Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

info on new licence

• 13-03-2013 7:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32

I applied for my first licence on a shotgun and its now 10 days past the 90 day period set out by the guards what can I do is this normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Ring up the FO of the station you left your paperwork into and enquire how your application is progressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 boltaction13

I'll do that. Do you know is it common to take longer than the 3 months

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

It can take longer than the three months. While technically it's a refusal many lads have gotten their licenses months, even years after their application went in.

Ring up, and ask, but don't panic.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Sometimes there quick sometimes there slow just ring up or call in and look for the FO

Thanks lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

I applied for my first licence on a shotgun and its now 10 days past the 90 day period set out by the guards what can I do is this normal.

There on a bit of a go slow at the moment,still waiting for my renewal,up since 31 January:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Cass wrote: »
    It can take longer than the three months. While technically it's a refusal many lads have gotten their licenses months, even years after their application went in.

Ring up, and ask, but don't panic.

They have to refuse you in writing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Johnnyq79

Was informed by them last week in Dublin, that there was a problem printing them off to send out, should be sorted by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 glenmax

i think the blue flu is in operation.....granting licence means revenue for govt...
    be calm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Johnnyq79

doesn't apply to firearms license i don't think

garv123 wrote:
    They have to refuse you in writing though.

Has anyone got a definite on that.

It states that if an application is refused a letter of refusal must be given to the applicant. However if a decision has not been relayed within 3 months the application is deemed as refused.

It says nothing about requiring the Super/Chief Super to issue a letter of refusal in such a case. So does anyone know if it states anywhere that a letter must be sent to the applicant if no decision has been relayed within 3 months?
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

everything applies id say...but fingers crossed as i have a new application gone in ..

Nevermind. Think i found it.

Section 10A of 1925 principle act, as amended by the insertion of section 43 (2006 act) 15(A)(5).

If i'm reading it right it states that after 3 months if a decision is not made then it is deemed refused, but the applicant is also deemed to have received notification.

(5) For the purposes of this section—

(a) an issuing person—

(i) who is required under section 3(9), 4A(7) or 10(4F) to decide on an application within a specified period, and

(ii) who does not so decide,

is deemed to have decided to refuse to grant the application,

(b) the applicant is deemed to have received notice of the decision on the expiration of that period, and

(c) as the case may be, section 3(10) does not apply in relation to the application

The word "deemed" bothers me here. It means the refusal is regarded or considered to have been done. Not that it must be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Cass wrote: »
    Nevermind. Think i found it.

Section 10A of 1925 principle act, as amended by the insertion of section 43 (2006 act) 15(A)(5).

If i'm reading it right it states that after 3 months if a decision is not made then it is deemed refused, but the applicant is also deemed to have received notification.

The word "deemed" bothers me here. It means the refusal is regarded or considered to have been done. Not that it must be done.

I read it somewhere where it was written much clearer than that. Ill have a look for it again.

• Subscribers Posts: 336 ✭✭noeleire

glenmax wrote: »
    i think the blue flu is in operation.....granting licence means revenue for govt...
    be calm...
    I applied for a rifle licence and it only took 16 days to get it back that was in bray garda station that was only last week so no delays with blue flu.

I'll give them a call again today see what's happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Glenbulldog

I put in my application last Wednesday and received the letter to go to the post office this morning ,it took about the same time for my 1st licence must be lucky with whoever is dealing with the applications

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭tomtucker81

It really depends on who the f o is, and their role at the particular station. I know my local f o deals with just applications and his normal Garda work, but I know of another in a different station that deals with applications, court supervision and seized or handed in property at the station. This person was supervising the courts at a trial for 8 weeks and so an application wasnt dealt with until this week, even though it had been handed in a week or so before the court work came up.
    In short, some places fast, some real slow, depending on other duties. Hope this helps.

I put in my application last Wednesday and received the letter to go to the post office this morning ,it took about the same time for my 1st licence must be lucky with whoever is dealing with the applications
    very lucky id say....well done.

Still waiting 7 months on

If you cannot get an answer out of the FO then contact the FPU on Monday morning on 01-6661911 or 01-6661916. As for Tim O'Maheny or Paul Green. Inform them you have not gotten a response, you have tried to resolve the issue at your station, and 7 months later you have not gotten a refusal, grant, nothing.

Before contacting them please make sure you have exhausted all other avenues. If you ring them directly without trying to resolve it yourself then they may instruct you to contact your FO, etc. IOW be truthful, and stress you are contacting them as a last resort.

Did you talk to your firearm officer?

Jaysus that's ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Emmet1022

I'm four months into my shotgun application and nothing either. I'm after ring my FO the supers sec and the FPU and all I ever get is il ring you back. My FO just says the same thing all the time it's on the supers desk and if it's refused she will contact me.

I feel sorry for lads like yourselves both of mine were super quick the 2 brothers in law were nearly as quick too,would it have anything to do with renewals slowing things down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭rsole1

Not being smart, but did you get the letter to say they've received your application? On that letter is the reference number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭jagged

Emmet1022 wrote: »
    I'm four months into my shotgun application and nothing either. I'm after ring my FO the supers sec and the FPU and all I ever get is il ring you back. My FO just says the same thing all the time it's on the supers desk and if it's refused she will contact me.

You must be in the same area as myself!!! My application lapsed and they made me submit a whole new licence... It's a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Emmet1022

jagged wrote: »
    You must be in the same area as myself!!! My application lapsed and they made me submit a whole new licence... It's a joke.

Ye It's madness got my rifel back in about 11 weeks and that was my first time applying. I'm in the waterford city area. I think theirs a back log here at the moment.

Ah there is a back log everywhere or at least they all use the same excuse. Just play by the rules and keep the pressure on.

Im in tipp, must be the same everywhere...My first licence was 3weeks! Oh i suppose all i can do is wait..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭wexfordman2

jagged wrote: »

How do you mean it lapsed? You mean they didn't complete it in the three month time frame? If that's the case is it it a refusal as opposed to a lapse?

Same thing happened to me but they results mitted it and approved it the same day, cos it was their fault!

He told me there was a huge backlog and that my application couldn't be found and had lapsed on pulse, he then told me to submit the very same application and that he would fast track it for me because I had been waiting, that was two weeks ago! I wouldn't mind but I tried ringing the fo and the district office 4 times each in the two weeks before a decision was due, the FO was sick! And the supers office had nobody available to deal with me... Very frustrating

I got talking to the fo and he said I should have it by now it went to the super ages ago he said he would get onto the supers secretary first thing Monday morning and get it sorted so fingers crossed he does and it arrives during the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Drexl Spivey

The fact that you're left blind without knowing what's going on is worrying.

If you hand over the application at the garda station in person, do they give you some sort of a reference you can quote?

Otherwise you come back 2 months later and they tell you they don't know what you're talking about!?

Good luck to the op.

Did you get the original acknowledgement letter? Which would have the reference number of the application on it.
    If you didn't get that then something was wrong from the start.

Lads I have a gun of some sort for 12 years now. And I've never got a letter to say they received my application.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭rsole1

Lads I have a gun of some sort for 12 years now. And I've never got a letter to say they received my application.

Roscommon always send out the letter to say they've received the application, whether its a sub or full application.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭valerossi

My F.O happens to unfortunately also be a long time friend:D and he has often told me that they sometimes deliberately slow down and even "loose" applications belong to certain groups of people if they believe they should not own a firearm but have no real grounds for rejection, but he also states that 3months does not really apply as even rejections are processed quickly for standard applications and renewals are rarely rejected unless you have come to their attention sense last licensing. Delays are normally down to permissions being inspected eg if its safe to discharge rifles on it, but thats normally only done with a unknown land owner and homes inspected when they really don't want someone to have the firearm. Be careful once your license has lapsed you are illegally holding a firearm or ammo so just ask your local dealer to stow it and get proof its their. Call in and simply explain to your F.O your worried and should you have any grounds to. Ps some gardi don't like the shooting world given title F.O. so don't call him a firearms officer just in case:D.

Although I'm new to hunting I've a shotgun and .22,I didn't receive a letter for either gun saying they received my applications same as yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 genuineirl

It happened to me is well year ago - my application lapsed after 3 months.
    I asked them what is going on and they tell me the time for your app is gone and u have to apply again. I got very mad!!! but...
    I asked for meeting with super or phone call.
    Super call me with apologise and said sorry u have to apply again, but I said "my friend advice me to go to solicitor with this problem"... and
    I got my licence after 3 days after that conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

When I applied for mine I received a letter the next day stating my licence application is being reviewed and then have me a date as to when I should receive it by.

I got that letter with ref no I quoted it every time I called so fingers crossed it will arrive this week like the FO said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Drexl Spivey

OP, may I ask how you applied: in person or you mailed the form?

The grant letter finally came today 9 months after applying happy lad better late than never :)

Your laughing FairPlay lad

Safe shooting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

The grant letter finally came today 9 months after applying happy lad better late than never :)

That's great news now the best of luck, so look after the Gun and yourself when hunting:D:D:D:D Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭shotie

same here they never send out any sort of letter telling you they received it.another thing i dont like is if you go into the station looking for the fo and not there the person at the desk will say ill pass on the message but they never do which slows things down even more took me 3 weeks to get a hold of the fo and he never got any my messages id left at the desk very bad .