Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE's top ten earners paid €3.6 million in 2011

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

(follow up to my previous post)

How can they (RTE crew) sit back listen to people struggling every day, hear of people even taking their own lives & still accept such a hugh amount of money that they DO NOT NEED or DESERVE!?!?? have they any conscious??...could they not all come together all say we'll take a 50% cut? (even tho that still wouldn't be enough) nah too greedy

• Registered Users Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Yeah, a 16.8 million euro deficit for the previous year, but according to the 9 o'clock news it's expected to break even this year.

Love/Hate DVD sales to the diaspora I bet. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Sierra 117 wrote: »
    Isn't RTE currently operating at a loss?

Yes, and any shortfall is taken straight out of the tax pot, so if they made €16.8 million loss that's €16.8 million less for special needs assistants, etc.
    Nope, he presents a spectacularly unsuccessful radio show. He inherited a show with over 300,000 listeners, of which he has lost over 140,000.

This is it. he loses listeners yet increases his wages. The Late Late has been totally dumbed down and still loses viewers yet he gets an increase in salary. If the same happened to Ray D'Arcy they'd have their wages chopped very quickly.
    having lived in new zealand for a while over a decade ago , i can confirm that tv in new zealand is awfull

It's sh1te here too. Tonight as a mid week movie RTE 1 have The Kings Speech, the first time in ages they bother to have a half decent film on in this slot, usually it's worthless drivel.

They get rid of a good format like "The All Ireland Talent Show" and replace it with "The Voice", christ knows how much they are paying for that format.

It's a god awfully badly run station on the budget that it has, value for money it isn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭LETS BE AVN IT

They have reached the top of the table in there chosen profession which was not easy they deserve the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

Sierra 117 wrote: »
    Isn't RTE currently operating at a loss?
    Currently? Perpetually more like. The salaries they get paid for sitting around having a chat is nuts. It's not open-heart surgery, it's getting paid to yap. Yapping should earn you €80k tops. Sure everyone wants to yap. If you're a world class yapper -€80k. If you're a bit crap, €40K. Tops. No like? Fcuk off, there's a queue behind you of other yappers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

They have reached the top of the table in there chosen profession which was not easy they deserve the money.

Maybe they have reached the top of the table, but in a country the size of ours they do not deserve those kinds of salaries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

Gardaí, firefighters, risk their lives everyday to protect us, nurses work to save our lives... & their the ones getting money taken off of them while these people sit down & talk about the news?

Think about it......its not right & its not fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

RTE is the original Irish Classic "Not what you know - but who you know" institution.
    There isn't a single man/woman in the top tier who has "reached that pinnacle" on pure merit.
    (Allegedly);)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Problem is the DG himself earns 250,000 euros a year, I have a feeling that RTE's management were just as generous to themselves as were to the "stars" during the boom.
    Nothing wrong with that pay if you're the director general of RTE.
    You won't get a someone to head such a large organization/company for much less.

It comes down to performance. If they're doing a good job, pay them well. If not, show them the door.

Another option is to sell off RTE and its associated radio stations. Watch the mass cull of staff, no licence fee, more adverts, lower paid presenters.

Doesn't matter, people will still moan.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

The fact that after a 30% pay cut Tubridy earns nearly half a million a year makes me feel genuinely ill.

He's worth about a mars bar and a bag of tayto !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Ryan Tubridy was the highest paid presenter in RTÉ for 2011 with total earnings of €723,000, up 12% on 2010.
    However, in his latest contract, his fees have been reduced by 31% to €495,000.

Pat Kenny on €630,000. His latest contract is up for renewal this year.

Marian Finucane was paid €492,000 in 2011 and her fees have nearly halved to €295,000 in her new deal.

Joe Duffy was paid €378,000 in 2011, reduced by 20% to €300,000 in his latest contract.

Miriam O'Callaghan received €307,000 in 2011, dropping to €211,000 in her latest contract.

Brendan O'Connor was paid €228,500 in 2011, reduced to €158,000 in his latest agreement.

Derek Mooney was the seventh highest paid in 2011 on €220,000.

Sean O'Rourke was paid nearly €209,000 in 2011.

George Hamilton received nearly €203,000 that year, dropping to €168,000 in his new contract.

Bryan Dobson was paid just under €198,000 in 2011.

RTÉ says it has reached its objective of cutting presenter pay by at least 30% since 2008. It also says it has agreed increased levels of annual broadcast output with a range of presenters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Why?
    Is that the letter y or the word y? (liveline fans will get that one)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

realies wrote: »

Brendan O'Connor was paid €228,500 in 2011, reduced to €158,000 in his latest agreement.

There are no words. He presents one ****ty show a week. Badly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

le la rat wrote: »
    Is that the letter y or the word y? (liveline fans will get that one)

Can the minister of communication do as a good a job as Joe? no, I thought not :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Does Brendan O Connor do anything besides the Saturday night show? If not, that salary is a disgrace.

Akin to the disgrace that is Marian Finnucane getting paid what she does for 6 hours airtime each week.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

kraggy wrote: »
    Does Brendan O Connor do anything besides the Saturday night show? If not, that salary is a disgrace.

The only disgrace about Brendan O Connor is his face and personality .

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

So to sum up - rabble, rabble, rabble, rabble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

Would anyone miss Tubridy if he got sacked?
    Even old people couldn´t give a fùck if he got the boot.
    I literally know nobody who finds him interesting.

I watched a clip of the Late Late recently after not seeing it in years and he was still cracking the same "I´m a skinny nerd ha-ha don´t hurt me" jokes he´s been hamming up since he began in RTE.
    Still acts like his mum is watching when anything remotely risque was brought up.
    The guy has all the wit and personality of cardboard. Zero Charisma.
    Sack him and put that money where it´s needed FFS.

TV license should go. Free to air satellite tv is available and if you want to pay for TV there is a range of packages you can get. The internet is another provider of entertainment for free and for fee.

Privatise them and see how much they are paid that is the bottom line really. The state could simply operate an emergency channel or simply announce things on the internet.

We don`t need a propaganda machine and we really don`t need reporters so highly paid that really their objectivity must be called into account as a result.

Why are they so highly paid? There is absolutely nothing to justify it. In fact they should all be sacked and made pay reparations for their part in bringing down the country!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

TV license should go. Free to air satellite tv is available and if you want to pay for TV there is a range of packages you can get. The internet is another provider of entertainment for free and for fee.

Privatise them and see how much they are paid that is the bottom line really. The state could simply operate an emergency channel or simply announce things on the internet.

We don`t need a propaganda machine and we really don`t need reporters so highly paid that really their objectivity must be called into account as a result.

Why are they so highly paid? There is absolutely nothing to justify it. In fact they should all be sacked and made pay reparations for their part in bringing down the country!

Perhaps we could get some cash-in-hand presenters? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

€723,000 a year for Ryan Tubridy is sickening to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

The only disgrace about Brendan O Connor is his face and personality .

And his existence

• Registered Users Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

€723,000 a year for Ryan Tubridy is sickening to me

How about a half mil instead?

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/tubridy-s-earnings-cut-by-31-as-rt%C3%A9-slashes-presenters-pay-1.1340805

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

pat kenny is an excellent broadcaster and someone who,s talents would most likely be rewarded to the same degree were he in law or something

Kenny is the best they have

Lets do a simple comparison.

New Zealand has a population very close in size to ours, c. 4.5mil.

TVNZ, New Zealand's national broadcaster, pays its two top earners Simon Dallow and Wendy Petrie in the region of $300,000 which is about €200,000. RTE's top earner Ryan Tubrity is paid in excess of double this figure.

The people of New Zealand protested and got the license fee removed.
    This is a good time to remind people of this thread regarding the tv license
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056192601

MadsL wrote: »
    Perhaps we could get some cash-in-hand presenters? ;)

Contractors for a year or two would be good. No shortage of yappers and no shortage of people who can read the news.
    The important people behind something like say Prime Time Investigates would be the researchers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

The clowns on RTE are not worth even a quarter of the money that is wasted on them. Better to spend the money on importing top class shows from around the world and send the "stars" of RTE out the door to see what sort of money the could earn in other countries. Which would be nothing like the money for jam they make here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

So to sum up - rabble, rabble, rabble, rabble.

What do you expect us to say? That they're worth every cent?:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

everybody stop watching the late late show - his wages will plummet then.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,124 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    You want the shirt off their back as well?
    They'd probably settle for the shirt off their front.