Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is wrong with this country and wildlife?

• 21-03-2013 7:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭

Another bird of prey poisoned in Wicklow. Seals, sea eagles, kites and badgers all killed indiscriminately in this country. When the sea eagles arrived here first, one hundred Kerry farmers protested their arrival and then by culprits unknown but not that unknown they were poisoned. I'm sort of used to it at this stage but do you think that there's some sort of hatred of wildlife in this country?

TWO generations of newly released red kite birds of prey have been illegally
    poisoned.
    A dead juvenile bird found in Wicklow town was the offspring of an adult
    female poisoned 13 months earlier near Brittas Bay.
    The young bird was the first of 21 chicks born in the Irish wild to be
    killed.

The Golden Eagle Trust described the poisoning of two generations of the same
    red kite family as “ devastating.”.
    Tests have confirmed that the juvenile had been poisoned with two toxic
    pesticides carbofuran and alphachloralose.
    This is the first time both chemicals have been detected in the carcass of a
    red kite in Ireland.
    The bird's mother had been poisoned with alphachloralose in December

The birds were identified by their tags.
    Authorities suspect both birds had been feeding on carrion laced with the
    chemicals, which have been banned.
    It is illegal to use these chemicals to poison birds, foxes or other
    wildlife. However, experts believe that some landowners continue to use these
    poisons.

Dr Marc Ruddock of the Golden Eagle Trust said he was devastated by the
    latest death and confirmation of the poisons involved.
    He said the young bird had been found on a public path just outside Wicklow
    town.

A total of 120 red kites have been released into the wild in Wicklow, he
    said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Are you trying to tell me about a hundred farmers in Kerry was poisoned ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

mattjack wrote: »
    Are you trying to tell me about a hundred farmers in Kerry was poisoned ?

No just that they protested the arrival of the sea eagles from Norway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Despicable, dim-witted, fucking morons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I'm sort of used to it at this stage but do you think that there's some sort of hatred of wildlife in this country?

No, just a shower of backward fcuking idiots who deserve nothing better than a shovel to the back of the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I had no idea kites were an animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

No just that they protested the arrival of the sea eagles from Norway.

First Vikings , now Sea Eagles .... them feckin' Norwegians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Basil brush has been on a mission for some time now.

No, just a shower of backward fcuking idiots who deserve nothing better than a shovel to the back of the head.

Could I borrow a shovel?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

It's very sad to see this happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

So people who kill animals deserve death themselves?

Ps I dont personally think that this country hates wildlife. Just some backward simpletons who have no respect for the wildlife of this country or the wishes of the majority of decent people in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I just spotted a thread where the big brave hunters are looking for fox cubs. To kill I presume. :mad:

Mayoman911 wrote: »

These people are killing endangered species. 100 years ago these species were made extinct in Ireland because they were poisoned by landowners and now 100 years later the exact same inbred line is at it again!

The only pleasure I get from this is that the landowners used carbofuran.
    Even handling this chemical can lead to parkinsons and motor nueron disease in later life. It can also affect the sperm and DNA of the person handling it and this way it can cause infertility or be responsible for defects in thier children.

I would doubt these vermin would be intelligent enough to be aware of this though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

A lot of people here don't seem to appreciate nature and wildlife. If it can't be eaten it's thought of as worthless.

There's some lovely swans in the river Barrow in Carlow, but the abuse they get is terrible. Kids hang around in the park all day throwing cans and stones at them. Then there's people leaving discarded fishing lines in the river for the swans to get caught in. There's no one to report any of this to, so if you see a swan with a fishing line caught in his throat or wrapped around his neck there's not much you can do about it.

It will come to both parties in time;)

These people are killing endangered species. 100 years ago these species were made extinct in Ireland because they were poisoned by landowners and now 100 years later the exact same inbred line is at it again!
    People are more important than any animal.

I do think it is a shame such animals are being killed, but saying people deserve extreme punishment for something such as this seems callous and morbid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭homeless student

A lot of people here don't seem to appreciate nature and wildlife. If it can't be eaten it's thought of as worthless.

There's some lovely swans in the river Barrow in Carlow, but the abuse they get is terrible. Kids hang around in the park all day throwing cans and stones at them. Then there's people leaving discarded fishing lines in the river for the swans to get caught in. There's no one to report any of this to, so if you see a swan with a fishing line caught in his throat or wrapped around his neck there's not much you can do about it.

never heard of the Ispca?

I do think it is a shame such animals are being killed, but saying people deserve extreme punishment for something such as this seems callous and morbid.

Feck them. These people dont share my humanity so to be honest I coulnd't give a toss about them. The best I could wish them is a slow death!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Safety of lambs presumably is the farmers concern,don 't know if kites are big enough to kill a lamb though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

must have been those fecking kerry farmers who killed off the snakes and not ol Patrick :pac:

seriously though, fcuking idiots

Feck them. These people dont share my humanity so to be honest I coulnd't give a toss about them. The best I could wish them is a slow death!
    wow

kneemos wrote: »
    Safety of lambs presumably is the farmers concern,don 't know if kites are big enough to kill a lamb though.

Kites aren't big enough to carry off lambs but some believe they can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I'd gladly see some poachers shot to save endangered species. Not like the world is short of cnuts.

Humans are the top of the chain, the lesser mortals will survive, no infighting, people, some people do not deserve the title human.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Something higher and mightier than themselves has got to go. Thought they had the run of the land...

I get the impression an eagle, to some is like a drone

never heard of the Ispca?

There are people who know who is doing this. There have been posters in the hunting forum saying that they have met people who bragged about it. When reports were made to the gaurds they said there was not enough evidence to make an arrest.

I would be in favour of the Scottish way of preventing bird of prey poisonings which is to make landowners responsible for whatever bird dies on their land. This has worked.

Another way is to get rid of grant payments to landowners in the area. Soon enough they would turn on whoever is doing this.

Something higher and mightier than themselves has got to go. Thought they had the run of the land...

I get the impression an eagle, to some is like a drone

That's the thing. These "people" think they can break whatever law they want as long as it suits them. The golden eagle trust talked about one landowner who threw poison in a garden in order to kill a dog. A garden which also contained children.

o1s1n wrote: »
    I'd gladly see some poachers shot to save endangered species. Not like the world is short of cnuts.
    You know why people are going out to hunt animals that could easily end up killing them? Because they're poor as hell and this is at least work that will feed them and their families. Not every poacher is a murdering maniac who deserves an agonizing end.

i wish all these birds would start hunting idiotic farmers, would be justice of a sort :)

wow

Yea sorry I made a mistake, that's not the best I can wish them. I wish them the neurotoxic and related neuropathy that comes with handling this poison.

strap some weights around the sheep ffs, solve all yer problems :D

You know why people are going out to hunt animals that could easily end up killing them? Because they're poor as hell and this is at least work that will feed them and their families. Not every poacher is a murdering maniac who deserves an agonizing end.

In Ireland that may be true but in Africa poachers have helicoptors and are not short of funds.

Master of the Universe

I can see it now, little johnny off picking potatoes to feed his starving family. Out of the blue, a red kite swoops, lifting him off to his untimely demise.

We must stop these predators before they wipe out mankind.

I can see it now, little johnny off picking potatoes to feed his starving family. Out of the blue, a red kite swoops, lifting him off to his untimely demise.

I'm referring to poachers as people who hunt rhino's+elephants.

The people the OP was referring to are hardly poachers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Master of the Universe

Ah right, sorry for the confusion. I wholeheartedly agree with poaching rhino and elephant. Grand pianos would look very strange with just black keys.

People who hunt elephants and rhinos are not poor in any shape or form. They use helicopters and other methods to evade anti poaching patrols and other rangers. They make considerable sums of money from ivory.

how high do these birds fly? considering their quite big id presume when they go number 2 its of equally big size!!!

now take all that into account with high altitude and cold irish weather and you have birds dropping potentially deadly biological bombs onto the poor hand to mouth irish man :eek:

disgrace joe kill em all

Phoenix wrote: »
    Can a Golden Eagle take a lamb?same with a kite?

Well a kite can't but there's a chance a sea eagle could although they mainly eat fish. Whether they can or not is irrelevant anyway. People cant kill any animal they think is a problem.

People who hunt elephants and rhinos are not poor in any shape or form. They use helicopters and other methods to evade anti poaching patrols and other rangers. They make considerable sums of money form ivory.
    Maybe so, but poachers do exist outside of Africa (e.g India) where they do not have access to such resources and some are just doing what they can to survive.

so going after a bengal tiger is a way to survive :pac:

As are people who rob houses and mug people. Should they be exempt from punishment?

so going after a bengal tiger is a way to survive :pac:
    Money has to come from somewhere.

Desperate times, desperate measures

As are people who rob houses and mug people. Should they be exempt from punishment?
    I'm sure leniency would be present if said people had no other way of making money and had to commit those crimes in order to provide for their families.

Master of the Universe

I seriously doubt there are masses of people living in India, feeding themselves by poaching Bengal tigers.

Anyone who poaches big game like that is doing so for other reasons.

If someone is poaching to survive then they are hunting non endangered species. You know, because they're more common?

/Starving man, stalks the wilderness with a rifle, looking for anything, anything to shoot and feed his family with
    /He sees movement, is about to take a shot - but stops.
    'bah! That's just a common as muck antelope! where are all the rhino?! - my children only feast on rhino feet and elephant trunk!'

Money has to come from somewhere.

Desperate times, desperate measures

no they are criminal scum pure and simple, you cant kill one of the most endangered beautiful creatures on the planet because you cant make ends meet

What is with the black and white thinking present here?

If you were starving and needed food, would you really give a **** that you needed to kill an endangered animal to sell/eat in order to provide for yourself? I don't think so.

I seriously doubt there are masses of people living in India, feeding themselves by poaching Bengal tigers.

Anyone who poaches big game like that is doing so for other reasons.

If someone is poaching to survive then they are hunting non endangered species. You know, because they're more common?

/Starving man, stalks the wilderness with a rifle, looking for anything, anything to shoot and feed his family with
    /He sees movement, is about to take a shot - but stops.
    'bah! That's just a common as muck antelope! where are all the rhino?! - my children only feast on rhino feet and elephant trunk!'

its not like there is going be a massive market for these creatures fur/meat anyway, it would take an average man an age to try and sell off bengal fur etc. without being thrown into a cell, a lot more sense to hunt deer and other abundant game.

but then some people are just stupid, imagine a poorly equipped badly malnourished person trying to hunt a tiger in a jungle haha darwin at work i say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Phoenix wrote: »
    Can a Golden Eagle take a lamb?same with a kite?

A kite weighs barely 2 pounds so is totally incapable. Studies from Scotland and Norway were eagles are much more common show that it is an extremly rare event. Less than 1 in 50 deaths in lambs would be caused by an eagle. The vast majority of deaths being due to disease,weather, foxs etc.

Indeed eagles help sheep farmers by feeding on crows and fox cubs as has proven to be the case in Donegal, using data from nest cams.

Master of the Universe

What is with the black and white thinking present here?

If you were starving and needed food, would you really give a **** that you needed to kill an endangered animal to sell/eat in order to provide for yourself? I don't think so.

When will there ever be a scenario where someone has to eat an endangered animal over a non endangered animal to survive?

It's got nothing to do with that and everything to do with the black market.