Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish brekkie in a cafe - would you accept dairyspreads?

• 30-03-2013 8:55pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,770 ✭✭✭

This is not a poll about butter versus spreads - more about how strongy you feel about butter when having an Irish breakfast. Nor is it a debate on the healthiness of either.

This is a poll/thread on:

If you went into a cafe for breakfast and found that there was ONLY DAIRYSPREAD as an option for your toast/scone (I include Dairygold, Kerrymaid, and all the rest) would you

1) Complain/ask WTF and get up and leave your food and walk out
    2) Grit your teeth and resentfully eat your butter free toast but pick a butter friendly cafe next time
    3) Enjoy your breakfast - you might have a preference for butter but not enough for you to get raised blood pressure over
    4) Enjoy your breakfast - you prefer spreads so this affront to butter lovers is of no consequence to you

I'm curious as to the result - been in 2 cafes recently and experienced this, would/could it affect their business...

ONLY DAIRYSPREAD when you go into a cafe for an Irish brekkie - do you: 155 votes

Complain/ask WTF and get up and leave your food and walk out
    0% 1 vote
    Grit your teeth and resentfully eat your butter free toast but pick a butter friendly cafe next time
    14% 22 votes
    Enjoy your breakfast - you might prefer butter but not a big deal
    32% 51 votes
    Enjoy your breakfast - you prefer spreads so it doesn't matter
    52% 81 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Where is the Atari Jaguar option?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭Comhrá

4 - I'm using spreads as long as as I can remember. If only butter were available, that would be ok too......I'm not very fussy either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,785 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles-old

4. I like dairygold.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭nbar12

5) I couldn't give a fúck

• Registered Users Posts: 5,770 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Poll posted now guys so you can vote thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Meh, I use whatever's available.
    I don't go there for the butter like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

I hate butter and spreads so it's grand

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

This thread is so fúcking stupid and insignificant that I genuinely want to kill you, op.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Steve O

If they called it "brekkie" I wouldn't accept it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Did they have nutella?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

I'd ask the waitress to SPREAD her legs.
    See what I did there, OP?

People can be so picky sometimes, but I refuse to believe someone would get upset over the difference between butter and dairygold/kerrymaid for a once-off breakfast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Real butter in the spuds, dairygold spread on everything else. who would honestly complain about butter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

If there are the big 1kg bottles of Kandee ketchup on the table I'm walking out

Sign of a cheapskate owner

HondaSami wrote: »
    Real butter in the spuds, dairygold spread on everything else. who would honestly complain about butter?

You would, if it wasn't in yer spuds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Steve O wrote: »
    You would, if it wasn't in yer spuds.

I doubt there are many restaurants using real butter in spuds tbh.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    If there are the big 1kg bottles of Kandee ketchup on the table I'm walking out

Sign of a cheapskate owner

Nicest ketchup ever!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭FGR

Wouldn't let it bother me. Personally I'd be more concerned about whether they're using proper sausages/rashers and the like.

Nothing like a good ol greasy fry up to let you know you're alive..the morning after! :P

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

I probably wouldn't think anything of it at all, but I do prefer butter given the choice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

2 small lumps of butter and 1 plastic yoke of jam. What more do ye people want

• Registered Users Posts: 14,235 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I do the classic irish thing. Don't complain, when the waitress asks if I enjoyed my meal I say yes, but I never go back and tell everyone to avoid the place

• Registered Users Posts: 14,235 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

donvito99 wrote: »
    This thread is so fúcking stupid and insignificant that I genuinely want to kill you, op.

This is what we need on AH. Pointless threads instead of Daily Mail headlines designed to wind people up

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Don't eat butter so don't care, toast/bread either unless it's a sandwich.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Cienciano wrote: »
    This is what we need on AH. Pointless threads instead of Daily Mail headlines designed to wind people up

Off with his head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

i'd just ask for butter.

corktina wrote: »
    i'd just ask for butter.

I did, and both of them gave me Kerrymaid! They had no real butter.

Once they don't put dairy spread in a baked potato!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Marketing is truly amazing.

Those who doubt its power are idiots.

I mean watered down milk - and sold for a higher price!

and of course, unsaleable vegetable oil, mixed with soya protein or similar and sold as 'butter'.

Yup, we live in wondrous times.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

If its not country butter I pissssss on the table and set the place on fire while lifting a plate of food on my exit. (don't fook with the culchies)