Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michael Lowry (Democracy)

• 17-03-2013 11:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 20,816 ✭✭✭✭

With democracy do you have to accept the choice of the people of Tipperary North? It is obviously hard for somebody outside of Tipperary to understand local politics and the choice of the people.

In fairness to Mattie McGrath - whilst he put himself forward as a local man, he has performed very well on national issues , helping people all over the county.

Anyway, this is very political so maybe should be in politics, but a few other threads about the mistakes of the Celtic Tiger and the errors we made. Do Irish people have a burden of responsibilty for the mess we are in?

I feel people outside of the normal political threads and forums are more representative of general opinion (they are a bit mental on there) - Hence After Hours :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Best place for it OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Every county has their gombeen.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Mattie McGrath is a self serving incompetent public "servant."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

With democracy do you have to accept the choice of the people of Tipperary North?

Yes :)

What saints did you elect for your area?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,816 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

bleg wrote: »
    Mattie McGrath is a self serving incompetent public "servant."

He was at an overnight protest there , when the lads were in the bar - went up in my books big time.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Its a long way to Tipperary

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

It is obviously hard for somebody outside of Tipperary to understand local politics and the choice of the people.

Not really, they're gob****es. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 30 the emperors innuendo

judging by how people voted in north tipp in the last election lowrys position should be secure considering the more controversy he generates the more popular he becomes. he should be in for a landslide victory come next election

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Yes :)

What saints did you elect for your area?

Obviously nobody is perfect - but there was nobody elected like Lowry.

Bertie and Haughey were local enough - so good point. But, times have changed big time.

Bambi wrote: »
    Not really, they're gob****es. :)

They are all Irish - they must be like us in some way ?

judging by how people voted in north tipp in the last election lowrys position should be secure considering the more controversy he generates the more popular he becomes. he should be in for a landslide victory come next election

In a way that is why I put up the thread. I would like it to become a national issue.

Let the people change the outcome - Overreaching :)

Obvioulsy thread careful my friends.

its politicians like lowry who are the problem in this country. hes part of an old generation of politician, the crooked kind that are held bent on destroying this country. if i was in charge he would be the first against the wall but i would settle for a 15 year jail sentence for him to be made an example of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

It is obviously hard for somebody outside of Tipperary Dublin to understand local politics and the choice of the people.
    Bertie and Haughey were local

See what I did there?

National issue is right

its politicians like lowry who are the problem in this country. hes part of an old generation of politician, the crooked kind that are held bent on destroying this country. if i was in charge he would be the first against the wall but i would settle for a 15 year jail sentence for him to be made an example of

But we vote in the politicians - is it a wider social issue. Beat the system.

A bit like McSavage there - we can blame the English in some way.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    See what I did there?

National issue is right

big changes in Dublin - look at FF in last National. Things change fast in a city maybe. But 1 seat - only 1 (I think).

Amazing drop for FF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

soo, absolutely no chance of anyone slandering lowry within this thread anyway..:D

But we vote in the politicians - is it a wider social issue. Beat the system.

A bit like McSavage there - we can blame the English in some way.

thats the problem with democracy. boards.ie is a good example. there are many intelligent views here on how we should run the country but at the end of the day its the electorate who decide and the electorate have a proven track record of electing incompetent people. what we need is a man who will rule with an iron fist. sometimes a dictatorship is necessary to get a country back on its feet

political corruption shouldn't be tolerated in ireland. penalties similar to treason should be dished out to those who abuse their positions

Dwork wrote: »
    soo, absolutely no chance of anyone slandering lowry within this thread anyway..:D

BTW - would not want anyone to get in trouble - But there is plenty on public record - but best avoided.

This is more about Irish People - what they are thinking when voting.

BTW - would not want anyone to get in trouble - But there is plenty on public record - but best avoided.

This is more about Irish People - wtf are they thinking when voting.
    fyp.

fyp.

So - should we blame ourselves.

not clever quote "you get the ..................."

Maybe Politics was the thread anyway - if RTE is not covering this , it is a bad place to go.

MODS help.

So - should we blame ourselves.

not clever quote "you get the ..................."

Maybe Politics was the thread anyway - if RTE is not covering this , it is a bad place to go.

MODS help.
    Ohhh it's no good looking for mammy now, you're in this sonny, like it or not, now man up and start calling people names.:D I'd throw in a "sheeple" or two -top tip.

Maybe, people who Post on Boards and forums are not a very good range of the Irish people.

That is why there seems to be a dissconnect between online discusion and general and local opinion. Sorry that is another days work.

Anyway - I'll leave it now. See what people think.

Ohhh it's no good looking for mammy now, you're in this sonny, like it or not, now man up and start calling people names.:D I'd throw in a "sheeple" or two -top tip.

That is another issue - people in fear of talking about it. WTF has happened to the Irish Media - fair play TV3 and VB.

It is nearly Italy at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

This is more about Irish People - what they are thinking when voting.

Self interest. N.Tipp isn't all that different from anywhere else, Lowry has a good rep for getting things done in and for his area, whether that rep is justified or not is something the voters decide.
    He dose attach his name to anything that might garner votes from bottle banks to white house casinos, and this enhances his profile, believe it or not some vote for a 'name' even if thats all they know about the candidate.
    In fairness he is approachable and like a lot of old school politicians will work his ass of for someone who asks.
    Anyway I'm not sure anyone would bother voting if they thought the elected would put national interest above their personal request.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

It depends. TN and TS are being merged into a 5 seater. Nobody safe I reckon. Lowry might do OK in the northern towns but will get nothing in the south.

tommy2bad wrote: »
    Self interest. N.Tipp isn't all that different from anywhere else, Lowry has a good rep for getting things done in and for his area, whether that rep is justified or not is something the voters decide.
    He dose attach his name to anything that might garner votes from bottle banks to white house casinos, and this enhances his profile, believe it or not some vote for a 'name' even if thats all they know about the candidate.
    In fairness he is approachable and like a lot of old school politicians will work his ass of for someone who asks.
    Anyway I'm not sure anyone would bother voting if they thought the elected would put national interest above their personal request.

I WOULD.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,796 ✭✭✭Hijpo

The people have to vote for someone, the candidates promise the sun moon and stars, if they lie well enough they get a seat and shout and heckle in the Dail until there pensions are secured, realistically none of them have the power to contest anything. Dont forget to factor in the situation that not one party allow there TD's to exercise there true opinions with out the risk of consequences because of the party whip system.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

I WOULD.

Yeah and so would I but I know a lot of people who wouldn't.
    A big problem with democracy is the 'whats in it for me?' factor, we get politicians who know how to play on this desire to get one over on the system, not just here but everywhere a democracy works. When politicians run with the 'whats in it for me?' you get tribal politics, end result African states, American style rhetoric, and Healy-Ray, Michale Lowrys.
    Were not the worst or the best at democracy.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,751 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

thats the problem with democracy. boards.ie is a good example. there are many intelligent views here on how we should run the country but at the end of the day its the electorate who decide and the electorate have a proven track record of electing incompetent people. what we need is a man who will rule with an iron fist. sometimes a dictatorship is necessary to get a country back on its feet

political corruption shouldn't be tolerated in ireland. penalties similar to treason should be dished out to those who abuse their positions

Penalties similar to treason? The penalty for treason is life imprisonment with a minimum term of 40 years. How similar to that would you like?

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭Mick ah

We could do away with all of the gombeen TDs and save a fortune if we were just ruled directly from Berlin. Cut out the middle man so to speak.