Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

firearm

• 25-03-2013 10:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23

Hey can anyone give me some advice. I currently have an air rifle but would like to upgrade to a .22lr. If I sell the air rifle would I need a cabinet for the rimfire or would I be able to keep it in the same manner as the air rifle (ie trigger lock and cable lock).
    Also would I be able to do a swap with another person or would it have to be a RFD only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,814 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

You're supposed to have a safe for the air rifle, so you'll definitely need one for the .22lr.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

As Blay said you should already have a safe for the air rifle so best bet is to get one regardless of whether you go for the rimfire or not.
    huntmark wrote: »
    Also would I be able to do a swap with another person or would it have to be a RFD only.
    You can do a straight trade with a friend as long as you have a current license for his rifle, and he has a current license for you one.

The Gardaí may request that the rifles be stored in an RFD while the substitutions are being processed so just because it can be done does not mean an RFD is not necessary. Your FO will have the final say in how it is done.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 huntmark

Cass wrote: »
    As Blay said you should already have a safe for the air rifle so best bet is to get one regardless of whether you go for the rimfire or not.

You can do a straight trade with a friend as long as you have a current license for his rifle, and he has a current license for you one.

The Gardaí may request that the rifles be stored in an RFD while the substitutions are being processed so just because it can be done does not mean an RFD is not necessary. Your FO will have the final say in how it is done.

I'm in the process of getting a cabinet at the moment. Does it cost anything to change the gun on your licence or do you just send in the paper work thanks

A substitution is free. Without going into in too much detail (cause it's a lot) you fill out the FCA1 with your friend's gun/license details plus some of your own details, and he fills out an FCA1 with yours.

You submit these, and get a shiney new license in the post within 2 weeks or so. No fee.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Here is what you need for a substitution:
    • Section 1 - Tick substitution, and "I have not held a cert............".
    • Section 2 - All of it.
    • Section 2.4 - All of it.
    • Section 3.1 - Input the details of your mate's gun here.
    • Section 3.3 - Your mate's license & personal details.
    • Section 3.4 - Input your current firearm details here.
    • Section 3.5 - All of it.
    • Section 4.1 - All of it.
    • Section 4.2 - All of it.
    • Section 4.3 - If a member of a range/club.
    • Section 5.1 - All of it.
    • Sign and date it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Providing your air rifle is classed as a 22 you might get away with a substitution. If not you will need to just apply for a new license and its the same the oher way around for your friend aswell.
    Once both you and your friend have current licenses to hold the rifle you shouldn't ( doenst meen you wont be made ) need to store in an RFD. Just apply for new ones and when they come your old ones become invalid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

Blay wrote: »
    You're supposed to have a safe for the air rifle, so you'll definitely need one for the .22lr.

since when do ya need a safe for one gun thought
    it was a trigger lock

daithi55 wrote: »
    since when do ya need a safe for one gun thought
    it was a trigger lock

That only applies if you have a single shotgun. All rifles need a safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭EP90

Providing your air rifle is classed as a 22 you might get away with a substitution. If not you will need to just apply for a new license and its the same the oher way around for your friend aswell.
    Once both you and your friend have current licenses to hold the rifle you shouldn't ( doenst meen you wont be made ) need to store in an RFD. Just apply for new ones and when they come your old ones become invalid.

Mine was a straight substitution from air to 22lr, hopefully the same for OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 huntmark

EP90 wrote: »

Mine was a straight substitution from air to 22lr, hopefully the same for OP.
    Thanks for all the information

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭sniperman

i have a .22lr for 2 years,the dealer said i only needed a trigger lock,when i applied for the licence,i sent in a hand written note with it stating i have a trigger lock and not a safe,i got the licence in 2 weeks,so since when is it the law to have a safe for one rifle?

sniperman wrote: »
    i have a .22lr for 2 years,the dealer said i only needed a trigger lock,when i applied for the licence,i sent in a hand written note with it stating i have a trigger lock and not a safe,i got the licence in 2 weeks,so since when is it the law to have a safe for one rifle?

Since the Firearms Secure Accommodation SI 2009, remember it's your responsibility to be on the right side of the law..not the RFD and not the guards, it's your liberty on the line because if it ever came down to it that dealer would deny ever saying that and FO and Super would say they never saw that note.

Sparks post here has the regulations;
    Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

You'd be in a spot of bother if you got your security checked. Its the law to have a safe for a rifle, not the supers choice.

.............. i sent in a hand written note with it stating i have a trigger lock and not a safe...........
    Did you tick the secure accommodations agreement in section 3.5?

By ticking this you are saying you meet the minimum standards for storage as per the SI. Much like getting a license for a restricted gun as an unrestricted one it is your responsibility to make sure you meet the minimum standards. The Super, even though they granted the license, will not be held accountable for any issues.

thanks lads,just ordered one now from sportsden.ie,i think with the issue of each licence a copy of all firearm requirements should also be given,ill have my safe installed tomorrow.

That's a good point, but also one of many things that could be done to improve the licensing system. I'm not referring to a complete re-working of it, but making it more understandable to the regular shooter.

For example there are still lads in my area that have not renewed their licenses (over 12 months after the expiry of their last one), still do not know it's €80 per year, that they needs a safe/trigger lock, etc. The issue stems from decades of the same routine each year, and a poor information campaign.

But that is a whole other thread.

Cass wrote: »
    That's a good point, but also one of many things that could be done to improve the licensing system. I'm not referring to a complete re-working of it, but making it more understandable to the regular shooter.

For example there are still lads in my area that have not renewed their licenses (over 12 months after the expiry of their last one), still do not know it's €80 per year, that they needs a safe/trigger lock, etc. The issue stems from decades of the same routine each year, and a poor information campaign.

But that is a whole other thread.
    yes i fully agree,i did not know a safe was needed,or was evan told,only reading on this forum i learned i do need a safe,one is being installed today,thanks all for advice;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭skinnylizzy

"For example there are still lads in my area that have not renewed their licenses (over 12 months after the expiry of their last one), still do not know it's €80 per year"

Is it €80 a year? Or every 3 years? If it's €80 a year, I better start saving for my 3 renewals next january, now ha ha.

Typo. Should have read;

"Still do not know it's NOT €80 per year".

Good catch. ;)