Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have boobs gone out of fashion?

• 21-03-2013 5:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

When I was younger my staple outfit for a quick night out was jeans and a clingy low cut top. I like my boobs and I like to wear low cut tops. I used to have lots of different ones, and not expensive either, lycra or jersey type material.

But the past few years I just cannot find any nice low cut tops anywhere. They used to be a standard thing in most womens shops!

Are boobs not fashionable anymore (Im fecked if this is so!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

It seems to be all about the leg these days with the belts the shops call skirts. If you have it use it and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Definitely this. I wouldnt even feel I have formed a particular style, I just know what suits my figure (after many trial runs of different things), and my rock chick look of old is getting harder to find!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

When I was younger my staple outfit for a quick night out was jeans and a clingy low cut top. I like my boobs and I like to wear low cut tops. I used to have lots of different ones, and not expensive either, lycra or jersey type material.

But the past few years I just cannot find any nice low cut tops anywhere. They used to be a standard thing in most womens shops!

Have you looked in Penneys? Thats where herself gets her low cut tops. I can't imagine they will ever go out of fashion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭hallo dare

boobs gone out of fashion! I bloody hope not!

syklops wrote: »
    Have you looked in Penneys? Thats where herself gets her low cut tops. I can't imagine they will ever go out of fashion.

I looked there today, and Dunnes. And a heap of other places. There were some chiffony bustier type tops but I was more looking for something along these lines.

$(KGrHqR,!loE3H5fZvLbBOF,JUC28Q~~0_3.JPG

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

OP if you want more of a fashion advice slant here I can move to Fashion & Appearance forum.

Twee. wrote: »
    OP if you want more of a fashion advice slant here I can move to Fashion & Appearance forum.

I was more just wondering what other girls who like low tops do or where they get them. I dont mind if its moved, whatever you think is appropriate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,565 ✭✭✭Cerulean Chicken

Not in my house they haven't anyway :D

But yeah OP, I find tops now are much more flattering to smallers busts, even when I don't want a particularly cleavage-y top they are often fussy around the bust, or baggy tops, or high necked, I don't seem to be able to find many to suit bigger boobs. And I'm not even very big, 34DD, but everything seems to be made to smaller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

There not gone out of fashion where I come from.. Wahaaa!!!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Do you know, that's a good point. All my tops (and dresses) used to be very low cut a few years ago, and now they're nearly all quite high in the neck. It's annoying because I like low-cut top because I have nice cleavage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Not in my eyes, I have been facinated by them since I was 13, I am 63 now and I still appreciate what I see, if I last another 10 years I will still feel the same.
    Keep it going girls, it makes the world seem brighter in these dismal times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Well I'm fcked if they are, pretty much anything high-necked or floaty and most button-up shirts look monumentally stupid on me because of ye olde top-heavy hourglass figure.

The sooner the better Bravissimo/Pepperberry open up in Dublin...

There not gone out of fashion where I come from.. Wahaaa!!!!
    Not in my eyes, I have been facinated by them since I was 13, I am 63 now and I still appreciate what I see, if I last another 10 years I will still feel the same.
    Keep it going girls, it makes the world seem brighter in these dismal times.

Any more of this and bans are going to be handed out - this is not a "wahey boobs" thread for men to make stupid comments. Please read the charter before posting again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,647 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Have boobs gone out of fashion?
    I think 'no', but there may have been a realisation by all that they aren't the be all and end all and that the attached woman isn't just a mounting device for them.

snigger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

I like my boobs and I like to wear low cut tops. I used to have lots of different ones

Took a while to dawn on me that you were referring to different tops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭boomtown123

Thank god i'm not the only one!! I'm gone off shopping. I find it sooo hard to find a nice flattering top or even dress for my boobs. They all seem to be really high necked or a really bad style of cut and make me look preggers. I find it really annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Not in my house they haven't anyway :D

But yeah OP, I find tops now are much more flattering to smallers busts, even when I don't want a particularly cleavage-y top they are often fussy around the bust, or baggy tops, or high necked, I don't seem to be able to find many to suit bigger boobs. And I'm not even very big, 34DD, but everything seems to be made to smaller.

Yeah Mrs Syklops has the same problem. She is a bit bigger than you so has even more problems finding things that fit, but she has found lots of things she likes in Penneys.

OP, have you looked in any charity shops? I know most people don;t like to be associated with charity shops, but the quality tends to be kept very very high and if the high street has moved on to the next big thing as it were I am sure you will find some things which might suit.

I am by no means a fashionista, but perhaps you can use what looks like a very simple top which has the right cut to accentuate and compliment your assets, and then decorate it with a nice upper layer, like a blazer or light jacket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I'd blame skinny jeans for that. It's very hard to wear anything fitted and low cut with them and look good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭Tigger99

Nope. Boobs are lovely.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

It's something I've noticed at weddings. Five years ago, dresses definitely had lower necklines as a rule at weddings. The last few I was at, all the necklines were around the collar bone.

V and scoop neck suit me best, and it doesn't seem too difficult to get plain t-shirts in those styles, but occasion dresses and tops seem more difficult to source.

It'll come around again, I'm sure. :)

Thanks ladies, Im glad its not just me.

I agree with the point made re skinny jeans. I had problems buying jeans for the past few years due to the low slung waist thing which looks appalling on my shape, but these days you can get "high waisted" jeans/trousers which work for me.

I really dont like when fashion is at odds with my shape!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I'm finding it easier than ever to get flattering clothes. I have big boobs and it used to be a nightmare to find anything that didn't make me look ridiculous. Everything was either designed to show them off or cover them up so much it just drew more attention to them iykwim

Over the last year or two I've had no problem finding clothes that look well and don't make me look like I'm trying to show them off.

eviltwin wrote: »
    ....and don't make me look like I'm trying to show them off.

My issue is that I AM trying to show them off.

Have you tried online? Asos and Boohoo are really good for tops.

eviltwin wrote: »
    Have you tried online? Asos and Boohoo are really good for tops.

Yeah, the problem I find with online is that you can get lucky - or not - with fit. I dont mind so much for looser tops but for clingy stuff I like to try on.

The pic I posted in this thread - thats from an online shop I have used occasionally, nice stuff but they are quite pricey (~50 euro by the time you include postage) and the quality is variable. Im talking about tops that maybe that youd wear out to the local pub - not mad dressy or expensive. Bizarrely my most favourite top right now is a high necked top from penneys that was 14 euro! But its got a really nice shape.

Ive never really liked anything in Asos, its not really my style. I will check out BooHoo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Thanks ladies, Im glad its not just me.

I agree with the point made re skinny jeans. I had problems buying jeans for the past few years due to the low slung waist thing which looks appalling on my shape, but these days you can get "high waisted" jeans/trousers which work for me.

I really dont like when fashion is at odds with my shape!

Swings and roundabouts. I'm liking fashion at the moment as it seems to be showcasing legs and hiding boobs. For tiny-chested, long-legged me this is great.

I'm sure in a couple of seasons, it will swing back the other way. I can completely understand your frustration though. I like skinny jeans, but not to wear everyday and I'm finding it impossible to get nice, high-waisted bootcut jeans. Everywhere seems to be just stocking jeggings, skinny jeans or 'slim' legs. Or if they have bootcut, they're low-waisted.

vitani wrote: »
    I like skinny jeans, but not to wear everyday and I'm finding it impossible to get nice, high-waisted bootcut jeans.
    Gap Perfect Boot? Not as low-waisted as most out there.

I'm finding it impossible to get nice, high-waisted bootcut jeans. Everywhere seems to be just stocking jeggings, skinny jeans or 'slim' legs. Or if they have bootcut, they're low-waisted.

Yes, have experienced this also, am working round it by wearing chunky boots out over high waisted skinny jeans. I havent had a decent pair of high waisted boot cuts in years.

I just checked them out, still too low slung for me Im afraid. Vero Moda did a great range of high waisted jeans last year, Im wearing a pair now. Proper high waist, close just above the belly button. I must check them out again this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Just checked the website. They might work... there's a new Gap in Blanchardstown, so I'll try there this weekend. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Swings and roundabouts. I'm liking fashion at the moment as it seems to be showcasing legs and hiding boobs. For tiny-chested, long-legged me this is great.

I'm sure in a couple of seasons, it will swing back the other way. I can completely understand your frustration though. I like skinny jeans, but not to wear everyday and I'm finding it impossible to get nice, high-waisted bootcut jeans. Everywhere seems to be just stocking jeggings, skinny jeans or 'slim' legs. Or if they have bootcut, they're low-waisted.
    If you find them let me know. I'm going mad pulling up low-waisted jeans all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

"wahey boobs"
    I thought it was just because it was getting fairly cold out.
    The sooner the better Bravissimo/Pepperberry open up in Dublin...
    http://bramora.com have a shop on Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭TheBellJar

Does anyone else with bigger boobs feel a bit self conscious in low cut tops? I wore a lot of them in my teens but I feel much more comfortable having my legs out these days than my boobs; is that odd?! It's a running joke with my male friends as most people think I'm much smaller than I am so when I do wear a more revealing top it's like 'where'd they come from?!' :P I actually think in some cases smaller chested women can carry off low cut/revealing tops much better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭misslt

Just on the jeans, Dorothy Perkins do a great bootcut, they're quite high, close just above my belly button! I live in them, love them :)

TheBellJar wrote: »
    Does anyone else with bigger boobs feel a bit self conscious in low cut tops? I wore a lot of them in my teens but I feel much more comfortable having my legs out these days than my boobs; is that odd?! It's a running joke with my male friends as most people think I'm much smaller than I am so when I do wear a more revealing top it's like 'where'd they come from?!' :P I actually think in some cases smaller chested women can carry off low cut/revealing tops much better!

I hear ya! I never minded showing off my cleavage when I was younger but now I prefer to keep them covered. Even on a night out I just don't feel comfortable with that kind of attention anymore.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I love having my boobs on show, but I find that a few of my female friends make a fuss and make me feel really self-conscious about them. I have some female friends who make nasty comments when I wear low-cut tops and dresses, and I know the only reason they do so is because they're projecting their own issues onto me.

Faith wrote: »
    I love having my boobs on show, but I find that a few of my female friends make a fuss and make me feel really self-conscious about them. I have some female friends who make nasty comments when I wear low-cut tops and dresses, and I know the only reason they do so is because they're projecting their own issues onto me.

It's the comments/leers from some guys that make me uncomfortable to be honest - it's like they think it's a license to be completely disrespectful. From women it'd mainly be the 'look you up and down' look you get sometimes, but that doesn't really phase me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

I haven't worn anything that shows off my boobs in a while- partially because I don't like the comments/attention from other people (male and female)- ranging from irritating to downright offensive and rude, and partially because I've found it does seem to be getting harder to find clothes that actually show them off nicely. I probably need to branch out a bit more in terms of where I shop, but I find a lot of tops/dresses these days seem to have high necklines or button up fronts or fancy shoulders/sleeves which is a disaster when you're built broad and top heavy like me. Tops that go up to my neckline actually feel like they make my chest MORE obvious... button up shirts make me look dowdy/matronly (plus the buttons pop off/open) and anything that makes my shoulders look larger than they already are is a no no- floaty clothing just drapes off them and I look like a box.

Now that I think about it, I can't remember the last time I bought something and thought it complimented my figure!

Gauge wrote: »
    I haven't worn anything that shows off my boobs in a while- partially because I don't like the comments/attention from other people (male and female)- ranging from irritating to downright offensive and rude, and partially because I've found it does seem to be getting harder to find clothes that actually show them off nicely. I probably need to branch out a bit more in terms of where I shop, but I find a lot of tops/dresses these days seem to have high necklines or button up fronts or fancy shoulders/sleeves which is a disaster when you're built broad and top heavy like me. Tops that go up to my neckline actually feel like they make my chest MORE obvious... button up shirts make me look dowdy/matronly (plus the buttons pop off/open) and anything that makes my shoulders look larger than they already are is a no no- floaty clothing just drapes off them and I look like a box.

Now that I think about it, I can't remember the last time I bought something and thought it complimented my figure!

God, I hear ya, shopping can be an absolute nightmare. Don't even get me started on the tops/dresses that have that seam which is meant to sit under your boobs but actually winds up sitting right across the nipple!

Or just as annoying, when the waistband is in the right place at the back but right under your boobs at the front...

Or when the zip goes up perfectly til it reaches your boobs and you have to cram them in so it looks like you're smuggling melons :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 ukulayla

Personally I absolutely love all the high necked, button up tops and dresses out there at the moment. The only problem is that, being above average in the boob area, I just can't get anything that fits me. I'm not big all over so for a top/dress to fit me in the waist it gapes at the chest and likewise if it fits my chest it looks like a tent and makes me look a LOT bigger than I really am. At the moment fashion is being an absolute fascist when it comes to big boobs,stupid swings and roundabouts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭valerie

I hear ya. I have fairly muscular shoulders and decent enough sized boobs. All the tops in shops at the moment are really floaty- if I try wearing something that doesn't highlight my waist I look huge.

valerie wrote: »
    - if I try wearing something that doesn't highlight my waist I look huge.

I find that sometimes a wee waist belt can work wonders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I'm with ye girls, my kingdom for a shirt I can actually button, or a floaty top that doesn't make me look pregnant.

I find that sometimes a wee waist belt can work wonders.

Even a waist belt is not going to make the size 14-16 dress needed to work up top work on the size 12 rest of me :mad:

I'm in the same boat but I honestly find that does work for me sometimes!..except when it's meant to be a fitted dress and winds up being all boxy at the ass/hips where it's too big :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I love the way fashion has been trending recently! I think floaty tops and skinny jeans suit me. I have average boobs and I'm fairly straight up-and-down rather than hourglass so the skinny leg look is perfect on me. I prefer to emphasise my arms and legs.

I'm always drawn to this kinda thing:

4370005170.jpg

And anytime I emphasise my boobs I do get the "where have they been?" comments. :pac:

kylith wrote: »
    I'm with ye girls, my kingdom for a shirt I can actually button, or a floaty top that doesn't make me look pregnant.

this is my problem too. Getting a bloody shirt that doesn't gape out at the front that will also fit well everywhere else. :mad: