Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saint Patrick's Day Madness

• 15-03-2013 7:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Steve O

Eye fruckin luv you op *hic*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Its one bank holiday weekend I'm thankful to be working and away from it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Phoenix wrote: »
    Any tales of drunken violence,depravity and debauchery from your respective towns,cities and villages?
    Yep, Loads. You first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I'm planning to go to the library ALL day (with earplugs). Dublin city is digusting past 3pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭McBauer

Larianne wrote: »
    I'm planning to go to the library ALL day (with earplugs). Dublin city is digusting past 3pm.

Ah don't go, you sound like great craic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭razorgil

aaahh, had some of my best blackouts on paddys day(s)....mighty!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Larianne wrote: »
    Dublin city is digusting past 3pm.
    I'm heading in at 4pm with my camera!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

I'll probably just drink too much and vomit everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

McBauer wrote: »
    Ah don't go, you sound like great craic!

Final year of college. I'll be minus craic till the middle of May! :pac:
    smash wrote: »
    I'm heading in at 4pm with my camera!

Bring a spare memory card!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

I'm going to drink heavily from 7am, vomit profusely all over the door of the GPO and generally act like a zombie menace. To celebrate my being Irish of course.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

In before the locked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

No stories but I have the same observation every year. It seems to bring out people with this weird mix of drifter/cowboy/knacker all in one.

Never see these people at any other time of year. It's like they come down from the mountain/out of their trailer for the one week of the year only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Stupid thread seems to be posted every year.
    It's a bank holiday. Some drink to excess, some don't. If you don't like it then stay at home or at least go home early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Outside of Dublin I've never really experienced any real trouble. Obviously there does be more fights etc in pubs and clubs but that can be expected when such a larger number than usual have been in the pub all day.

At least our firemen haven't been banned from taking part in parades :pac:

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Shock-as-firefighters-banned-from-Savannah-St-Patricks-Day-parade--195234891.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

bbam wrote: »
    Stupid thread seems to be posted every year.
    It's a bank holiday. Some drink to excess, some don't. If you don't like it then stay at home or at least go home early.

Who pissed in your shamrocks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

A gang of us went drinking in London one Paddys day in early 90s and ended up in a strangers house party in Kilburn.

Woke up the next morning in the sitting room with bodies trown everywhere to the most disgusting smell ever.

After some investigation it turned out someone drunkingly sleepwalking took a big scuttery sh1t on the radiator.

Jesus , as long as I live ill never smell anything as bad as baked bogger crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Any tales of drunken violence,depravity and debauchery from your respective towns,cities and villages?

I'm home for the festivities this weekend, and I have to say walking around Dublin this afternoon there was a great buzz in the air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Ah it's only messy when the lightweight teenagers are around. They stagger about in their track suits with cans of cheap cider and then mysteriously disappear around 6pm to make more teenage babies.

Just go see a parade early and talk to some tourists - it's great craic.
    Then go home after the parade to avoid the teenagers.
    Then head out at 9pm, packed pubs with dodgy bands playing rebel songs.

Better than Arthur's Day* anyway (*copyrighted).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

"Packed pubs with dodgy bands playing rebel songs"

I just love the inclusivity of St Patrick's Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

No. None. Saw loads of people waving flags and smiling, if that's any use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Madness? Nah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

"Packed pubs with dodgy bands playing rebel songs"

I just love the inclusivity of St Patrick's Day.

there taking precautions in belfast
    Two universities in Belfast are closing down over the St Patrick's Day holiday in an attempt to prevent a repeat of serious violence, which erupted in a student area in the city in previous years.

apparently in the north its the nationlist's 12th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Yeah I remember one year my exes sister lost the plot completely. We was all out drinking all day when suddenly out of nowhere she turns around and punches her best friend in the face. Of course there was mayhem and she got kicked out that pub.
    We go over the road to another pub and she starts fighting with another girl and gets barred from there too. We go into a third pub and she started fighting there too and got barred. So she was barred from 3 pubs in about 15 mins. The girl doesn't drink now, probably better off.

Another year was standing outside the pub at 5pm on the phone to a mate.
    This English guy who had been in the pub 5 mins before came flying out the door and three fellas came out the door after him and beat the Shiite outta him so he goes home, and comes back about 5 mins later. He was chasing the fellas who beat him around cars and the street with a samuri sword swinging it everyway until the guards came and took him away lol.... Heard afterwards that he was started on in the pub for no reason other than being English....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭srm23

looking forward to making a public nuisance of myself,
    particularly going out of my way to hassle dry shites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I'm in the middles of exams so I won't be able to disgrace myself this year :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭Fattes

No different to an average Friday night in any town just more silly hats and tourists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

0-3 reminded me today wasn't it... will be sick of the sight of fcuking shamrocks come sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I got so locked three years ago, I was awarded a free pass for subsequent years. However soon I hope to get back to some drunken rowdiness and maybe a spot of cannibalism, in the spirit of that day thats in it etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

One story only, it seems to happen every year too. A bunch of fcukers fly away to ridiculous destinations and hand over bowls of Shamrock to other fcukers, the joys of being a politician.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Blackbush1905

Roll on the 17th of march , World pedo day every dirty old cretin welcome - as long as dressed in green or white robe,, mexicans love old men in robes they're very good with da kids!! Oh la lei ariba la pedo!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Blackbush1905

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Il Trap

This thread will end some time late tomorrow night in true Paddy's Day spirit -

THREAD LOCKED ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

Fattes wrote: »
    No different to an average Friday night in any town just more silly hats and tourists

friday is odd skirmishes...paddys is like a warzone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

Don't forget to pack your scumbrellas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Don't forget to pack your scumbrellas.

Not expecting scumshine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭dave3004

my mate just got a 180 dollar fine from the police for barking out a taxi window : )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

fryup wrote: »

Ahhh we're not that bad ... It's not like we go parading through and tearing up East Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

People get stabbed in Brum every Paddy's Day, it's Bedlam. I think it was about 5 last year, plus a few slashings.

I'm not there this year, will miss it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Working a night shift. Going to be fun...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭jprboy

Thread disappoints.
    Saw title and was expecting stuff like this:

Teach an Craic
    Ar teach i lar ar sraid

This thread suggs.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

brummytom wrote: »
    People get stabbed in Brum every Paddy's Day, it's Bedlam. I think it was about 5 last year, plus a few slashings.

I'm not there this year, will miss it...

What about Manchesteh? No slashings?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

I was in the Kebab shop last year and woke up the next morning remembering somebody had their trousers stolen . I though I was loosing the plot but alot of people put it up on facebook that it did happen .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭I Luv Crysis

thread needs moawr stories of "madness"

Last St Patricks Day, I drank so much that I literally died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,693 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Last St Patricks Day, I drank so much that I literally died.

Here now, I think you're lying to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

No, no. St Patrickus Zombiecus is a documented condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

He was resurrected a couple of weeks later.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭The Barefoot Pizza Thief

Breaking my arse laughing at this all day but in the Centra beside the Gresham, four French women were arguing with the guy behind the counter about how much it was for seven Croissants. He tried all the usual cliches of slowing his speech down and speaking each syllable really loudly at them but they just kept ranting away at him and noticing that we were all getting impatient behind them in the queue, he shouts out:

"Look ladies, I can't speak Spanish. Okay!"