Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster v Ulster, Sat 30th March, 18.15 RDS RTE/BBCNI

• 28-03-2013 11:45pm
    Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Pos: | Leinster | Ulster
    15 | Rob Kearney | Jared Payne
    14 | Dave Kearney | Andrew Trimble
    13 | Brendan Macken | Darren Cave
    12 | Gordon D'Arcy | Stuart Olding
    11 | Isa Nacewa | Craig Gilroy
    10 | Ian Madigan | Paddy Jackson
    9 | Isaac Boss | Ruan Pienaar
    1 | Cian Healy | Tom Court
    2 | Richardt Strauss | Rory Best
    3 | Mike Ross | Richard Lutton
    4 | Devin Toner | Johann Muller
    5 | Quinn Roux | Dan Tuohy
    6 | Kevin McLaughlin | Robbie Diack
    7 | Shane Jennings | Chris Henry
    8 | Jamie Heaslip (c) | Nick Williams
    - | REPLACEMENTS:
    16 | Sean Cronin | R Herring
    17 | Jack McGrath | C Black
    18 | Jamie Hagan | K McCall
    19 | Leo Cullen | L Stevenson
    20 | Rhys Ruddock | I Henderson
    21 | John Cooney | R Wilson
    22 | Andrew Goodman | P Marshall
    23 | Andrew Conway | P Nelson

So, Leinster v Ulster on Saturday at the RDS. Thread is premature but I feel I can wait no longer, I am excited. Bear in mind that these threads are not my forte.

Ulster will be looking to get a good result to help build some momentum before their important HEC clash away to Scarlets. Leinster, who are no longer in the HEC, will be looking for a good result to move ahead of Ulster in the rabo.

Pienaar, Henry, Henderson and Wilson are back for Ulster with Muller and the incredible hulk making their returns last week.

No John Afoa is a worry.

Here's hoping Ulster get a nice win and come away with no injuries.

What say you, Leinster fans?

Who will win the derby at the RDS this Saturday? 35 votes

Leinster
    11% 4 votes
    Ulster
    74% 26 votes
    Richard Lutton
    14% 5 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

awec wrote: »
    Here's hoping Ulster get a nice win and come away with no injuries.

What say you, Leinster fans?

Dream on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 378 ✭✭ConFurioso

Let's start with the time and date! ^_^

Sat. 30th March, 18.15 RDS RTE/BBCNI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

ConFurioso wrote: »
    Let's start with the time and date! ^_^

Sat. 30th March, 18.15 RDS RTE/BBCNI

Will it be on BBC 1HD/BBC 2HD?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Morf wrote: »
    Will it be on BBC 1HD/BBC 2HD?

I don't think there is a BBC2 HD. I cant find the match on the BBC listings for NI but Rabo website says it is on BBC NI. BBC 1 NI is available in HD.

Edit : I stand corrected. There is a BBC2 HD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

So, Leinster v Ulster on Saturday at the RDS. Thread is premature but I feel I can wait no longer, I am excited. Bear in mind that these threads are not my forte.

Ulster will be looking to get a good result to help build some momentum before their important HEC clash away to Scarlets. Leinster, who are no longer in the HEC, will be looking for a good result to move ahead of Ulster in the rabo.
    Already ahead. But I'm just being picky ;)

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

rrpc wrote: »
    Already ahead. But I'm just being picky ;)

Further ahead :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Many Ulster fans traveling down? Had some craic with the lads for the game up North, one of the better games as a traveling fan this year.

Awec will be there.

I'd say there'll be a good crowd down. Bank Holiday weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭ulster_Beef

Teferi wrote: »
    Many Ulster fans traveling down? Had some craic with the lads for the game up North, one of the better games as a traveling fan this year.

4 of us heading down

Tell me this, do they sell Harp at the RDS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Bulmers, Guinness and Carlsberg(or some other generic lager) only as far as I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Bulmers, Guinness and Carlsberg(or some other generic lager) only as far as I know.

And for insanely high prices. 6 quid a pint i think?

*Cough* cans *cough*

Stock up as you pass through Fundalk! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

And for insanely high prices. 6 quid a pint i think?

*Cough* cans *cough*

Its not quite 6, but its not far off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

I noticed prices went up last week. A Guinness or a beer is around 5.10 - 5.50, with the beer being on the more expensive end.

ConFurioso wrote: »
    Stock up as you pass through Fundalk! :P

Ah unfortunately I live all but 15 minutes away from D4.
    Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Its not quite 6, but its not far off.

6 QUID?!

The bloody rip off dome.

Ah unfortunately I live all but 15 minutes away from D4.

Worth the detour. ;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Guinness used to be a convenient fiver, it's no 5.20 or so since the new year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Guinness used to be a convenient fiver, it's no 5.20 or so since the new year.

Inconsiderate. They could have at least bumped it up to a tenner! #coinsareformunsterfans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

BYOB is the only way to go in the RDS now. I'd probably have 1 or 2 in the OLSC bar after the game but that's about as far as I'd push it tbh. Will be worth popping in there after the game with Madigan and Cronin coming in. The more Ulster fans the better too. Have a bit of banter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

LEINSTER:

15: Rob Kearney
    14: Dave Kearney
    13: Brendan Macken
    12: Gordon D'Arcy
    11: Isa Nacewa
    10: Ian Madigan
    9: Isaac Boss

1: Cian Healy
    2: Richardt Strauss
    3: Mike Ross
    4: Devin Toner
    5: Quinn Roux
    6: Kevin McLaughlin
    7: Shane Jennings
    8: Jamie Heaslip CAPTAIN

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Sean Cronin
    17: Jack McGrath
    18: Jamie Hagan
    19: Leo Cullen
    20: Rhys Ruddock
    21: John Cooney
    22: Andrew Goodman
    23: Andrew Conway

Fair amount of rotation going on, Macken starting is very interesting, as is McGrath on the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Glass Prison 1214

No Sean O'Brien? Some interesting calls like Toner ahead of Cullen, Hagan ahead of Bent, Macken starting, Ruddock on the bench ahead of Ryan.

Edit: McGrath on the bench instead of Heinke as well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭opinionatedfan

Really wish Hagan was staying and Bent leaving. Seems like Ruddock/Ryan are rotating more than anything else.

Hopefully Macken continues to progress, think Richie Murphy called him our fastest back

molloyjh wrote: »
    BYOB is the only way to go in the RDS now. I'd probably have 1 or 2 in the OLSC bar after the game but that's about as far as I'd push it tbh. Will be worth popping in there after the game with Madigan and Cronin coming in. The more Ulster fans the better too. Have a bit of banter.
    Where is that sir?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,876 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Ulster team

15 Jared Payne
    14 Andrew Trimble
    13 Darren Cave
    12 Stuart Olding
    11 Craig Gilroy
    10 Paddy Jackson
    9 Ruan Pienaar
    1 Tom Court
    2 Rory Best
    3 Richard Lutton
    4 Johann Muller
    5 Dan Tuohy
    6 Robbie Diack
    7 Chris Henry
    8 Nick Williams

Replacements (16-23): R Herring, C Black, K McCall, L Stevenson, I Henderson, R Wilson, P Marshall, P Nelson.

Big day for Lutton

Never seen that Ulster tighthead play before, what age is he and is he any use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭trouttrout

Bar Lutton, whom I've never seen play, that's a massive Ulster pack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

On paper this looks likes its Ulster's to lose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Crocked

Grimebox wrote: »

I don't know about that, Leinster have a very strong team out also and are in better form at the moment and are unbeaten at home in the Rabo this season. I would consider Leinster slight favourites.

Not a bit of it. You can't underestimate the advantage Leinster have in the scrum, plus while we have many of our big names back they are playing their first game in a while so they'll be rusty. I can't see a big Ulster performance, more an oiling of the rustiness ahead of next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Never seen that Ulster tighthead play before, what age is he and is he any use?

Lutton hasn't had a start fro Ulster yet. He has been good in the AIL but that's it. He played for a season or two(?) in the ITM I think but ..or should that be BUT...he is listed as a loose head ALSO. One of those in whom I have no faith. You are ether one or the other unless you are Afoa. The further loss of Afoa's services - while 'understandable' up to a point - is a pain in the arse..........again. We are screwed and throw Clancy into the mix and there is only one outcome.

bilston wrote: »
    Ulster team

15 Jared Payne
    14 Andrew Trimble
    13 Darren Cave
    12 Stuart Olding
    11 Craig Gilroy
    10 Paddy Jackson
    9 Ruan Pienaar
    1 Tom Court
    2 Rory Best
    3 Richard Lutton
    4 Johann Muller
    5 Dan Tuohy
    6 Robbie Diack
    7 Chris Henry
    8 Nick Williams

Replacements (16-23): R Herring, C Black, K McCall, L Stevenson, I Henderson, R Wilson, P Marshall, P Nelson.

A jaysus, seeing a team like that for the first time in a long time moistens my loins.

The incredible hulk will hopefully be back to his best at #8. :D

I'll take that bet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Real shame we have no O'Brien. Also a bit surprised that Dom Ryan was dropped.

Crocked wrote: »

There you go awec, much better than me giving directions! :D

This has the potential to be a cracker. Two very good sides. Really looking forward to it now.

.ak wrote: »
    Real shame we have no O'Brien. Also a bit surprised that Dom Ryan was dropped.

I'd look at it more as rotated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Looking forward to the midfield battle, Macken starting in a fullish strength backline and up against Cave. Olding facing D'arcy will be interesting too, he must surely be in line to face Saracens next week. Fear Lutton will be destroyed by Healy and will be a deciding factor which would be a shame. Ulster's 4th choice TH against the best LH in the world. Hopefully It'll be a dry evening with few scrums.

Anyone know why Afoa's out btw?

shuffol wrote: »
    Looking forward to the midfield battle, Macken starting in a fullish strength backline and up against Cave. Olding facing D'arcy will be interesting too, he must surely be in line to face Saracens next week. Fear Lutton will be destroyed by Healy and will be a deciding factor which would be a shame. Ulster's 4th choice TH against the best LH in the world. Hopefully It'll be a dry evening with few scrums.

He is in New Zealand for the birth of his third child, he is supposed to be back on Wednesday.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Is SOB injured?

he is in NZ for the birth of his third child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

His wife (living in NZ) is giving birth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Should be a cracking game.

2 strong teams going up against it...probably will be a bit of needle in some cases too - always the way!!

Think the best ulster can hope for is a LBP. Can't wait to see fat nick on one of his charges with 6 leinster players hanging of him as he bounces another 4 out of way along with his trademark head wobble!!:D

I'd take a LBP right now.

Really?

I think Leinster are favourites but despite what I said earlier I think we can definitely win. To win in Dublin for the first time in...well as long as I can remember of the top of my head...would be a massive boost ahead of Saracens.

Ah that's also true.

Come on Ulster! :pac:

bilston wrote: »
    Really?

I think Leinster are favourites but despite what I said earlier I think we can definitely win. To win in Dublin for the first time in...well as long as I can remember of the top of my head...would be a massive boost ahead of Saracens.

Yeah I think this game could go either way. A lot depends on the form of the returning internationals and how well they shake off the 6 Nations disappointment. Both sides have a little extra to play for. Leinster to avenge the defeat in Ravenhill, Ulster to reverse their current league form. I think Ulster will have a slight edge in that they don't have as many coming back from the Irish squad, but that's tempered by the pressure that is on Jackson at the moment. I'd imagine Peinaar will be goal kicker though.

We should have the edge at scrum time on Healys side and a few penalties from that could help give Leinster some momentum. Roux will need to have a big game. The back line battles could be interesting. Ulster centres are more exciting, but how will Olding do against a physical pairing of Darce and Macken? Isa should have the edge on Trimble but I'll be interested to see how Gilroy and D Kearney compare.

I missed the Ulster game last week, how was Payne? I reckon he is sheer class. Makes everything he does look so easy, which is a measure of how good he really is. If he's on form he'll be a bloody handful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

I've been looking forward to this game since our trip to Ravers in December, which was my first trip up north with Leinster and by a very long margin the best away game for banter on the terrace.

Looking forward to having ye down.

For once Mollyjh and I agree on something on the terrace... Cans are the ONLY way to go. €5.20 for guinness or €5.80 for Bulmers/Carlsberg is a pi$$tak€ of the highest order. Hell, I'll even share my hipflask with you in exchange for one Jenno! :D (It'll be Haitian rum or Danish vodka depending on mood)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

LUPE wrote: »

Please see above for my educated opinion on the Ulster starting XV for this Saturday's clash. Expect Leinster to secure a BP by half team.

Regards

Cheers LUPE, please come back post match to discuss the accuracy of your prediction.