of speech, I doubt if it was ever used. They did and still do champion some very average acts for reasons unknown.

tbh I am surprised to see it still in publication so someone still buys it.
    Good luck to them though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Also - to what degree are they on the anti-fluoridation train? I hear them mention it in their ads. Are they in the mind-control camp or the possible health risks, we should study this further camp?

Basically fluoride will make your nob fall off if you're a guy, will grow one on you if you're a girl, if transgender your head will explode. Actually everyone's head will explode. It also gives you bad breath.

That's more or less their position.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭baalthor

Years ago there was an article in HP by Eamonn McCann about the expulsion of the inhabitants of the island of Diego Garcia to make way for a US military base.

At the back of the same issue were all the ads for sex chat lines.
    Underneath each one was the disclaimer: "calls terminate Diego Garcia"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

Lapin wrote: »
    I hate these stupid answers.

Just because something is available on the net doesn't make it any way superior.

Nor does the web supercede a magazine, newspaper, book or anything else that is still available in hard copy.

I remember being sneered at in a pub a while back by a snotty little tart because I asked the barman to check something for me on Aertel.
    "Aertel, OMG you're like so 1980s", or words to that effect.

So I challenged the KPMG daughter type twat to a duel.
    Lets see who'll be the first to find the winner of the 4.35 in The Curragh.
    Me with the pub remote control versus you with your iPhone which we both place on the bar counter as soon as one of us wins.

"Ready Stedy go...."
    I pressed 4 buttons on the remote and within 5 seconds the results of every race that day were on the TV screen for the whole pub to see.

She had got as far as typing 'racing resu' on her search engine.

It shut the scarlet faced cow up big time.

Good Man!