Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tallafornia Gym opening in Greystones

• 20-03-2013 12:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 46

The cast of Tallafornia are to open a gym in Greystones, called go gym

https://www.facebook.com/go.gym.393

Does anybody watch this show? I watched it for a few minutes but seemed a bit cringeworthy...

Wondering how this gym might turn out, thinking of joining, but it all seems a bit odd?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I heard Hanley is a big fan :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭madma

i think its 2 of the lads out of the show that own.

1 of them was a complete muppet advertising it constandly on the show with t-shirts and mugs etc and on the after-show.. hope it goes down the ****ter very quickly

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

I heard Hanley is a big fan :D

I'm a fan of any gym that can take an already well trained girl and stack 2.5kg of muscle onto her while shredding 6% body fat in a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

madma wrote: »

1 of them was a complete muppet advertising it constandly on the show with t-shirts and mugs etc and on the after-show.. hope it goes down the ****ter very quickly

Now that's just not nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

I don't watch this show but I have seen the 2 lads the odd time - in fairness they are the least idiotic of the lot of them and I don't mind telling you I wouldn't mind the physique of either of them.

fair play to them for having the balls to go out and turn their passion into a career for themselves. And I admire how they went about it if it's true. That's very clever if you ask me.

Why do Irish folk always have to begrudge everyone ?

best of luck lads - the more people try something like this the more jobs created in our economy and the better off we all are !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Not Easy

CianRyan wrote: »

Agreed.. the area could do with a decent gym, and seems like alot of people are signing up.

I have gone to have a look, seems a decent setup, alot bigger than any gyms in the area..

But the Tallafornia connection seems a bit mad,, are these guys actors or trainers. Will they have time to dedicate to the gym or will they be off making the next series of Tallafornia?

Are they going to decide to film some episodes in the gym and have my silly head in the background? :eek:

I hope its a well run gym and not just a spot a celebrity fad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 Not Easy

RobAMerc wrote: »
    And I admire how they went about it if it's true. That's very clever if you ask me.

How did they go about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Not Easy wrote: »
    Agreed.. the area could do with a decent gym, and seems like alot of people are signing up.

I have gone to have a look, seems a decent setup, alot bigger than any gyms in the area..

But the Tallafornia connection seems a bit mad,, are these guys actors or trainers. Will they have time to dedicate to the gym or will they be off making the next series of Tallafornia?

Are they going to decide to film some episodes in the gym and have my silly head in the background? :eek:

I hope its a well run gym and not just a spot a celebrity fad.

Dave was a personal trainer before this AFAIK, he trained my GF's dad's football team.
    He said Dave was a great lad and this was before Tallafornia came out.

I wish them the best of luck anyway. Always good to see younger lads and ladies starting up their own business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

Not Easy wrote: »
    How did they go about it?

They claim to have only gone into Tallafornia to gain notoriety and from that get an investor.
    if that is the case then fair play.
    if they are being paid by someone who is opening a gym to claim this then that is a different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭ferike1

Good luck to them! Hope it goes well for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

And you would say this to their faces would ya ?

Congratualtions you are todays
    http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_p2_8aZ7honk/TSbjFq7t84I/AAAAAAAAADs/-kJJqoOL5iw/s1600/Internet-Warrior-500x400.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Both have been in Citywest gym for a good few years. Wouldn't know either of them other than to ya 'Howya' to but they both seem like sound lads. The bigger chap worked there for a good few years and has always been in tremendous shape - as has the smaller chap. New gym is not near my area so I won't be checking it out but I wish them the best of luck with it... I saw on the FB page they are installing an 'astro strip'? Good to see more than 'the norm' being included, equipment-wise...

dario28 wrote: »
    And you would say this to their faces would ya ?

Congratualtions you are todays
    http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_p2_8aZ7honk/TSbjFq7t84I/AAAAAAAAADs/-kJJqoOL5iw/s1600/Internet-Warrior-500x400.jpg

congratulations your a bandwagon jumping sheep! fair play to ya!

if i want to give my personal opinion on something i will and i dont need to explain myself.

would i say that their face? i actually did a while ago, worse than what i posted and to the person the 1 im on about i think its fairly obvious who that is.. 'again' i dont need to explain as i had my reasons nothing to do with show or gym i actually dont couldnt care less about that.

CianRyan wrote: »

haha yeah defo harsh, thats how much i hate over promotion.. im the mug for watching the show but its that pathetic just had to watch it and cringe. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Look like they have a nice big place with some good equipment. I think its par for the course that new gyms do a lot of shameless self promotion and wild claims of greatness without a hint of modesty. Their television exploits certainly give them a head start...however how do they compete with the corminators gym for kids who cant bench good?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Look like they have a nice big place with some good equipment. I think its par for the course that new gyms do a lot of shameless self promotion and wild claims of greatness without a hint of modesty. Their television exploits certainly give them a head start...however how do they compete with the corminators gym for kids who cant bench good?

well presumably theirs is a gym for human beings, not ants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭DL Saint

haha yeah defo harsh, thats how much i hate over promotion.. im the mug for watching the show but its that pathetic just had to watch it and cringe. :pac:

Ah but if they had not promoted it on the show would you or anyone else watching had of known about it? probably not, unless you are a superfan. But as you say most people just watch the show and cringe so would most likely not be searching the internet for what the cast are doing.

Look at the end of the day what the lads did worked. They managed to get the word out about their new gym and generate public interest without paying for advertising on tv or radio like a few other gyms do (cough ben dunne). Fair play to them I hope it goes well for them. From the pictures the machines look like the kind you would see in the 90's in america, it's not too over extravagant but it's solid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭GavMan

To be fair, 399 per year and they throw in a towel, Shaker, T Shirt , Lock and ipod holder (I presume an arm strap jobbie).

399 is 10 months for the price of 12 if you were paying by DD.

A lot better than most gyms and better than a kick in the arse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 sandib315

I went to view it and i must say that it is head and shoulders above what is in greystones at the moment. It is huge with alot of varied equipment. There is also a weights section for just women as they would feel more comfortable. There is also diverse classes that are not just spinning like in the shoreline they are also cheaper than shoreline by €20 per month. They are not putting in the pool they are having a relaxing area of jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. They have 12 showers in each stall and their equipment is what the NFL use in america. The best bonus of all is NO children allowed into the gym...

Dave showed myself and my fiance around and he was lovely deffinately knows his stuff. My fiance has bersitus in his shoulder and Dave was able to tell him what he can do for him to rehabilitate the muscles. I would trust him and I will be moving from shoreline to Go Gym.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭john_cappa

Shame on them for being smart and using the show for advertising!!!!

Fair play to them. At least they are trying to open a business rather than try to become zlist celebs/tv presenters/models etc which is what alot of "reality" stars try.

I smell a new reality show. It can be battle of the newly set up Gyms

Revolution vs Go Gym......

FIGHT

ferike1 wrote: »

FIGHT

Revoluton gym will be placed across the road from them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,587 ✭✭✭JJayoo

congratulations your a bandwagon jumping sheep! fair play to ya!

if i want to give my personal opinion on something i will and i dont need to explain myself.

would i say that their face? i actually did a while ago, worse than what i posted and to the person the 1 im on about i think its fairly obvious who that is.. 'again' i dont need to explain as i had my reasons nothing to do with show or gym i actually dont couldnt care less about that.

You sound cool can I be your friend.

Revoluton gym will be placed across the road from them :)

Hanley vs Tallafornia lads...

What could go wrong?! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I think fair play to them for getting some free advertising. Everyone needs to start somewhere and they utilised their time on the show.

I'd be turned off by the fact though that they seem to be miracle workers shredding over 5% fat off people in a week.

Hanley vs Tallafornia lads...

What could go wrong?! :D

hanley might get the corminator on his side..then theres no contest!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭notGill

hanley might get the corminator on her side..then theres no contest!:pac:

That's an unfortunate typo...

Dave helps with training the Wicklow u-21 football, I've heard nothing but good things about him! So I can only wish them the best and fair play for opening a new business in current times.

notGill wrote: »
    I'm not a regular poster and even I know he won't be happy with that reference...

Dave helps with training the Wicklow u-21 football, I've heard nothing but good things about him! So I can only wish them the best and fair play for opening a new business in current times.

edited

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Two accounts on here with less then ten posts each.
    I smell fake tan...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Mickk

I own the gym with the lads, I've brought in all the equipment from america and we've done a very american style gym, lots of hammer strength and strive plate loaded machines, dumbbells up to 60kg, 10 dumbbell benches, 6 bench presses, 3 power racks, olympic lifting platform and bumpers, 8 boxing bags, rings, a 60ft astroturf track with prowlers and battle ropes/grapplers along with a normal gym with 30 selectorised machines and 50 pieces of cardio equipment. We weren't able to afford all brand new equipment but I have picked some really good used equipment and it all works perfectly, I just can't wait to get it open and start training again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,587 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Mickk wrote: »
    I own the gym with the lads, I've brought in all the equipment from america and we've done a very american style gym, lots of hammer strength and strive plate loaded machines, dumbbells up to 60kg, 10 dumbbell benches, 6 bench presses, 3 power racks, olympic lifting platform and bumpers, 8 boxing bags, rings, a 60ft astroturf track with prowlers and battle ropes/grapplers along with a normal gym with 30 selectorised machines and 50 pieces of cardio equipment. We weren't able to afford all brand new equipment but I have picked some really good used equipment and it all works perfectly, I just can't wait to get it open and start training again!

Sounds class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Sounds excellent. You know what you're doing and know how to do business (I've dealt with you before, you won't know who I am on this account or remember it anyway as it was a minor bit of business for a personal gym but the point still stands!). Dave from Tallafornia has an annoying personality (on the show) but has a body that exemplifies that he knows how to train and has experience. Jay from Tallafornia seems like an intelligent individual which is hilarious given that he was a stripper and starred in a reality show, not typical occupations that you'd associate with a person who clearly has a bit of cop on; he seemed to be an incredibly normal person thrown in the mix a few mad characters.

If I was local and didn't have my own gym then it's a gym I'd definitely consider based on the equipment they have. I wouldn't let the fact that the lads were on Tallafornia dictate my decision. In my experience plenty of people that work in gyms are unfriendly knobs anyway but it's not like you have to interact with people you don't like every time you go to the gym anyway (not that anyone who works at the gym are knobs, i don't know em!)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,892 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Nice one. Best of luck Mick.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha I was reading this thread wondering if people knew who else was behind it. Bet anyone who's commented negatively now is all like "omg mickk's on board that's super awesome I'm so excited" :D:D

Gonna have to drop out for a poke at some stage :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Sounds class Mickk, but....can you do dips, the triceps make up 230% of you arms :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭Danye

Hanley wrote: »
    Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha I was reading this thread wondering if people knew who else was behind it. Bet anyone who's commented negatively now is all like "omg mickk's on board that's super awesome I'm so excited" :D:D

Gonna have to drop out for a poke at some stage :)

Agreed.

What was with all the negativity in the first place though?

Seems like a really good facility at a really good price and the lads obviously worked hard to get this up and running in such demanding times.

Best of luck to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Danye wrote: »
    What was with all the negativity in the first place though?

Tallafornia related I assume. I don't see why though, wish the two of them and Mickk the very best with the business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Thud

FIGHT

So now it's Hanley vs Mick....

Powerlifter(life coach) vs Bodybuilder

20130102_me_sheamus_ziggler_pre_large_l.0_standard_352.0.jpg

who's you money on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭MrPoker

This is the most retarded post I have ever read on boards. People with this attitude really drag the country down. Why can't you just be happy to see a new business set up that will offer some employment. Yeah I think the show is pants but I would never like to see any new business fail because of some of the cast members. Fair play to the lads for being entrepenurial in these tough times and best of luck to their new venture.

MrPoker wrote: »

This is the most retarded post I have ever read on boards. People with this attitude really drag the country down. Why can't you just be happy to see a new business set up that will offer some employment. Yeah I think the show is pants but I would never like to see any new business fail because of some of the cast members. Fair play to the lads for being entrepenurial in these tough times and best of luck to their new venture.

Zzzzzzz this has already been covered, why drag it up again?? Must be looking for loads of thanks on your hero post! If anything your post is retarded as your dragging it up again. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Michael 09

Ok fine ill be the one to ask.........

When are you gonna invite the boardsies out for a session?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

just show up, pay your money for a one off session and go enjoy it.

Support them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭COH

Transform wrote: »
    just show up, pay your money for a one off session and go enjoy it.

Support them

No - its Mickks turn to host the boards beers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭robot7080

It'll be crawling with juicers in a few months... in saying that I reckon they'll be able to stick together a good gym.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭MrPoker

Zzzzzzz this has already been covered, why drag it up again?? Must be looking for loads of thanks on your hero post! If anything your post is retarded as your dragging it up again. Well done.

Not at all. Your post just really annoyed me when I clicked into the thread and I felt compelled to respond to it. Anyway I'll leave it at that.

robot7080 wrote: »
    It'll be crawling with juicers in a few months... in saying that I reckon they'll be able to stick together a good gym.

Like every other gym in the country so?

Hanley wrote: »
    Like every other gym in the country so?

I thought you did mandatory testing at your gym before anyone could become a member :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

This is quite irritating. I'd hope they offer good value for money and achieve success relative to the level of the facilities and services they offer. As I would for any new business venture in this economy. By all means hate on businesses charging too much for shoddy goods and services - no need to prehate!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Mickk

RobAMerc wrote: »
    They claim to have only gone into Tallafornia to gain notoriety and from that get an investor.
    if that is the case then fair play.
    if they are being paid by someone who is opening a gym to claim this then that is a different story.

The way some of them behave on that show makes me completely understand the negative sentiments towards them, there is even a petition in the local beauty or hair salon to stop us opening up!

Btw I should say, this wasn't my idea where I got them to be a face for the business, they had already found the building and came to me looking for a quote on equipment. When I saw the building and the area I decided it had massive potential and asked them if I could invest. Jay reckons he used to be a builder and I've seen him drinking a lot of tea so it's probably true but we're all working 24/7 to get it open on a very tight budget. Anyway I have to go and pick up the 36 sunbeds that are going into the changing rooms ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

I think these guys have done it right. Get your notoriety up, get the right people involved (Mickk) and go for it. It looks as though it's going to be a very good set up and will rival a lot of gyms with its quality.

Best of luck Mickk, hope all goes well for you and the crew.