Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My 5 Month Old Springer's First Time In The Field

• 01-04-2013 2:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭

I decided to make a video about my pup's first time in the field.
    I literally have nothing done with him only teach him is name and throw a dummy a handful of times.

Two hares got up which gave some scent to follow and was interested to see how he would react.

I took out the sound to save myself embarrassment as it would have been full of "That a boy", "Who's a good dog", Etc :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

very handsome pup ya must be very pleased with him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

look at the size of him!! is he one of castlegars beasts:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

dev110 wrote: »
    I decided to make a video about my pup's first time in the field.
    I literally have nothing done with him only teach him is name and throw a dummy a handful of times.

Two hares got up which gave some scent to follow and was interested to see how he would react.

I took out the sound to save myself embarrassment as it would have been full of "That a boy", "Who's a good dog", Etc :o

Very nice, best of luck with him

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Beautiful dog Dev110. Seems to be full of life, and eager.

Would be good to keep a video log of his progress over the coming months.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Kinzig

charlie10 wrote: »
    look at the size of him!! is he one of castlegars beasts:confused:

Its a portugese pot bellied springer!:D..seriously though hes coming on well..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Thanks lads. Ye he is from Andrew in Castlegal Spaniels.

I wanted to get him out again today but got caught up with jobs around the house.
    He was a little timid compared to how he is around the house but I know that will change once he gets used to the different scents and surroundings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

your pups looking very well dev. havent done a whole lot with mine yet either only the same. a bit of siting and staying etc. hopefully they make good dogs anyway and best of look with him

I won't be teaching this fella to stop till he is around 9 months. I also won't be putting a lead on him till then either.

I'm doing things in reverse this time.

Thats a long time dev,why so long? i always get a bit of manners on them first so they wont go too wild

I want a wilder dog compared to my other springer. I trained my first lad with Joe Irving's book so had all the manners and everything put on him in the first 6-9 months which was great but when out in the field he sometimes looks for instruction.
    What I mean by that is there are times he will stop at a ditch and wait to be told to 'get in'. He doesn't mind cover and works well but this time round I want a natural hunting dog that just works and works until he is told to stop instead of having to tell a dog to work, if ya get me.

All I am going to do with the pup is encourage him and get scent up his nose. You can see near the end of the video that he was quartering a little bit so all I have to do is get him out as much as possible and let his instinct take over.

If you ask Epointer and Terminator they will probably tell you the same thing.

i know what you mean. i find sometimes they can be a bit raw when trained that way though. i dont think cover will be a problem with these pups. i brought mine up a bogroad today for the first time and she beat through it like it was made of wool or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

i have a two year old springer out of butlerstown zappa and a monalue cristo dog and he is without doubt the best cover buster have seen to date i would put money on he would run any cover as good as any dog , so i believe u garyc007 cause them pups have similar pedigree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

I agree Dev.
    I've 2 bitches going now & the wilder one is the business. She doesn't want tricks & obedience. Recalls, casts & retrieves to hand. That's it.
    Just wont take to the other stuff. Bring her to cover & I'm as happy coz she's tearin it up. The rest I've stopped caring about & can come with experience. For now hunting is all I want. Pierglin breeding
    Other bitch needs more game & gonna get her on rabbits all summer to jump start her. Comes alive on game but minds herself a bit when not but she's younger & not fair to compare her to other bitch as she's very far on.
    Did same thing as you in the past & I get sick of telling them what to do every 2 mins.