Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HSC Season 1: Week 8 :Smash TV

• 18-03-2013 9:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭

smashtvmarq.jpg

35216801.jpg

Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Smash_TV

ROMSet: smashtv

Default Settings.

- Last day is Sunday 24th March 2013.

General Rules:

- Highest score wins.

- No savestates, savestate practices, etc. during the round.

- MAME INP recordings are encouraged but optional.

- A screenshot is required to enter a score (press F12 to save screenshot showing your final score) or take a photo of the game screen.

- Use of autofire or other non-standard hacks within MAME or your PC's OS are not allowed.

Standings
    1. urbanledge (20)
    2. brianon (16)
    3. sengoku (15)
    4. o1s1n (10)
    5. dr bob (7)
    6. CathalDublin (6)
    6. Sparks43 (6)
    8. 80s Synth Pop (5)
    9. TechnoFreak (4)
    10. eddhorse (3)
    11. unky chop chop (2)
    11. krudler (2)
    13. keithgeo (1)
    13. andrew76 (1)

List of games ...
    Dig Dug
    Kung Fu Master
    Mikie
    Pac-land
    Ghosts'n Goblins
    Twin Cobra
    Ghosts n Goblins
    Gauntlet II
    Boulder Dash
    Double Dragon
    Shock Troopers
    Mercs
    Twin Cobra
    Altered Beast
    r-type
    willow
    neo bomberman
    Alien Versus Predator
    boulder dash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭brianon

Get your 360 pad ready :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

How the hell do i use the keyboard on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Two directional setups.

WSAD on one side and IJKL on the other :)

Great game. Score to get the ball rolling 395900

0004_zps6c3b2ea0.png

Master of the Universe

Tiny bit better

0007_zps7b8217d0.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

1st go and small score 379950

245484.jpg

Master of the Universe

HAHAHAHA!

Best bezel I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭TechnoFreek

Never played this before. I do I manage the controls on my cab 2l12b if it requires dual setup?

Master of the Universe

It's a dual stick game. You could map some of the buttons to the right stick.

I'm playing it on a laptop with two WASD controller setups. So the one on the left runs around and the one on the right shoots in the directions.

0010_zps2a676d29.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

ps3 pad will be handy for this

o1s1n wrote: »
    It's a dual stick game. You could map some of the buttons to the right stick.

Sound. Will try that tonight so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭sengoku

Its got the same control set-up as Robotron, Bangai-O and Galaxy Wars.

245629.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Mitchomagic

Anybody looking for the real deal Pictures ipone 209.jpg will be offered on adverts in the next few days,Having a clear out more coming soon

Master of the Universe

Wow! Lovely looking cab Mitch. That side art is brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Mitchomagic

Wow! Lovely looking cab Mitch. That side art is brilliant.

so when do you want it delivered??.:)

245658.png

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,186 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

245700.png
    279340 , just cant get by the 3rd room ..going to have a crack at it again later

Master of the Universe

Bit better than my last attempt.

0016_zps1045b762.png

Played a bit of this last night. Configured the player 2 joystick as directional shoot.

Got a score of around 400k. Will post pic later.

Interestingly the hi score for this game didn't load up when I went back to it. I've read that this happpens with the odd game on mame but its the first not to work for me.

Anyone else experience this?

Master of the Universe

Yeah every time I go back to this the high score has been reset. Bit annoying :(

This game has a lot of randomization when it comes to power ups. On one of my goes I managed to pick up three extra lives between two rooms.

Yeah every time I go back to this the high score has been reset. Bit annoying :(

This game has a lot of randomization when it comes to power ups. On one of my goes I managed to pick up three extra lives between two rooms.

Same here with the lives. I still got a crappy score though!
    Also has anyone noticed that the score doesmt reset if you continue? Unusual enough!

No cheating now!

We work on the age old honour system :)

Master of the Universe

If we suddenly start seeing scores in the millions we know who the culprits are :D

I tought I hated this game.
    Had a few creds last night.
    Its really good!
    tough as fook but fair!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

urbanledge wrote: »
    I tought I hated this game.
    Had a few creds last night.
    Its really good!
    tough as fook but fair!

Then I realised the High Score doesn't reset & now I love it

Fixed :pac:

One more hour to go before the deadline.

246276.png

My meagre score.

0001_zps19a39505.png

Can we get an extension till tomorrow evening?
    I forgot up upload mine!

Can we get an extension till tomorrow evening?
    I forgot up upload mine!

Well, well, well ! Sure :)

brianon wrote: »
    Well, well, well ! Sure :)

:mad:
    Leader board
    1. urbanledge (20)
    2. brianon (16)
    3. sengoku (15)

I would like to nominate Football Champ for the next game.

sengoku wrote: »

I would like to nominate Football Champ for the next game.

Hmmmm. I just thought its a friendly competition. I don't mind either way. I've not accepted a late entry before buth then I've not rejected a late entry either.

Just leave it so,
    I dont mind either way :P

Master of the Universe

Just leave it so,
    I dont mind either way :P

How dare you Urbanledge! Don't you realize what is at stake?! :pac:

I find it mind boggling that someone would take issue with such a thing in a friendly competition. It's only a bit of craic lads. Unless Paddy Power have odds going on this which I'm not aware of or something. :confused:

Anyway, my vote for the next game goes to Mercs.

ha ha ha
    I dont want to cause a falling out on the A&R forums!

Maybe its not so friendly at the top of the table. ;-)

My vote is for Pacman. I'll show you friendly ;)

My vote is for Gun Force

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,186 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dr Bob

Wasnt last weeks new game a day late going up anyway ( which is grand ) so surely u.l. would be ok submitting one now? . This is only an informal contest tbh
    ( or should I give yer man from twin qalaxies directions to my gaff:)) . Nominate commando this week btw.

Master of the Universe

My vote is for Gun Force

Nooo Gun Force 2 is the good one :)

Hah. Just found gun force spinning through the hyperspin wheel. Didn't know there was a sequel.

Master of the Universe

Gunforce 2 is almost the Metal Slug prototype. It's made by the guys from Irem who went on to create Nazca and the Metal Slug series. It even shares some sounds and sprites :)

Do what you want lads! :rolleyes:

Gunforce 2 is almost the Metal Slug prototype. It's made by the guys from Irem who went on to create Nazca and the Metal Slug series. It even shares some sounds and sprites :)

Today's lesson was brought to you by oisin!

Master of the Universe

Do what you want lads! :rolleyes:

tumblr_lh1sve2s9d1qg3ycwo1_500.jpg

I'm off to Jamma+

Right,
    here we go!

image.png

Next week,
    Donpachi!!!

Master of the Universe

DoDonPachi!

Man, you guys know knowing your sequals! :p

DoDonPachi!

Man, you guys know knowing your sequals! :p

Maybe you just have a fetish for sequels, or sequals as you call them ;-)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Maybe you just have a fetish for sequels, or sequals as you call them ;-)

You have a point there, he prefers Raiden 2 over the original! :eek:

Master of the Universe

It's just a weird coincidence that two mediocre games with amazing sequels (which are an example of the best in their genres) happen to have been mentioned!!! :pac:

I do love Raiden 2 though...

Sorry this is so late. Daughter is off school so here annoyong me :)

Leaderboard
    887960 brianon (5)
    812560 urbanledge (3)
    661680 sengoku (2)
    659660 01s1n (1)
    412640 TechnoFreek (1)
    379950 sparks43 (1)
    279340 dr bob (1)

Standings
    1. urbanledge (23)
    2. brianon (21)
    3. sengoku (17)